CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

PB: simi si SAFFRON? u workin in private sector or for zeng hu?

ant - i also want to go 10 countries! wah liew so good u work simi company pay u to travel...grrrr..

sky - u know german ah? or u only learnt he bad word of every language?

Sch..
I also wanna travel lah.. but maybe work 1 day then F&E for 1 week.. that kind lor.. whahaha...

wat.. me really got learn the very polite li hao ma ok.. wat bad word of every language???
*#&$*#(#&$&$*$#

aiyah.. no need to envy my job coz it is really shitty n lowly paid.. jap co dun pay well...

typically, b4 i go on biz trip, i gota prepare chunks of presentation materials and sales data on that particular market. then you end up taking night flight to that place and end up in that country around 7plus in the morning. n u can barely sleep in the airplane coz now no longer allowed to take biz class, so take economy.

then u check into the hotel, take 10mins to freshen up and off you go into tat country's ofc. den you have meeting (with no breakfast). If you are lucky, lunch will be at 12 plus. if not, end up around 2 plus den makan. den you will visit various dealers for market study. sometimes, i even have to meet their key dealers for another long long meeting.

If you are lucky, you get to have dinner at 7pm. otherwise, most probably will have dinner around 9plus. n dinner, the crazy jap will be busy drinking themselves silly n makes dinner drag til prob around 11 plus or 12 plus. by the time u hit ur bed in hotel, it will be 1 plus AM!

the next day, u wake up at ungodly hours like 6am to pack your luggage and to check out. you take a cab to airport around 7 in order to catch your next flight to next country. we basically visit 2-3 countries within 1 week. by the time u get to come back to singapore, it will be sat evening. rest 1 day n on mon, u will be back at work.. n when u come back to sg, u will end up popping pimples due to diff climate conditions and may end up falling sick. then u gota spend more $$ doing facials to zhen jiu ur face!!

recipe for wang di cai

ingredients:
wang di cai
hae bi (soaked in water)
some garlic
some chilli paste
oyster sauce

1. wash the veg
2. when the hae bi is soaked in water for awhile, transfer the water in another plate. (to be re-used later) pound the hae bi til it is smashed up finely.
3. heat ur wok. add some oil when it is hot enuf. fry some garlic. then add ur smashed hae bi.
4. when ur hae bi smells damn good, add ur veg. stir fry a bit den add the water (remaining from hae bi).
5. when ur veg looks more soft n less raw, add some chilli paste and oyster sauce.. if very dry, add abit more water/ chicken stock.
6. when veg is cooked, off the fire n serve!

Wahh.. Ant..
liddat travel.. sibeh easy chao lao one man! keke.. poor thing... its true lah.. if its this kinda travel.. give me free I also dun want ah.. whahah...

PINK!!
ltr i ask my colleague go tabao .. see got heng cai show u bor...

sch, only when in japan, dun need to stick close to boss. coz the whole mktg dept will fly over tog and in between everyday schedules, I will have some free time. (read as: i will allocate mtgs in such a way tat i got time to shop!)

shopping in tokyo is expensive! 1 plain t shirt cost abt SGD100! 1 decent meal for lunch is SGD20 n for dinner will be SGD40. but i love the food there..

skylar, i very ming ku one.. 1 week before my wedding, i still had to travel for biz k.. then when i came back, had to cheong to zhen jiu my face.. den i fell sick too.. in the end, guess how much ang bao my stingy boss give me for banquet??? pathetic $80 k! KNS..

Wahh.. Ant..
as a boss bao $80?? that is farking niao piao lor!! Kaoz... then u neber shoot email to suan him for his kang kai-ness ah.. whaha...

when i got married, I too was so stressed up at work then I nearly wanna break down man.. well to cut the story short.. i had 2 wedding dinners on 2 days, both with a 1 day interval nia.. so imagine I chong here chong there like mad... then end up my opi bitches all 1 kind dun wanna help out on my work, i take leave also they kao peh.. heng my ah lao say if really buay tahan then quit lor.. I throw the ltr liao then I go fark the gals big time man! Whhhaha.. Shiok, end up invite my bosses to my wedding, my mgrs all bao like $300 & my senior mgr bao $500.. Whaha..

wakau eh. can hardly breathe man.

skylar - no la, i don't want to learn german. she's damn fluent. that's why can be so showoff.

ant - you go to takeshida street (don't remember what train station but it's near the meiji shrine that one). got ALOT of shopping. i bought many shoes there, less than SGD20 only. shopping centres all cut throat one the prices.

if you eat alone, don't eat at big big restaurant la. go small dingy little places, can get big bowl of ramen for 700yen! i like those kind of shop where you buy your ticket at the machine then you collect/they serve to you. those kind very cheap also.

speaking of japan. when i went, my german colleague immediately say 'i don't want any souvenirs hor! i'm anti japan because of what they did to us chinese during the war'. hello?#1: then germany leh? they very nice during the way? Hello?#2: so sometimes you are chinese, sometimes you are german si bo?

sch - saffron is a herb la. very hard to find here leh. pang pang one. i work for private sector la. zeng hu don't want me. cos they say i only gian for the 28 days of AL. and my degree is not local so they kua sway me.

my wedding: i had nightmares the day before of me running down the office corridor wearing my wedding gown. i told my boss and hinted 'i HOPE that won't happen'.

then i took a few days leave before, and i cleared everything, and put my wastepaper basket on my table and labelled it big big "IN TRAY". they got the idea. nobody called me :D

came back had the usual stuff to clear la, and my scope of work is hard to share with the others but i'm glad they still respect my privacy la. MOST of them, MOST of the time.

kiam pa right?

anyway, here's what someone dug up about italy's final positions in the years of the dog...

1938 - Italy winner / Hungary runner-up
1970 - Italy runner-up / Brazil winner
1982 - Italy winner / Germany runner-up
1994 - Italy runner-up / Brazil winner

ahem ahem. and this year they got 50% chance. hmmm

Pink!! my lunch had arrived....
got the heng cai!! ltr i take show u ah...

wahh..yesterday lunch i had tom yam yong tao hu, then dinner I take hakka yong tao hu.. then now my colleague help me buy yong tao hu again!!!!! jelat man!!
think my ka gg neng liao.. whahah

tata.... my lunch!
384718.jpg

Pink..... Heng Cai.... seee....
384719.jpg

I even pull out 1 strand let u see...
kekekkeeke..........

skylar - haha best leh you. but hor, i still blur blur leh. i don't understand why this veg must pluck out anything one leh.

but all i know is next time play mahjong i will go eat this. then will heng heng. every round 5 double LIMIT!!!!!!!!!

wah, you pregnant ah? 2 meat, 1 taokua, 1 veg.... or you just came back from somalia si bo

me eat curry kuay. mmm mmm mmm mmm!

gers! forgot to tell you this yesterday:

my bak chew tia since yesterday. so i wanted to wash my contacts tio bo? so i go toilet, put the contact lens solution on the sink then i go PJ. then come out then no more solution leh! then faster run out of the toilet to ask the cleaning auntie if she saw it. she say in cantonese 'oh i didn't know it's contact lens solution, so small the bottle, i always see big big one'. nabz. small and cute like me cannot is it?

then i clean my lenses and she keep staring at me and asking me alot of questions and telling me her life story then i cannot concentrate! i just ah, ah, orh, orh. then in the end she said 'you can speak cantonese or not?' and i said 'no i'm hokkien lang'.

:S

Pink..
whahaa.. joker leh u.. wahh.. u aunty agony in the toilet ah.. whaha...

the reason why this veggie gotta pluck alot is becoz it will shrink!!! understand bor?? so even if u pluck alot end up cook become very little nia.. moreover.. this veg the stem got alot of those stray veins kind.. tia wu bor?

wei.. tonite Fra vs Por.. u buy liao bor?
i so happy that i won last nite 0-0.. pick the score.. kekek.. actually too lazy to go buy then end up thinking jiak ba ba... go exercise abit.. heng ah!!

nabz skylar, limbu here real bz ok, humph
nw then can take a breather
so liddat, u win alot si bo? tonite, i bought draw & portugal win. *keeping fingers crossed now*

ant, wah lan, ur biz travelling sound terrible. i muz say tt u hv horrid bosses. liddat maybe u can bring those prepacked liangteh wif u the next time, hopefully tt can keep the dou dou at bay.

ladies, do u all noe if the switches & plugs at BKK same as ours or not huh? can charge Nokia hp there?

Wahhh Pink.. u so early buy Fra liao ha.. kekeke...wei.. its tonite leh.. Friday who play?
U vs ur ah lao ah?
dun tell me ah.. i won't bet one lor.. whahaha...

Linaaaaaaaaaaaa....................
nv win alot lah.. if win alot u will get urs $$ liao lor. keke.. coz i lost overall about $150 from SG pools liao leh.. managed to recoup abit lor...

me also thot of buying that leh..

nu bi zhi cuo! niang niang qing yuan liang wo!!!

i saw 5 july, then immediately think it's flyday! it's me ok? flyday i will kick the ball myself around suntec

if i play with ah lao, not only one ball hor

hello pink, it's the afternoon only hor,
dun get horn......ny so soon hor, still a couple of hrs to tong b4 u can go home & play wif balls =)

Wahh kaoz.. pengz lor Pink!!
whahaha... not only 1 ball ah.. got give handicapped balla bor? whahahaa..
siao cha bor!!

Linaaaaaaaaaaaaa........
hope we win tonite!!

YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!

Lina u will be watching bor? whahaha... yesterday nite my ah lao say he keep waking me up but i sleep until dunno where liao.. whaha....

no way lah skylar, i CMI wan. my ah lao juz complained last nite that when i sleep huh, i like machiam dead 2 the world, hahaha

yesterday 3am the alarm clock ring then i geh geh never hear. then ring again at 4am then he go watch. by the time i go out of the room, he say score still 0-0, left 13 min only. so i just go back and zzzz haha

tonight also i don't want to watch. just tomorrow go collect money only :D FRANCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i practically gobble down my food within 10 mins for lunch.. feel sick now.. coz stupid boss tok non stop n drag the mtg.. den the other country waited til very bs n we got no lunchtme at all!

brazil n england make me lose $$$, dun wana bet liao..

walau i supposed to conduct orientation then the person before me taking his own sweet time.... i also falling asleep liao...

come skylar i sing song to you... su su liam liam su su liam liam .... wee hor le ai dio ba lang

Wahaha PINK!!!
u know that song ah...
kekekeek.. buay tahan u leh.. whahaha

Ant..
wahh.. 10 mins?!!! u think u pi sai ah? see who eat faster ah.. whahaa...

yoohoo ladies, no one noe the answer or everyone miss my qn *sob sob*

do u all noe if the switches & plugs at BKK same as ours or not huh? can charge Nokia hp there?

LINA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
CAN lah.. no worries.. just in case if u go anywhere in the world.. if their plug differs from urs.. can always call the Hsekeeping to request for a plug .. all hotels have these one..

most to most u dun bring ur hp there lor.. maciam u will ans liddat.. whahaha....

hello, i will answer one ok.
unless of course i "pretend" didn't hear it ring lah, haha
fren, i stay in cheap cheap budget hotel lah, i scared got no housekeeping wat ... duh
btw, me gg fr 16 to 20 aug, dun miss me hor, hehe

juz saw from the papers today got tis noodles that r practically carb-free. shirataki noodles (also known as konnyaku or yam paste noodles), anyone saw from any supermart b4 bo?

Lina..
dunno lah.. simi noodles lai eh.. u go find take pix ah.. if i see will tell u ah..

btw hor..
did u all realized that nowadays in almost every foodcourt ah.. there is like a stall that sells dunno wat greeny thing like sibeh healthy liddat one.. i see many pple Q-ing but when i see their food ah.. I feel like puking.. its maciam rice with dunno wat veggie & beans emerged with green color soup one.. YUCKS!!!

anyone try b4??

I got qns to ask.....

recently i bought some multi vitamins & some supplements to eat ah.. dunno why hor.. after I eat liao hor.. i realized when i pang jio ah.. wahh... like wang he leh.. very yellow color leh my urine, is it norm ah??

lina, our plug can't work in bkk.. they use 2 pin plug..

i heard about konnyaku got slimming effect from some taiwanese show.. but nv hear of ur noodles b4 thou..

me hungry now.. n sleepy.. i HATE MEETINGS..

kns skylar, i dunno how to post pix lah. it's on straits times today, the supplement paper Mind Your Body. ur opic got st bo, u go c lah.

nvr c any green color soup, li wo kwa sala bo??

also nvr hear b4 supplements can color urine, but it could be tt they purge out the toxins fr ur body thru ur urine, i'm not sure. hoi, y u anyhow take eat simi multi vits & supplements, got consult doc bo??

Lina.. huh? izzit? no leh.. no ST..
will go check that out...

CONFIRM LOR the green color soupy thing.. see liao really ai tor leh.. China Sq got!! next time i go take pix show u all.. I keep thinking the food looks so yucky.. nice to eat meh?

Lina..
I take the char bor multi vit & vit c & b.. buy from GNC one lor.. then i also got take ginko pills to bu nao one.. whahah.. duno why after i take these pills my urine very very yellow ah.. but if i nv take then it will become normal again lor...

Saw this from Cold Storage....

RICE COOKER CHICKEN RICE
384853.jpg

Ingredients:
1 large chicken (1.5 kg to 2 kg)
1 small bunch pandan leaves
1 large piece ginger
10 cloves garlic
1 large bunch spring onions
1 tbsp sea salt or rough salt

(Chilli Sauce)
10 large red chilli
5 cloves garlic
2 cm piece young ginger

Method:
1. Knot pandan leaves into two bundles. Cut spring onions into 10cm lengths. Peel ginger and cut into large pieces. Skin garlic, leave cloves whole.
2. Clean chicken and dry. Remove the two pieces of fat inside the abdomen cavity. Rub chicken inside and out with salt.
3. Put spring onions, garlic and ginger inside the chicken. Stuff in one pandan knot.
4. Place chicken into the rice cooker and add two bowls of water. Cover lid and cook.
5. When steam rises, set timer to 10 minutes. Switch off the cooker when time is up and leave to cook covered for 20 minutes.
6. Remove chicken, set aside. Add two cups washed rice to stock left in rice cooker. Place another knot of pandan leaves on top. Cook as usual.
7. When rice is cooked, serve with cut chicken and chilli sauce.

Chilli Sauce:
Whizz 10 red chilli, 5 cloves garlic and 2 cm piece young ginger in a blender. Add hot chicken oil and salt to season. Serve with a squeeze of lime.

Another one....

PRECIOUS PHOENIX PARCEL
(Herbal Chicken en Papillote)
384859.jpg

Ingredients:
1 silky chicken (black chicken)
1 whole ginseng root or 50 g sliced ginseng (人å‚)
30/40 wolfberries (枸æžå­)
5/6 slices Chinese angelica root (当归)
2 slices liquorice (甘è‰)
4 slices dried Chinese wild yam (淮山)
5/6 slices chuanxiong (å·èŠŽ)
20/30 Gordon fruit (芡实〕)
3 slices ginger
4 Chinese red dates, seeded
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon salt
2 ice cubes

Method:
1. Trim all visible fat from chicken, especially around the neck and just inside the abdominal cavity. Rub with a little salt inside and out.
2. Stuff the Chinese herbs inside the chicken, add two ice cubes and close the cavity with a bamboo skewer. Rub the sesame oil all over the outside of the chicken, and wrap it up with baking parchment.
3. Wrap the chicken parcel tightly with aluminium foil. Place on rack and steam over high heat for an hour in a tightly covered wok or large pot.
4. Remove carefully and let cool five minutes. Open chicken parcel and remember to catch any juices dripping out. Remove herbs from inside cavity and cut chicken into serving sizes. Pour reserved juices back over chicken.

Note:
Ice cubes melt and moisten the herbs during steaming. It's easier to handle than adding water. Alternatively, steam the herbs for 15 minutes before using.

PHILLY CHEESE STEAK SANDWICH
384863.jpg

Ingredients (serves 4):
500 g beef flank
2 red onions, thinly sliced
1 punnet brown mushrooms, thinly sliced
400 g tasty cheddar, grated
2 tablespoons olive oil
4 crusty bread rolls

Method:
1. Slice beef flank thinly, across the grain. Set aside.
2. Heat up 1 spoonful olive oil in a non-stick pan and fry mushrooms until cooked. Set aside.
3. Wipe frying pan clean and heat up remaining olive oil. Fry onions until soft and sweet and add beef slices. Toss over high heat until just cooked.
4. Split buns into two and pile beef and onion mixture into the centre. Add mushrooms.
5. Top with grated cheese and place in a hot oven or under a grill to melt the cheese. Drizzle with chilli or tomato sauce. Serve hot.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">HOT AND SPICY CHILLI CRAB</font></font>
384867.jpg

Ingredients
1kg Fresh crabs, cleaned and halved
First Choice cooking oil for deep frying
4 cloves First Choice garlic, finely chopped
2 Sichuan fermented bean curd
2 tbsp Young ginger, chopped
3 Red chilli, finely chopped
80ml Chilli sauce
100ml First Choice pasta sauce
1 tbsp First Choice sugar
1 tbsp First Choice light soya sauce
1 tbsp First Choice sesame oil
250ml First Choice clear chicken broth
1 tbsp Corn starch powder, mixed with 3 tbsp of water
1 First Choice egg, lightly beaten
1 Scallion (Spring onion), sliced
1 sprig Coriander leaves
Salt &amp; pepper to taste
384868.jpg

Method:
1. Deep-fry the crabs in hot oil until bright red. Remove and set aside.
2. Pour out the oil and put 60ml fresh oil into the wok. Heat and add garlic, ginger, chilli and Sichuan fermented bean curd, stir-fry until fragrant, and add chilli sauce, pasta sauce, sugar, soya sauce and sesame oil.
3. Simmer for 1 minute, add in the fried crab and coat well with sauce. Add chicken stock and cook over high heat for 3 minutes. Stir thoroughly and thicken with corn starch and egg.
4. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
5. Garnish chilli crab with chopped scallions and fresh coriander leaves.

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">CHEESE BAKED STUFFED POTATO SKIN</font></font>
384872.jpg

Ingredients
200g FIRST CHOICE Russet Potatoes
(Cooked &amp; scoop mashed potato from potato halves)
20 pcs Half potato jacket, cooked
1.2L Water
1/2 cup Barbeque chicken, shredded
1/2 cup FIRST CHOICE honey baked ham, cut into small cubes
1 tbsp Spring onion, chopped
1 tsp Garlic powder
1 tbsp Butter, soft
100g FIRST CHOICE Potato Salad Dressing
4 tbsp FIRST CHOICE Grated cheese (Mozzarella or Cheddar)
1 sprig Fresh thyme, garnish
1 serving FIRST CHOICE Farmers' Pick Mixed Greens

Method of Preparation:
1. Use butter to fry chopped garlic, shredded barbeque chicken and ham. Add potato salad dressing and spring onion to the fried mixture. Mix the cooked ingredients to the ready mashed potato.
2. Fill the cooked potato jacket with the mashed potato stuffing, top with grated cheese and bake in a preheated 180oC oven for about 5-7 minutes till the cheese melts and turn golden brown.
3. Chilli all ingredients before blending. Place all ingredients in a blender or a shaker, and blend till smooth.
4. Garnish with fresh thyme before serving. Serve baked potatoes with some fresh greens.

Chef's Tip
Place potatoes around the edge of the turntable in the microwave. Cook on HIGH for about 7 to 10 minutes until potatoes are tender. (Pierce it with a sharp knife to test the tenderness). Lightly mash the potatoes with a fork. To obtain a creamy texture to the mash potatoes, add in a tablespoon of whipping cream.

skylar, maybe it's the pop eye soup, drink liao very very strong. spinach veg soup, =)
liddat huh, then maybe it's really purging the toxins out. if u're really disturbed by it, y dun u try calling GNC &amp; ask ... maybe they noe leh