CHINESE SOUP RECIPES

skylar,
thanks for the prawn and curry recipe. last time my ah-bu also fry the chilli paste..somemore she used charcoal to fry one leh...shiong ah...haha...

hey all

skylar's hokkien "Buo ka lak" in ang moh is known as "candlenuts".

I copy and paste from cookbook the explanation:

Candlenut is a waxy, cream-coloured nut similar in size and shape to a macadamia, which can be used as a substitute (although less expensive almonds or cashews will also do). It is ground and used to add texture and a faint flavor to Malay and Nonya dishes. Do not eat raw. Store in the fridge.

/joniel

basket. lao niang never log on for so long, all forget about me already. sibeh busy with work. until no time to go pang jio sia.

eh skylar, your ah bu's prawns look so shiok! and simple to cook! thanks for the curry recipe .... but it seems damn tedious, i'm so lazy haha. btw i notice your ah bu takes care of presentation of her dishes also hor? eg put vege under prawns. i have never done that!

i asked about gelatin cos during my office party, someone brought a dessert, damn happening one. when i try and it work then i will take photo and show ok? like skylar, keke. photo queen.

lina, thanks for the compliment
ah lao always geh geh make a face when i cook cos he got to wash up haha.

anyone got cool recipe for porridge? like cantonese restaurant 'chok' kind?

i wonder if i've posted this before.... if so, it may vary a little cos it's by *bad* memory:

marinate fish fillets (the kind you buy frozen from supermarkets) with lemon juice, parsley (the ang moh kind, not cheena kind), thyme, garlic and olive oil for at least 1 hour. turn occasionally.

then just fry. don't need to put oil cos already got olive oil. can serve with potatoes or veggie. simple and good :D

joniel - i have the same feelings about my granny, like the way you feel about your ah bu. i regret not learning from her. all the dishes i try now just doesn't taste like the one she used to cook

Hi Sky - Nice meeting you too! Sorry for all the troubles.....and also thank you for your ah bu's recipe...
376941.gif
will try it out over the weekend if free lah...hahahah.....btw, you look very sweet!

AND YEAH!!!!!!!!!!! Finally got my DEEP FRYER liao....!!!!!!!!
376942.gif

Pink - think those cantonese porridge must keep the fire on and keep stiring & boiling till the porridge "nua" "nua" wan....as for ingredients...depends wat you wan to put lah but for taste, you can try adding those dried scallops....than if you wan to add others like peanuts, cuttlefish, century eggs, fish, chicken, mince pork etc....up to you....

yoohoo,

sweet and sour fish

marinate fish fillets with soy sauce + 1 tbsp flour for at least 30 mins

deep fry till golden brown, then dry on paper towels

sauce: saute green pepper, onion and pineapple for 1 min. stir in pineapple juice, 1.5 tbsp sugar, 3 tbsp ketchup, 1 tbsp water, 2 tbsp flour, 1 tsp sesame oil, dash of vinegar

pour sauce over fish (or prawn, or sotong, or pork)

we just had it for dinner. steady leh

KA,
no probs lah.. kekeke.. just scared sekali u become pilot fly my plane then i will kena from my frd lor.. kekee.. nice mtg u too.. keke.. u also very sweet mah.. so ur sickness now better liao ah...

Joniel..
thx for explaining the bua ka lak.. coz i really dunno man.. kkeke..

Pink,
ya lor.. my ah bu curry.. sibeh shiong ah.. think buy those pkt curry paste or powder easier lor.. whah.. she always like to lay the plate with nice nice veggies one.. she say liddat see liao then feel more happy to eat it lor.. whaha.. come lah.. take pix then we all learn learn mah.. coz i feel that just having a recipe hor.. no pix.. no kick .. kekeke...

skylar.. i roughly know wat is Buo ka lak liao. thanks, joniel, too.

but my ah bu said, since now most pple using the chilli paste, no need to specially buy the buo ka lak liao.

PB, u wan the cantonese restaurant "chok", like abit glue tog type rt? the secret is in marinating the rice wif "jiang fen (cantonese)" , i c if i can find out the term in eng tonite. the last time i cooked, marinated the rice for 13 hrs wif salt, little bit of sugar, oil, sesame oil + half teaspoon of jiang fen (for three pple, about 0.75 normal rice cup of rice). amt of water depends on hw thick u wan the porridge 2b. heat water + marinated rice till water boils, then xiao huo & cover (dun cover completely), then every few minutes stir can liao.

KA, think skylar is veri happy u call her "Very Sweet", cos no one we both noe wld ever ever ever use "Very Sweet" 2 describe her, rt skylar

Wahahaha... Lina.. u r so rite! keke.. no lah.. alot of pple say i sweet ok? but too chu lu le lah... hahaha.. no yi tai ah!

Levynn..
ya lor.. when my ah bu tell me that i nearly fainted.. so i ask her can use those chilli powder or paste bor? she say can lah.. but depends on individual lor..

Wahh.. so hard to cook ah? the porridge?? marinate for 13hrs?? think i faint first before i get to eat the chok! keke..

Waahahahaha... Lina.. kns .. how i know! keekek.. u nv say properly .. sekali i gong gong set timer & timed the 13 hrs leh.. whaha..
so hard.. u cook for me lah! keke...

Lina - dun like tat say Skylar lah....kekekeke...she really look very sweet ah mah! Btw, wat is the "cooling dessert" that you mentioned above hah?

Skylar - i understand how you feel lah...you were afraid that I will play you out rite? But Im very happy that i got my deep fryer coz can cook some of ah lau's fav food. Hubby even "suan" me say that I secretly go buy this deep fryer and can start using it liao lor....*angry*

KA,
gam xia 4 saying that of me.. kekeke... i very gam dong lao bak sai liao.. kekeke...

the cooling dessert is those with barley & beancurd skin one lor.. bai guo yu mi something liddat ah.. kekeke...

so at least ur ah lao appreciate ur cooking for him mah.. so tian mi mi wor... kekeke...

Skylar - Orrr!!!! the cooling dessert in is called " Fu Zhoc Bak Guo" in cantonese.

But hor...she mentioned the liao is like tat leh...dun sound like "Fu Zhoc Bak Guo" to me leh???

just mix green bean, sago, sweet potato,
add rock sugar (see hw sweet u want lah),
boil till the sweet potato and green beans become soft, then voila, u hv very nice sweet dessert liao. eat it cold & it's sedap!

Btw, wat you working as hah? Juz out of curiosity coz you look like those wrking in PR industry leh...kekekeke

KA, u dun listen 2 skylar, my cooling dessert NO HAVE fu zhoc & bak guo lah. me was talking about Green Bean Sweet Potato dessert, it's the normal green bean wif sago dessert, but try it wif sweet potato, nice nice. Skylar is sweet?? My toes r laughing ... hahaha. If she's sweet KA, then i'm n angel *puke*

Whaaha.. see lah... u say urself an angel also can puke liao.. so how can u be an angel? that has gotta be me liao lor.. whahaha...

ur toes are lafting ah? i chop them off lor.. so they will not tickle u when they laft.. whaha..

KA..
me PR? keeke.. me working as PA ah.. whaha.. quite close lah. u got 1 letter rite.. whahaha... btw.. PR got look one meh? & I look like one ah? hmm... can consider a job change liao.. whaha....

377505.gif
Hahaha ....you gals very funny man! ok lah ok lah,...skylar is sweet & lina is ans angel lor...both happy liao anot? kekeke
377506.gif

Lina - really ah...never try with sweet patato b4...seems shiok leh especially when its chilled.

Sky - Yeah! Bingo! Me correct by 1 letter....

skylar, feel like eating feel like eating, always feel like eating, pregnant huh u??!!
KA, skylar is siao, me is gila, whahahha

KA..
wat abt last time leh? keke.. ya i agree with Lina.. we are the gila babi...

Lina,..
preggie.. u wanna be my nanny si bor?

ok ok....skylar - siao, Lina - Gila, Me - Crazy...Wahahaha!

Skylar - I used to be in Recruitment & HR

walau, i on half day leave only you all tok like siao.

lina - ya, i want the sticky sticky chok.

skylar - aiyah, cook until so tired already then where got time to take photo... and wait take already then everyone get turned off by the recipe how? keke.

tell y'all something. my ah lao very sweet - he planned surprise bday party for me and invited my friends and family in secret.... at macdonald's! i had my first macdonald's birthday party at 28 years old! keke. it's damn funny. everyone very sporting, wear the crown, play the game, eat happy meal haha. all had a good time

kao_babydust.gif

he said he was very 'against' the deep fryer cos he wanted to buy it for me for my birthday! btw the simply her one, it's very hard to clean. he said cos all the electric stuff is inside, cannot use water. so just pour away the oil and use kitchen paper towels to wipe

PB... ur ah lao so sweeeeet!! Mac bird-day party ah... so cute!

btw, i also had problem cleaning my simply her fryer. used a lot of kitchen towels liao... but stil quite oily. then dunno if will have any chemical reactions if leave it oily for too long without use...

wah PB so good got mc birthday party =) cute couple u & ur hubby

it's actually one of my secret wishes to hv a bday party at mc 2, but i didn't tell anyone cos scared 2be laughed at =( huh, liddat, muz waste alot of kitchen paper towels lor? 2 get rid of the oily, sticky feel .... troublesome leh.

oh & skylar, if u can afford 2 pay mi & let ur beloved child get ill-treated, screamed at & whacked by moi, of course, take it tt u've gotten urself, ahem, ur child i mean, a SUPER NANNY, whahaha

PB happy belated birthday!! so cute have birthday party at Mac! think the last Mac birthday party i went to was in primary school!

the simply her fryer can't use watter to wash ah? then how to keep after use??

OMG... PB... so sweet of him...
i can't imagine my b'day in Mac leh.. kekee.. wait sekali we too noisy they chase us out ah.. ekkee.. but its really nice of him to do that for u ya!!

Lina..
nabz.. in order to be a Super Nanny please put on more weight first & also do something to that neh neh of urs! too small liao.. whahaha...

Levynn..
u maciam my teacher leh.. everytime come & catch me got out of topic bor? kekeke.. but good lah.. add as a reminder too.. keke...

skylar... wat teacher la... haha... my ah lao saw me typing the msg, n said, "eh, u think u moderator ah??"

cecilia... i dun keep the fryer lor... i juz wipe away as much oil as i can, then leave it there...

Wahaha.. Levynn..
ya lor.. moderator ah u ?? kekeke....

Lina..
si mah.. u ask i tell lor.. u also got see the Super Nanny one rite? so u use her as an estimate lor... whahaha...

hey girls, ya it's so funny, all the adults (only 2 real kids) sitting on small chairs and playing the kids games. we all had a good time reliving our childhood. i had a KFC party when i was 10 but was always secretly pining for a mac's party. he remembered hehe. when i got there i thought eh so coincidentaly, saw my colleagues, then more and more of my friends arrived, and then my family, then i knew keke.

the deep fryer actually say can re-use the oil 20 times leh. walau. quite gross. we change after about 5 times cos every time we open the cover it smell like ha cheong gai haha.

Wahaha.. Pink.. that is indeed cute lor..

ur oil smells like ha cheong gai coz ha cheong gai ba wu very strong amah.. kekeke... re-use 20 times?? pengz..
kekeke..

ya lor.. usually i used like 3x i change liao.. but then again i think it depends alot on wat u fry lor... like normal stuff still ok lah.. but if those strong smelling stuff then abit diff lor.. eg? ha cheong gai.. wait all my other food smells like ha cheong gai ah.. kekee...

or those fry liao got loose flour one.. those oil also cannot keep mah.. rite? how to re-use?? kekeke...

Cecilia,
tried too before leh... but still like can see those tiny bits of flr left over all ard.. see liao very pek chek so throw away the oil lor.. kekee..

WOW! Pink! your hubby so sweet hor...I also want leh...but guess im too old for that & hubby sure say bo liao...kekekeke

basket. all old birds of the deepfryer never say anything about oilchange, all wait for me to kai kou. basket.

hehe KA, ya my ah lao is so sweet
my friend said i was smiling non stop. my first surprise party ever leh! so old already still got surprise party :D

who? where? wat old birds of deep fryer?? hehe...

PB... so envy leh... me so old stil dun get any surprise. so got ronald macdonald or the hamburglar go to ur party or not... hahaha...

Levynn - Wahahaha....i was about to ask Pink that too...dunno gor free hats, freebies, and balloon anot hor....

Just kidding har...Pink.

KA, Levynn..
think hat that kinda freebies got lah.. but for Ronald himself... not every party will have one leh.. kekeke..
think the Mac stuff must also be thinking .. wahh first time do adult Mac party hor? keke...

ac-cher-lee hor, i asked the macdonald's staff if i was the oldest one (cos when she said how many candles? i had to whisper to her) but she said no leh, also got adults bring their kids for their own birthday parties. so i feel quite relieved haha.

not sure if i mentioned, but my lao ba had a good time also. he had the party hat on all the time!

everybody had a happy meal so we all have a toy and the box. ehhh but basket. no balloons leh. tao yan. kena cheated. but they gave me a cool birthday present. see?:

377826.jpg