Cheongsam

beebee--> Mine short 480 and long 1k... the french lace we had for our cs cost more than usual french lace..

I made my CS for my photoshoot and for my march in... but my photoshoot is in May yet my actual dinner is next jan 2011.. my cs completed in april..i finished my PS already.. so i hang my cs in max couture for wilson to show his customer.. hahahha i dun have space to hang my cs and wilson is so nice to offer his shop to let me hang my cs for more than 6 months.. hahaha

beebee,
I'd love to see your dress but the url you posted doesn't seem to work?
please, can EVERYBODY who has got CS from Wilson email me?

I really love cheongsams.. I'm rejecting wedding gowns for cheongsams only, much to my mum's horror. If I do get married in a church (not my idea, my mum's), I don't even want a gown! I want a cheongsam! :D

and I'm going to call Wilson first thing tomorrow for an appointment.

thanks carlyn for the pictures of your CS
it's really lovely.

can anybody tell me the difference between french and german lace?

also, has anybody had a long CS made, but with a detachable train so that it can be made short? does it look weird?

i see you all have been talking about this Wilson... may i know where is he from?
i mean from BS or he got a own business tailoring CS?

Mrs ho--> Wilson used to be bridal gown designer before he opened max couture .. He is famous for cs.. But also can make gowns..

Nope.. wilson do not have a website... u can go down to his shop to have a talk with him to understand what type of designs suits u..

I went to Dang Bridal today.. and I have to say, Dang makes exquisite cheongsams, much more in my taste than Wilson's. I notice that Wilson likes to use German lace more than French, and I see the benefits of German lace (muchhh cheaper, for one, and also less 'fu4 za2'), but I just love the French lace.

Then again, Dang's cheongsams are also priced accordingly! Much more expensive. Anyway, this is just my small bit of opinion. I believe I will be going with Dang's cheongsam. Her workmanship is amazing, her taste is more in line with mine, and the materials she uses are of very good quality!

DL--> heard tt Dang cs is very nice... But also much more ex.. Actually Wilson use French lace too.. Is up to the design and budget ba.. French more ex than german..

Hi DL, are you a dang bride or planning to sign up with them? i know which CS you're talking about. its that particular blue CS that got me hooked to making one for myself too. i called up dang to enquire too, but im not sure if i have the budget for the CS. regret not going to them when i was shortlisting Bridal studios!

Carlyn, any idea how much will it be to make an entire CS with french lace?

yup, Lissy you are right about budget - I am myself not sure if I have the money to do all my gowns from Dang. I definitely will be making one MTM cheong sam from Dang, and to keep too - I've always a off-white cheongsam to be my wedding gown itself. after my ROM using this CS, I will then ask Dang to add appliques (coloured ones) to make it less of a bridal dress, and I can use it in the future, maybe even for tea ceremony.

but to take up the entire package from Dang is not cheap.. their packages are only the very basic, bare minimum type. more likely than not, one has to top up for this and that. but in a way, it is justified.. Dang really uses quality materials. even some of the gowns that are not to my taste are beautifully made.

Dang quoted me about $1800 to make a MTM, full french lace CS, but knee length. definitely pricey, as I think a same CS with french lace made at Wilson's will probably cost, at most, $900.

Lissy--> My Long CS is make of french lace.. which cost me abt 1k.. different type of french lace is off different price...

I actually took up bridal package with The wedding Present... also kind of basic as it doesn't include photograpghy...

You can actually bring the design u have in mind to wilson there.. although he will not duplicate exactly the same... but still nice afterall... and much cheaper..

DL> just curious, may i know approximately how much is a package from Dang? 4 or 5k?
when i called for an MTM CS, the assistant told me its 2k onwards, i had a shock and all my dreams shattered!

Carlyn> yes, i thought of dropping by both Wilson and Dang to have a feel and comparison after my 2nd fitting with my designer next Wednesday. yea..same goes to me, my package doesn't include photography too. I hope my CS is still in time for the shoot!

Carlyn is right, in that you can bring a design to Wilson and he will do it for you, just with tailoring charges (you can even bring your own cloth/lace). but I find that you either have to rely on Wilson's design, or you have to super micro-manage - something I'm not comfortable doing, because there will definitely be tension and unhappiness. I'd rather leave it in the hands of a good designer.. and I personally feel that my taste lies in Dang's designs.

LIssy: it really depends.. I think basic packages start from something like $3200 up. I think. you can always call them up and check. but that's the very basic. usually it will be more than that.

Wilson charge for workmanship if you bring ur own fabric to him..

I think it depends on how grand you want the CS to be and in which part of the wedding u want to wear the CS.. if want to use it as a grand march in.. maybe Dang design will be better (but much pricier).. i did 2 CS with wilson as tea dress and 1 for bidding goodbye.. so i think for the price i paid for is relatively good deal already... Wilson design will be more traditional type of CS i should said.. Dang will be more modern.. hope it helps ..

back from the cheongsum fitting yesterday!

apparantly i wanted to drop by wilson's place for a look at this works.. but got to the wrong place to katong mall instead. got rather frustrated, we proceeded straight to Dang's Bridal.. where we found out, katong shopping centre is just next door.

anyway, i tried on a few pieces of their cheongsums and when i wore the blue cheongsum DL also tried.. the feeling is really magical! fitted me perfectly and i feel i owe the cheongsum. then again, the price is magical too. i guess i have to make another trip to wilson's place and other reputatable tailor to have a different feel before deciding.

Carlyn: that is a gorgeous cheongsam and you look great in it!

Lissy: eh? I believe Dang bridal is not at Katong, but at Central (Clark Quay). Wilson's is at Katong, near to Marine Parade. hehe yes I totally understand the feeling when trying on the blue cheongsam.. so, will you be getting one made at Dang's? I think I might just go ahead and get one MTM with Dang.. I love her designs so much.

carlyn: hey, carried the look of your CS very well here than the pictures you sent me. nice!!

DL: keke. sorry for the confusion. I was actually trying to say I wanted to go to wilson to have a look at his workmanship too. but got to the wrong place at katong mall so we got frustrated headed straight to Dang's Bridal without going to wilson.

im really tempted to get one CS from Dang so badly. argh! but every other friend is asking, 'when are you going to wear it again after our wedding?' so i checked with Dang again on the rental of her CS, but it seems to cost almost the price of making one.

anyway, my PS is in September and Dang have told me that she might only have time to make a cocktail length for me as the time frame is too short. but i can only meet her again to confirm after my 2nd fitting with my own designer on next wednesday.

so meanwhile i'm still trying to make up my mind.

Hey gals.. I'm gg to wilson's rather soon (i guess).. Anyone can advise how long in advance should I see Wilson before I need the CS?

Need it in Jan.. Was thinking Aug would be good.. But do advise!!

Btw Carlyn, your CS is Gorgeous (capital G no less).. I think i've seen it before Wilson changed the lace..

Happylione--> sept will be a good time.. My AD in jan so I asked Wilson before..

Both my cs with Wilson currently.. Hee hee.. I gg down to visit Wilson tml to pass him my ps photos..

Actually 2-3 months before can start to go to Wilson.. But because year end more busy.. So he said sept go will be better for him...

Hi ladies, revisited this thread because i want to recommend a friend to Wilson. Very happy that he has built up a legion of followers. I wanna share my CS that was made by him 2 years back.

1456526.jpg

ps: Hi to sotonglet, how have you been? i have one girl now. How about you?

Hello Cheriz,

That is one gorgeous cheongsam! what colour is it may I ask? is it pink german lace on cream satin? really really nice :D

Aatiyah --> Ur CS is very nice! Think if i not wrong, u have posted this CS in previous archived message.. i went to Wilson after seeing some of his works. (including ur CS if i never remember wrongly...) heehee

I been to Wilson yesterday.. and saw my long CS on the mannequin.. those who are interested can take a look..

hey ladies, i went to holland village shopping centre yesterday and i bought a white cheongsum for my tea ceremony!
cheap and chic.
:D

Beebee: I wanna see oso!!

Thinking of dropping by wilson's today to let him see my intended design.. Know that he did a long/short CS detachable for one of u gals here.. Mine is a lil diff as I wan a long CS with detachable train.. Been following this thread for quite a while.. I wanna know if it's feasible so visiting him first..

Anyone tried doing a detachable train?

hihi! i will take pic when it is daytime. night time the white can't be seen.
it is called cheongsum shoppe. holland v shopping centre level 2, the newer shopping centre.
very diff from wilson's. his is very intricate and detailed.
that explains the diff price. :D

I just met Wilson! He convinced me to drop the detachable train idea.. So I guess I'll jus go with train den remove it after AD..

So looking forward to starting the CS mid next mth!

Carlyn: yup.. Of cos I saw your CS.. Wilson told me it'll take abt $1.2k to make. o.O. Budget burst.. I catered 1k.. See how la, maybe next mth got new laces

deb> i think there's only 1 shop selling CS at holland village shopping ctr

happylilone> i'm the one who did my CS with detachable train

DS: yar.. This thread is so active, the posts move v fast.. I cannot do detachable cos it'll become short.. My legs not nice.. Need to keep them under wraps..

happy> i hv that concern initially too... but cos i really want to hv 2 different styles and yet wanna save the money of getting 2 dresses, so got to go with it lor... but actually, still not very short lah

happylilone --> hahaha..think wilson gave me some discount since i did 2 CS and 1 suit with him.. he charged me 1k for my long CS... or becuase u taller than me so need more lace? I'm 1.65m

Carlyn: I'm jus a cm taller only.. Actually I was thinking along the same line.. But I think cos my frame is also bigger, need more cloth.. Hahah.. The mannequin at wilson's sure look skinnier den me!

happylilone--> so u will choose what colour for ur cs? Think wilson will quote higher first so he will not "over charge" customer when they confirm to make the CS with him...

Carlyn: can't really make up my mind but I saw a off white one with pale pink lace that I like in 1 of the pics.. Maybe I'll just go for tt,. But I still hv time to decide

Made up my mind abt style though.. Which Wilson agreed also.. I'm going for halter neck with diamond back.. More suitable for me cos I have rather broad shoulders...