Cheongsam

thanks carlyn!! saw ur email.

i saw ur cheongsam @ max couture!! both v nice!!! ur wedding is next yr jan too? same as mine!

anyway i went to make my short cs with wilson...cost me 480...*heartbreak* wasnt planning to spend so much but the CS there r so nice...

twinkle24--> U r welsome! My wedding in 09 Jan 2011.. urs? have u settled the venue?

THe CS will be worth it for this price.. mine also 480.. i prefer my long CS... something more different..

Had my PS 2 weeks ago... and i parking my 2 CS with Wilson for the time being... no place at home to hang it for so long before my AD.. hahha.. he can use it as sample for his customers too... :

wah so qiao!! my AD is 8th jan!! hehe. yap settled the venue, will b @ GCW. wat abt u? =)

ya wilson did mention that u r parking the gown there cos no place to put. Did u use both CS for ur photoshoot? I'm tinking of using it for my PS but scared will make dirty!! =( Did u take indoor or outdoor shots with them?

twinkkle24--> Mine will be in Pan Pac.. Wat's the full name for GCW?

Yuppie. i used both CS for my photoshoot... tt's why made it so early.. My PS is in melbourne.. so only outdoor shoot.. short CS will not have much problem.. my long CS i very careful with it... so it will not be dirty... but PS mainly is in WG.... Melbourne not easy to find suitable location to shoot with CS... WG will be more romantic instead..

Carlyn --> it stands for grand copthorne waterfront!

ohhh icic...i think i shld be using my CS for my indoor shots....jus scared that i nid to lie down on the sand or sit down on some dirty stuff, which will ruin my CS..hahaha.

Read in other threads that u r oso finding jiemei dresses?? me too!! *headache* thinking of got bkk to buy but now so messy...=/

hey jus to check...does all of u MTM ur CS different colour from ur evening gown? cos went down to make my CS b4 choosing my evening gown...and jus so coincidental that both of them which happen to be wat i like r of the same colour and around the same shade too...

my htb is asking me to change the colour of my CS...is it really not v nice to have the same colour tru out the wedding?

twinkle24--> Yuppie.. i looking foe jie mei dresses... if ur jie mei are all small sizes.. up to uk 8.. it is so easy to find the dresses... unless u are having the same problem as me.. i have small size up to XXXXL.. which i can't buy the same design for all jiemei... the only way is mtm for them...

I not sure where will ur outdoor location... but i alwys think to wear CS and shoot in the city is very nice.. u may want to ask wilson whether sand can be clean off or not.. if can.. i think is good to have it outdoor!

It will be adivsable to have different colour for CS and EG... or else will be boring... what colour u chose for ur CS?

Twinkle24--> WIlson will not encourage yellow.. i asked him before.. my EG is pink too.. (but becuase CANNOT MAKE IT then i turn to wilson for help for CS).. i made a dark purple instead.. so if i will to wear the pink EG and CS also.. it will not be boring... u can consider darker shade or using blue? Yellow is nice colour too.. but if is Yellow on EG.. it will be more appropriate ba.. tt's my view...

Mfusmer--> WIll send u my short and long cs in a while.. my actual CS is in Wilson's shop.. u can take a look if u are interested.

Carlyn (mikoko24) --> thats so true!! i have the same feeling! i think yellow is more suitable as a EG rather dan CS....thats wat worry me.. hmm...maybe i can consider a blue one? but wilson like to match dark pink with blue leh...i prefer maybe light pink with blue..haha!

twinkle24--> i do not like blue so i shall not comment much on the combi... but if u trust wilson... his have his reason to match blue with dark pink... the contrast at night will be more obvious...

hi, may i know how much does it cost to do a detachable CS (means can be short and long)? also, how many of u paid for your own CS? my HTB thinks tat i shd pay for the CS.

Amanda--> I did my long CS for 1k and short for 480.. both is paid by myself... I paid on my own because my HTB paid for other stuff while i paid for all costumes related services. So not really in the sense i must pay for my own CS..

hello all... been missing out alot yah...

for those who wanna see my CS, can add me in FB... PM me ur email add

amanda> i paid for my CS too... though he did offer to pay for me... cos he is ardy paying the majority le

i did mine detachable at 780 for full German Lace... Wilson charged per long CS price...

BTBs, usually how long do u MTM your CS in advance? im having my PS in September and AD is in Jan 2011. i havent confirm my gowns yet, im hoping the colours doesnt clash.. but my 2nd fitting is only end this month.

im wondering if im still in time?

Carlyn (mikoko24)/guinguin (guinguin) --> hello babes! sorry for the late reply! =) hee. in the end i decided on the pink one cos its still my first love. haha. He actually recommended lilac too! i had a hard time deciding btwn those two but decided to go for pink cos it's so me! haha.

thanks for the great advises!!

Lissy (eviliss)--> It will be good to give Wilson at least 2-3 month to make the CS. He has alot of orders so he will need some time ahead.

twinkle24 (twinkle24)--> Pink is nice colour.. so u did it pure pink only? w/o blue?

I still "owe" wilson my PS CS pic as i haven't receive my softcopy PS yet.. hahahah... haven't had the time to tell him that i will pass to him in july.. ;p

sorry gals for the late reply...

amanda> hv added u to view my cs pics....

twinkle> added u in fb as fren... pls accept me ya ;)

thanks carlyn! i shall pop by after my second fitting. ;)

by the way, have any BTBs also made mum's dresses with Wilson? how much his range for mum's mtm dresses?

Carlyn (mikoko24)--> yes babe! i agree pink is super nice. im doing light pink as base with dark pink lace.. =)

DS_Gerl (ds_gerl)--> thanks babe!! wow ur CS is v nice!! so is ur figure! =P

Lissy--> Depends wat type of mum's dress u wanna make.. i asked about a Evening gown for mother.. it cost ard 600+... I also asked for jie mei dress... it cost ard 300... suits will cost ard 500.. tux ard 800.

twinkle24, so did u make your mum's dress with him?

carlyn, wow.. which means mum's dresses can range from 300 - 600 for something that looks like a evening gown. im actually looking for something simple and not too showy type for mum, since i'm doing lunch and mum is not very young. hee. can you send me a couple of pictures of your CS too? raves from the girls are making me curious. keke!! my email: [email protected]

Lissy--> You got mail. My 2 CS are in WIlson shop.. u can take a look if u decided to drop by.

Actually.. my gut feeling tell me that making CS with wilson is relatively cheaper and worth the workmanship... for EG wise, jie mei dresses, rom dress and mother's EG.. i think it is not as worth it as CS... but it is still cheaper than other places for his workmanship.

thanks carlyn, got the mail. wow! u have 2..and really sexy indeed. are you going to wear one for tea ceremony and another for sending guests off after banquet?

i get what you mean by the CheongSum vs Mum's Dress. in fact, im currently doing comparison checking out the most affordable yet classy dress for mum. even if its something bought off the rack, as long she looks nice and not too cheena.

Lissy--> my red cs for tea cem and long for 2nd match in. I did cs because my eg when wrong and I have to turn to Wilson for help.. Haha.. But I still currently looking alternative to wear for bidding good bye.. Still hope I can wear 4 outfits on the actual itself.

I also helping my 2 mothers to look out for gowns to wear on the night.. My mother still slim can wear cs.. My mil is the hard to find dress type.. Haha..

Lissy (eviliss) --> nope...i haven got the time to bring my mom shopping at places for OTR CS/evening gowns...

but if outside is selling 300+ for CS, i will def bring my mom to wilson to do the CS...i think for evening gown we'll try to find it elsewhr cos i think 600+ is way out of budget liao...haha.

carlyn, read thru the thread and understand you're disappointed with your EG. are you going to give it up totally, meaning, not wearing it at all?

so far, im sourcing for a dress for mum and yes, my mum is the hard to find dress type. keke!! thats why i thought if wilson's mum's dress is affordable, i can bring her along when I mtm my CS. well, i guess i'll KIV 1st then.

DS_Gerl, many thanks for sharing your album, very lovely CS! sexy in pink! ;)

Lissy--> yes.. I'm dissapointed with my eg.. Most pro will not wear it for actual day unless I totally change the design again.. Brought for Wilson to see whether can salvage or not but he did not give me positive answer.. Tts why I still looking ard for something tt is affordable..

u can check with Wilson the price for mum dress.. Maybe the design tt u like is affordable?

my mum's full length dress cost $380 and I think it's a good deal because my mum is not the slim / tall type and Wilson was nice enough to suggest what my mum can wear for her age and what he can do to cover her 'trouble spot'. Anything OTR for my mum at stores will probably require alterations, whic means more $$ on top of the price tag.

If your mum have problems getting OTR dresses, it is a good idea to have it tailored at Wilson's.

And oh, Carlyn, I think I saw your short CS yday @ Max couture. Is it red and black? Looks quite spectacular!

shin--> can share with me how ur mum's dress look like? I still searching for the design for my mil.. she is not slim nor tall... hahhaha... my email is [email protected] Thanks in advance!

Yupie.. i have a red short CS with black lace... hee hee...

carlyn> havent collected yet but then again my mum's style may not suit your mum's. I originally chose another style and he said it was too old for my mum. Then he suggested another one.

if you can wait, we are collecting it in early july.

Shin--> no problem.. i will neeed to start doing all the mum dress in sept.. i still have a long long time.. haha. my mil dun have sleevless.. and dun want shawl... dunno what type of design will suit her..

carlyn> hah, same idea! okok, i will send you a pic of the dress, he kind of made draping sleeves to hide the upper arms. not technically a full sleeve and not really a shawl.. =) I think ur mil is same figure type as my mum. will send you in early jul then.

shin (shin24) --> can send me the pic of ur mom's dress too? i haven been sourcing for her...no idea wat type she like either...=P

guinguin (guinguin) --> yes yes!! thanks!! =) will be having my 1st fitting in july

havent been to this thread for awhile. i can see everyone is a happy bride with their CS made by wilson.

shin.. i would love to see your mum's dress too!

carlyn, wow. wilson does alternations too!? does TWP knows you're not satisfied with your EG? actually i dropped by TWP twice and is attracted by their gowns and comprehensive package.. but somehow FH thinks otherwise.

dying to visit my BS for 2nd fitting before I pop by wilson's place so that I know what color CS to choose. argh! btw, can i just pop by wilson's place without appointment? i believe he have OTR CS for trying too? i haven't tried CS before.. not sure how i'll look in it, so i thought i should try one to picture myself in it.

Lissy--> I not sure whether wilson take n alteration only... but he out of goodwill will take in alterations for gowns not done by him if you are already his customers... but final decision is up to him...

TWP dun really know i dun like my EG.. i take half the blame as i showed them a design off the net... and when designer tell me he gg to do this and that.. i agreed to it... so in the end.. the gown is 100% different from what i wanted... so i gave up the EG and turned to CS instead

Does wilson has otr CS to try on it? This i never heard before as i know that all the cs are tailored made to customer.. so is not allowed to try on other's CS.

yes dark purple! hehe..wilson said i m too tanned so purple is more suitable. :D
the fitting was perfect except i shed some weight and wilson altered immediately for me.
he was very happy with the result too!