Cheongsam

oinkeebabe

I had my tea dress made at this tailor in Tanjong Pagar. her name is Sharon. U need to get your own material and she charges u labour. Ard $100 for labour.Cheap n good. My gf had her CS made there too. Nice!

frais_bleu

Hi all and those who're interested....i'm selling off my $200 deposit from Ted Collection....anyone interested in signing their package or interested in engaging them to do your tea dress and have to put a deposit please let me know so that i can transfer the $200 to you. Thanks. You can reach me at [email protected] thanks

zann

hi frais,

yeah, not as regular nowadays..

Hi Ash,

have u found yr seamstress yet?
hope is still not too late to send u the contact..
do check yr email..

zann

hi alicia,

i have sent

aliciakuah

hi zann,

thank you for your quick response. i have seen your mail. u look stunning in the CS. i really must make sure i get one for my wedding :)

zann

hi alicia,

thank you for your compliment! :p
do rem to share yr wedding pix with me so that i can look at yr beautiful gown and CS too. Thanks!

jan193

hiya frais!!! me stil headache to spend extra n make CS or nt.. but hubby like.. so i'm sourcing ard hehe

zann.. ur CS is nice!! mind tellin me hw much it cost to tailor ur CS?

zann

hi Dorami,

Thanks! it costs me 200+ (including the fabric which I bought myself at the then people's park complex)

rainnqq

Thanks Zann! Very classy le

So how much was your CS? Did u pick the material and design or just the design only?

zann

hi RainnQQ,

as mentioned in my previous post, "it costs me 200+ (including the fabric which I bought myself at the then people's park complex)"..

i bought the material and told the seamstress what type of design i want. You can tell her verbally and she will try and understand and sketch out. From there, you can further discuss. You can get ideas from magazine and show it to her too.

zann

hi velma,

r u a hakka? yr email kwailanbaby..."kwailan" as in the not so civilised term is it :p...u very kwailan one is it :p
hey, check yr email. i have sent~

rainnqq

Thanks zann hehe.. bak jieu tak stamp.. no see

Where is she making the CS? Is her tailoring place near town or?

hakkababe

Heh heh, yup, I'm hakka, and you're right again- kwailan as in referring to a particular type of attitude.

Got your pix- you look lovely. Very traditional from the front, with a cheeky surprise at the back.

I'm just wondering now, if I were to get it tailored, where would I be able to find the type of material I want- going for a traditional chinese silk retro look, like in period movies such as 2046. A bit clueless as to where to get the material if I don't want to end up looking like a restaurant waitress from Dragon Gate or some such. Would any taior be able to advise on the material and cut?

zann

hi RainnQQ,

she used to have a shop at people's park complex...but after that people's park underwent renovation i am not sure if the reno is completed now...so is better to ask her??

hi velma,

hehe...me also hakka :p
used to be able to find chinese traditional Cheongsum material in people's park complex...but they underwent reno last yr i not sure completed yet or not...

there are dressmakers around who actually does design as well...they even get materials for u and then sketch out design for u but of cos be prepared to pay more....there is a shop think call Hanna at arcade who does design and making of CS...i think there is also another shop near chinatown point but i forgot the name of the shop...it was mentioned in some CS thread in this forum last time ...

rainnqq

yeah saw the website for the hanna at arcade. their selections look good.

Hi velma, u hakka too? Can check w u any traditional custom for the AD?

nuabaoz

My CS is from Hannah (Mama & Misse) at intl plaza. n they do help you to design a bit. there are a number of off-the-rack CS there where you can choose from too or you can use those as sample designs u wan to make. they do provide a selection of materials or you could go arab street or little india (if you wan more exotic patterns) to source yourself. the seamstress and this girl (who tend the shop) will help you to see what cut out of the cloth will bring out the design of the cloth. however, the workmanship is not as cheap as what you may get at Chinatown, neither is it as expensive as ted collection lah. mid-priced. workmanship (excluding material) ard 130 to 260 depending on length. for material, it can be as high as $40 to $54 per m for embroidered thai silk(typical material for CS)at arab street. i do like to recommend to check out little india textile shops as u can find very nice intricate hand-woven indian silk sari, which i personally think is better value for money and nicer than the traditional CS patterns u can find here. for a std 6m, it's at a relatively lower price. extra cloth can make a top for yr hubby, then you will look like a pair (like malay wedding couple lah, haha) but well, of course, it's prob not gonna be the 'traditional' pattern in the movies that u like, but something different... happy searching!

e_ve

hi.. everyone out there.. i like find out more about CS. I will be getting marraige end of this year. My mother-in-law like to wear a CS during the wedding dinner.. Any recommendation?? My budget is around $150- $200.. :)

hakkababe

350565.gif

Zann, what a coincidence! You're Hakka! Speak it? Which province are your ancestors from? Mine's Tai Bu. Wow, I never knew there were so many Hakkas in my generation. Of cos, so few of us speak the dialect these days I can't find anyone of my generation to converse with in Hakka. I love speaking it esp with my parents while the fiance's around and cluelessly trying to catch what we're saying, and I'll just occasionally raise my eyebrow and give him glances in between to make him sweat a bit cos he's sure to think my Mom and I are talking about him hahaha

To his credit, he's picked up quite a bit of Hakka; even speaks it fluently enough for my cats to respond to him.

Anyway, I digress...RainnQQ, you're Hakka or your husband-to-be? I'm the wrong person to ask about any traditions, I'm trying to shut my ears nowadays when my mom starts rattling off the dozens of rituals and ceremonial items we have to adhere to, which I'd never heard of till now. My Mom gets the expert advice from all my aunties, I think. I'm just going to not worry about them till later. But she also mentioned that I should also be following my fiance's dialect's traditions with regards to the Guo Da Li and tea ceremony. <grrrrrrrrowl>

So, you might want to check out this thread by Hakka brides- http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/3/5447.html

I was thrilled to stumble on it, but I haven't really read it yet- saving it for later when I have to do the ceremonial stuff.

Zann and Nuabaoz,

Thanks for the leads. Yup, have come across the other threads which mention Ted Collection which could be the one Zann's thinking about that's near Chinatown Point. That's too wayang and $$$ for me. Went to that Hana website too, the one at Arcade. I think that could be quite pricey, but then it's purportedly tailored by a Shanghainese Qipao master.

Will definitely check out Hannah (Mama &amp; Misse) at IP. Mid-range should fit in my budget. I think I'll definitely need an expert to advise me on the cut, unlike Zann with her svelte figure, I got more, er, meat, so her tailor may be equally clueless as to how to make a qipao to flatter me and hide the bulges.

Hm, sounds like a great idea, getting sari silk. At least I'd avoid looking like a waitress by not using traditional chinese silk. Actually, I'd love some lace/ embroidered material like those formal cheongsams that Gong Li or Zhang Ziyi or Maggie Cheung were wearing in the Wong Kar Wai films...hm, must go research the movies again. Of course, I very much doubt I'll resemble any of these actresses even in an exact replica, so I shan't even try.

Heh heh, I'd love to incorporate some of the material used for my qipao into the fiance's outfit, but I'm afraid he's not an adventurous dresser. He's a polo shirt and jeans sort...don't expect him to stray from safe-and-classic even for the wedding. Not even for the underwear.

Hi Eve, I think you could give Zann's or Nuabaoz tailor a try, or have a peek at the few other cheongsam threads. NOT Ted or Amor Meus at Esplanade. That'll be over your budget. I remember there's this post with photos, by this bride who went to this tailor who works from home...I remember it's quite far from town. Go check the threads...

rainnqq

Hi velma

My hubby is hainanese. Both of us also "bananas" dunno a thing about tradition except CNY, Mooncake and Dumpling fest hahaaha

My mom has entrusted me with the duty to check out the basic customary stuffs that the bride's side should do ahaha.. "clever way of making me aware of my customs eh?" Thanks! Will check out the hakka bride thread!

Hi Eve, I agree with VElma. The tailor known as Kim (located at Tampines) seems pretty good. U may just wanna try her out. Zann's tailor, Judy also did a good job too.

I'm leaving my CS to my bs. Will check out her designs the coming week. Crossing fingers and Toes!

nuabaoz

rainnQQ,

eh i am hainanese heh heh, 'jia bah liao boh'?(have u eaten?)....my hubby is teochew...i just had a parent-in-laws meet up. both sides are damn chin chye lah, not much customs, just the usual simplied stuff which i think is similar across other dialect groups too. except i said i wanted this pair of 'chin deh' during the wedding (chinese they call it jian (1st tone) dui (1st tone). yr hubby or in-laws should know what they are. they are two huge basketball size deep fried dough fritters, inside is empty. think indian batturah, but much bigger, get the picture? = ) supposedly the bride will give a pair to the groom, to signify having sons and childbearing qualities. i think they rep the man's balls, that's why.. heh heh. anyway i wanted to keep this tradition, tot it's quite rare nowadays.but it's hard finding a hainanese master who has the skill to fry them...

velma,
my hubby is not even 'poloshirt level' hehe. just t-shirt and bermudas guy. he was apprehensive abt wearing a long sleeved chinese-collared shirt made out of same materialtill the seamstress said it can be done and shld look good then he agreed to try. the end pdt is not bad, i think we look funny together, look like malay couple, haha. well, let's just say we are going to wear the shirt and cheongsum as a pair out of fun during the wedding.

oh yeah, i chanced upon a CS shop in novena sq, the CS seems pretty cheap, 100 plus only, maybe can consider that place, but not sure if they do mtm...

rainnqq

Hi nuaboaz

The golden balls u refering to? I was just at the hainan thread, the whole thread was about the golden balls and where to find them. There's pine club n seah st, think the seah st one retired or something. Do go visit! If u dun have the thread.. here's it!
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/3/338447.html

Talk abt hubby's choice of clothes. Mine can wear tee, shorts and slippers to Orchard! hahaa.. end up I normally just dress in tees n berms also, fastest and easiest! No wonder recent survey of foreigners' view points of singaporean dress sense was pretty low, they must have seen us hahahha!

zann

hi velma,

you are right. The one at chinatown i mentioned is Ted Collection.
As for yr comments abt prices, i do agree with you. The Hanna at arcade
has nice CS but quite ex. But based on
what i found out in 04, it seem like the Hannah at int'l plaza quotes
cheaper price, am not sure why. I ever wonder if they are same company.
heehee

hi RainnQQ,

me didnt really bother abt those hakka customary stuff during GDL leh..
As for Kim, read in other thread abt her too. Ever called her up before I engage a seamstress. She has quite busy schedule so if u intend to find her
better to allow more time prior to yr wedding. if not wrong, think she plans her schedule
such that she meets a few people outside then go shopping for materials.
there is also another seamstress call Dawn mentioned in a bride's forum site..

hi nuabaoz,

i ever came across a shop at novena square selling CS too not sure is it the
same shop u referring to. That shop does MTM..

zann

hi velma,

shame to say i can understand but don't speak..
hmm i think my ancestors also from tai bu...ever asked my dad last time...i remember he told me tai bu haha

hakkababe

My laptop almost fell off my lap, I was laughing so hard at what you girls wrote about golden balls. Got such thing!? Can I also request for golden balls and pass them off as a Hakka tradition, I wonder. I love eating these kinds of doughy stuff. Er, they are meant to be eaten right, by the bride? Going according to its representative qualities, know what I mean?

RainQQ, which is your BS? I'm thinking of leaving the qipao to my BS as well, but I'm really greedy so I'd like to have an evening gown designed and properly made all for me, you know what I mean? So not sure I want to waste the package I have with my BS on a standard qipao...you are not getting an EG then?

Haha, Nuabaoz, poloshirt level is indeed one up from T-shirt, but like RainQQ's hubby, my fiance has worn running shorts, T-shirt and slippers to Paragon before...I fantasise about the day he'll wear one of those metrosexual stylish stripey poloshirts, but he wears only white, back and navy blue "uncle" type. I think you're lucky to have a hubby who can be persuaded...My fiance is as stubborn and opinionated as I am, impossible to persuade esp with regards to his superior taste in apparel. But I will quote your hubby's example and slowly work my charms and see if he eventually wises up to what a great idea it'd be to wear a chinese-styled shirt.

Wa, Zann, our ancestors were from the same province a long long time ago! I'm 100% hakka, cos both my parents are Hakka. So must speak it la. Even then, my mom also laughs at my poor grasp of Hakka. It's a pity dialects eventually die off from lack of use, and the vocab just diminishes.

By the way, from your conversations, does it mean all of you are married, and only RainQQ hasn't gone through the customary?

rainnqq

Hi Zann
Thanks for the info
For GDL, have decided with FH that we will follow the minimum requirement. After reading through all the hainan and hakka thread I must say it will be a hassle.
Have called Kim yesterday :p apparently I'm too early haha.. but have told her will meet up with her end April.

Velma.. think the ball is meant to deflate by itself. From the initial thread I thought really gold plated ball le, coz they mentioned after ceremony can keep in the newly wed's room as souvenior.. so I was surprised when they mentioned it can be eaten! Anyways.. really interesting to read up on traditions :p I'm a sing on khek. Think the vocab differs from tai pu khek.

My BS is Bridal Elegance, at Hotel Windsor. They are giving me 2WG(OTR), 1EG(only for PS) and 1CS(MTM), then the KUA etc. So the CS is like my EG(MTM). Thought normally BS would have either WG or EG MTM, so mine is simply choosing my EG as MTM and making it as a CS instead of a normal EG.

Currently, think nuabaoz, velma and me are gonna be married 2006. But I'm sure there will be more 2006 brides to come!

zann

hi velma,

i am married..my dad hakka..mum hainanese..but i dun speak both
. Use to know how to speak khek when i was a kid but gradually no more cos didnt use it after my parents move out of granny's place..

hi RainQQ,

yr AD is end of this year or what huh?