Cheap lightings shop to recommend

Hi roxyz..
Hi, i'm also looking for lights for my new home. I wonder if you could give a price break down of what you buy?

Thks in advance

hi interrace & nelson
Yes, my reno will be finished in 2 weeks time, so we thot it's time to go lights shopping

If u get ur lights too early, advantage is dat there's lights at nite but disadvantage is dat the carpentry works might dirty or spoil ur lights.

Hi roxy,
tks for the tips.
will get my lightings later.
BTW, i went down to light arcade over the wkend, find their lighting range not that wide, or do they have lightings which they do not have on display? Cos i went over to elite at jalan besar, like their designs, din see any of the designs at light arcade though.
Went to palace of lights, saw a similiar one which we saw at elite, however palace is a black shop, selling that pcs at 600+ , while elite only quote 200+.Scary!!

u went palace? I saw the comments abt palace posted here and the person kena "carrot"...I never even bother to go there...

wah very big price difference leh...

I tink their lights are there already..to me, downlights are all the same..only the quality and the country it is made in is impt...have u tried asking andrew any other lights that's not there? coz intitally we din know there was dis small crystal light for our foyer area until my ID ask and he showed us...

Since u like the lights at elite, how abt getting them there? provided the price difference is not too big....n remember not to go with ur ID hor...

Just to share with you guys my experience light-hunting today
I went to 2 shops in Balestier and 1 in Jalan Besar.

Went to Light Arcade and Etoile Lumiere. Both have nice sales people willing to share their knowledge. Both sell Atco ballast, complete with Renzo Light holder. However, Arcarde sells Osrom tube but Etoile sells Toshiba (a check at any NTUC Fairprice will show you that Toshiba is cheaper than Osrom which is the acclaimed longest-lasting tube)

Jen-E is the lady who attended to me and patiently explained to me the requirements of my apartment. She's very experienced (despite her young age!) and comes across as sincere and trustworthy. I was uncertain at the end cos it was the first shop I entered, and I told her I needed to look around. She wasn't offended at all and told me to call if I have any questions.

We walked into Etoile Lumiere next. Elson at Etoile was very helpful as well. However, he stated that Toshiba tubes are made in Japan but I later learnt that they are made in Thailand. The salespeople in Etoile were generally more pushy and this turned my husband off. We went off to a third shop which is 168 trading at Jln Besar.

While the salesgirl was really nice and friendly, the price quoted was almost 40% higher than either Etoile or Arcade. They claimed that it is because the mateiral is different - I asked how different can one Atco ballast be from the next? Was told by a more senior sales person that other shops may not be providing genuine stuff, and if I want low price, "pls buy from the other shops". Since she was kinda rude, and since I know that Light Arcade is not some fly-by-night operation, I took her at her words and left.

Went back to Arcade and closed the deal with Jen-E and Andrew. We walked away two satisfied customers. My final quote is below to share with you guys:

18 pcs of 1x13watt downlight (Osram tube, Atco ballast, white round Kenzo housing): $15 each
03 pcs of 2x13watt downlight (Osram tube, Atco ballast, white round Kenzo housing): $19 each
06 pcs of 50watt (Osram tube, Laniber housing, approved transformer): $15 each
03 pcs small 22watt hamburger lights (Safer tube): $15 each
02 pcs medium 33watt hamberger lights (Safter tube): $25 each
01 pc 20watt 2feet florescent tube: $30 each

TOTAL COST: $542 (no installation - my contractors will be doing that)

All in all, a happy experience with Light Arcade. Will keep everyone posted on the process when ligths are delivered, installed, etc

cheers,
Yvonne

Hi Yvoone,

Thanks for sharing with us all. Does light arcade provide installation for us if we purchase from them?

How much would installation cost, any idea?

Hi Ryes
Light Arcade provides installation. As stated above, u can look at my quotation and everyting includes installation. The electrician came over to my place to install on Friday. He comes across as a very experienced and nice guy and will advise us on where to place the lights. However a problem ocurred during installation coz the transformers I got were not strong enough for my dimmers and all burst
Luckily Andrew & the electrician are kind enough to change and the electrician will come back this week to change all the transformers & re-install at no extra charges. Overall, I find their things very value for $, esp as it includes installation with a qualified & nice electrician.

Must admit that my place really looks very much nicer with lights now! The downlights I got are all the square type with frosted glass & die-cast iron frame. Holders are made in Spain. Andrew & Jane are very nice people, can tell them Daphne recommended u and Im sure they'll give u better prices

Hi Roxyz,

mind sharing how much u pay for 1 square downlight? cos ur quote is one lump sum. btw how many lighting shop did u visit in total?

Hi roxyz,

thanks leh. Now seriously considering if light arcade is cheaper, can consider asking them to help us install....

hi slance
It costs me $24 each. For double tubed square downlite with osram tubes. If I choose the Taiwan holder one, it's $20 each, but I opt for the Spain holder.....

Hi Ryes
yes, their installation very cheap, much cheaper than wat my electrician quote me...so I got them to install. The electrician came down dis morn to change my transformers...very nice and responsible guy who will advise us....

Hi Roxyz,
the 06 pcs of 50watt (Osram tube, Laniber housing, approved transformer): $15 each
Is it round light with flourescent tube?
Tks!!

hi ryes & slance
sorry i havent taken a pix of it yet...will try to do so over these few days and post it up!

The square is not very big...too big not nice...but it's big enough to fit double tube of lights...

Hey roxyz, okay will wait for your pix...

Now am seriously considering if I should just walk in to light arcade, look around, and then decide if I should let them install my lights or have my contractor to help us do it leh....

hi ryes

I tink u shld just walk in and take a look...but first find out how much is ur contractor charging u first then see whether lights arcade is cheaper or not?

Hi Roxyz,

That's the big problem lor, I dont know how much contractor is gonna charge me lor! grrrrrrrr..If he more ex, then I go for light arcade..

Maybe this weekend, I go light arcade to look see look see...

Hi Royxz,

will wait patiently to see ur pix :p

Ryes,
agree with royzx that u check with ur contractor first....den u compare the prices.....

hi ryes
check with him...

my contractor was chargin me $8 per light
Mkt rate for lightings shop is $35 for first light then subsequent lights at $5..

Lights arcade was only chargin me flat $3-$3.50 per light...much cheaper...so I let them do

hi slance
pix shld be up soon! sorry i forgot to take pix ydae when i went to my place

One qn har,

Coz I'm having L box with those sq downlights, after doing up the L box, would light arcade electrician know how to fix the lights? Silyl qn, but then, I scare later they duno then I must approach my contractor then wait he jack up installation price die.

So rozyx, means say if buy light at $20, light arcade install for you, so will be say $23.50?
I am thinking for the price that we are paying for the lights, sure got include installation also one right.

Hi ryes
wat happens is dat if u take up a whole package with andrew, after all the discounts etc, he gives a further discount off the package price. If u want installation, then he just dun give u the further discount. Works out to be abt $3+ per light which is pretty cheap.

You'll need to be there when the lights guy install the lights, to tell them how and where u want to place the lights. Dun worry, the electrician very pro...will advise u

hi slance
these are the pictures i have taken so far of my feature wall. The top left hand corner is the square downlight. The white things are covering protecting my crystal dining lights

http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2133376626&idx=15

Hi Roxyz,

ur place very nice.....orange theme? whcih contractor u engage?

thk mi will go dwn to lighting arcarde to check out tmr....

Hey roxyz,

Thanks so much for snapping your photos leh.

wah sey, your house so designer look leh, for the feature wall.

Got morephotos to share not? Cannot see your Sq light leh.

Hi Ryes and Slance

I just snapped a few more pictures at nite when we can see the whole effect of the lightings. If u all are keen to see, give me your email address & I'll email you.

Hi Slance
My place is brown & beige theme. The walls are actually dark brown but the warm lights give it a orange colour.

Hi Ryes
The square downlight is the one at the top left hand corner of the false ceiling. Will try to take a clearer picture

Hi roxyz,

dropped you a pm...
I've just ordered my MBR light at elite...so happy. I like it alot..shall share it with you once I collect it..

Hi Slance and sugar,

I have yet to collect my light leh. and I am talking about only 1 light for my MBR leh..kekeke. It's actually the same as the kallang showflat study room lamp...

For my other lightings, not yet buy leh..

Wah slance, you so fast buy liao, buy what can share not

Roxyz, still awaiting for your photos....

Ryes,

no choice...contractor wants to put it up by this week liao leh......mine mostly down lights but bought 2 stlyish 'milk can' light for my kitchen, common bedroom is square japanese stlye light....all in all spend around 800+

Slance,

can share photo on the sq japanese style light not? Is light arcade installing the lights for you or you install yourself?

What type of dwnlight you got?

Alamak, roxyz, you MIA again?

Ryes,
my contractor is doing it for mi...heard light arcarde got package for installation. Mayb you can check with them.

I will try to take pix if i go over my place this weekend. Got square downlights: 3 halogens and 24 warm+day light.

Hey slance and roxyz,

I went to the light shop that my ID recommend, then hor, then downlight they charging me $38 leh whereas I went elite they quote me $25 only leh. So ex. But coz hb and myself gong-gong, duno which type of dwnlight is suitable, so think we will go with ID to buy from him lor.

Then others like storeroom lah, bedroom we buy ourselves and let him install....

Slance, you got your pix up?

Can check with u all, when will u actually install ur lightings huh?
Cos my ID was saying that after painting the walls, will install lighting then they commence the carpentry,however i worry that they might damaged the lights during the renovation, any advice ?
and she claimed to clean my lights for me after the renovation.

Hi Ryes,

took the pix but have not dwnload....u wan give me ur email address? btw light arcarde dwnlight is cheaper den ur $25 at elite.

Interrace,
mine the same case as you....and all the lights are up except for some fine tuning.

Hi roxyz and slance, I went to light arcade yday leh, but then seems their ceiling lights very limited for the type that I am looking for, those that can slide. Their prices is about the same as what I saw at Elite as well. Ended up buying 1 bedroom light, 1 bomb shelter and 1 for toilet light. I feel very xin tong to buy the toilet light at $68, because there is another simple design and with very bright light at only $33, but hubby kept insisting on buying immediately, so got no say.

After buy then he regret. We didn't get much discount either as well.

I think I will go back to elite to get my other lights, but for downlight, because I dont know what type to choose, bo bian, must go with ID to the shop that he ties with to buy lor....$38 leh...how, so ex.

Mail to Email

Hi slance,
So ur lightings was okie the whole time then?
cos my MBR light i got the glass with crystals one and using halogen light, afraid they might damage it when doing the warbrode in the mbr too loh.

Hi ryes,
which toilet light u chose? so exp??
i bought all my lights from elite.
my toilet light is those hamburger type, only cost abt 20bucks leh.

Hi interrace,

Now I still like elite after all u know, their lightings so many designs to choose from also.

Your toilet light is it those acrylic plastic type? I dont like those type, coz I find it very dim and bluish in colour.

Solli solli, the $68 is for bomb shelter, the toilet one is $48. Is frosted glass type one lor...haiz.

What else u buy from elite? is the one at mcdonalds one right? their things u feel cheap not?

I went to elite and was quoted $30 for double-tube PLC downlight with atco ballast & osram tube. Tried to negotiate for better price but the salesman insisted i get non-downlights as well to offer a total package. He simply refuse to cut down on the cost of PLC light citing that the bigger lights are the major component while PLC is minor. He says we are focusing on the wrong item. hubby was buay song so we walked out.

Proceed to Light Arcade to get our lights. Jen was the sales gal who served us with much enthusiasm. In all we bought the following from her < $900 :
- 8xdouble tube 13A PLC
- 4xsingle tube 13A PLC
- 8xfluorescent tubes (for cove lighting)
- 1 designer square light for mbr
- 2 wavy square lights for bedrooms
- 2 rectangular lights for kitchen
- 2 mirror lights for bathroom
- 1 hamburger light for household shelter
- 1 doorbell

Even the osram tube is cheaper than NTUC by a dollar.

Well, what can we say, we are 2 very satisfied customers of Light Arcade !

Hi ryes,
pix sent

Interrace,
my lites are put up before carpentry (which they are doing it next week). am using downlights for the bedroom as well....mayb wat u can do is to install all the other lites except for the fragile one like ur crystal.

Hi Slance,

got your mail liao. Your jap light looks very special, you are using yellow light?

The hamburger light har, was the one that was recommended, but after visiting my fren's home, I feel that one is very dim due to the acrylic, so we opted out of that. Will snap photos and share with you when my lights are up.

Hi Wina, Who was the person who served you at elite? Elite is the one at jalan besar, next to mcdonalds right, is that the one you went? I found them friendly leh, the guy who served us was damien. He mentioned that there are new designs coming in Aug, but I'm not sure if we are able to wait that long though. Lightings need to be up next week..

Hi Ryes,

I also like elite the best for design after visiting the whole stretch of lights at balestier, geylang and jalan besar.
Yes yes, elite is next to the macdonald.
I bought the acrylic hamburger type, the guy who served me was Alan.
I went down the 2nd time then i buy from them.
He mentioned tha the acrylic is good enuff for toilets and kitchen, so take his word for it ba. if not bright enuff then go back and ask for exchange ?
I been to light arcade as well, but dun find the design there attractive, maybe they have more downlights selection ba.For me, i dun have false ceiling so only bought those regulare lights.
I dun think elite is charging very high reason being, ytd so happen that i went to jalan besar and drove pass another shop which have the same design as elite.
Being a KS consumer, i went in to check out the price, their dining and MBR room lights(which i bought from elite) are so much more exp.Somemore, the lady who saw me walk in din even bother to serve me, talking on the phone with her frd.

So am glad elite din charge me ex-ex, if not will go back and find him.haha.
No comments abt the delivery and after service yet, as i have yet to get them to deliver.
So any mishap or ugly stuff later on, will feedback .

Hi Slances,

Tks for the advice!
Should i can buy those 80cents bulb to fix in the mean time them ?
Any bulb will do rite ?

HI Interrace,

yes yes, must agree with you that they have wild selection of light designs and they provide the lightings for HDBshowflats too.

Oh, I think people have different views on the acrylic type, you see how. One fren of mine didn't like the bluish effect, whereas I didnt like it to be so dim. Hence, we decided not to get those type, though it's cheap at only $20.

Yes lor, I was hesistant to purchase from light arcade, coz limited designs, but then, hb just wanted to get on with it, so we bought 3 only.

did they give you discounts not? Are you asking them to install for you?

Hi Ryes,

yep mi using warm light for the square jap lights...
hopefully the light is bright enuff for my toliets cos i will be install other hidden lights in the toliet oso.
waiting for ur lights as well...will snap my kitchen lights to show you as well....

Interrace,
what i mean is u install the rest of ur regular lights first since you have got no downlights....as for the hanging crystal lights, u can put it up the last since its so fragile...(not buy 80cts bulb cos scare might spoil the transformer or ballast)

Hi Ryes
Sorry I MIA...was busy with ROM &amp; was on leave...went redang etc...very fun

Sent some house pixs to both Ryes &amp; Slance....can see the lights effect( I hope! )

actually I rather fix up the carpentry than install lights...if not, they'll spoil my lights...anyway just my own thoughts..

Im also using acrylic type for my 2 toilets...no complains so far

Hi Ryes,

They give me abit discount ba, not sure if they marked the price higher abit then give discount or not.hee..but the whole hse lighting only cost me 900bucks, not sure if that is considered expensive ? My ID will be installing for me, cos i am paying them for the installation.hee..

Hi slance,
okie okie, sorry i misunderstood ur meaning, keke.
will do just that then..

tks...

Roxyz!!
go redang ar? nice bo ? u dive ?
How come neber send me the pics too ?
send leh, esp the hamburger pics, wanna see if bright enuff, for u , u find it bright enuff rite?
actually i also pm u for ur curtains quote leh, kindly send to me when u are free hor. tks alot in advance.
Me email : [email protected]

tks!!

wah roxyz,

lucky you, I want to go redang, hb promise then now say no more...Where you stay, how much your package, must be very fun!

Yoz slance, sure sure will share with you all my lightings, now currently only have my MBR lights.

haha, roxyz, sun-bian share with me your curtain contact hor..

Roxy,

saw ur lights...very nice...more of hidden light hor?

Ryes,
eh ur house iszit zen zen one? the light u took look quite zen and very romantic for MBR...kekeke...got one similar design but 3 hanging light for my MBR oso....