Cheap lightings shop to recommend

ya lor, bookworm, the thread here say its the cheapest thats why i go there & see lor but when i do the price comparsion, not true leh.. so end up i did not buy anything from them...

u should also go check out the whole stretch of Balestier to work out a bargain best to u lor...

skylar, nice lights leh. wah...u so good taste ah? hmmmm....quite surprised leh. hehehehe. just kidding.

quite busy these few days, i also went to see lights yesterday...again.

CAB,
waa lau... u MIA so long... first thing come in is to suan me izzit?

common lights lor.... urs leh? show us leh... sekali ur house all use the condom lights ah? hehehehe.... joking ah...

so hows ur light hunting yesterday? ho seh bor?

very blur leh. I went to lightology in balestier and a few other places in harbourfront to see lights. Abit blur now. my wife wanted some lights, but as usual lah...her "taste" damn high class and ex one. I told her not to buy first, until the house nearly renovated then we go hunt for lights. At least by then I will have a better idea wat kind of lights to choose mah.

I really "pei fu" u for getting your lighting budget below 1k. I think me gonna burst budget again. this few days have been going back daily to see the reno work. it's tiring..but I feel bery good to see my future house taking shape.

Will show u the lights after i purchase them ok?

CAB,
ya ...u should hunt for lights when ur house is done up, me also did the same... if not sekali u buy liao then not suitable how?

eh... u know i bargain like seow bor?? hehehehe... have to lah, budget tight mah.... how come u gotta go everyday to see the reno works one? damn siong leh.... me only go once a week only, trust that ur totally in luv with ur hse eh?

ok ok, me wait to see ur lights....
my reno done liao... now is the massive cleaning up... lagi siong....

I got a principle in life. I dun mind spending $, but it must be worth it and I enjoyed it.

So u see, I spend $ on my wedding, so I must really enjoy married life with my wife. Same goes for reno, since I spent on it, must make sure that I like the reno and to borrow a macdonald phrase..."I am lurving it!" hehehehe

eh skylar, I tot ur wedding is coming up soon leh. u shuld be bery busy with the wedding plans rite? still got time to "eat snake" here ah? Dun say me ah...I on leave today...lol

next time, I must bring u down with me to bargain. Me and my wife are hopeless when it comes to bargaining leh. u bargain for me...and I treat u to teochew muay at balestier...."swee bo"?

CAB,
wahhh... lau... u nv fail to suan me one leh...kaoz... ya lor, my AD end of Sept lor, why? oei... ur hong bao big big give me ah? hehehe...

wat eat snake.. i got do my work one ok? then sure got squeeze something in here amah! hehehe...

u on leave, go see ur hse reno again ah? waah... so manly hor? hehee.. me bargain for u? sure! aiyah... these kinda things, must bargain one if not they will eat u gao gao man! hehe...

bo swee lor, go until balestier liao, only treat me teochew muay?? throw in the bak gu teh lah! Haiz...

hmmm, i still feel chan huat's after sales svc is questionable. i had a minor dispute wif them over a small bulb and i had to insist to get my way. and the one serving me was the mgr! haiz... they can do better by being more flexible lah.

Hi skylar,

yup, yr bedrm light indeed look like the pizza shape light. for me, I bought 11 lights(3 hamburger lights, a apple & dophine design shape lights for my kitchen, 3 diff color design light for my bedrm, 2 display cabinets light, 2 'crystal' design type of lights for doorway and 1 big light for my living rm(can trigger bet 3 diff watts - 32wts, 40wts or both- of coz with additional cost added), all cost around $400+ from Chan Huat - biggest showrm.

Do all yr lightnings come with warrentry? for me, I am not sure.

Hi Starz,
I didn't encounter any problem with the service by Chan Huat, all my lights are working properly and delivery is early and the delivery lady and young lad are quite friendly.

Hi Ah Beng,
like what skylar has said, better to buy light only after yr reno is done cos if there is any defect, you can send back immediately or else the sale person can say we are the one who spoilt it since it has been 'idle' there for a while.

Wahhh.. Afcai,
ur lightings sounds damn nice lor... got dophine somemore ah! oei... take pixs to share share with us all ya!! must be very nice!

Starz,
ya lor i was in Chan Huat just asking & then realize that their price quite steep lor then i try to bargain with them but their attitude kinda sucks to me lor.. so i just step out, forget it...

CAB,
oei.. ya lor, wait for ur reno to be done liao then go buy ur lights better ah, like wat afcai state the example also true....

afcai,

i agree they r very friendly when i was in the shop, and they r still polite when i returned wif the spolt lightings... but being so inflexible irks me lor... imagine we spendg a ew hundred bucks there (though its not a lot) but to be so miserable over a small light bulb is too much lor! cant the mgr use his brains to think? he gave me the crap abt the supplier not being able to switch the bulb! come on lah! the co so big, cant even absorb the cost of a bulb? he's gotta b kidding... anyway i suan him oso lah... dun care...

skylar, i heard a few of my frens commenting tt chan huat's lightings is not cheap lor... but to me, if they can provide gd svc, i dun mind payg a bit more... however after tis incident, no more lor! they r not customer orientated and not flexible... wan to follow the rules so closely 4 wat? and i wun go back there again lah.

Starz,
ya lor, i agree with u but actually their service not that tip top also lor... although they provide u with alot of info lor but when like u lor, i wanted to change some design with some light bulbs... they keep telling me cannot cannot... then like thats the end of it lor... no more qns liao.. so i also aiyah... thinking Balestier so many lighting shops, also not only u 1 shop so then i just walk out & never went back in again lor... heheeheh...

skylar, they still need improvements lah... so inflexible... yup, they r not the only lighting shop and if they r so rigid, then nvm lor, dun patronise lor. service is impt to me, and if they cant even afford a meagre light bulb, how to do business? the mgr can even murmur under his breath "not my business wat!" u see lah, will go up in fumes when u hear such a comment!
somemore he is a mgr!!! good grief... they can make do w/o such a brainless fellow!

Hi starz,

which Chan Huat outlets of balestier did you buy yr lights. there are 5 outlets in balestier loh. I bought my lightnings at the biggest outlets there(two storey one). maybe I am the 'heng' one who dun encountered any problems with their sales services.

Hi skylar,
temporaily, I just returned the digital camera returned to the owner so not taking any pic at the moment. Yup, my two kitchen lights - one come with dolpin design cum mirror image type and another come with pics of apples around the light cover.

afcai, i dunno the exact addy of the branch. its the 2 storeyed one leh... think its directly opp a shopping centre... cant rem the name oso... the 1st storey sells misc stuff like switches etc. and the lightings on 2nd storey.

yah. mayb u r lucky enuff to hv no prob. anyway tt will b the last time i will step in again.

Hi starz,

yup, that's the biggest showrm of chan huat.so did u finally manage tio get yr light bulb exchange?

hi, anyone heard of the shop called "Litch studio" at balestier? how's their prices for the lightings? reasonable? thanks...

afcai,

i managed to get my light bulb exhg only after i insisted lor... tts why i say the mgr got very lousy PR skills.

hi skylar,

chk with you on your living room ceiling fan cum lights, how big is your fan? is it 56" ??

aiyoh, u dunno there r alot of funny pple ard... god noes wat their brains r thinkg abt... dun think they understd wat is "customer service"!!!

hai...salegals at shopping ctr will treat those who wear more 'class' clothes better than those dun wear so nice type.they will serve them.

hai..after sale services is that bad.

Has anyone purchase lightings from "Chelsea Lighting" at Jurong East St31?

What your view on their service and price?

oh yah, u reminded me... i was wearg shorts the 1st 2 times i went there.... but they had gd svc... ironically i was better dressed after the purchase when i went down and their svc was no good...

hi starz, afcai,
ya lor, i must say that they do need alot of improvement man!!! hehehehe....

hi AK,
my fan ah, ehh... i also dunno the width leh.... i go check with my HB & then let u know ya, u know lah, guys know these better lor.. hehehehe....

thanks skylar.

is 56" ceiling fan a normal size or is it too big. anyone with ceiling fan got advice? thks!

hi Obaesom,

I went down to Chelsea Lighting yesterday to take a look... actually find that they have quite limited designings in hanging lights.... but there are a few shops nearby which you can go and take a look... i find that the shops there, the prices are quite reasonable....

Hi Obaesom,

The price not very cheap. If you want to have the down lights from chelsa, ( the square ones ), can go try at jln besar elites. I got mine at there for $18.00 each ( bigger one compare to Chelsa but same brand ). Ballast is from Aust/italy and bulb is the osxxxx. Forgot the spelling. The ones Chelsa gives is phillips ballast ( local brand and made in malaysia I think ) and the osxxx brand bulb.

U can look for Mr Ang. Just tell him you being quote for $15.00 abnd hol ligts is 15.00.

I not too sure if its the cheapest in town but its the cheapest I come across so far.

Hi Dreamer,

Thanks for your response, however I was there yesterday and bought 23pcs of PLC downlight ( round ) white aluminium casting that come with 10W Osram bulb and Philip ballast.

Price is $15/pc.

Hi Skylar and CAB,
paiseh, I have not followed this thread for sometime . I took some photos of my lights some time back but did not have time to upload it.
So here goes...

Bottom view of downlights
164070.jpg

Side view of downlights
164071.jpg

Living Room lights
164072.jpg

kichen lights
164073.jpg

I finally bought my lights from Chan huat. I am very pleased with my purchase, Darren the guy who served me, was fantansic.
think the packnig pple gave us wrong bulbs for the spot light , and my electrician went to fix it..urgg 4 of them. There were some scratches on the bulbs still Darren had them change for me yesterday.phew.
So far, i have no problems with them and i am very happy with their services. thumbs up!!

Bertber,

YES YES. Look for MR Ang... he give quite good price one... hehhe

Obaesom (obaesom),

U also got from Elites isitz? The guy is nice lar hehehe

hi ritz, as mentioned in my previous posting, you can try Crown Lighting at 600 Geylang Road. The owner's name is Sunny Sim. TEL: 67430685. H/P: 91876969.
Please look at the lighting designs at other shops b4 going to him. You can be sure that he will give you a better price.
Tell him that Benny from Clementi recommended you.

Hi all, plse dun go Palace of Lights & Furnishings to buy your lights!

THEY ARE NOT TRUSTWORTHY!

I regret listening to my ID's "referral" to go and see their lights.
I bought > $1k worth of lights + ceiling fan frm them only to find that they ripped me off big-time!

I took a walk along Jln Besar and Balestier Rd yesterday and today while hunting for my bathrm accessories and out of some nagging suspicions, i popped in quite a no. of lightings shops.
And my sense of buyer's regret gets stronger and stronger! =(

List of items bought - price i paid VS 3rd party quote
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. 1 x KDK ceiling fan w remote - $200 each VS $170!
2. 2 x 50w Halogen d/l cw transformer in square silver frame - paid $25 each VS $20 quote!
3. 11 x PLC 10w d/l in square die-cast metal silver frame - paid $18 each VS $14 quote!
4. 8 x PLC 2x13w d/l in square die-cast metal silver frame - paid $35 VS $28 quote!
5. 2 x 2D(tube) 38w in round white metal holder wif acrylic cover - paid $85 VS $20 quote!
6. 2 x 18w "energy saving" d/l in silver cylinder holder - paid $65 vs $40 quote!
7. 3 x 40w+32w+IC wif round glass cover with silver metal trim - paid $115 vs $90 quote!

All in all, Palace of Lights overcharged me by $345!!!!

Further note that the 3rd party prices i was quoted was b4 bargaining with the shops somemore!

*Wails* what a SUPER BIG CARROT i have been!

When I went to confront the sales person as the amt involved is not a small sum, he gave some crap story that their lights, holders all come frm spain and their ballast are gd quality one frm australia. BS! I went to some other lighting shops and for the same price i had paid, i was able to get better quality lights, ballast etc frm germany etc. And the finishes and mechanisms realli haf a lot of diff! I am so fuming mad at Palace of Lights!

So please dun buy frm them and spread the word around so tat your friends won't have to go thru the "heart-ache" that i am having now!

During my "post-light purchase" trips to Balestier yesterday & today, i found 2 shops whose designs are nicer, quality better and prices much more reaonable than Palace of lights

1) A.F. Lighting House
329 Balestier Rd
- Look for Mr Steven Chin. Veri friendly and patient despite my endless asking of prices for various lights, cty of origin/mfg and even opening of all lights to see the quality of finishes.

2)Lights Zone Enterprise
338 Balestier Rd
Nice trendy design lights with reasonable prices.
- Look for Joevin Neo.

I also find Chan Huat's lights pretti expensive despite me being such a big carrot to Palace of Lights liao. But their design range is quite extensive.

So, please take note of my painful experience and DUN BUY LIGHTS FRM PALACE OF LIGHTS!!!!!!

Hi Smurf!
thxs for sharing! ur lights looks cool!
ehhhehe....

well,
fallen, i do understand how u feel ya! coz i did buy 1 light from them too.... but then hor, they also damn ko ko one, i have to go to them so many times to get the tings rite man!

Skylar, u bought oni 1 light and u already find them ko-ko/ku-ku, wat more i buy 32 lights frm them? *sighz* this tells me, next time must really open eyes wide wide and not take things at face value. okie, managed to take some pics of my miserable lights. Check out the last one especially...courtesy of my dad who thinks that lights as bright as possible best liao. I originally also choose the hamburger light but he thinks not bright enuff...*shakes head* somemore, he damn pang dang and insist on all lights to be round, due to feng shui concerns.
193608.jpg
193609.jpg
193610.jpg

Below is a rough guide for those buying round ceiling lights:
1) 40w, glass cover : $50 ~ $60
2) 32w, glass cover : $40 ~ $50
3) 22w : $15 ~ $30 (depends on design)
Hope this help...

hi fallen,

can i noe how much is the ceiling light costs (first pix)

i saw something similar with the option of horoscope.

thought of getting this for my son's rm.

was told made of aluminium. but find a bit ex leh $160