Chatters

Hi Chatters!

I went to Batam for a spa with my colleague on Tuesday and stayed a night there.
When my colleague and I was about to turn in, our neighbour was very noisy, it sounded like chairs being dragged across the room and things being dropped or thrown. The noise went on for like 20mins and i was getting very angry,i stomped my leg on the ground twice (the rooms were all built with woods) and then walked angrily towards the door. I open the door and saw a guy outside, when i was about to ask the guy to keep the volume down, he turned and i was shocked!

He is my ex-bf. Both of us were stunned but i managed to turn my smile from :/ to

He smiled back and we chatted a little, then his gf came out to see who he was talking to, i cant i believe i actually smiled and said hello to her.
Woah... i dint see him in Spore for a year but its a coincident that we met in Batam staying in the same resort right beside my room some more. -__-"

yeh.. the full stretch of KPE seems never-ending.. think it's between 6 to 7km? That night (ard 1am), i tot i was caught in a 'spiritual realm' cos' i didn't see other cars in the tunnel. haha...

Mayi, super small world isn't it? And, i tot you did it right, cos' that's what i would do as well. Good for you! =)

But maybe, you should gently still remind them abt their volume - sounds like some 'activites' was going on - or, was it a tiff?

its supposed to take around 10mins to travel from one end of the kpe to the other end, assuming a speed of 70km/h is maintained. =)

yup... around 8-10mins... i think the most tiring part is to maintain at 70km/h... altho I still see cars zooming past me way above the speed limit.. haha

ya.. i think the cameras in the KPE using laser sensor to track the speed of our cars. More accurate = higher chance to kenna summon

janie: sorry, just realised that i never answered your question about cebu .. it was lovely but i missed the kids a lot - every day called back 6-7 times until my sister who answered the phone also became quite sianz to hear my voice .. hahahah ..

i was thinking of going for my driver's license this year but damn scared leh .. how ah?

Cuc, why scared? It's fun to learn something new.....You can go for a Class 3A licence as there are fewer lessons and one less thing to learn - clutching hehe

Mayi, you doing Class 3 or 3A?

Cuc,

It is fun to learn driving. And if you are aiming to get your licence in an easier manner, go for auto. The "clutch and gear" technique is difficult for newbies to grasp. Worse still if this is done on a slope during circuit.

Go for it. U will enjoy yourself.

oh, should be Class 3A. hee.

I plan to convert it to Class 3 after i can drive steadily. I guess it will be easier to handle the manual lessons by then. Always good to have a manual license just in case mah. Ps i very kiasu de. haha.

Cuc, Class 3 is manual transmission while Class 3A automatic transmission. The difference is for Class 3, you need to learn and master the use of the clutch and gear. Can be very "busy" for newbies, but I feel it's fun lah after you get the hang of not stalling the car hehe

If you would ask, I think you should go for Class 3A because no point doing 3 when you don't have a manual car to practise and polish up your skills after you become a licensed driver. My SIL is a classic example hehe

oh i see .. always thought that it'll be better to learn to drive manual than automatic but have to agree that automatic seems much easier ..

Cuc/Mayi,

You can apply for a Class 3 practical test as soon as you have obtained your Class 3A licence.
You are not legally required to take the Class 3 course lessons. You are only legally required to pass the practical test to prove your competence. However, the schools and private driving instructors may have their own policy of ensuring that you are adequately competent to use their vehicles for the test. They may require you to go through a lesson or two to ascertain your competency level.

You can refer to the website below for more info. Auto is much easier to learn compared to manual. But if you are a car lover and wants the "feeling" of controlling a car, then you may want to get a class 3 licence. I think those "geniune" sports car would be manual rather than auto.

http://learn-to-drive.spf.gov.sg/services/Learn_To_Drive/Faq/3Afaq.htm#c3

thanks for the information .. i've booked a BTT on 6 Mar. i've passed both theory tests but many many moons ago .. my colleague said i just need to re-sit for final theory but i thought it best if i start from scratch
wish me luck!

Cuc,

Would they still allow you to sit for BTT since you have passed yours years back? I think it is gd to sit for BTT as what you have learnt years back would be outdated by now since alot of new road markings/signs/rules would have been added/changed by now.

pro, exactly la .. i think i took those tests when i was about 19-20 which means it's about 9-10 years ago leh! so much has changed since then .. hahahah ..

I had always thought that I wasn't able to use both hands (gear and steering), legs (clutch, brake, accelerator), eyes (rear and side mirrors) and ears (music and honks) all at the same time, but I surprised myself being able to enjoy manual driving. The only thing I don't fancy is when caught in slow traffic, which will get me very busy doing Gear 1, 2, 3 repeatedly haha. But it keeps me awake and alert?

Doll,

I had so much problems with the gear, clutch and accelerator when I was learning driving in the past. I have always had hands and legs coordination problems in the past even back in college days when we need to do college rap. When I released the clutch, I tend to release the accelerator too. Likewise when I step on 1, I step on the other too... my instructor almost vomitted blood then.

Now that I have stopped driving manual cars, I am not sure if I still have a problem driving a manual 1 of these days. I feel that you are more prone to falling asleep when you are cruising. But when cruising, to me, there is not much difference whether it is manual or auto.

Mmmm, I hardly get a chance to cruise except using the KPE which requires me to keep at a constant speed of 70kmph hehe. Plus the bumpy road, I really felt like dozing off. Luckily I got my disco music to keep me awake.

What about you, Pro?

Doll,

I seldom drive. In the past, my hb will drive. Now I only drive when the places which I am going are inconvenient. Usually I will get a chance to cruise on Sat late nights when I travel along PIE/ECP starting from East Coast area heading towards town. Will on the radio at full blast too when I drive. I have not been doing parallel parking since I have passed my driving test. Now I can't do parallel parking at all.... so sad... feels abit incomplete in a way...keke

Pro, practice makes perfect, really. I used to be unable to do parallel parking when the lot is on the right because it is slightly different from that when the lot is on the left. But after a number of attempts whenever I get the chance, I got it liao hehe.

Cucl,

Hehe my new year's resolution is to learn driving. Hope to take theory test by april.

I agree with doll, practice makes perfect. There's always a first time for everything in life

Nice fushia pink! Hey, there should be purple taxi man lol

OK, this year we have Cuc, Green and Mayi getting a driver's licence. I will check back with you gals by the end of the year to see who's not gotten it hehe

Pro, I am drooling.....

i just checked out the ssdcl website and the cost to learn driving is freaking expensive! When i was in poly, my frnds took their lesson @ $50+ each nia... Now its a freaking $80.25!!! $80.25 x 25lessons = $2000+

woah.... i heard taking pvt one will be a lot cheaper.. isit? any lobang for private instructor???

green: i don't know why but just decided to go for it .. hahaha .. better book fast .. the dates for tests are going like hotcakes .. just now i managed to get 3 march for BTT but something wrong with the site, by the time it started working for me - the date is gone liao so i can only book 6 march earliest .. doing it at lunch so my husband doesn't know .. hahahahah ...

eh, i thought you already have you license from the way you were describing driving at KPE to doll ..

doll: wah, like that paiseh leh if don't pass .. husband also got a friend who said in 2005 that he's learning to drive soon .. last year when we went back, i asked and he said he's still learning .. hahahaha ..

where to find kobe beef steaks in singapore? majority are just wagyu beef yah .. i'm looking for fresh truffle, know where to find?

Mayi,

I learned from a private instructor in the past and that was 7 yrs back and I was paying $24/hr for a private instructor. Let me check with my brother on the rates cos he learnt from both private and school last year.

Mayi, I took lessons at SSDC in 2006. Back then it was cheaper but the duration of a lesson was 100 minutes. Oh, GST was still at 5% then.....

Pro, fyi, it is US Kobe beef, not Japanese Kobe beef that I will be having some time this week.....should be on Sat or Sun as this week I have one too many business lo-hei luncheons hehe

Mayi,

My bro says he paid $30/hr for private and $82/2 hrs for school. So the difference is $11/hr... that's alot boy. But I am not sure if you need to pay for circuit ticket if you learn from school cos during my time, on top of the usual rate which I need to pay to my instructor, I have to pay for the circuit ticket too when I enter circuit. So you may have to consider this part too.