Chatters

5inches too tall le bah.. i cant manage in that...
3inches is already killing me on a few occassions... can only walk in them to office, change to my lunch slippers then thats it.. haha..

News to share...

Terror on N-S Highway

By Karen Wong

WAS it the Singapore-registered flashy cars? Or were the harassing, the high-speed chase, the beating and robbery a flash, unplanned by thugs in a Mercedes?

The flash was the fleet of Singapore-registered Ferraris and Maseratis out for a fun drive up to Genting Highlands. Taking part were about 20 members of the Ferrari Club.

But despite safety measures such as keeping together and communicating with walkie-talkies, it turned out to be a trip filled with the terror of high-speed car chases, three attempted robberies capped by a brutal beating of one Ferrari car owner.

The incident happened on Friday afternoon on the North-South Highway between Malacca and Kuala Lumpur.

The Ferrari Club convoy, which included some Maserati drivers, had left Singapore on Friday morning at about 10am, according to its motorsports director Chia Boon Teck, who was part of the group.

The fleet of about 20 cars was led by the president of Ferrari Club's Singapore chapter, Dr Ben Neo, the husband of Member of Parliament Lily Neo.

All was well until the group was nearing Malacca.

That was when a black Mercedes-Benz C-Class, with two men inside, flagged one of the cars down.

One of the men produced an identity card.

Meanwhile, the rest of the convoy - who were all hooked up with walkie-talkies - also pulled up along the road shoulder.

Mr Chia told The New Paper on Sunday that the two men had pretended to be custom officers.

But, he said, when the men saw that all the cars had stopped, they pretended it was a misunderstanding and drove off.

Later, the group pulled into a petrol station near Ayer Keroh to refuel.

About 10 minutes after leaving the station, the drivers in the black Merc tried their luck again, this time targeting the cars at the tail-end of the convoy.

They stopped a Maserati. But another Maserati also pulled up.

Mr Chia was one of those who had pulled up along the road shoulder. But he stopped several metres ahead of the two Maseratis.

On hearing through his walkie-talkie that the two men were aggressive, he called the Johor police, he said.

To give the police a point of reference to their location, he drove further up where there were road signs.

Meanwhile, another Maserati driver who had stopped ahead of the two Maseratis decided to reverse his car, along the road shoulder, to back them up.

The two thugs found themselves outnumbered and left - but not before one of them snatched one of the Maseratis' keys from its ignition and made off with it.

Luckily the driver of that Maserati had brought his spare key along.

Meanwhile Mr Chia, who was on the phone with the police, did not realise that the thugs had left the group of Maserati drivers.

Suddenly, he said, while he was on the phone, the black Merc cut in front of his car.

'One of them flagged me down aggressively.

'But I quickly put my car into reverse and shot off.'

Car chase

Mr Chia said that the Merc driver then gave chase.

'I was travelling close to 200kmh, zig-zagging in between traffic. Then I hit a patch of heavy rain and lost him.'

The rest of the convoy were waiting for them at the Sungei Besi toll, the exit point for Kuala Lumpur.

Mr Chia said that while all that was unfolding, the members of the convoy knew what was happening as they were in communication with one another.

But, they did not realise that another Ferrari Club member was also making his way up to Genting. He was part of the trip, but not part of the convoy, Mr Chia said. It is not clear if he had a walkie-talkie.

As it turned out, this man was driving up behind the group.

Somehow, this driver caught up with the black Merc, whose robbery attempts had been foiled so far.

When the black Merc started chasing this driver, he sensed he was in trouble and he started speeding, hoping to lose the thugs.

'The Merc tried to bump his car three times, unsuccessfully,' Mr Chia said.

But when heavy rain came, the Ferrari driver lost control of his car and spun around, before crashing into the rail and another car.

The Ferrari driver and his wife, in the passenger seat, were shaken but fine.

Then, another danger - the black Merc pulled up alongside and used a crowbar to smash the window of his metallic-grey Ferrari.

The two thugs dragged him out of the car, and started punching and kicking him.

Mr Chia said that four more thugs joined the two men in beating the Ferrari owner, who is Malaysian. They then fled with his two watches.

By then, the Ferrari owner's wife had run off and to get help from passers-by. She was unharmed.

The Maseratis came upon the scene and helped the injured man before making their way to Genting Highlands.

Fearing for the group's safety, the group called for the representatives from the hotel to escort them to the next toll booth, Karak, from which they were escorted by the police for the rest of their journey.

He said that it was not clear to them if the attack had been pre-planned or just out of the blue.

Another Ferrari owner, who is also a member of the club but was not on this trip, said that going to Malaysia in a flashy car like a Ferrari is like 'an open ticket for any robber'.

'When there are more than 10 cars in a group, we are going to draw attention.'

This owner, who has been on more than 20 convoy trips, said that one of the safety measures was that they always drove in a group. 'The buddy-system has kept me safe so far.'

Hooked up

Mr Chia added that apart from ensuring that every member of the convoy is hooked up with walkie-talkies, they also try to drive 'tight', so that each car is not more than 2-km away from the other.

He said: 'The robbery victim was oblivious to what had happened to our convoy and he was very unfortunate to be at the wrong place at the wrong time.'

Mayi, Kuishinbo @ Suntec sounds good.

Chatters, shall we have Round 1 of our anniversary gathering at Kuishinbo @ Suntec? I am thinking of going for the early bird feast and we will leave at 7pm for Round 2. By the way, the dinner starts as early as 5:30pm.

Round 2 can be at Marina Mandarin Lounge. Any other suggestions?

Rin,
I'm munching snacks now at table. Stressed at work too!

Your workload has increased or difficult people?

It's time to cyco myself that I'm fortunate to have a job when some have problems finding one LOL.

Rin,
On the positive side, you are getting MORE IMPORTANT in your company
Then you must learn as much as possible from him/her this month. Is your company hiring a replacement?

I find that companies cut costs and staff are usually overloaded nowadays. For example, we tend to see insufficient no. of waiters who are overloaded at resturants.

Green,
hope my pay will increase as my workload increases.. haha.. i hv a new colleague todae, as my old colleague teaching the new one, i hv to learn too, i am the back-up in case she cnt rem.. LOL..

Rin,
U can transfer me there! Haha I'm very anti-social at my workplace and like to be alone. I everyday pack lunch and eat it alone at my table.

There are pros of less people at workplace. More people mean more gossips and politics ;)

Green,
I hv less den 10 colleagues here, onli two females, the rest are all males, they can gossip like nobody's biz! I ever kanna b4. They will cm and tok to me den after awhile, another one will cm, trying to find out more abt my backgrd and the things tat i had shared wif the previous colleague.

Rin,
Your colleagues did the same as what some students did to me. They like to probe into my personal things. I'll usually reply them with a grin "Why so kiapo?", "Too free is it? Go and do your work." or ask them back some questions to shut them up.

If I'm in your shoes, I'll probably reply "Go and ask that guy. He just asked me same questions hehe".

hmm.. i don find it true with more people more gossips neh.. its the people themselves that is the crucial part...
big group here in my office, we dun play such gossip games or politics here... cos the people here are fun and direct.. sensitive to fellow colleagues' feeling too of course... for our subsidiary co, only 20+ people in the office, but machiam in a war everyday...

Morning Everyone.

New proposal for our 1st anniversary gathering on 11 Oct 08 (Sat). For the buffet dinner at Kuishinbo @ Suntec, let's not go for the early bird feast as 1.5 hours (5:30pm - 7pm) for makan seem rather short.

We shall meet there for dinner and stay for as long as we want to. Price will be $39.90++ per pax.

Ok with you all?

Good morneh all peers~

i lost my handphone last night. Kindly pm your number so that i can update to my new nokia phone 8250...thanks

dragon...u siew dou ar $40 per pax, abit run road leh hahahaha but i am fine with it la...eat liaoz then go PS to empty stomach then eat again, then take turn go shopping then eat again...quite idea hahaha

Bor lah, Green, what driving at 200 kmph?! I think our car only up to 180 kmph, I think haha. Meng kept saying my car powerful but I don't feel it. So I just want to test drive his car and see if got difference mah.

dolly jie, i duno lei.. cos his clients might wana mit him up last minute or something... we shall confirm again when the date is near.

the retainers in my mouth are hurting my tongue... and the earliest date available to meet my dentist is next monday.. gosh... 11am is the only slot available some more.. ai yo....

greenie... painkiller wun hlp wor.. cos the tip of the 'metal strip'(i duno whats the correct term for it) is sharp and its hurting my tongue whenever i try to swallow saliva... so its sort of abrasion???

Lady friend, Meng?? Then your Laygon how??? He will be so jealous of her haha

Rin Tonic, when I got time I type longer - Rin Tonic. No time then I type Rin hehehe

Meng, if you miss Laygon, you can stare at the picture you took with him at Harbour Front haha

Mayi, why do you still have to wear the retainers? I am clueless about braces, retainers and such.