Chatters

keke... so busy busy!!!!!

no time to come in chatters to talk rots, not even msn... T_T

wana ask some opinions from u all~

i am thinking of going for Diploma in Legal Studies then if ok, will continue to go for Advance Diploma in Legal Studies which will help in what i am doing now... The cost of each diploma is around $4,200 (most prob my co can subsidise around 20% of the cost without bond).

but i am also thinking of going straight to uniSim for my degree in Marketing (govt giving 40% subsidy for working adults)....

i duno if i should go for dip in legal studies since i like the working environment here and bosses + colleagues are all helpful and willing to be my mentor... or should i go straight for my degree in mkting since there is a subsidy from the govt now and i reckon i will try out the sales line 3 or 4 yrs later.....

Mayi, sorry, I thought you already have a Diploma in Legal Studies from Temasek Polytechnic? Did I remember wrongly?

Actually, it boils down to what kind of career path you have plotted for yourself. If you prefer being a legal aid or clerk, of course a legal studies diploma and advanced diploma would make sense.

thats the problem loh..
cos initially i joined this company to earn allowance, gain experience and to continue my marketing studies part time....

then now i got the chance to go for legal studies (not going into being a lawyer of cos) since my boss encourages me and i guess it is sort of a good opportunity to enhance my knowledge in law...

hmm... i think i will go for the law diploma and first... hopefully there will still be subsidy available 3yrs later... that is if i am still going for degree by that time....
i guess i will t

dolly jie, no la.. wad i have is Diploma in Marketing from NYP. i have wanted myself to go into sales line as i am always interested in it...
but now i feel being a legal assistant to my bosses is challenging and job satisfying... so am interested to go for the legal certification... at the same time, i dun wana lose the opportunity of studing the degree @ subsidized rate from the govt....

Doll,
I have checked out the brochure for u. Melaleuca has Collagen drinks. In addition to containing Marine Collagen, it contains natural herbs for beauty, antioxidants and vitamins.

I have scanned and emailed the brochure page to your gmail.

Green, thank you so much! I will have a look later.

Where's dodo? Hehe

Mayi, if you enjoy being a legal aid, there is a career path outside your current company, and that should be an important consideration. Besides assisting lawyers at (big and reputed) a law firm or corporate counsels with companies, you can join listed companies and assist the Company Secretary. I heard that they pay the latter well because it is quite a specialised area of work.

hmm.. i guess i will go for the dip in legal studies.. even if few yrs down the road i realise i still wana go into sales then i switch... walk one step see one step... xD

My keyboard keys sometimes can't work

Mayi,
If I'm u, I'll go for the degree cos already have diploma & I dun want to spend 3 + 3 = 6 years (3 for diploma & 3 for degree). I'm lazy one.

To do sales, you need human networks and contacts more than a cert. Just 2cents worth, I maybe wrong.

Just joking leh, I don't need iPod because I don't have much time to listen to music other than at my work desk or in the car.

Dodo - you buying iPod as a gift?

Doll,
I'm not tempted hehe unless company increases my pay by a lot for it! Since kindergarten, I already told my mum that I don't like studies haha. If I have the interest in studies, I won't give up the PHD scholarship that was offered to me 3 years ago.

Green, I also don't like to study, oh, to be more precise, I hate exams. I prefer work life. If I go back to school, it has to be a pursuit of personal interest that can motivate me.

doll of coz i know u r joking. ppl who drive seldom (pls take note i say seldom, i nv say dont buy) will buy things like ipod or psp..

I'm buying the ipod for personal use only.

All my songs are saved in a few thumbdrives that I could plug and play in the car.

Dodo, if you are interested in dresses, can try www.asos.com. I find the designs and sizing more suitable for us Asians as compared to VS.

Dodo & Mayi, I bought an El Casino on Dragon's encouragement to regain my interest in Parking Wars. I just cashed in double of my winning! So easy and fast to make more money in that game now haha.

i am trying to slim down cos i am going redang next week.. dun wana look fatty when changing into wetsuit.. haha...

my colleague gave me a plan B if i cant slim down in time.. she ask me to stay away from slim/skinny people and cling on to aaron... so that i will look 'smaller'... LOL...

Peeps, i am going to consult my boss on my future prospect in this company/department if i take up the course... keke...

August Outing
-------------
Dinner venue: To be confirmed
Time: 7pm
Organiser: Rin & Green
16th (Sat) - Green, Dodo, princess & a friend, Rin, Dragon, Doll, Mayi, Aaron, Sylphide

Can we settle for Coca at Ngee Ann City?

16th August, 7pm Outing
-----------------------
Dinner venue: Coca Resturant, #04-22 Ngee Ann City, Takashimaya Shopping Centre

Organiser: Rin & Green
Attendees: Green, Dodo, princess & a friend, Rin, Dragon, Doll, Mayi, Aaron, Sylphide

I have called up Coca to book a table for 10. It's good that we dun have to divide ourselves up into 2 tables. Just quote my real name, the waiter will bring you to our table.

thks cuclainne!

greenie, me and aaron will be tentatively on for the dinner as we most probably have a BBQ dinner with his diving friends.. if there is part 2 we will be on... ;)
i will let u know if we are confirmed for the dinner asap.

Just to share:

*The Pretty Lady*

Once upon a time, a big monk and a little monk were traveling together. They came to the bank of a river and found the bridge was damaged. They had to wade across the river. There was a pretty lady who was stuck at the damaged bridge and couldn’t cross the river.

The big monk offered to carry her across the river on his back.. The lady accepted. The little monk was shocked by the move of the big monk. 'How can big brother carry a lady when we are supposed to avoid all intimacy with females?' thought the little monk. But he kept quiet. The big monk carried the lady across the river and the small monk followed unhappily.

After they crossed the river, the big monk let the lady down and they parted ways with her. All along the way for several miles, the little monk was very unhappy with the act of the big monk. He was making up all kinds of accusations about big monk in his head. This got him madder and madder. But he still kept quiet. And the big monk had no inclination to explain his situation. Finally, at a rest point many hours later, the little monk could not stand it any further; he burst out angrily at the big monk. 'How can you claim yourself a devout monk, when you seize the first opportunity to touch a female, especially when she is very pretty? All your teachings to me make you a big hypocrite!’ The big monk looked surprised and said, 'I had put down the pretty lady at the river bank many hours ago, how come you are still carrying her along?'

[This very old Chinese Zen story reflects the thinking of many people today. We encounter many unpleasant things in our life, they irritate us and they make us angry. Sometimes, they cause us a lot of hurt; sometimes they cause us to be bitter or jealous. But like the little monk, we are not willing to let them go away. We keep on carrying the baggage of the 'pretty lady' with us. We let them keep on coming back to hurt us, make us angry, make us bitter and cause us a lot of agony. Why? Simply because we are not willing to put down or let go of the baggage of the 'pretty lady'..

We should let go of the pretty lady immediately after crossing the river; that is after the unpleasant event is over. This will immediately remove all our agonies. There is no need to be further hurt by the unpleasant event after it is over.]

Mayi,
Ok thanks. U can inform Rin too, as she's the other organiser.

Doll,
Ans: I like greenery cos they give me a sense of tranquility.

Haha I dun get funny PMs from here but I got some funny ones from friendster last time. My friendster page got show long hair, so this person can't possibility be a man lah!

Dragon,
Why u call yourself dragonfruit? Its your fav fruit?

I still remember that some of us were shocked to know that u were a man! haha dragonfruit nick seems to be more for a gal.