Chatters

Mayi ... usually during the CNY period, car sales shd slow down cos those who wanna buy wan already done so ... so probably tat's the time yr bf got time tat's y he say wanna go during tat period. So for this year end, u go on your own lor ... He can't be unhappy if he can't make it wat ...

Mayi, I haven't tried waxing in the bikini area before as I am worried about skin allergy, especially when I am prone to yeast infection. I just came down with another infection and was at the gynae's clinic this morning. Also it was time for my pap test and scans of the ovaries and uterus. I have some fibroides in the uterus. We also discussed contraceptives in details.

Nothing much lah, just yeast infection and routine checks cos of the fibroides. Also, ask gynae to check my breasts and do pap test. I believe in taking preventive measures.

Do preg woman get yeast infections too? I noe a bit weird to ask here, but does feminine wash help and also reduce the odour below?

Cheerio, no lah...I just see if I could help encourage some women (or men) out there who are getting out of their marriage due to extremem hardship (like my case). I don't know how to say comforting words, just offer practical views.

I believe:
The lack of will power has caused more failures than the lack of ability.

Courage is not the absence of fear but acting in the presence of fear.

Do what is right, and don't run and hide behind your anxiety and fear.

hi gals! i see that you're all talking about being pregnant.
you mummies are a great bunch!

may i ask if you think through the babysitting process before getting preg or boh chap, just get preg 1st?
i thought through many times and no conclusion...

pinky, its quite common to have some sort of infection during pregnancy but care must be taken to maintain cleaniness. i wouldn't suggest using those feminine wash since u r pregnant now, best to use water

balloom, glad that you are feeling better to join us at chatters
well, babysitting is very impt hence i consider this as my top priority during family planning. There are few options available for all of us, which are 1) grandparents 2) nanny 3) infantcare 4) maid or 5) to be a SAHM (stay at home mum)

Are you also planning? Which option would you choose?

Luckily ... my MIL is all ready to take care if i really pop out one ... hee hee

Heart ... a few of my frens who just give birth says the massage dun work on them ... got one did many sessions ... suffered n still the same. So far only one see results ... instead, they are a few who got back their figure quite fast via breast feeding ...

diana, maybe individual react differently. For myself, can see my stomach become flatter after oni 2-3 session of massage. Of course you can't expect massage to help you slim down overnite. Wat massage did is to help ur stomach to be firmer and to get rid of those blood in u.

breast feeding is the most effective way of loosing weight. the amt of calories burnt is even more than you exercise. like for myself, i was back to my original weight and figure in less than 3mths and continue to loose weight while breast feeding, oni stop breast feeding when my bb becomes 8mths old, even then, my weight continue to go down for additonal 2-3mths and then maintain there till now (my boi going to be 2.5yrs old).

diana, good that u have ur MIL to take care when u have a bb.

Well, i never thought of asking my MIL for help as i'm afraid of the conflicts that might arises from it.

hi heart, feeling better now, thanks!

i'm not planning yet cos couldn't decide on the babysitting issue. my parents are taking care of a few kids already so didn't want to add on to their stress. parents in law totally out. maid, nanny and infantcare seemed to be the closest choice but i've heard and read too many horror stories. i'm seriously considering not having any kid...

balloon, is the bb sitting part putting u off having a bb or u r not ready yet to be a parent (due to the responsibilities)?

Nanny and infantcare is a far better choice than maid (if there's no one around to supervise). Wat kind of horror stories have you heard, care to share?

I've friends who put their bb at infantcare, quite pleasant, child learnt to be more sociable and independent. however the cons of it is that child will fall sick more frequently during the 1st few mths there.

i got no time to think of babysitter problem, cos it is an accident preg, hehe... tat is y now me n hb worried abt after my maternity leave, who is going to take care of bb. if find baby sitter baby say might as well i quit n take care of baby

heart, i think it's both but bb sitting seemed to be a bigger issue. hubby and i talked abt the issue many times but no conclusion.

i've a colleague who leaves her daughter with bb sitter during weekdays and she bring home during weekends. when she's about 2-3yrs old, my colleague realised the baby is not sleeping well. in fact, refused to sleep till the wee hours. she asked the daughter why. she kept pointing to tv. my colleague knew the bb sitter is a tv addict. she asked the bb sitter if she watched tv till very later. bb sitter admitted that she and bb sleep in the afternoon and watch videos in the wee hours of the night. my colleague had a hard time training the girl back to normal sleeping hours.

same for toilet training. bb sitter kept letting the girl wear diaper though she's big enough to be trained.

as for infant care, my colleague saw with her own eyes how her bb was being ignored when she cried. happened for a few days and my colleague was really upset.

basically as long as the child is left with someone else, it's difficult to know how she's being taken care of.

i guess the issues are small but being a mother, you tend to take it very personally. my mum really took good care of me when i was young. i'll feel guilty if i know my bb is not well taken care of.

Diana, I am on monthly contraceptive jab. Generally ok but not quite happy with one side effect - the bleeding stretches over more days now.

Some years ago I was seriously thinking of becoming a mommy but I think this will be shelved forever. So I am in search of a most suitable contraceptive.

As for yeast infection, I've picked up a brochure from the gynae's, that pregnancy, birth control and menstrual period are some of the common causes because of hormonal changes that can affect the pH balance of the vagina.

By the way, don't douch. Douching may disrupt the pH balance of the vagina.

I have been asked to stop using pantyliners too, and if possible, avoid wearing panties during sleep.

my 11-month old has been in infantcare since i returned to work after my maternity leave .. so far it's been ok for her, she enjoys going to the 'school' in the morning - of course, she will also fall ill if some of the other kids are having dripping noses, etc .. a few weeks ago, she had a set of bite marks on her arm when an older infant decided to sink her teeth into her after they decided they wanted to play with the same toy. of course i was concerned but when it involves other children, sometimes these things can't be avoided .. how much does an infant really understand at that age so you just have to let it pass.

balloon: for infantcares, you can't ask for personalised care from the nannies to your child .. sometimes there's just too many infants around .. the centre where my daughter goes to has a ratio of 4 infants to 1 nanny.

Sgbabydoll, I currently juz use pantyliners during the day. At nite I dont. But I feel weird without panty at nite. Feels very airy. haha... Plus I have this feeling tat air will travel in and its not good for the baby.

Have you seen your gynae about the yeast infection?

I think I have to completely stay off pantyliner. No choice. As for leaving out panties at night...I don't know yet haha

O, make sure you wear panties made in cotton as it is breathable.

As for air travelling in to the baby like you described hor, I feel you don't have to worry about that because your girl is very safe in your womb

its not so good to use pantyliner for 24/7, must breathe leh. actually last time i also have yeast infection and rely on pantyliner. but once i stop using pantyliner, the infection clear by itself. To fight yeast infection, its good to take yogurt regularly.

cuclainne, i'm just very kan bu kai about how my child will be taken care of. sigh... that's the super protective side of me. unless i can come to terms with closing one eye, i think it's very difficult for me to have a child.

i use pantyliners 24/7 too! have been using them for years. i had yeast infection before and doc mentioned that i may be allergic to the pantyliners that i've been using. so i changed to another brand for a period of time till the yeast clears up. then i switch back to the usual one. seemed to work.

I thought its more hygienic to use pantyliners loh, and I only use those with cottony surface. there are those which are fragrance-free if you are sensitive, but i like to use those which are scented

Balloon, think Cuclainne not chinese leh... right, Cuclainne?

balloon: yah, me and the husband are quite 'relax' in our child-rearing attitudes .. when she was about 2 months old, i took her to the office party on my own and cos i wanted to eat, some of my colleagues say they want to 'pinjam' her so i just let them carry her around the room - i didn't even know that they had allowed other people to carry her until the week after when one of my bosses mentioned that my daughter brought good luck cos most of the people who carried her won prizes that evening and i was like huh? i don't even know who some of these people are .. another time me and the husband attended a wedding lunch (the office gardener's daughter's event) and one of the ladies there offered to carry her while we eat so we just let her carry .. on hindsight, perhaps it wasn't the best of ideas esp. when we didn't know anyone there but at that time, we just didn't think anything bad could happen lor ..

btw, what is kan bu kai? cheerio is right about me .. hehehe ..

hi cuclainne, i am the opposite of you. i'm very 'protective' of my boi to the extent that during my confinement, i will ensure that the door to my mum hse is locked b4 i walked away either to the bedroom or toilet and my mum say i siao when i told her i'm scared that someone will juz come in and carry my boi away...haha... even if someone is carrying my boi, i'll still be hovering around in case he cry for me

baobei, do u mean that u will quite ur job to look after ur baby?

cheerio, why he too "hurt" leh? did we or someone did something to hurt his ego?

morning everyone, was typing my entry half way when I kicked into my com wire and it got shut off. Haha... silly me. Anyway sort of forgot wat i wrote already.

Actually Im not sure if I got yeast infection or not. Juz tat preg woman tends to have more discharge anyway rite.

Panty liners will help with the discharge, so no stain on the panty. Then it also helps with the odour as well. Change regularly should be alrite. I also only wear cotton underwear at nite, more comfi mah. But usually at nite one is older panty, so even during menses period, also dont so heartpain if there is any overflow.

so fast wednesday liao...

need to look for something decent for my poly fren's wedding

*got excuse to spend money again*

cheerio, u dun need excuse to spend money on urself
you have the right to pamper urself. btw, is ur results out yet? Is that the last exam or class had resume?