Chatters

green, i haven't even begun to pack the things in the kitchen yet .. it seems like i haven't packed anything at all, despite the full 22 boxes!

Cuc you just shifted? ahahahaha good luck~ I juz went through that earlier this year! It was hell but after that you will feel the sense of achievement lah... 38 boxes *poof*

HBH, i have 60 boxes to pack .. 22 down, 38 more to go. my new place - at least the aircon is fixed, cable and phone activate next week, bought fridge and washing machine .. now have to buy stove, new bed. have to install deck, patio roof by this week - argh! i still have not gone to look for light fixtures yet .. i'm so freaking out!

......... reminds me of my wife's stuffs... One and a half lorry full no kidding. Good luck sia.

For lightings if you are not particular for very new or in designs, I have a place to reccomend. Cos balestier and jalan besar both rips ppl off.

Cucl,
Try to prioritize your tasks, do those tasks that are more urgent first, dedicate some of them to hubby. Otherwise you will be stressed out. Some tasks can be done later after you move into house. Also, please label your box contents on the boxes, it helps the unpacking part.

Green, it's crazy with all those stuffs. When I saw my wife's, my first thought was to straight send the lorry to the tuas incinerator. It's obscene I tell you. All those clothings and such. It's a retail mall!

HBH, where is that? i will need indoor and outdoor lighting .. was thinking of ikea.

green, i already minimised my wardrobe when i moved into the current place .. from the 8-door type to just 2-doors and shared with the husband. i don't think i can bear to minimise anymore though that would be a good excuse for shopping :D

argh .. no sense in talking to the man .. he seems to think that we have all the time in the world. two weeks ago, he questioned why i call the movers .. like hello, they need to come and assess first and give quotation right, then if we agree, they will send the boxes - he said we still have three weeks to move .. the boxes going to pack themselves, is it? he said he's waiting for next week to come cos then panic will set in and we'll just dump everything into the boxes, instead of taking the time to think where things are supposed to be.

lagi best, last week we met with the contractor and he forwarded the proposals to the husband - the husband said yes, yes he received but never forward to me. come the weekend, he called the guy to say that he never forwarded the quotation for reno works, just for the aircon servicing/pest control/gardening contract .. turned out that there were three attachments but the husband only read one! he really need a smack on the head lor ..

Salsa u have yet seen the perfume collection that day -__-

Cuc hahaha too busy in the transition? I got my lightings at this place call lighting garden at Jurong. Their prices is like 30 - 50% cheaper than belestier and etc.

Lighting Garden

Blk 352 Jurong East St 31 #01-133 Singapore 600352

Tel : 6897 0786

Look for Spencer.

HBH,
You can suggest her to donate those that she doesn't use anymore to charity hehe. Clothes and shoes cannot be kept for too long, the moisture in Singapore will affect the materials unless they pack them in airtight bags.

Cucl,
Then it's safer to handle the more important tasks yourself and pass the smaller ones to your hubby :P Multi-tasking can be too challenging for many guys lol. They are better at handling 1 task at a time.

Hmm.. If there's insufficient time, you may have to pack like what your hubby suggested. Because no matter how neat we pack the things into the boxes, they still have to be unpacked subsequently right? ;)

Which contractor did u choose?

Green.....I always tell my mum...I cannot 'li jia chu zo'...too many clothes...can't decide which piece to bring along :p
I love that TV ad

HBH! the perfume collection was hidden? How come din show us?

meng, why arh? why is today a good day?

HBH, thanks for the info. will try to go there maybe this weekend .. or will it be too late arh?

green, in the end the new agent recommended their vendors .. the husband called someone from the list you gave but the lady who answered told the husband to call another company so the husband is not sure if she's soliciting business for the other company or what .. he spoke to the contractor but the line was so bad, and then he said he will call the husband back but didn't.

Cuc not too late to go this weekend. It's in the heartland with rows of shops selling lightings and appliances like water heaters and fan. Generally you can stroll take a look and compare prices and design lor. I had reccomended a friend who recently move into his new place too and he got his stuffs from there.

He also agrees that the prices are so much better than the ones you find in balestier or jalan besar.

FYI...

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Title: Law firms to lose right to hold property deal money

Source: Straits Times

Author: K.C. Vijayan, Law Correspondent

Legal News Archive

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ALL payments for property deals will in future be held by the Singapore Academy of Law (SAL) or commercial banks, and not law firms.

General details of how this will work were released by the Law Ministry yesterday as it sought public feedback on a final solution to the longstanding problem of lawyers running off with their clients' money.

In the last five years, rogue lawyers have absconded with almost $20 million in funds meant for property transactions, and held in client accounts in law firms.

The Law Ministry's proposals were sparked by the need to protect monies entrusted to lawyers by buyers and sellers of properties.

For instance in 2007, a 47-year-old woman who sold her property for $740,000 and hoped to use the gains of $200,000 to get out of bankruptcy, came to grief when the lawyer she hired, Zulkifli Amin, skipped town with her money.

It was part of a $6 million loot he had stolen from conveyancing transactions entrusted to him to handle.

The case showed that earlier moves to safeguard such deposit monies were inadequate.

After rogue lawyer David Rasif fled with $11 million in 2006, the rules were changed so that at least two lawyers had to sign off on cheques withdrawing more than $5,000 from clients' accounts.

Despite this, Zulkifli still managed to disappear with $6 million in November 2007.

The Law Ministry's recommendations will stop lawyers from handling monies meant for property deals altogether and provide for punishments if the rules are breached.

Property buyers and sellers will not be inconvenienced.

The SAL takes over the role of the law firm in holding the deposit, which it pays out in due course.

Clients do not have to deal with the academy directly.

The moves follow the recommendations of a review committee appointed by Chief Justice Chan Sek Keong and chaired by Justice V.K. Rajah last year. A team headed by Senior Counsel Wong Meng Meng then worked out the implementation.

Under the current system, a prospective buyer gives a cheque for the deposit on the transaction price to the seller's law firm once he has exercised his option to buy. The money is kept in the client's account for 12 to 14 weeks while lawyers work to complete the sale, and then it is released to the seller.

In future, the cheque will be replaced by a cashier's order payable to the SAL which the buyer's lawyer can forward directly to the academy.

The balance of the sale price will also be paid by cashier's order - to the seller, the lawyer for his legal fees, and the property agent for his commission.

While the SAL will be the main body to hold the conveyancing deposits, the ministry is in talks with local banks such as UOB, OCBC and DBS to provide the service.

A spokesman for heavyweight firm WongPartnership said the proposed changes would have minimal impact on the conveyancing transactions of large law firms, which already have 'stringent measures' in place.

It should even reduce administrative work, said Ms Edna Lim, a lawyer from a small firm, Jing Quee & Chin Joo.

'While the details have yet to be established, there would be no inconvenience if the firm's role is to forward the cashier's order to SAL on the client's behalf,' she said.

Lawyer Amolat Singh noted that the changes would be an enlargement of the SAL's role, which now holds deposits paid by owners of new homes, worth about 5 per cent, to guarantee against defects in construction.

The funds are released to the developer only a year after owners have taken occupancy.

A Law Society spokesman said the society would be responding to the recommendations.

The public may view further details at the Law Ministry's website at www.minlaw.gov.sg .

Feedback may be faxed to 6332-8842 or e-mailed to MLAW_Consultation

@mlaw.gov.sg by Aug 26.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

$20m missing: Rogue lawyers still at large

Zulkifli Amin, 35: Took $6 million of clients' money held by his firm, some said to be from conveyancing deals. Fled in November 2007.

Victor Tan, in his 40s: Ran off with $32,000 given by a foreign client in relation to a property deal. Made a bankrupt in August 2007 before he fled in September.

David Khong 42, sole proprietor: Disappeared with $88,000 from a conveyancing transaction. Fled in August 2007.

David Rasif, 45, sole proprietor: Made off with $11 million, of which $10.7 million was entrusted to him by an American couple for the purchase of a bungalow in Holland Road. Fled in June 2006.

Sivakolunthu Thirunavukarasu, 51, sole proprietor: Absconded with more than $2.4 million. She forged the signatures of three brothers and made herself co-owner of their $1 million house in Senang Crescent. She fled in 2004.

green, i will try to come .. i think should be ok .. i just need to be home in the afternoon for the contractor to see the faults in the current apartment, probably clean the new house in the morning if they're not doing any more work.

i was at ikea yesterday from 7.30pm till they closed for the day!! in the end, the wardrobe system me and the husband picked was out of stock and the husband flew off the handle cos the staff were quite rude about it.

HBH, something to do over the weekend i suppose
do you know of anyone who does outdoor decking? the people we've asked are charging lots for it .. outdoor furniture also not cheap .. argh!

Mayi,
Every occupation sure has black sheeps. It's good to have new legislation to protect consumers hehe.

Those run-away lawyers are probably somewhere soaking themselves under the sun at the beaches, surrounded by bikini gals etc. They are so rich now!

Year One student's testicles slashed over $0.20

A YEAR ONE bully slashed his classmate's private part with a blade because he was not satisfied with the 50 sen (S$0.20) he got from his victim, reported Harian Metro.

Seven-year-old Muhamad Amir Amri suffered serious bleeding from a 3cm-long slash wound on his testicles after he refused to hand over money to the bully at a school in Alor Star on Monday.

He was then punched several times in the face before the bully ran back to their classroom to take Muhamad Amir's pencil case which he believed contained money.

"I ran back to the classroom as well because he threatened to take my pencil case. In the classroom, he checked my pockets and took the 50 sen," said Muhamad Amir.

He said that the bully then pulled down his pants, took out his blade and slit his testicles, adding that he did not dare fight back as the bully was bigger than him.

Muhamad Amir's father Amri Rod Jamil, 41, said he arrived at the school at 1.15pm to pick up his son when he saw him crouching under the canteen table in pain.

"I took him to see his class teacher and asked for an explanation before being asked to see the headmaster," he said.

He added that the bully refused to admit he was responsible.

Amri lodged a report at the Kota Star district police station at 7pm the same day.

I'll pay a dollar to pull out the bully's scrotum.

Green cos I just shift recently then have some of the infos to these

Btw, outdoor decking ah ah? I think you might need some measurements to customise? I can introduce you my contractor and see if his carpenter do handle such.

http://www.impress21design.com/index.htm

Look for Henry. Helpful and responsible guy.

heart, outdoor decking is like timber floor for outdoors .. something like this http://www.polydeck.biz

HBH, my contractor came to see the house just now .. the more i spoke with him, the higher the price got for the deck .. problem is, i have drains along the space i want the deck to be installed - afraid got drainage problem later .. i don't want to breed mosquitoes.

Cucl,
Heehee thanks for contributing to the growth of Spore's Building industry.

Dengue fever can be life-threatening depending on the strain. Thus I also think it's better to play safe.

I ever saw those squarish things (can't remember the name) that we can put into drains to prevent mosquitoes from breeding. I don't know how effective are they?

green, yesterday when we went to the house, there's already a dead cockroach in the living room and a dead bee in the window sill .. notice a house lizard coming in the window in the kids' room .. my sister say they are the welcoming committee ... hmm ..

Morning Peeps..

Talking about cockroach... i learnt that we have 2 types of cockroach in Singapore... one American 'breed' and the other, German 'breed'.

As a few 'baby' cockroaches were spotted in the office, our management got Ikeri (a pest control Co) to help get rid of the roaches.
During a smoking session, the pest control guy joined us and taught us how to spot cockroaches. ~.~ The ones we see in our office are usually German breed roaches.. they grow up to a maximum of about 2cm nia. Those big ones we see in neighborhood are Amercian breed.

wow.. which mean both species choose to "migrate" to Singapore.... "they" travelled so far ahhhh.... hehehehe...

Me super scare of cockroaches... especially those that can fly... dun understand why the more I run, the more it "cheong" towards me... arghhhhhhh

Mayi,
Mark said he might not come when I checked wih him yest.

The rest of us are still coming tomorrow!
I'm eager to try out the food, heard the steaks are tasty hehe.