Chatters

now its US who give approval to torture
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/article6154255.ece

A Senate Intelligence Committee document has revealed that Condoleezza Rice personally approved the CIA’s use of waterboarding on al-Qaeda suspects.

The new narrative provides the most detailed timeline yet of the conception and top-level approval of the violent “enhanced interrogation” techniques employed by American officials.

The report describes a meeting between then-CIA Director George Tenet and Dr Rice in July 2002. The Secretary of State "advised that the CIA could proceed with its proposed interrogation" of alleged al-Qaeda terrorist Abu Zubaydah, the report said.

In 2003, the CIA briefed Dr Rice, Dick Cheney and John Ashcroft, the Attorney General, on the use of waterboarding and other methods including week-long sleep deprivation, forced nudity and the use of stress positions. The Senate report says that officials "reaffirmed that the CIA program was lawful and reflected administration policy".

RELATED LINKS
Pressure grows for ‘torture’ hearings
The idea that torture works is fiction
CIA: torture memo release has put US in danger
CIA memos released by President Obama's administration last week revealed that Mr Zubaydah was waterboarded at least 83 times in the course of a month, and Khalid Sheikh Mohammad, who claimed to have planned the September 11 attacks, 183 times.

The new timeline shows that Dr Rice played a greater role in the acceptance of harsh interrogation techniques than she admitted last autumn in written testimony to the Senate Armed Services Committee.

The narrative also shows that dissenting legal views about the severe interrogation methods were repeatedly brushed aside.

The Intelligence Committee’s timeline comes a day after the Senate Armed Services Committee released an exhaustive report detailing direct links between the CIA’s harsh interrogation programme and abuses of prisoners at the US prison at Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, in Afghanistan and at Iraq’s Abu Ghraib prison.

Last Autumn, Dr Rice acknowledged to the Senate Armed Services Committee only that she had attended meetings where the CIA interrogation request was discussed, and asked for the attorney general to conduct a legal review. She said that she did not recall the details. Dr Rice omitted her direct role in approving the programme in her written statement to the committee.

A spokesman for Dr Rice declined comment when reached last night.

Days after Dr Rice gave Mr Tenet her approval, the Justice Department approved the use of waterboarding in a top secret August 1 memo. Mr Zubaydah underwent waterboarding at least 83 times in August 2002.

In the years that followed, according to the Senate narrative, there were numerous internal legal reviews of the programme, as government attorneys apparently raised concerns that the harsh methods, particularly waterboarding, might violate federal laws against torture and the US Constitution.

But Bush administration lawyers continued to approve the programme. The CIA voluntarily dropped the use of waterboarding, which has a long history as a torture tactic, from its arsenal of techniques after 2005.

Last week, Dennis Blair, the Obama administration’s top intelligence official, privately told intelligence employees that “high value information” was obtained through the harsh interrogation techniques. But on Tuesday, in a written statement, Mr Blair said, “The information gained from these techniques was valuable in some instances, but there is no way of knowing whether the same information could have been obtained through other means.”

The recent disclosures about US interrogation policy have fuelled demands for an ever more forensic prosecutorial examination of the actions of the Bush Administration. Mr Obama has already conceded that lawyers who drafted the memos may face criminal sanction.

Although the President has consistently stated that it would be wrong to pursue CIA interrogators who obeyed legal guidance, there is a growing clamour from human rights groups for court action. One possible route is through Europe where activists in both Spain and Germany are already pushing for the prosecution of Bush Administration officials

morning morning all .. yah, friday already ..

green, ????? vios??? y would i even bother abt him? hahaha ah..ya..perhaps im worried he will come in his Bugs bunny suit! LOL!

y do u suddenly ask dear? wan to come n join me huh? kekeke

Anyone got any idea where got good sinseh to twee my ankle...still pain since last sprained in Sept08, walking with difficulty like "Bai Hao"

joker meng, how abt ma guang? else i tink theres 1 at commonwealth ghim moh there...traditional sinseh kind..quite gd oso...but i threw his address away liao...

Cucl,
Dun be disappointed. Don't be bothered about them.

Politics are everywhere in life. I side with neither the new chairlady nor ex chairlady. It's human nature to want the best for themselves. As for DBS, it doesn't want its staff in high profile organisations to protect its image in case things screw up.

husband has been badgering me to sign up so i can go to the EOGM .. hahahah ..

anyways my personal belief has always been whether straight, lesbian/homosexual or transgender, everyone has a right of choice - to lead their lives the way they want. i don't need someone to tell me that my belief is misguided and that i should be educated on 'the right way'. i respect that everyone is entitled to their own opinions - just don't try to force their ideals on me, that's all i'm saying ..

green, i battled it out with the husband on SingStar yesterday - chose a swedish song and i actually won! hahahahah .. over 7000 points. the husband's defence is that he doesn't know the song .. ahahahah .. practice makes perfect!

An 18th-century Russian woman holds the world record for having birthed the most children: 69, which she had over the course of 27 pregnancies that included sixteen pairs of twins, seven sets of triplets, and four sets of quadruplets. But she's outdone by the male record-holder for most kids, a Moroccan emperor who, according to the Guinness Book of World Records, sired "at least 342 daughters and 525 sons, and by 1721, he was reputed to have 700 male descendants."

Source: "Why Evolution Is True" (Viking, 2009), by Jerry Coyne

*Cheers for Cucl*

Hahaha beat him at a Swedish song... It has so many langs of songs?

I think she stayed pregnant almost for all her lifetime. Her hubby was also power right? Sperms who don't get lost LOL.

it's because he logged in to a european account (use european credit card to buy the songs) so we have access to the european online store .. it's about S$3 per video.

yah her husband's sperm power la - ask for directions one .. hahahaha ..

Dragon,
It's your 1st day at your workplace. Are there a lot of chio bu? Haha I noticed the trend that schools' teachers consist of mostly ladies and more & more are young, fresh grads.

well Draggie. u reminded me of my good pal who left Police force to join MOE. well he never regret his move. my former career got its excitment but somehow the pay rewards and the efforts do not tie/match.

but if i got chance, i wont join moe. i will teach in poly got more xmm and xtt to drool at.

i do go to a particular pub in somerset area for Hoegaarden beer.... but not there on Friday evening.

Heng arh! Otherwise, can see Bugs Bunny and Xena sitting side by side - and sing "Jing Tian Bu Hui Jia" in their drunken stupor.

keke...

vios, tot u r Bugs??? poor me...wun have the chance to see vios' racequeen in her sexy costume...haha...

btw, i usually go with a gf while my hub joins us only occasionally...

where u frequent? acid bar? alley bar? or those bar further in?

dun like acid bar or alley bar....

For that area, i only like the pub, "Ice Cold Beer" - for a large mug of Hoegaarden and their chicken wings....

although i must admit that the sexy racequeen edges out slightly.... keke

rite...hahhaa

i prefer acid bar actually..live music thru the nite & cheap beer b4 9pm...hehehe i especially love the performers & music there on fri nite after 10pm...they r realli gd..

the last time (many years back).... i dunno whether it was acid or alley bar, it was just trance music all night through. Pretty sianzz...

english pop/rock live band?

vios, i tink u r referring to alley bar...

its english pop..i wouldnt call it a band lah..its juz a lady who sings well n gets every1 in the mood & a veli talented guitarist...they can interact well with the audiences & they dun sound boring..there r a few solo perfomers at other time slots who realli bore me to death with their music n songs...u noe wat i mean?

Hi, how time flies. After nuaing for the past 3 weeks, it's time to start work on my new job today! Went for induction this morning and will be reporting to school shortly. From the sch's website, it seem like I will have quite a lot of female colleagues. Chio or not, still don't know!...lol.

ya lor... those types just going through the motions mah - lack of audience awareness, lack of stage presence etc...
way, way worse than your Bugs' singing. Hahahaha....

few months back, actually went along with my friends to this live canto band at "lunar".
haha.. although i'm not a chinese/canto songs-lover, must admit that the band is pretty good.

dragon, i just hope that your boss does not belong to the "delusional" type who thinks that the students have no discipline problems but in actual fact, they do...

good luck man!

i've not been to lunar yet...coz im not a fan of canto pop but might consider going there on days for chinese pop...sylvester sim is performing there...

vios.. i frequent Yue @ Lunar de lei.. haha..

next time we go there for gatherings!

Janie, i used to see him at MOS every weekend when i used to go clubbing frequently...