Chatters

Cucl

You can now label your kids in the following format:

No.1 - Made in Singapore
No.2 - Made in <country>
No.3 - Made in <country>

Cuc, it's good that your husband and you will be spending couple time. Where would you be heading to?

Green, have you planned your honeymoon yet?

No.1 - Made in Singapore
No.2 - Made in Sweden
No.3 - pending ....

Hahahahhahahah

Doll, we're going to Cebu. yah, would be nice to get some 'us' time ..

Wah I dun want any "No.1 - Made in Disneyland" ok! Let me adapt to the wife and DIL roles 1st before considering the mama role.

My peaceful 3 months have ended. Dunno why bosses arrowed me 2 big arrows that stretch now till Feb 2009? I won't be able to take leave beyond CNY, as I need to rush back to present things to depts. I'll take total 2 weeks leave for wedding. Bopian, I'll have to pass on some work to 1 colleague while I go on leave
Hate to trouble people.

These 2 weeks, I've been doing work every night although I squeezed some time to go out on weekends. Now I'm preparing for tomorrow meeting which has many big shots. Hope I can survive haha.

I'm thinking of going nearby for a short HM, considering Bintam. When school vacation starts in mid Feb, then I can go for a longer tour.

Any middle range resorts to recommend? My bf just needs a nice bed to sleep. I won't be able to go out much cos he's super lazy and sleeps all the time. I'll have to bring some books to entertain myself LOL.

Bintan is nice for a short vacation ... i went to Indra Maya Villa, comes with own pool but i suppose it's more worth it if go with more people. took the 3 bedroom villa because we were total 6 adults and 3 children. my MIL stayed at angsana and she she said it was very lovely ..

Green, Cuc - As long as can spend "us" time, it doesn't really matter where you go for honeymoon.

Green, if your bf and you keep staying in the hotel room, I am sure your No. 1 will be made there haha.

that is true .. the husband was complaining that we don't get to do much of that, even at home, cos of the two children and things to do around the house every evening ..

so we've decided to start having our movie nights again beginning from this friday .. kind of miss sitting on the couch and watching movies together .. going to order sushi delivery .. yay!

Morning all! Busy week...

Green, I went to Bintan for my HM and also for my anniversary, and a few other times as well with friends. Not too bad if you're just going for 3-4 days. I stayed at Angsana most recently, definitely not cheap (my bank account is still reeling from the blow) but the service is super good. Nice beach, too.

hahahah .. yes it is but it's hard for us to call that couple time when most nights, we would be in separate rooms at some point - the eldest one wakes up in the middle of the night and if she's not crawling into our bed, she usually wants one of us to keep her company in her room ..

Sunlight is so important.

Lack of vitamin D linked to higher death risk: study

WASHINGTON (AFP) - - Vitamin D deficiency has been linked to 26 percent greater risk of death in men and women, according to a study published Monday that appears to confirm the importance of this essential nutrient.

Researchers from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, in Baltimore, Maryland, studied 13,000 initially healthy men and women from 1994 to 2000, comparing the mortality rate between those with low and normal levels of vitamin D in the blood.

They found that of the 1,800 people who died by December 31, 2000 -- 700 from cardiovascular diseases -- 400 were deficient in vitamin D, which translated to a 26 percent increased risk of death.

The number of heart disease-related deaths was insufficient to establish a cause-and-effect link to vitamin D deficiency, the researchers said in the study published in the latest issue of the Archives of Internal Medicine.

However, the study "does highlight a trend, with other studies linking shortages of vitamin D to increased rates of breast cancer and depression in the elderly," the researchers said.

Earlier research conducted by the same Johns Hopkins team found an 80 percent increased risk of peripheral artery disease from vitamin D deficits.

The researchers noted that other 2007 studies on animals and humans also found a link between low vitamin D levels and cardiovascular diseases, but that due to small sample numbers and other factors, the findings could not be generalized to the public at large.

"Our results make it much more clear that all men and women concerned about their overall health should more closely monitor their blood levels of vitamin D, and make sure they have enough," says study co-lead investigator Erin Michos.

An Austrian study of 3,258 patients published in June in the Journal of the American Medical Association also found people with low vitamin D levels had twice the mortality rate of those with higher levels.

The reason low vitamin D levels lead to higher mortality rates, however, has yet to be determined.

Chiefly produced by exposure to the sun, vitamin D plays a vital role in the immune system, and according to Archives 50 percent of adults aged 50 and older are vitamin D deficient, as well as a significant number of younger adults.

Lack of outdoor exercise and activities, pollution and aging are cited as possible reasons for vitamin D deficiency.

Doctors recommend a 10-15-minute daily exposure to the sun for adequate levels of vitamin D, which can also be obtained from fatty fishes.

The US Institute of Medicine suggests that an adequate daily intake of vitamin D is between 200 and 400 international units.

Thks Cuclainne...

yeh i had a great time.. the beach is beautiful...
i wonder if u peeps know about the movie; Summer More More Tea by Richie Ren and Sammi..

738535.jpg

738536.jpg

BMI =( kg/m² )
weight in kilograms/height in meters²

BMI Weight Status
Below 18.5 Underweight
18.5 -24.9 Normal
25 - 29.9 Overweight
30 &amp; Above Obese

My friend asked me to calcuate BMI for him. The maths calculations have made me so awake at this hour LOL

Good Morning Chatters

Mayi,
I love the photos of the beach..... makes me feel like going.... however, the journey is too long for my liking

Greenie,
Why did the BMI calculation makes you awake?

Heart,
Calculation needs to use brain mah haha.

Dodo,
U said u bought my mascara brand this wk. Is there any discount for it now? Have your sis gone to ladies after taking fibre drink?

green,

what is the normal price? i bought it @ $25.

my sis did visit the toilet after drinking for 3 days then she stop drinking it. headache. donno how to make her drink it everyday w/o failed. i'm like her mother everyday must make and see her finish everything.

Dodo,
Normal price is $26. That means no discount now.

The fibre drink works for your sister then! Hope she drinks it daily, then she won't constipate for 2 weeks again. Tell her that constipation causes pimples one. Drinking it regularly may reduce her pimples, make her more meimei.

I'm lazy, so I drink it twice a week nowadays haha.

Afternoon Chatters!

Mamaheart, Redang is definitly a good place to relax and chill out even if u dont dive...
If u dreads the tiring coach journey, there is an alternative way.. fly there.. keke..
departs @ Seletar Airport via Berjaya Air.. ;)
1.5hr nia..

greenie, maybe because i like the sun hence i don find it very hot.. keke...

Gosh.. i am still in holiday mood... today feels like a Monday to me.. -__-"

I thought today is Wed...sian. Then I realised that it is Thur and became happy for a moment. But when I realised that I need to work full day on this Sat, I became sian again.

No wonder it felt like Wed today. 2 more 'working' days before I can wake up to a rest day.

Doll,
The one that's lower for asians is the weight-to height chart, not this BMI method. They are different if I didn't remember wrongly hmm... California gym used this same chart to gauge overweight anot.

greenie: HK is nice for makan and shopping!!! the dimsum is great but i cannot remember where i went liao because it was handled by HK tourism .. i followed my ex there on press junket.

mayi: so lovely .. !!! i can't wait to go on my vacation so i can lie down on the beach and just laze around .. heheheh ..

i think i went overboard on my shopping sprees this month - i bought 32 OPI nail polishes without realising it. Yikes! hope the husband won't make too much of a fuss when he finds out .. kekekekeke ..

hahaha .. i so shiok see the price so that's why i order and order .. hahahah .. because OPI costs about $23 retail but mine i pay about $10 because i tag along on spree .. heheheh ..

plus my eldest one already know to ask me to apply nail polish for her .. aiyah, every morning will ask me to touch up for her .. at this rate, i don't think the nail polishes will last me 5 years leh .. hahahaha ..

Cuc, your ex is a journalist? Hmmm, I might know him then!

$10 is a good buy for OPI colour! Did you get the special colours? I have had more than 32 OPI nail polishes at one point of time but there were not bought at the same time haha. They cost me $22 each. I am glad that I am much, much more prudent with money now

doll: he's a photographer ..

yes, i got the new france collection but because a lot of people have placed order, mine will only come in on 21/08. i also ordered the flip flop fabulous colours and princess charming .. hehehe ..

yah la, i know i should be more prudent with money but not very often that i get to splurge on myself so ok la ..heheheh .. my justification to make myself feel better .. hahhahah ..

Cuc, then I wouldn't know your ex.

Hey, I didn't mean to say that you are extravagant lah. In fact, I believe that if you can afford an item you want, spend the money by all means. There was a period of time when I wasn't prudent with money because it was out of character for me to spend money that way. The soul was still empty even with the material possessions. Anyway, all is good now

hahahah .. i really hoped that you wouldn't know him .. heheheh ..

no lah, i understand what you mean .. just that sometimes i feel guilty about spending on me and the husband would remind me that it's not just about the kids or him, that sometimes maybe i just need to do things for me instead of them .. plus he always tell me die cannot bring money, can save money for rainy day and for the kids but can also splurge for personal gratification at times when the purse allows .. hahahah ..