Chatters

Doll,
Wait till I pop out an egg 1st hehe. I'll definitely update u if I strike toto!

Good morning, Chatters!!!

Green, I don't think your situation can be considered shot-gun if you really kena a baby haha, because you two are already planning to get married soon. It would be more like unplanned pregnancy.

I was shocked that the soft bun with peanut butter at Toast Box which is charged at the same price $1.40, has downsized to half its normal size previously! When I asked what happened the staff gave me a nonchalant reply - "Don't ask me, ask the boss". I was not satisfied with this answer and the bun size too, so asked for refund and left the shop.

Pay the same price and get half the size of the bun is like price increase of 100%?! This is absurb! Guess I will have to make my own breakfast from tomorrow onwards...

Doll,
Now the prices of raw ingredients, wheat flour, veget etc have increased by 10% to 50%. Thus businesses definitely will increase prices and decrease the portions. Bopian...

The boss will tell u they have been 'absorbing' the price increase for a very long time until recently cannot tahan already then decrease the bread size. cannot win them one. not forgetting fuel also ex means transportation is also very ex...

Doll,
I like the peanut butter at Toastbox much more the bottle at my house, so I will still buy hehe.

Sunboi,
I think Breaktalk Toastbox is making $$ leh! They're going to open a new outlet at Causeway Point. They acquire 2 shops and are renovating them into 1.

It wasn't like I wanted to win an argument, and in the first place, I never fought with anyone. I was courteous throughout because I have been patronising them for as long as the shop started operations. But as a customer if I am not satisfied with their service, product or policy, I have the right to voice out, get a response, or ask for a refund.

Green, I can understand why they size down the bun portion but I don't think sizing it down by 50% is fair because that would equate to a 100% price increase.

Does it mean that every business should size down their products by 50% overnight in order to increase their profits by 100%? Your logic is flawed and by the way, your sums are wrong. Never mind, I take it that you were just jesting on a super boring Monday lol

yeah it's quite obvious i am just crapping on a boring Monday... haha

anyway there have been alot of cost cutting measures gg around. i.e smaller portion chicken rice, wantan mee, the "air filled" chicken pie etc...

It's alright that things shrink in size or portion over time but by 50% overnight and without preparing your staff to manage backlash is really bad PR.

Sorry hijack abit this article is related
"The incredible shrinking package"

NEW YORK: In the United States, there’s a phenomenon that is affecting the regular grocery
shopper.Items like canned tuna, paper towels, butter-type
spreads, candy bars, coffee and ice cream are being sold in smaller packages, but for the
same price.
It is something thatMr Tod Marks, a senior editor at Consumer Reports, calls “the incredible
shrinking package” strategy. The repackaging trick is not new. Who has not opened a
box of cereal or a bag of crisps, and marvelled at the abundance of air which comes with
the food?
But Mr Marks, who tracks the grocery industry, said: “It’s definitely happening a lot
more than it used to.” And it is happening with a
broad spectrum of goods, according to a study conducted by the Consumer Reports National
Research Center, to be published in October.
In many cases, said Mr Marks, the traditional 1lb
(450g) can of coffee has dwindled to 10 or 11oz (283g to 312g). And many ice-cream containers have shrunk from a half-gallon to 1.5 qt (1.89l to 1.42l).
To combat shrinkage, Mr Marks advises that shoppers look at the container’s actual
size or the unit-pricing label –a step he says is essential if you are going to get your money’s
worth in groceries these days.
Also, he says, look sideways at a package before you buy it.
“Companies won’t change the height or length of a container. It’s the width,” he said.
The incredible-shrinking-package game is hardly
amusing when one contemplates a rapidly expanding grocery bill.But in a funny way, it may
be a good idea for food manufacturers
and shoppers alike,said Mr Harry Balzer, a
vice-president of the NPD Group, a marketing-research firm based in Port Washington,
New York.
With the soaring cost of wheat, corn, eggs, milk and other staples, grocery producers
are faced with a dilemma, said Mr Balzer, who studies food consumption.
“People hate paying more for groceries. How do manufacturers deal with rising food costs without passing it along directly to the consumer?
“One option that you’re seeing, they (grocery producers) keep the price the same but
lower the amount. In effect,it’s a price increase, but it’s not an increase in out-of-pocket expenses,” said Mr Balzer.
As flawed as the system sounds, Mr Marks believes
that the grocery dance keeps everyone happy, more or less.
– NYT

Doll,
Yes it's bad PR and bad mgmt. They shld introduce changes slowly or put signboard at counter.

My area no toastbox yet, so I usually buy delifrance's sandwich or 4 leaf's multiple flavours tarts.

Doll very steady leh, she got a refund.

I've kena so many times whereby the shop/stall assistant is so yaya. They don't take ownership of their work, and never take responsibilities for what they say.

If he has explained nicely that maybe it's better to check with his boss about the bun size reduction, etc. then it won't reflect so badly on the shop and the person himself.

I've not tried their peanut butter, but now I won't try it. Don't like the way they put their message across about "don't ask me, ask my boss".

Turtle, I gathered that if this staff at Toast Box doesn't take his job seriously, I don't have to take him seriously and waste my time on him.

Green, I couldn't open the attachment that you sent me leh. Can you tell me here how much water intake per day is considered harmful to the body?

I am recently hooked on water. I make sure that in the office alone I consume about 1.5 litres of pure water. This has helped me to control my craving for soda and snacks

Doll,
Your laptop doesn't have office 2007 ah?

Water intake cannot exceed 2litres a day according to Straitstimes article. Why not u eat some fruits to control cravings? Cannot drown yourself with water all the time leh. TCM article says that drinking too much water and tea make the woman's body too "liang", it will affect her productive and bladder system. My landlady also mentioned about this to me before.

Straitstimes:
"drinking too much water in a short period of time can result in a condition called acute hyponatremia, or the dilution of the body's salt content of the blood.

This has potentially dangerous effects, like rapid brain swelling, which can result in a coma and even death. "

Green, thanks. 1.5 litres of water over 9-10 hours in the office is definitely safe. I don't drink this amount in one shot, so no worries about water poisoning

i can drink at least 2.5 litres of water in office alone excluding those i drink @ home & on the way home & office.

think i drink too much.

dodo, you're like my husband (drinks a lot of water) - he can drink 2 bottles of the 1.5l ice mountain water within a few hours and there's also one bottle next to his side of the bed .. he can wake up in the middle of the night to drink water because he says his throat feels parched .. hmmm ..

water intoxication is not so common unless for infant or marathoners.

you don't drink the water all at one go.. you spread out throughout the day..

yay, i'm finally going on my honeymoon - well, you can call it that since it's our first vacation without the kids .. hahahah .. can you imagine, almost 3 years and 2 kids later then we're going .. hahahah ..

i was joking with my sister that we might come back with no. 3 .. i think my mom will faint if we do .. hahahah ..