Champions Court @ Woodlands - BTO

ryan is very detailed...rare for a guy sia...but what he said is true...kitchen and water heater needa plan well...

I never received any papers with the approved window grilles leh...

i checked the hdb website (champions court specifications)...it mentioned tinted windoes only...no mention of grilles...but i remember seeing a sketch in the bundle given to us after selecting the flat..is for service balcony windows or overall?..

Ryan> Thanks for the detailed info. I tink i shld be using the instant heater (currently am using it now too), unless i 1 2 haf 2 temperature water (hot & cold).

me too nv receive any window grilles ting leh.. nt in my package.. my package include funny booklet on family matters.. so cute.. din expect to receive marry thingy fm hdb.. hehe.. :p

i must go home check liao.

didn't know about the approved windows grille thing.

I intend to do the opposite of dreamy's bf. Do the interior design and planning myself and get external contractors to do the groundwork for me.

So now i'm doing indepth research on everything that has to deal with interior of a HDB apartment lor.

Will share whatever i think is important for everyone to know. I will look at the windows grille information also.

Weird though.. unless the windows grille is located outside of the window, i don't think there is a need for HDB to approve it if it is inside the house.

if the grille drop, i will be the one crying because my parquet floor will be dented mah.

wonder what is that regulation about.

Alicia> Yeap. for living room and bedrooms.

I will not be doing anything for the kitchen, service balcony, and bathroom floors or walls except for making those kerbs for shower areas.

i hope by 3 years' time, there are more bamboo flooring players in the market.

now it's still very expensive to go "green"

Wahahahaha ...... paiseh now then i realise i make a mistake .... blur liao looking after my son ..... The window grille thing is for service yard only LOL .............

i also intend to do the design myself then source for contractors to renovate...much cheaper this way...

My friend told me got one company sell parquet one...they have their own layer also....u buy direct from them then they can lay it for u which is also cheaper than asking your contractors who will charge a commission from it... when i get the contacts...can also pass to u all...

me too.. we nv wanted a designer.. too exp liao..

tat's y my bf already bought a few design books then we actually hv some idea on wat we wan for our love nest liao..hehe.. :p

cant wait for it to b ready..hehe.. :p

this is offtopic though.

before doing parquet, need to do cement screeding. Some people say just let HDB do and then touch up later before laying the parquet, some say, ownself find a contractor to screed it and it will be better.

Any others considering parquet have some info on this?

izit?? bt faster complete better mah.. coz once we get keys.. we are paying for everything even we hvnt stay in liao leh..

so better finish reno faster then can move in n stay in faster..hehe.. :p

I THINK so because maybe before us there is others already done their reno & move in so to prevent not to disturb them , we must have time frame & also everyday like 8 or 9-5 must stop hehe .....

some light work can do at night one lar...

the problem is that most people want to go home at night, no one want to work OT.

Alicia> cement screeding is to lay a layer of cement on the floor.

new flats the floor is rough finishing. to do parquet, it needs cement screeding.

haha.. me too same as alicia.. opt for both floorings and doors.. always 5~6pm tat time phase v quiet.. bcoz all of us knocking off.. preparing to go hm liao mah.. so is quiet lor.hehe.. :p

I did not opt for HDB tiles...cuz my bf and I feels the tiles like not to our liking...i think if wanna do parquet can opt for laminated wood or what they called it...you can actually just like lay over your current tiles also...but abit more expensive i heard...

I think the time frame for renovations is more like how long you applied your permit for is it?

we like v fast jump to reno hor..hehe.. :p

when will hdb wipe out all the $$ in our cpf huh.. izit on our nxt visit, which is in 3~4mths time??

or 1 mre visit after 3~4mths??

it should deduct around 3 to 4 mths later...think is the next visit...then once deducted will return your deposit $2k....

Can't wait to reno my unit lo..haha...v kan chiong...

wow.. tweetygal getting impatience ov the HLE huh.. haha.. im still kinda patience, coz i juz sent out on Fri.. so is juz less than a wk for my case..

thought on our nxt visit (3 to 4 mths time) will b paying the 10% thingy only rite.. so fast wipe all out liao meh??

cecilia, kef> I dun tink next visit will deduct whole cpf, coz next visit onli need to pay 5%, tink it's towards getting the keys den u gotta pay the rest, where hdb loan or bank loan will come in, unless both ur cpf & bf/hubby/wife/gf cpf together not enuff for the 5% den i tink will wipe out cpf tis time.

tweetygal> Hahah! I haven send out yet! =P

cecilia> Now ours is the staggered payment. Tat time u went for selection, the officer nv gif u a form to let u noe how much to pay wen signing of lease meh?

Here's the procedure people:

During signing the "Agreement of Lease" where they have confirmed a main contractor to build CC, you will need to pay 10% of the flat's value.

For first timers, there is stagger payment where you pay 5% first and another 5% when you collect the keys.

Your CPF will be completely wiped out when you collect your keys.

Kef> i don't think that Laminated wood flooring is more expensive than parquet. They are not using solid timber, thus material cost should be cheaper. Based on my understanding, it might be 2 types of laminated wood flooring.

One is using a layer of felt and some sponge or netting for the floor first, then place the laminates on top. The laminates can be thin wood.

The other type is synthetic wood that might come in relatively large planks and laid on the floor. This type of planks are heat and scratch resistence.

It should be cheaper than actual timber flooring. not very sure on the maintenance of these type of wood but based on my own personal experiences with timber, nothing beats the real stuff.

ryan> if like what you said...seems like laminated not very good...if you spill water on it or what will it you know absorb in and end up spoil the flooring??

I think the 5% only applies to couples below 30 yrs old...one of my colleague applied for the Punggol Acadia and was told to pay 10% cuz over 30 yrs old le...

But during the 1st appt HDB would have already told you if you have sufficient funds in your cpf for the deduction.

Kef> sorry forgot to include, laminate flooring is quite water resistance. but also cannot be used for high moisture areas.

my guess could be some laminate wood floor could be those made from chipboards with formica finishing.

that could be the reason why they are heat and scratch resistance.

solid wood flooring is not very good at handling spills as well. it must be cleaned up almost immediately.

For me, i like the natural grains of wood and the feeling of stepping on nature. that's why i am swearing by real timber wood flooring.

but seriously, in terms of practicality, it is very low as you don't own the HDB.

and yup, staggered 10% downpayment is for those who are below 30 yrs old.

i like the feeling of stepping on wood too...but only gonna do it for my bed rooms...cuz living room harder to maintain if you invite friends over and such...

for my bf and i because most likely we will be living there for quite a number of years...so investing abit more in the decor is fine for us

I hope it is not too expensive to do all 3 rooms...

Kef> 3 rooms should not be very expensive. my rough guess is that it should not cost more than S$3.5-4k.

i may be wrong. It's subjected to the type of wood you are using as well. In sg, most people use Teak Wood either from Indonesia or Burma. Burma's teak wood is more expensive.

go check out renotalk.com for more info lor.

i'm also doing my research from there.

Ryan ah Ryan , i think 3yrs is just nice to save hahaha ..... for reno & for all the furniture .. but most impt is reno , furniture can slowly buy one by one LOL ........

yea 3 yrs is just nice....for you to do up your dream home...furniture can 1 mth buy 1 piece...haha...most impt is fridge...stove...washing machine...tv..bed...

Anyway this is the place whereby my friend went to buy the parquet floorings and then get the layer to just lay the floorings...skip the contractors earning the commission...

http://www.hauhauparquet.com/

yah me also knw abt the 5% dwnpayment 1st.. then another 5% during taking keys.. bt no diff lor.. eventually also hv to pay full 10%..

i also agree.. 3 yrs is a good time to save up for reno..

Kef like that not 1 mth buy 1 piece liao wahahaha .... fridge , stove & washing machine impt .. as for tv & bed slowly can lah LOL ....

u all 1 2 do those door for bath room because the bathing area & the toilet bowl is damn near lo use those curtain type also no use ... now my hubby always make the whole bathroom wet esp the toilet bowl so angry leh ..

ah kiam> you never toilet train your hubby mah.

use the kerb and glass area then will not be like this liao lor.

bed cannot slowly lei... no bed, difficult to do "business" lei. If not all over the place, hai... a lot of problems you know. lol

All> yup 3 yrs just nice to save up. Read up a bit more about laminates and make me more determined to go for timber instead.

Laminates got tendency to peel at areas near toilet plus not as long lasting as timber. So will just go for timber liao.