Catholic Brides

Msclaire,the other thread recommended Love Droplets and I emailed for enquiry. However, I did not receive any news from them. Is there any reply from your side? I dont mind we ask for the group discount..can cut cost
Mia hasn't replied me either. Hmmm how come the chutch doesn't allow the use of projector for your wedding? St Thresa's Church (STC) allows that. Think I'll still print the booklet. The projectors are fixed pretty high on the walls, I'm afraid my guests will get stiff necks after some time.

Suwaiwai,I am holding the wedding mass at STC. It's good that your MUA can come early. Mine has to be paid extra if she comes in before 7 am as mentioned by Oceanblue. That's why I put the mass at 11 am instead. How's the EE? I am attending it end of April. Really excited about it. Anyone attending that weekend too?

Wondering if it is a must to meet the priest for the wedding prepration (of the contents in the mass booklet)after attending MPC or EE?

Adele> I'm meeting my MUA tomorrow. Will double check with her.. EE was great! Gave us the chance to discuss our views on the future and how we wanna manage our relationship. We kinda already have the same opinions so EE provided us the oppt to reaffirm them again. For other couples, they have not discussed some of the topics so EE provided them the chance to discuss them without any distraction. It was a truly enjoyable time. The presenting couples also made the difference.. if you kena the boring ones then..er.. their sharings may not be so impactful. Mine were great, we learnt so much from their sharing.

suwaiwai, that's great that your MUA doesn't charge extra. It's rare! Lucky you!

Adele, yes, you and your HTB need to meet up with the priest to do the pre-wedding couselling. This is done not only to ensure that both of u know what you are entering into (Marriage is a sacrament) but also to ensure that the readings, etc are in proper order and the correct version as they are many versions including those from the Protestant Churches. So, yes, it's compulsory.

Anyone can recommend a priest at Sacred Heart? I haven't decided my church yet... Anyone who got married there... can share your experience? Did everything go okay?

fifteenmay, I'm also an SFX bride, Dec 09 (getting Fr Ho as well), the last I heard they usually reccomend the SFX youth choir but they charge quite a hefty price to sing for your wedding. I'm getting my brother to help me instead.

Perhaps you can try Phillip Lye. He sang for my friend's wedding at SFX so he's familiar with the place =)

hi suwaiwai =) (Jmi told me u tt u left a comment for me here so that's how i know)

Unfortunately because mine is only next Dec I've not really confirmed which florist yet...haha...Originally I tot DIY-ing but then I realised that I wouldn't know what to do with the flowers left over.

Most prob will see the quotations offered for the simple decorations that I planning to have...=)

Hi Andrea

Jmi just informed me that you are my cous Jeremy's uni mate!! what a small world! My wedding in this Oct so I guess I can share advice with you once mine is over!

hahahaha hi suwaiwai =)
ur cousin jem is quite an interesting fellow...

thanks in advance for the advice! =)
My fren had hers last Dec at SFX also and I was the co-ord for the church wedding so I also can give u advise if u want...haha but generally quite simple =)

Congrats!

Hey Andrea,
Fr Ho told my HTB not to engage the youth choir as it s real ex.
We were thinking of Trevor's choir but not too sure how to go about getting him.
Anyone has a sample of Philip's voice samples?

hahahaha got to love Fr Ho =)
I think you can contact Trevor directly (I think his contact no. should be on the SFX website else I think you can ask Joyce, the church secretariat how to contact him)

Unfortunately I no sample of philip's voice =)

Hi Andrea,
Great! I think I need the advice from you more than you need from me!! heehee.. can you share what you did as the co-ord?? I've never coordinate a wedding before so any advice will be good. My bro will be my coord (he also 1st timer) so if you have a checklist of things you did in church, that would be great.

I'm planning to have my tea ceremony in the canteen too.. but not sure if I shld do it just outside.. more sunlight may look nicer right?

no worries ladies =)

suwaiwai...haha!
As a co-ord, I just helped set up the reception table, explained to the helpers what to do, give them their thank you gifts from the bride, assign someone to jaga the ABB while the service is going on, help put the mass booklets on the pews, make sure the classroom for the bride to put her stuff and to change is open, make sure all the helpers have reached and know what to do, give ang bao to Fr Ho, Uncle David (the caretaker), Phillip Lye, make sure ppl know where to go for phototaking after the service, make sure that the food in the canteen is all set up, guide ppl to the canteen from the phototaking venue...and of course make sure the couple are fine =)

Sounds like a lot but it isn't really lah =)
I was also her emcee, reader and psalmist (i didn't sing though =P)... Fr Ho joked that I was overworked...hahaha

Doing your tea ceremony outside might be a better option because it's brighter. Just tt the chair are metal lah..but you can buy some oragnza cloth to wrap around the back of the chairs and decorate with flowers and ribbons...Just tell Uncle David (the caretaker) that you're planning to have a tea ceremony at church and he'll take care of things for u =) He'll even remember to ask for u about the tea set n stuff =)

Hi Andrea

Hmm how impt is it to have a reception table? Jem and Jaime didn't have one.. and i'm thinking of not having one too. Just need ushers to sit pple.

Also what is ABB?? Oh and we can book classroom too?? At the moment I'm thinking of keeping to the wedding gown for the tea ceremony.. lazy to change change.. oh and I'm gathering that Philip Lye knows the place well?? Do we need to switch on the organ for him, etc? Uncle David will also switch on the aircon and lights right??

Also (this may sound like a silly qn) but did you kinda announce to the guests the order of events str after mass (ie go to the mic, tell pple that after mass will be photo taking, then proceed to canteen for tea ceremony and reception)?? Coz I wasn't sure how to keep everyone informed of the order of events..

Ya you were seriously overworked!! I was thinking of getting my bro to do the readings and MC for me too.. but I think he can just be MC and coord can liao.. I scare time for reading he is nowhere to be found! haha

Does anyone have a location map of St. Francis Xavier? Now that street directory.com is down, I can't find any other proper maps that I can use as a referece. Thanks for all your help in advance!

hey suwaiwai,

ABB = Ang Pow Box. My friend who got married at The Nativity Church had someone to announce to the guests on the order of events after the mass.

1st, the events were list at the end of the mass booklet and then when the mass ends, someone did the announcement.

The person announced the order of the photography session so the guests knows when's their turn. Guests were also informed to proceed to the canteen after photograhy.

We didn't have a reception table cos Jem, Jon & Tracy distributed the mass booklet before guests arrives and I didn't want anyone to to stuck at the table. Besides there was no need for a reception, I didn't have any favours to give out.

Easier to dismantle after the mass too!

Thanks jmi. I'd print the event order at the end of the booklet and I'm doing away with the reception table too! Dun need to take attendance or anything and we can always leave the booklets on the pews.

fifteenmay> hi! Congrats!
I need ur help... i am also getting married at SFX! do u know what the church pews look like cos i am DIYing my flowers. Like a picture of the interior of the church, or a discription of how many pews in first section, how large the pews are, and if there is a way to fasten the flowers.

Also, i have a wedding mass booklet done, i can email u. whts ur email? =)

hi lovexiaolongbao, i think i know who you are =)
Love your invite and mass booklet btw =) (I got to know esther thru this bridal forum =P)

My fren has a photo of the interior taken by her PG. I can send you a copy for your ref. the first section (if my hubby and I counted correctly) is 16 a side, the 2nd half is also 16 (or 15) a side. Generally for the flowers on the pews, U need to tie a ribbon around the pew coz no other way to fasten (that's allowed anyway I think)

Hi Xiaolongbao,
Can u email me the mass booklet template to [email protected]? Appreciate it!
The pews are wooden and its better to use ribbon to tie, but i think soft wire is possible too.
I will try to get a photo of the pew and email u.

Hi Xiaolongbao,
i got the email! your mass booklet is so pretty!Can i ask you how you bind them up together? Do you fold them into half and then tie with a ribbon?

I will be getting marry at SFX church and does anyone have any good and reasonable florist to recommend.

Xiaolongbao - can you email me your mass booklet template at [email protected]

For all past and soon-to-be brides from SFX,
Have u seen how the couple's chairs look like? Just wonder if there will be any seat cover or is it just a normal wooden type?

ocean_blue, there are no seat covers. They are red cushioned seats with cushioned parts for the couple to kneel on and rest their hands while kneeling/to put the mass booklet. If you wanna decorate, you might wanna tie a simple sash around the chair back and add some flowers to it =)

thanks, andrea!
better than just wooden seats. lol... BTW, are u able to email me the interior pix of SFX? Basically wanna take a look at the pews. Please? thanks!

Andrea,
Where does SFX couples sign their papers? Is there a signing table? I'm trying to source for flowers and wondering if I need flowers for the signing table? If there's a signing table, what is it like? Standing/sitting, does it come with a table cloth?

EMl, I'm looking for florist too! So far blissfulthots is the cheapest. I've tried asking her to send me photos of her deco at SFX, but she's been too busy to send them to me. If you managed to get them, pls share.

suwaiwai, allo!! =)
They sign it at the altar (facing the guests of course) so no need for signing table =)

oceanblue, email pls? =)

She does the altar arrangement, lectern and couple's chairs. Pews are additional at S$15/pew if im not wrong. Spoke w her last mth so can't really remember the exact details.

sounds about the same as tt time when I asked for quotes...which I found kinda ex by the time u add the costs of the pew decorations n stuff