Catholic Brides

Hi Shan, I'm share yr frustration. When i got in touch w the parish secretary, she asked me to fill up a form and then after one wk, i still didnt hear frm them. When i went down to the church, the parish sec wasnt ard and another person in the office told me that they will hv to confirm if the church is available on that day. So when i got in touch with the secretary, she told me to go and see the priest. That's why i got in touch with Fr Richards. I still had to know whether the church will be available that day so i called the secretary and she told me the church calendar is not available yet n they will only know if church is available end of this yr and that it's still too early cos i'm planning my wedding in Sept 09. ARGH!

So Jmi, this means I have to get in touch with the parish priest (St. Anne's) and let him know I'm using the church but getting another priest??

Anita,

Yes this was what I did. I asked Fr Richards but he told me to check if Fr Arro was ok. (Cos I 'booked' Fr Richards first before booking the church)

When Fr Arro gave the ok, I informed Fr Richards.

Hi nec... yes it usually is ok to get a priest from another parish as long as you clear it with the church first and of cos check with the priest too. but usually this is not a problem.

Hi bbp
Did you use the church hall for your reception? cos im having my lunch recep there and not sure how to go about decorating it. What other deco did u do for the church besides the ones provided by the church florists. its pretty ex 8 for $400!! Any pics to show me?

Jmi when is a good time to see Fr Richards? He wun be celebrating all the masses for sure. Will a weekday be good to see him? i tried calling him several times, but i guess he's busy outside as well.

Anita, like I've said I normally catch Fr Richards after mass on Sundays in Holy Cross. Find out the mass timings and go after mass.

Yes Fr Richards is very very busy.

Hi, anyone getting married on the 13th of dec at st. teresa's? And does anyone know abt the choir and flower arrangements in that parish?? Thanks so much!

Are you girls getting/got a priest who's also a licensed solemniser? wat are the usual procedures like 'cos i heard signing the legal cert should not take place in the church during the wedding.

Hey Anita, signing of the legal cert can take place in the church during teh wedding. My bro-in law did his that way. ANd most priests in Singapore and licensed solemnisers.

Jmi, I will be going down to Holy Cross this weekend. Is it okay if I go on my own or will it be better if my fiance goes with me? He is non-catholic.

Does anyone have suggestions for Responsorial Psalm?
I prefer something simple & easy to understand. As HTB is non-catholic, and thus 50% of guests will be non-catholic also.
Thank You

AD: Tues 1 Jul 08
Church: St Teresa
Celebrant: Fr Damien

heya gals! i met up with fr. richards. he's really nice and i feel so much better now. he advised my fiance and i to attend RCIA since he's not catholic. i understand that if one wants to convert, he or she is to attend RCIA, but i do not want to put any pressure on my fiance. at the same time, i myself want to attend RCIA as i have been out of touch for a while.

Hi Anita your fiance needn't convert if he doesn't want to. I know of people who have attended RCIA and decided that they didn't want to get baptised in the end. Nothing wrong with that at least they come away with some knowledge and understanding of the Catholic Faith.
I went through RCIA after I finished uni and it was a great learning experience as it re-inforces all the Catechism I had as a child and a whole lot more. So defintely ... just go for it!

Hi mitchi,
i'll be holding my wedding on 12th dec @ St Teresa. Do share with me on any info u find.. esp floral arrangement. =) wat time is ur mass?

Hi Anita,
i too just went through RCIA at Holy Cross and was recently baptised. My fiance was my sponsor and i felt that whole journey was wonderful. I not only learnt more about the faith, it also brought new meanings to what my fiance had learnt when he was a kid.

halo fifteenmay,
u've got another Venus bride here.

*wave wave*

Hi love or money,
Sorry for the late reply. Yup, I did use the hall for reception but didn't do any deco in it. Just used the tables at the sides of the halls and covered them with white cloth and a plastic overlay.
As for the church itself, I didn't have any other additional deco other than the pew deco. Yeah, I agree $400 is expensive, but in the end, decided to keep everything simple (after all, there are tons of other things to think about) and go with the church florist. After all, any extra money goes back to the church anyway

Here are the pics I could get of the decos:
662569.jpg

662570.jpg

nice pics bbp! thanks for sharing w us.

is it okay to use priests of another parish to preside at our wedding mass? i know that this is usually allowed, but anyone had other experiences?

Mrs N and jadeyu, thanks for yr replies. At what point during RCIA or after how long, do they start the 2nd period - turn inquirers to cathecumens. Will this be the period where the inquirers who arent ready to be baptised stop attending RCIA? I'm hoping someone can enlighten me on this

Approx 1 mth after RCIA starts, there will be Rite of Acceptance. Inquirers are then known as cathecumens. At the end of the RCIA, den they'll b asked if they wanna be baptised. Some churches even require them 2 b interviewed to c if they are ready. So the journey's still a yr.

I am getting marry at Church of SFX, anyone had good and reasonable florist to recommend for church decor?
Thanks!!!! =D

Hi jadeyu,
Hooray! Another Venus bride! When are you chosing your gowns?

Hi Eml,
i am getting married at SFX too, i think the church has a church florist and based on what i can see, their arrangements are pretty nice.Check with the receptionist for the contacts

HI fifteenmay,
selecting gown end of this mth. join more Venus bride at the Venus JB thread.

can anyone advise on the things to deco in Church if I DIY? besides pews.. what else?
will be holding mine at St Teresa. FH says that place already v nice.. dun need much deco.. anyone else getting married at St Teresa?

Hello Jadeyu, Im getting married in St Teresa!
Very stressed now. My AD 01 Jul 08 (Tues). Yours?
Do you know if I can use the LCD screens? I am not using church choir, using Phillip Lye.

Hi anita, thx for the info. but pardon my ignorance, wat is topiaries? the drape sounds nice.. but thinking of DIY.. so where can i get the stuffs?

Hi FSS,
mine is at the end of the year. 12/12 (Fri)
cool, yours is a tues.. what time is ur ceremony? mine is 3pm.

many stuffs i've not checked yet.. are u decorating the church? who's ur florist? how much u pay? was thinking of asking philip lye also.. but FH say not much pple will come anyway.. sianz... how will ur turnout be? have u done ur programme sheet? do share with me if u have.. was thinking of using projector too if possible.. otherwise will kill many trees...

Hi Jadeyu, I sent you a PM leh.

The only parts Ive completed for church is:
- Father Damien (did pre-nup liao)
- Phillip Lye
- service content
Outstanding:
- flowers
- if i can use lcd screen (will call angeline 1st thing tom before i leave sg)
- invites (hope to be ready in a week)

Who is your priest? You got dinner at night?

Basically, one word to describe this whole wedding planning - Stress cum Clueless!
If a wedding is a day, and Marriage is a Lifetime, why must have wedding?

Hi Jadeyu,

For DIY, you can get a wide range of items etc tulle/chiffon/ribbons at Spotlight located at plaza sing. Alternatively, you may even try Art Friend located at Bras Basah/Takashimaya for perhaps styrofoam balls/glue etc.

I have attached a picture of topiaries. Hope I was of help =)
673162.jpg

hey suwaiwai, to be honest, i have no idea. i was searching for ideas for decor in the internet and came across these. art friend/spotlight might have, and we can add ribbons or even lights to make it look even better. if i do come across, will let you in.

thks!! I'm planning to drop by spotlight this week, if I see it there I'll let you know too!

btw I'm confused over the church march in song. I plan to skip the classical music, so shld I find a song abt love or is a daddy/daughter song suitable too? Coz after all the dad is giving away his daughter?? Anyone has any clue?? Does the church allow non classical songs to be played for march in?

hi suwaiwai, this one I think best to check with the priest coz i know of a couple who didn't have classical music and had the choir sing a really nice hymn as the bridal procession entered....but I also know that generally it's classical music for some odd reason =)

Hi jadeyu, FSS...

read that u gals will be getting married at St Teresa's? My wedding was held there. The last i heard, u gotta use the church choir in order to be allowed to use the LCD screens. Otherwise it's $100 to use the screens. Not sure if that "rule" has changed. My wedding was 1.5 yrs back. heehee...

ello u 2 =)
I think best is to ask the priest coz I also thought tt songs are fine to use for the entrance but someone told me tt it has to be classical/instrumental...so better check with ur priest =)

hey gals, Val,

My BIL told me if you like to use non-classical songs. Make sure it is either played on the piano or it's an instrumental version. His friend used an instrumental Evanescence song as their match-in.

But like what drea has mentioned, it's better to check with your priest. =) Hope this helps.

Can someone provide me Philip Lye's number? I lost it. PM also can. Thanks!!

Also, still looking for anyone getting married in Blessed Sacrament to share their experience.

Congrats to all the brides to be!

I'm a 2009 bride. Currently only booked my church (St Teresa's) and priest. Done nothing else!

I'm thinking of settling my choir next...contemplating between church choir or Philip Lye. I wanted to choose Philip Lye cause of the good comments but some friends have commented a choir looks better for a church wedding compared to a solo singer... I need some advice. Anyone?

Hi neona, I'm getting married in 2009 as well. I've confirmed the priest but the church is asking me to wait till end of the yr as its still too early. ???? so i'm not really doing anything else. haha! personally i would prefer a choir as well.

hi neona, my fren had phillip lye for her church wedding and it was fine =) but I guess some ppl prefer having a choir coz it seems more "appropriate" or "nicer" but to each their own =)

Anita, I'm also getting married in 2009 (Dec for that matter) but I Jan this yr confirm priest and church liao leh...No questions asked smemore...which church are u using?

St Anne's. I'm really quite worried and feel like approaching another church. the secretary keeps telling me that booking takes place at least 6mths before wedding day but y'know, that's my point! it's AT LEAST 6 mths.