Catholic Brides

Hi nicelip, CSI Fan and all

Thanks for replying to my query on using the LCD screen in St Theresa. I have been busy, didn't log on to this forum for some time..thanks for your feedback. Actually I went down on May 26 to see a wedding ( must be your-nicelip) but timing not right, so didn't get to see the wedding. Wanted to look at the decor for the wedding in St Theresa. Also realised that the lady who is in charged on opening the church's door not friendly at all. Quite scared I have to deal with her when it's closer to my wedding date.

My main problem is ,my church wedding will be in the afternoon, and i want to push it slightly earlier, say 2.30pm instead of 3pm because most of my church friends have some other church prayer function to attend after my church wedding, so very rush for them. When I talked to Fr Arro last time, he was quite strict with the timing. Another reason for holding it earlier is because I dont' want the church wedding to end too late in the afternoon. Timing is bad because I forsee friends will choose to go for only either the church wedding or the wedding dinner. There is a gap in between the church ceremony and the dinner such that most pple will only go for one. I want more friends to attend my church wedding actually since it's more meaningful. then again, i also don't want them to miss out on my wedding dinner. So hard to get the best of both world. sigh

Btw, when you gals sign up the 10am choir, how many pple was in the choir group?

Lysha

Hi Lysha,

No prob, glad we could be of help

Yup, my wedding was on 26 May but it was in the morning at 10am, there was one more wedding in the afternoon that day, not sure what time you were there.

Hahaha, we had the same experience with her. If you read the earlier threads, you can probably foresee what you will have to go through.

Fr Arro is quite strict with the timing? I didn't know that, thought he is pretty flexible. Is he going to solemnise your wedding? I suppose you can have different groups for church and dinner, church is usually meant for your family and close friends. Dinner will usually include people like your colleagues who may not want to attend the church wedding unless they are also catholics.

My choir had only 4 persons, but they were great! Are you getting the 10am choir as well?

hi Nicelip,

Thanks. I have not made up my mind whether to engage the 10am choir. I remember listening to the 10am choir in one mass and there was a particular male choir member who has very good voice, don't know who is the person as I was sitting very far behind. I have fren who is an organist but she plays in Holy Cross, thought of asking her to play for me and getting a few Catholic friends to be my choir =)

I am off to a silent retreat for few days...will continue to chat when I return. Will pray for all the BTB =)

Yup, I know which guy you are referring to, I think he is the Choir Master and he does have a beautiful voice but most likely he will not be part of the choir group. Jacob Wee coordinates the schedule for the choir members and he will assign which member to sing at different church wedding.

Have a good retreat and talk to you soon!

Hey nicelip, Lysha

I'm using Jacob's 10am choir too. But it's still early when I confirmed him so we're just sitting back for the time being.

Oh gosh, I'm not really looking forward corresponding with the lady in-charge of locking the church etc.

hi Lysha,

I got my cousin and her frens (all currently or formerly Holy Cross choir pple) to sing for my wedding.
Yup, you can get your fren to play and a few other frens to sing for you. It can be quit meaningful, afterall, it's your friends' contribution towards your wedding...
but you won't be able to use the LCD TV (unless you pay additional $100).

Yup, the lady is totally unfriendly. My friends were even wondering why is she "in-charge". the church is so beautiful and serene, and white, but it is sort of "tainted" by such unfriendliness...that was their general feel lah...

Jmi, just gotta be as "chao kuan" as her lorh, I guess. I think dun bother to be nice and friendly towards her lah. Doesn't work...

<font color="119911">wah... this lady sounds very terror leh! How can the church allow such unfriendly people to be at the forefront hor? Like that she'll scare away potential church-goers! You call should complain

Hi Jmi, Lysha,

The lady in charge of opening/locking the church is the same lady you are gonna work with for everything else....your church decor, your rehearsal, actual day arrangement ;p i.e she is the main point of contact for couples who wanna get married in St Teresa. Not sure if complain will work tho...

Well ladies, don't fret, it's gonna be your special day, don't let anyone spoil it for you. For me, I made sure I try my best to adhere to her "instructions", but if really can't, e.g the rehearsal was a bit delayed, I just have to put on a very apologetic face and ask her to give us more time, and I just act blur when she black face

Hello ladies,

I'm back after being MIA for a while. Just filed my notice of marriage. Teeheeheehee...
How's all ur preps going on? Cracking my brains on caterers now.

<font color="119911">hi caffeinated, me too! I'm starting the tasting sessions now
Will be tasting mum's kitchen tonight. Will let you know how it goes!</font>

Hi bride,

How did the food tasting go? I'm thinking of signing up mum's kitchen. Just went to print my banquet invites and buy bedsheets today - John Little got good discount!

<font color="119911">hi caffeinated, mum's kitchen not too bad. My favourite was the teriyaki chicken and beef stroganoff. My whole family liked them. But the mee goreng a bit salty but still acceptable. The fish fritters by the time it got to us, a bit soggy liao but still taste ok. Sushi was nothing great actually, the most disappointing of the lot.

So all in all, the experience I would rate a 7/10. Still want to taste rasel's food first. When is your AD?</font>

<font color="119911">hi caffeinated, yes. It was a paid tasting. Because most caterers only do tasting AFTER confirmation (which I thought was silly cos if we don't know the food quality how to sign up??!) so we told them we don't mind paying but must offset if we sign up lor. We used it as our "ti qing" dinner so save money, no need to go restaurant. Hee hee

<font color="119911">ti qing is dependent on each family's requirements. Some don't need it, some do. Usually the ti qing session will consists of the parents getting to know one another (not too good for them to know each other for first time during the wedding day itself), girl's side ask for how many tables, talk about dowry, and other requirements like roast pig, how many boxes of GDL cakes etc etc</font>

Not wedding related, but anyone of you know which travel agent offers tours to Lourdes? Planning to take my parents there next year. Thanks in advance.

<font color="119911">hi cookie bunny, I remember you
you're peranakan right? How's married life? (hope i didn't get the wrong person

Anyway, I think you can get the contact directly from the churches. Or you can flip through the catholic news and there should be some under the advertisement portion. I've seen before. Better to go through the churches.</font>

Thanks Bride for the info...,heard last time Dynasty Travel offers tour to Lourdes plus Rome etc. Prefer to travel w/ non-church group if possible coz hubby is going and scared he will be bored to tears as he is not Catholic.

hehe but I think you got the wrong person, me not peranakan :P

Btw, I used Rasel for my wedding last year, great food and generous servings!

<font color="119911">hi cookie bunny, opps sorry :p OIC... in that case, then maybe you'll have to call up the different travel agents already...

You used rasel? That's great! So the food was good? Which menu did you get?</font>

Hi Bride,

I cant remember which menu, but we had mee siam, scallop on the shells, chicken bulgogi,indonesian chicken, oat prawns, eclairs. I cant remember the rest...getting old

We finished almost all the food except the pineapple rice, chicken and brocolli, the servings are super generous so you might want to nego for less rice and more finger food.
The chicken also very generous servings but maybe we had 2 chicken dishes coz my in-laws side dont take beef.

Overall, people like the food and they came early to prepare the buffet

When is your wedding?

<font color="119911">hi cookie bunny, OIC! Thanks for the recommendation! Hopefully my parents like the food when we taste it on tuesday
My wedding's 27 Oct.</font>

hi cookie bunny, am not sure which travel agency provided tours to Lourdes so I can't help you there.

But I've been to Lourdes myself last Nov. We self-drove from Bordeaux to Lourdes.

Lourdes is such a magnificent place and luckily Nov was close to winter so not much people. Else, on summer period, a LOT of pple queueing &amp; jostling to collect the Holy Water.

Hi Junie,
Is it difficult to travel by ourselves in France?
Was thinking of joining normal tour to Italy &amp; France and extend few days to go to Lourdes.

We plan to go during spring so it wont be too cold for my parents and we can avoid the summer crowd.

hi cookie bunny,

if you have GPS, then it'd be easier to drive around. but also depending on where you're driving from to Lourdes.

if no GPS, u can visit Michelin's website &amp; print out the direction.

Hi bride,

How did u get Mum's Kitchen to agree to a paid food tasting on a Sat? I called them on two ocassions, both times they insisted they don't do paid food tasting. Second time round i said my friend had a paid food tasting then the lady relented and said they do food tasting on weekdays only. I think their attitude and service are not up to standard. Most disappointing.

<font color="119911">I just told the lady that I can't decide if I don't know the quality of their food. By the time I sign up it's too late. Then she spoke to higher authority lor. Weekdays ok actually cos Rasel also only allow weekdays. Weekends they have so many catering jobs to do also. Must give and take, since they are giving in. This seems to be the caterers' policies to do tasting after confirmation leh. You check with other caterers</font>

Hi bride,

It's the fact that the lady actually insisted they don't do paid food tasting then later changed her mind about it that cheesed us off. Oh well, they just lost a potential customer.

So which caterer did u sign up with? We went with four seasons in the end. Quite happy with the food, perks, and service.

<font color="119911">oh alamak, so jiat lat one ah... I went through this malay lady, forgot her name liao but she was quite nice about it. Anyway, my family thought their food so-so only leh. So we will probably not sign up with them. It's either Rasel or Select lor.

We also wanted to consider Four Seasons. The lady who served us also nice, wanted to give food tasting for free but then their menu not as unique as the rest I feel. But the food should be nice, heard lots of good comments in other threads. Good choice!

Hi Nicelip or any St Teresa's Church brides,

Like to check if we need do any decor for the bridal chairs? Noticed from a picture that the chairs are drapped with red fabric.

Can anyone confirm that so I can take this decor bit out.

Hi Jmi,

You will need to do your own decor for the bridal chairs, if not it's just normal wooden chairs.

Your wedding in Dec rite? Still lots of time to prepare

hello all!

i've just got the confirmation slip to attend EE in Nov! :D
YAY!
just wanted to share the good news of prayers answered as i was praying we'd get this date cos all other dates either FH or i arent free.

Hi Jmi,

I so blur, was arranging my photos and realised there was really red fabric on the bridal chairs and it kinda looks ok even without decor.

I've attached a pic for you to see, and you can decide if you still wanna go ahead with the flower decor
504579.jpg

Hi bride,

Sorry for the super long delay...here's a pic of the deco from Select. Didn't take pics of the cake and the whole table layout, but I remember it was not bad. Alternatively, you can check out more deco from their webby...Gotta tell caterer what and how you want. Hope you've decided on your caterer.

504762.jpg

Hi Jmi, here's my pic of the couple chairs at St Teresa's.

504763.jpg

Hi pui,

I'm sure it's enough! But a few determing factors are:
1. complexity of church deco
2. catering? If so, for how many?
3. rings - can range from few hundred to few thousands.

hi ah pui,

if you all are ok, i heard of a couple who use stainless steel rings from perlini or something as their wedding rings.. less than $100
they dun care how other pple will think, 'oh your wedding bands is from perlini's ah? i see.'.

church costs are quite fixed, but depends on the church u r using...

catering for lunch can be done at $10 per pax...

ang bao for priest is on your own...

Does anyone remember a post where it kinda stated the type of ang baos you should prepare? Like who needs to be given an ang bao.

Me need to start planning the ang baos liao.

Hi ah pui,

5K is definitely enough for church wedding. I spent the following:

1) Church booking $200
2) Choir $300 (including usage of the LCD screen)
3) Church decor $400
4) Wedding favour $380
5) Wedding bands $900
6) Ring pillow, corsages, I DIY and it cost around $30

I did not have a church reception, but if you are having one the cost will be as follows:

1) $200 for booking of the church canteen
2) The buffet can range depending on your budget, I have a menu for as low as $7 per pax and it comes with Chocolate Fondue but I didn't use coz I had my lunch at Rasa Sentosa.

Having said all the above, it really depends on which church you are having your wedding as the fee for church usage varies, some can go as much as $800.

Hope the info helps in your preps

hi ah pui,

I foresee you all might have some trouble about the rings. Discuss about it. For my case, we didn't get the rings as a pair. I got mine at $500, whereas his is less than $100. Reason is simple, I will wear my ring, but he isn't going to. So no point spending money on something that's not going to be "seen" after the AD.

Hi Jmi,

Hmm, I also donno where the red fabric come from leh.....it must be provided by the church but how come CSI has white cover??? If I knew there is gonna be red fabric, I would save the chair decor, honestly, everything happens so fast and I was so excited that day, I didnt have time to look and observe the church decor

hi ah pui,

what the ****. what do u mean he wan a 3K ring and yourself 100+? hhhmmm...

yes budget wedding is possible but errrmm, must see the practicality i guess..