Catholic Brides

minssy, CSI Fan & bride, check with u all, my HB said for the church caterer, just tell them over the phone the menu we want can leow. very simple. is it so? there is no need to discuss about setup & deco

diamond,
technically, he is right. The simplicity of the entire wedding preparations is dependent on yourself, how particular you are about certain things and what is the minimum you can accept. eg. Not particular about WG, simple white dress also can...kinda thing.

I have some gal frens who feels there's no need to discuss abt set up and deco for caterer, coz that is not impt. As long as food nice / ok, they are happy liao. Coz most of the time they will be taking pics with pple etc, so to them, deco not so impt. Some frens feel that they can put their time to better use, than to travel up and down, ding dong here and there with caterer on setup & deco etc...

But I'm more particular. To me, I must have deco, so I will make sure there is deco. It's really up to you lorh.

(a) engage a florist to do it
(b) get the florist doing ur church deco to do it. probably gotta pay a bit more, on top of what she's already charging for church deco
(c) Get frens to do.
(d)DIY. Just get ur helpers to place the vases at specific spots of the buffet table. Caterers shd provide the skirting etc, so shdn't be a prob there.

have you seen the recep area of SFX? Think you can have a good idea of how you can DIY if you want. SFX's recep area is QED...depending on what u want lah.

CSI, will get a florist to do church deco.

so the deco of the lunch reception is not done by the caterer. i see..

recep ard of SFX? lunch reception is at the canteen... wat is QED??

diamond,
no, deco can be done by caterer too. Some caterers provide, some don't. I think that's what ur FH is referring to. He's probably saying dun spend the time talking abt deco with caterer. Just get the food. He probably has lots more things on his mind, like ur MIL etc...I dunno lah. just guessing only. That's why I mentioned earlier, depending on how particular you are about certain things, and how u go about getting it.

QED = Quite Easily Done

Ok, let me rephrase:- so have you seen the canteen area of SFX? Then you can have a good idea of what kind of deco you can DIY, if you want to.

Since you will get a florist to do church deco, ask her if she can do the recep area (no, the canteen) for you or not lorh...and how much more do u need to pay her. If no need to give her extra, then good lorh. Save all ur trouble.

CSI, yes, FH has other more things on his mind. to me is, he like no mood to prepare. then dun get married??

pardon me, canteen area does not need to do much floral arrangement right? when i mean deco, i mean, skirting deco, VIP tables, etc...

diamond,
seriously, it's up to you how much deco you want. I've seen some with zero floral arrangement. Not that we missed it...coz we just ate, chatted, laughed, took pics and left. Then again, I've seen some with tons of floral deco. So it's really dependent on what you prefer or can afford (time and $$) to do lorh.

skirting deco - I would think any caterer would provide lah, coz when we cater for home party, it comes with skirting. Kinda like a "no need to ask, it's definitely there" kinda thing.

VIP tables - not sure if every caterer would do this. Worse case, put some tables together on ur own lorh. But u gotta consider is it necessary? Would ur parents & MIL want to sit at the VIP table? Or would they prefer to mingle ard with relatives? I have seen some, where the VIP table is nicely laid out. But nobody touched the seats until caterer collects back everything. Coz the couple and family are busy chatting, laughing, taking pics etc. So, necessary or not, you decide.

So, at the end of the day, what do kind of deco do you want / can accept? There's no right or wrong lah. SFX seems pretty ok to me liao.

Maybe like what ur FH said lorh, just call them to give them menu can liao. Then just check if they will provide skirting. But if you are particular about floral deco, then u can ask your florist for help.

Yes, we brides all want things to be "sui sui" (nice nice). But I guess, in times like this, gotta take a step back to see where ur FH is coming from. On his mind now is probably $$ for ur MIL's medical bills and he probably doesn't want you to run ard, and take on too much of the preps by yourself (he's probably thinking it'll be too tiring for you)...so he's cutting back and making it a really simple affair...like, just get the food kinda thing.

Can understand why he's not in the mood to prepare (would you be? if u're in his shoes?) But that does not mean he doesn't want to get married...So wanting to get married must = mood to prepare...? C'mon, you've attended EE (or MPC) right?

CSI, i am already doing alot of things myself.. i just asked him to take care of the catering..

the 200++ invites i would be making myself, drafting out the words, paper materials, ribbons, paper cutter, evelopes, etc, all i source & will make..

am not a catholic. but he is & wants a church wedding. in the end, i am the one who spend time to prepare the service booklet! his mum's place reno & packing, he also robes me to help

so, cant he just do 1 simple catering properly?

i am already very tired & have lost weight with all these running around & lack of rest. wat else he wants?

yes, he has no mood, yes he worries abt $$ but then, if we wan to get married, things still hv to be done! is not fair for him to get agitated when i asked if stuff like "have u talked to the caterer, wat can he offer, when can we meet him, how much is the deposit.... etc etc"

diamond,

not that we dun sympathise your situation.. preparing for a wedding is like that.. i am not a catholic too but i am doing most of the stuff.. i had no hella idea what a mass booklet but i read & find out more and do my own copy and spent lotsa time coming out with the booklet. guys are like that one.. its quite rare that guys will do the hands on work... esp when your hubby is tied with all these issues, all the more he have no time to do all these stuff..

if you all wan a simple wedding, do away with the whole church wedding and just do the ROM will do..

CSI provided good guidelines on the caterer already.. why dun you call and ask yourself to have a better idea?

and btw, if time is not on your side, why do you want to do your own invitation cards? cant u just send to the printers? its so much easier rite? sometimes, a card is just a card...

you've lost weight...so maybe that's why he doesn't want u to run ard some more...so he suggests to just call and give them menu.

I dunno whether must meet caterer or not one lah...coz I didn't. I ask them questions, they answer till I happy, then I take. Otherwise, I engage another.

Yes, if u want to get married, things still have to be done. Question is...what things? That is something the both of you gotta sit down and communicate properly, what things you want. Getting married, technically, is simple. Church, a few close frens and family, service, the end. Married liao. But of course, not all of us can accept something that simple lah...but it's not impossible.

I've a fren who did not have reception after her service. She just wrapped some chocolates as door gift and gave out (and her parents own their own businesses kind, so got associates to entertain kind lorh). Real frens would not mind...coz (a) we knew that's what would make them happier, (b) we are not there for the makan or to kay poh who turned up. We are there to wish them well and give them our blessings.

A wedding is a day, a marriage is a lifetime. Marriage is a sacrament (a sign of God's presence), so to him (and ur MIL), church wedding is definitely v impt. What would make the both of you happier? At the end of the day, both have to really communicate lorh. Maybe your FH cannot communicate as well as you, so he's not getting his point across to you in the right manner. But only you 2 can work this out lorh. In wedding preps, there's definitely arguments and quarrels one lah. Just need to communicate, lower our own pride and listen with our heart...afterall, we women are known to be able to multi-task much better than the men.

At the end of the day, things will turn out smoothly....

hi csi,

well said.. A wedding is a day, a marriage is a lifetime... you are very right

Hi minssy,
hahaha....I gotta keep reminding myself manz...otherwise, I would "want this, want that" etc...and all for that 1 day. maciam sound a bit crazy like that. I dun even put that much attention on my daily work.

Not easy though, especially if ur frens had or will be having this and that...and the "once a lifetime" thingy is so commercialised. So it all boils down to how much the pocket can tahan and what one can accepts, I think...hehs.

hi ladies, sorry, MIA for so long. hope everyone is fine.

I have yet to decide on the church yet. still sitting on it.

Planning to go for EE end of the year.

(a) They were joking (coz pple do joke in this manner), and you're also joking now, but I dun get ur joke...hahaha (coz it's just words that are on screen...no tone of how u're saying it etc...)

(b) They tell u that and you believe them....? then why do YOU want to get married, if you feel that it will get worse? Why do you want into the "trap" which you feel will be worse after marriage? You do so much to make that ONE day so perfect, only to feel that the rest of your life will be worse than it is now? Sorry ah...but I dun see the equation in wanting to make that one day perfect.

Of course it'll get "worse"...but in what sense? For starters, I think (coz me not married yet...hahaha) we have to get used to another person who has a totally different style of doing things staying at home with us. For eg. this person may have the habit of squeezing toothpaste from the middle of the tube, but we have the habit of squeezing from the bottom and rolling the tube up. Things like that. That's how worse it can get. And of course differences in opinions etc. and the having to provide for kids, the home etc. After marriage, become more accountable to the other party, etc. It's a whole lifetime of give and take...One party probably ends up giving more lah...

How worse can it get...we all have a part in it lah. Both parties. That's why we all gotta continue to work at making the marriage work. It's not...get married, the end. Everything will remain status quo and the feeling of bliss will last forever. It will last if we put in the right effort.

Love is not a feeling. It is a decision.

diamond,
and after all that and at this stage, you feel it will get worse? Then you 2 really gotta seriously talk it through manz.

diamond,
Can't suggest anything but you should seriously think it through. That's the most logical thing now, I guess. Is this something you can slowly accept? Is this just one of those times when you're just feeling frustrated and you don't really mean it, kinda thing?

I dunno what you went through in your EE weekend (u attended EE right?), but at my EE, the priest (Fr. Vaz) told us, that even though you have sent out your invites, the banquet has been booked, the whole world has been informed...if both parties or one party feel that there are some "non-negotiables" in the r'ship, or they feel that they cannot get along, both shd stop. Rather than to go into the marriage with the "non-negotiables", take some time to think it through. Even if that may mean cancelling or postponing the wedding. You dun want to end up in an unhappy marriage and neither would u want to end up in divorce. It is impt that both parties approach the marriage, knowing what to expect, and being able to accept that.

Love is a decision. (That's what I learnt from MPC). If you love the person, u'll decide to stick by the person, no matter how much pain it can cause you. I guess that's why some pple stick by their spouses, despite things like infidelity or the spouse could have hurt their kid etc...

hi csi fan,

yah lor true.. all the efforts just for 1 day.. i think most impt is the logistics of the whole day's events than the nitty gritties...

hi tea,

try to get the church date secured first.. that's the first thing that you gotta do before anything else...

Dear CSI,

Thanks for your well wishes! The weather yesterday was absolutely lovely! And the light that shone on my posy in the church was amazing - I can't wait to see our photos!!!
Everything went by in the blink of an eye, I had a blast at our dinner and everyone enjoyed themselves too! I can't even remember everything - so I guess the pictures will show the details I've probably missed out on
Our final celebration's on sunday...can't wait!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Hi CSI, Minnsy

I belive i asked this qn but no reply before but pls advise me where to get unity candles. The ones I saw at tecman, bras basah are quite exepsnive , altogther 50-70 dollars for a set of candles.. hmm.. not sure if you ladies can reccomend other places to get
Also need some advice on the number of helpers you have that day .

hi Diamond,
sorry to hear abt yr stress. Past few wks also quite stress for me!.. heh heh..Yea planning a wedding is never easy and there are bound to be clashes between you and your fiancee. Men, being men dont really bother abt details like us ladies. My hubby is one of them too. Eg.he cant undrstand why i will pay so much for this or that or why i need flowers in the pews..or why I want to pay so much for a gown etc.. The number of arguments we had--> countless..
Also, he has been overseas until 1 wk before the wedding and I am doing all the preparations for the Big day .. Can be a big headache but thank God for his strength else I would have "peng san" by now.

For yr caterer, it would help if you ask him what he intends to do esp if you want the reception area done up nicely. I am using Mum;s kitchen and they have doen receptions at IHM so they had pictures of the decor which I liked. They shouldnt charge u any extra unless u want more tables with little flowers on it or more expesnive type of flowers and addtional decor.

Dont fret. Like what CSI says, wedding only a day , marriage a life time with its fair share of ups and downs. After wedding day is over,, you can heave a sigh of relief and all will be well. Meantime stay positive ok? cheers

CG/Minssy/CSI, check with u all.... if my wedding service booklet has the "blessing of the matrimonial candle" part, only then, i need to get the unity candles right? if not, i do not need to right?

hi cg,

not sure if i had mentioned before but the bookshop next to holy family has it.. its abt $24 - $30 with engraving of names.. please buy only if your priest gives the greenlight to use cos most priests do not use that now..

helpers ah? try to have at least 4 to be in church to help you with the logistics... more is better than less... then appoint 1 to be the main logistics coordinator.. this main logistics coordinator will also signal/guide when the people should march in (people as in flowergirl/pageboy, brisdesmaid/ yourself & your dad)

hi CG...hehs...I'm thinking of buying plain candles from places like Spotlight and then do it up on my own...hahaha. Only thing is, haven't had the time to go buy. So...unity candle still one of the outstanding things for me manz...

Perhaps it's "priest-dependent", but one of my friends used an orange block candle (rectangular ones...those that look like some deco piece) as their Unity candle...

Just got back from the movie, Banquet , which was excellent!.

Thanks Minssy and CSI.. Yea most probably I will pop by Holy Fam to get the candles. I just completed my AP box and dont know if I have time to do up plain candles from scratch. Diamond, yes you will probably need Unity candles if there is the Matrimonial candle bit.

I visited some US websites which have Unity candles that look very lovely but rather pricey.I will just settle for those at KCBC, Thanks again for the tip

Good night

Can i check with you all something? Do you know how many choir members are suitable for the wedding, and how many songs do we normally have during a wedding service? We are having our wedding at a catholic church as my HTB is a catholic, but he's not sure as well. Thanks for your help.

hi purplebride,

wah... tough question...cos responsorial psalms can be sung too... if you need samples of mass booklets u can PM me or leave your email address here....

as for number of choir members, i guess there is no fixed number.. the soloist i engaged is a one man show and he settles almost everything.. i have no exp in getting a choir so cant help you in that... see if there are other ex brides who had engaged choir can assist..

CSI
haha i was planning to buy plain candles from spotlight too and maybe make a simple floral wreath round it...cut cost.. but what is the size of the candles usually ? it is the thick blocky ones or slim tall ones? And how many ? 3 ? 2?

hi minssy,thanks for still being around for answering our queries... if im not mistaken, you engaged CJS as your caterer hor? I thought their food quite good as EE engages them... what is the presentation like? simple with just the table cloth covering ? service wise as i recalled you mentioned was very good right?

hi adel,

hahaa. yah still around... will help to answer when i feel the need :p

3 candles... 1 huge one on the altar and 2 thin ones to be held by bride & groom to lit the huge one...

and yes i engaged CJS.... presentation was pretty ok.. not those super fancy ones but decent... they did the tables + VIP (they kindly so for me which i think its very lovely of them) and also skirting for the recep table.. thats why i strongly recommend them.. a few caterers i called want me to pay extra. siao! hahaah

minssy, check with u, who shld we hand the candles over to? on the day itself OR before the AD? if there is another couple before us how ah?

diamond,

on AD is fine.. cos your jiemei will definitely have 1 bag of stuff to bring to church (ROM papers, ang bao box etc etc...)

if there is another couple before you, your jie mei need to logistically make sure that the area is clear. for that, they will coordinate with the church pple..

the bride, on that day, shd not do anything.. all will be left to the coordinators...

hi adel,
hahaha...yah lorh. cut cost...but...no time lah! hahaha. What I saw at the bookshop at St. Mary's of the Angels is the cylindrical blocky types + 2 slim long types. My friends also used those blocky ones as the unity candle (tall and short blocks. Square, rectangular or cylindrical blocks). But both bride and groom will light the blocky candle using their own individual candles (like signify 2 coming together as 1, kinda thing). The 2 individual candles are usually the slim, long types (like those used in the "candle light dinner" scenes in movies and some parishes use the long white ones for the congregation during baptism/christmas mass). So in total, it's 3 candles - 1 blocky, 2 slim, long ones.

minssy? jiemei? dun intend to hv any wor... just 2 friends to be at the reception table. 1 bridesmaid & maybe my FBIl to ensure that all things are ready.. ie, buffet is ready, signal to me to march in, etc

Hello again ladies

Sorry to bother u.. Need some advice on the church weddign progrm. I am in the midst of writing up the program for the day and allocating " duties " to my beloved helpers

My wedding mass is 11 am and I intned to get guests to sit by 1045am. I will have 2-3 ushers to guide them into church. Was wondering whether I should have my friends( another 2 pax) at the reception table there for them to sign in guestbook ?

Cos I actualy intend to have the formal sign in with AP box after mass is over at the wedding reception place.

Would be nice if you guys can share what your pgm is going to be like that day

Thanks ladies

Thanks minssy and CSI for the info on the candles. wah seems like we will need very good helpers on that day! wah... stressed... ive been slacking for too long... sigh... so many things not done...
minssy, is it possible to share with me your lineup and duties for the helpers and for the church ceremony ?? thanks !

Hi dreamdoll,

Glad to hear that everything turned out great for you!
Hey, was R surprised by your WG (I remember it was a surprise, right?)? The look on his face then must have been priceless...

Guess you would be going off for your HM soon? Have fun!

I'm trying to tie up the lose ends to my preps now...hehs...

Hey dreamdoll,

Not sure when you'll be reading this again...but forgot to ask you...

How was it at St. Teresa's?
Did you guys use the plasma/LCD TVs? Anything in particular to look out for? Hehs...Hmmm, then again, you were probably so absorbed in the moment to notice anything out of place either. heehee...

Hey CSI,

St Teresa's was beautiful!
We didn't use the plasma TVs as we had a small intimate crowd
Yes, the look on R's face was priceless! We've got amazing pics & memories to last a lifetime

diamond,

guess its a little tight for 2 - 3 helpers.. they gotta do more duties... the bridesmaid cant be running abt to do the pre-coordination... well she can if she want but she will be very busy..

hi CG,

i can send u my prog.. email me lah..

formal sign in ah? weird leh.. after service, pple will wanna go already.. who wanna sign in? put the AP box and signature scroll at the recep counter, together with the mass booklets at the counter.. the recep gals can take care of that..

hi adel,

sure.. but do i have your email ah? old already cannot remember :p

hi CG,

i understand your term of formal sign in=signing guest book

quoted from your previous message: 'Cos I actualy intend to have the formal sign in with AP box after mass is over at the wedding reception place'. That's why i added that it shd be BEFORE mass and not AFTER

Hi Dreamdoll,

Everything's going ok.
Left with a bit of lose ends to tie up...well, quite a bit. hahaha. AL fitting went well. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Saw everything being "built" from "prototype" form. Quite exciting actually.
Now I'm just waiting for the final fitting about 2 weeks before AD. Hope I don't put on extra weight! It's hard to control the weight bit, coz when I'm stressed, I just eat and eat. hahaha.