Catholic Brides

minssy, am thinking of doing 250 pieces of church invite myself.

but then, i would need a good printer to print the words for me into A4 coloured papers & then cut it for me into C3 size. It is possible?
i will supply the rims of papers. All I need is printing & cutting. will they do for me?

u hv the number there for me to call?

hi diamond,

sorry i dun have the number off hand.. u can find isuccess from yellow pages....

as for your requirement, its not impossible.. its just more work.. but do speak to the printers and see what they can do for you...

Just found out that there is actually a thread for catholic brides today.

Apologies. Would really need some serious help from all of you here.

As my nick says, I m act getting married in St Teresa's church on the 26th Nov 2006. That being a sunday, would really need help if all those beautiful brides/would be brides here could send me some of your programme booklet for reference. Both mass or service is ok.

Anybody can kindly advise what is the major difference?

Pls help help!! thanks. can email the booklet to:

thanks again...

Sorry again...

Just wanto check if anybody got married in St teresa's church recently? Would appreciate any nice photos of the church deco if you could kindly share too...

Hi Jolio,

what time is your wedding on Sunday? It's quite rare to have a wedding at church on Sunday...they usually dun allow...but it's dependent on priest also lah.

I have some pics of a wedding held there in May, that's done by the church's florist Wendy.
406544.jpg

406545.jpg

406546.jpg

406547.jpg

Thanks CSI...

Oh yah...actually we are one of the last few couples that actually got the chance to do it on Sunday.

Thanks for the pics. They are lovely.

How much did Wendy charge you? What is the package like?

Thanks for your sharing...

Anyone engaging/have engaged Philip Lye, the organist for your wedding? I am engaging his services for my wedding in Dec 06; not sure if I should get a small choir to sing as well since he is solo. What do you think? Also, heard from another thread that he can do the commentatory too; anyone with experience can share with me whether it's better to get a separate commentator? Thanks!

Hi Jolio,

Wendy quoted $700, but I'm still considering. Still have a teeny bit of time to think lah...hehs. My AD's a week before urs...

Jolio & CSI Fan

i find 700 for floral deco abit too ex. anyhow, do check out
Mark
Hp 9790 0443
The Red Petals Florist
mark@theredpetals

he will email photos of the deco & the cost of floral deco. basically, he offers 2 packages, either 350 or 550.

actually, you may wan to share the cost also with the couples before and/or after your soleminisation. it makes more sense. if not, the florist will rush like mad

Hi bliz,

I will be getting Philip Lye too! On 15Dec 2006. He was highly recommended by Sacred Heart (where my wedding will be held)...I have another friend engaging his services in Dec too....He's apparently a solo organist/singer whose very good at whatever he does...

Jody,

Actually the only difference between Service and Mass is that for Service, there won't be Holy Communion. My husband is Sikh so I actually wanted to have a service instead of Mass but after much thought, I felt that not receiving communion just wouldn't complete my wedding...but thats my point of view....

Btw, forgot to mention earlier to brides who will be holding their wedding at Sacred Heart... I will not be having any decorations put up at all as I feel the place is already very nicely done up and a few couples who have had their wedding there also just left it as it is...

hi bliz,

u need not get a small choir.. his voice alone is powerful and lovely enough.. he did the commentatory too.. so my guests knew when to stand, when to sit.. the only thing is that you need to have a helper to sit beside him to be 'his eyes'.. but he is soo experienced u need not worry a single thing..

hi imelda,

negative.. the difference between service & mass is the absence of liturgy of the eucharist, NOT absence of holy communion.... if you do not have a catholic partner, the non catholic partner can still be blessed by the priest while the rest of the catholic family members/guest receive communion, which will be very meaningful to them.... it all depends on individual though...

I will be having my church wedding at SFX in nov.
Does anyone have any recommendations for hiring their church choir...or organist cum soloist? Any contacts? and any idea what's the going rate like?
Also...is there a good website to get a road map of SFX? or is anyone kind enough to pass me their softcopy?How do u normally get a road map done...is there a reasonably priced printer who could do it for you??

Nervous Bride having the jitters...
Pls help!
Thanks!=)

seabreeze, the youth church choir at SFX charges $500.

I am getting the church organist, Mabel. She said will help to get us a soloist from the choir to sing. charges are by way of angbows. she said will help us with service booklet preparation also. Mabel is also a lector. So, she can double up again.

I also dunno where to get SFX church map. I think my FH will get his friend to draw. The easier way out is to get from the online streetdirectory loh...

minssy, ya.. just realised that $100 is a standard rate. the church organist of SFX also told me so. But she said she did it out of love. So, we just give her an angbow..

diamond,

i see.... well its soley up to you on your budget...

btw gals, its nice to give philip an ang bao too

hi sea breeze, printers who had done the cards for SFX will definitely have the soft copy of the map... what u can do is to call up a few more well known printers and i am sure they will have it. charges wise shd be $10 - $40 one time fee..

<font color="119911">hey girls, I'm thinking of holding my wedding at Church of the Risen Christ. Anyone did that before? Any advice?</font>

minssy, I have done my booklet with the church organist help yesterday. She was asking me if i want to have a section on some unity candle stuff in my service booklet. what is that? she said i can put it in if Father wants it later.

i do not see any in your booklet also

diamond,

cos its not compulsory and most priest do not use that. its very subjective, dependent on priest.

hi dreamdoll/garcia10,

your AD's coming soon rite?

hey dreamdoll/garcia,
if you guys have the time to drop by this thread, Congratulations!!
Your AD is this week right? God Bless...

Hi Imelda,

I got married earlier in the year in Sacred HEart, yes you are right, the church is quite nicely done up already so no need to many flowers. And since your AD is in December, you are lucky!! cos they normally put up Xmas flowers and decorations by that time

minssy, my FH just told me his mum said his relatives that side dun need to give invite. Just call them &amp; inform them of the church wedding can leow. like this also can ah??

btw, HIPV has refunded us the deposit. I have just picked up the cheque earlier.

diamond, at least that's one thing off your mind. You got back the deposit. I'm sure that's going to come in very handy in times like this. Take care.

as for the invites, hey, if they say it's ok, then it's ok lorh...afterall, they are the elders and they are the relatives. If we say not ok over here in the forum, what can be done? We're not the relatives...it's really up to individual lah. Plus, ur FH side is the catholic one right? so, if they're ok with not receiving invitations, then so be it. Look at it this way, can save $$, no need to print...

diamond,

its the traditional thinking of not giving invites. imo, invites are still necessary to remind them. u can use red cards to invite them, since they are the relatives side....but like what csi mentioned, if they dowan then dowan lor.. just make sure they get back to you tables at the end of the day..

hi csi fan!

you are abt 2 mths to your AD hor?

minssy, can elaborate on this traditional thinking of not giving invites thingies?
FH said it got something to do with the dad's anniversary. u forgotten, my banquet is cancelled. just church wedding, so need tables wat...

CSI, still need to print invites la. my relatives leh? our friends &amp; colleagues leh??
need to get some cakes for my relatives too!

diamond,
then you just print for your relatives, friends and colleagues lah...smaller quantity only. FH side, since his mum says no need, then dun lorh...for his side. (otherwise, may add to her already weak state). There are printers willing to print small quantities. Just need to source them out...that one, you gotta ask around...Can just DIY simple one on coloured paper (from Popular bookshop - $x for 100g type) and print using home/office printer, and cut accordingly. My fren did that, coz hers was less than 50 cards.

Cakes, then go and get lorh. That one boh pian, cannot don't do...Ur parents sure want, right? (Unless they also say no lah...) Can only save on the type of cakes. Those Bengawan solo vouchers start from $6.50 (I think). Haven't found any cheaper cakes...

Hi Minssy,

Yap, it's 2 months! heehee...most of the things done already, but it still feels like there's 800 things screaming for my attention...but strangely, I quite like the energy I'm feeling. I think I'll miss the preps once AD is over manz...

minssy/csi, does the witness have to sign the marriage register at the alter? can do it at where the benches are? if my FMIl is to be the witness, she will not be able to climb the stairs up to the alter.

also, my mum said the witness cannot be a divorcee! is that true?

Hi CSI!

Thanks for your well wishes! V sweet of you

I'm slightly freaking out as I'm typing this but fingers crossed it'll all go well!

diamond, of course DIY cheaper lah...only whether u have the time or not. As for your other questions, best is to check with the relevant authorities (priest &amp; ROM). I dunno if your mother is right or not.

Hi dreamdoll!!

Relax yah, gal...
You must be really looking forward to this day...I'm also feeling excited for you! hehs...I'm sure it will all go well...

diamond,

to some uncles &amp; aunties, a verbal comunication is enough... invitation card shows sincerity, even if its for a simple church wedding.. csi has elaborated on the point also.. if we tell you u still need to print &amp; give, will you? if we say no need, save the $$ for whatever bills, will you? how much effort will it take to print &amp; distribute for his relatives?

cakes are cheap stuff.. can get under $10 confirmed... cakes are distributed together with the cards, after GDL, normally... thats why GDL is best to do about 1 mth before wedding....

there are no guidelines that witness cant be a divorcee.. any clown can be a witness so long as they are above 21.

its weird if the soleminsation table is at the first row of bench where your MIL is sitting. technically if she can go to church, she can go a few steps more to the side table rite?

hi csi fan,

thats exactly how i feel man! haahah! there will be 1001 things to do.. u know for my AD eve, i slept at 1+ cos i need to finalise some dinner arrangements.. good thing my sis was there to help me with it else i will surely faint.. yes yes, enjoy the AD prepartion.. i so miss it man! hee..

diamond,
just a thought...when your mum says witness cannot be a divorcee, maybe it's based on superstition etc? and not leagal guidelines? If any of your witnesses are divorcees, but these witnesses are impt pple in ur lives, you might want to chat with your mum. Otherwise, it doesn't affect u...so dun bother with it...

minssy, FMIL needs assistance to climb staircase. walking on flat ground she is okie. So, how is she going to climb the stairs to the alter where the soleminisation table is?

can the register be brought down to her to sign....

diamond,

u gotta assess on your own.. picture whether the table will look weird or not. talk to the priest also. we cant help u. sorry.

hi sea blue,

i got your PM... shall reply in the noon when i have more free time okie

<font color="119911">hi diamond, is your wedding at SFX? If it it, the signing table is on the ground level, on the left side facing the altar, so your FMIL doesn't need to walk up to the altar.</font>

bride, yes is at SFX. but i told the church organist abt my concerns abt the steps, she did not say is at ground level... she just said 1 priest will have it at where the centre of alter is while the other priest (the 1 who is soleminising our wedding) will have it at the side of the alter..

Dear Ladies...
Thanks for your advice! Will call my card invite co. to check out the rates for the map.
BTW does anyone have any experiences with both Philip Lye or SFX church organist, Mabel? What are their styles like? Modern? Traditional? Charismatic? Just would like to know more about them...

Just would like to share a good recommendation: I'll be getting the church decor (flower arrangement) done by Christopher Lim from Christanio De Florist 97888327/ 62860085...
very reasonable rates...am getting the pews (alternate) and some standard standing arrangement (by the bride and groom chair); as well as one flower arrangement for the altar...All these below $360.

<font color="119911">hey diamond, he's a very nice man, father ho. He knows who I am
Maybe they changed the sequence but maybe you can get them to put the table at the bottom?</font>