Catholic Brides

Yea agree. I am gg to talk to the hotel again as my mom is really ill. I guess its v bad timing for all these things to happen.

CG, which is your wedding? ours is dec.

the banquet manager just called me & asked me the name of the cheque payee. she is a very smart lady.. she said her Director asked her to put up a claim to Finance Department & she is getting all the information ready. she did not say if it is approved or not approved. just in case, finance rejects the claim!

anyhow, i think u need to furnish some documents for you to win this case. E.g., receipts on how expensive medical cost per week/mth.. am even ready to ask the doctor to write a memo for me explaining to the hotel the health of my FMIL * how sick she is if the medical receipts are not enough to proof my case.

i told the banquet manager frankly that i need the deposit money badly as the medical expense is alot and i dont even know how long more she can take the toil of all these treatments. i told her, wat is the most impt now is to pray that she is well to attend our wedding & not on spending time for an elaborated wedding

hi diamond,

normal rules: the nearer the wedding date is, the less refund u can get....if its something like 1 to 3 mths before that, then totally no refund...

thanks Nikko!

Ah Jo, i have gotton my mass booklet ready.. printing it this sat or next.. priest seen it already. Do you need it for reference?

Hi Everyone!

Just wondering if anyone has any catholic wedding mass programmes that they can share with me? I'm now in the midst of selecting the hymns and the readings...getting abit stressed!!! thanks!

You can email me at [email protected]

Your help will be very much appreciated!!

Hi Minssy,

Would you happen to know of any professional MC & DJ who would entertain during wedding dinners ?

Any personal recommendations from others on this thread is appreciated too...

Thanks in advance,

hi simon,

hubby's frd works for an events company... sure got plenty of contacts... i call you tomorrow to see what you are looking for is what he can provide

Hi Minssy,

Cool... a wedding couple of mine is looking for one for Jan '07. Budget around $1~2k. I'd need a 2 man show, a DJ for spinning the music & the MC for the basic march-in intros plus a game or two on stage with guests.

Great if E could forward me a contact or 2 via email, I'll pass it on directly for their consideration...

Thanks & appreciate,

hey minssy,

Was thinking of asking frens to be MCs, but thought that getting a professional MC may be better... wondering if you are aware of the prices for such services?

Hi Ahjo, sent!

Hi Imelda, for hymns, do contact your church choir, they will provide you with a list of recommended hymns which they are familiar with. including those hymns will make things easier for them (unless you have special requests for specific songs). My church choir sent me recommended list of songs and the lyrics as well..

Hi Roidana!

THe problem is that my church does not provide a choir so I will most likely be getting an organist...so I thought it'd be good if I have a list of songs on hand then I can discuss with the organist that I will be getting....

will it be possible for you to send me a copy of the list your church choir provided you with? TIme is running out for me :S My wedding is in December!!! Gosh! I need all the help I can get!!

Thank you soooooo much!!

hi All,
me holding a catholic church wedding on 18 Nov 06, but i still have no idea of the hymns selection for the ceremony. Does anyone of you here has a sample copy which i can briefly follow??

email me at [email protected]

Hi celeste,

Haven't heard from you in a while...
How's things?

Hymns ah...listen to hymns during Sunday mass and choose from there...or take the hymnal and choose from there...hehs.

hi simon & roidana,

sorry to keep u all waiting..

hubby's frd works for this company called 'Ace Events Specialist'. U can contact Rudy at 9763 2103. try to call at night if possible..

DJ + MC = got package.. $1k - $2k can be done...
MC alone is at least $800....

minssy, my ROM is on 9 dec & soleminisation is at the church. actually, there is no hurry to e-file right? as long as it is at least 3 weeks before actual date can already right?

hi diamond,

its 3 mths... for catholic soleminisations, its technically ok to do it slightly later since u need not vie the dates with other pple.... but such things, if you can do earlier than do lor.. dun have to delay.

minssy, u mean must do 3 mths e-filing for catholic soleminisations? where is it that said so?

our wedding is on 9 dec. now is already 11 dec. is already <3mths.

i am not filing it yet as i am not sure who will be the witness on my FH's side. The mum is not well.. am not sure if she can do it nearer that date... if can, the best...

minnsy, i just called ROM. they also tell me, at least 3 weeks and up to 3 months before the AD. i think the priest also told me that when i asked him for his license no &amp; full name the other time... he said he wont see us until maybe next mth.

hi diamond,

tsk... in general, pple can e file 3 mths in advance.. if you prefer, u may go ahead and do it 3 weeks in advance... as for the witness, it can be a sibling too, if the mum is still not fit..

minssy, yes i know can efile 3 mths in advance. just wanted to clarify mah.. coz u said "its 3 mths... for catholic soleminisations" . nearly freaked me out when i read that.

anyway, i called the priest during the day, he told me just file 1 mth in advance is good enough. he is so cute, he said, want to file <3 weeks in advance also can, just pay a few hundreds more! hahahaha

well, yes, anyone can be a witness. such as a sibing. but then, if the parents are around, the best witness will still be either of the parents.

just to share with u..
my good friend got married in church in june. she walked down the aisle alone... after the flower girls, page boys and the bridesmaid. i was wondering why then.. is only after the ceremony than i found out. the reason is b'coz the dad was ill &amp; weak such that he had to sit on a wheel chair.

yes, my friend could have ask an uncle to walk her down the aisle. but then, she did not. the main reason is b'coz her dad is still around. as a form of respect for her dad &amp; to care for his feelings, she chose to walk down the aisle alone. her witness was also her dad, and not the mum who is fit. same reason, man is always viewed as the head of household. it does not look good if she had gotten the mum to be the witness &amp; the dad may be upset.

so at times, we know what is the best but then, we have to take a step back &amp; think abt the feelings of our loved ones around us. so in my case, as long as my FH's mum is strong enough to attend the wedding church, she will be the witness, even if she needs the assistance of the wheelchair (which she needs now as she is very weak &amp; fragile)

hi diamond,
Minssy said "its 3 mths... for catholic soleminisations, its technically ok to do it slightly later since u need not vie the dates with other pple"...gotta read the full thing you know. But well, that's how it is with email / forum postings. Sometimes the tone gets misunderstood etc...

Who's the best witness is up to the couple. I have friends who had their aunties/uncles to be the witness. Some had their Catholic godparents as witness. Maybe they felt closer to them, or for some other reason unknown to us. No hard and fast rule.

Sure, we have to take a step back and think about the feelings of those around us. But instead of 2nd guessing them, best is to ask them what they think.

I think there can still be changes to the witness even after you've e-filed. Probably just have to write in with the reason for the change (c'mon, some pple do get important postings overseas and are unable to attend weddings, right?) and pay some admin fee, that's all. But again, best is to double check with the appropriate authority. We can only offer our opinions and what we've seen our friends do.

Hi, I'm new to this thread. Would need your kind advise and help as I'm really lost. My wedding is in Jun 07.
1. Where do I start fm here to prep for the church wedding
2. Anyone had their wedding at Sacred Heart before or pix to share of the decor?
3. Must my wedding gown be white? I'd picked out this champagne colored gown which is simply divine...
4. I need a sample of a mass book as well.
Thanks much.
Ling

Hi Ganoop,

(1) Book the church...
(2) My cousin and my FBIL had their wedding there. I think there's no need for much deco as Fr. Tay has deco-ed place so bright and colourful...
Probably some flowers for the pews...and couple chairs.
(3) Hmm, champagne coloured? Is that more gold or do you mean off-white/cream colour? Best is to check with the priest lah...though I've seem cream coloured ones before...

Hi CSI, have already done #1.
Was hoping to get some more ideas for the decor bit.As for my gown... erm... it's not evn off-white. It's a slight tinge of "copperish, goldish" colour. Btw, do you have your mass booklet to share? Thanks.

Hi Ganoop,

Decor bit...hmmm...Sacred Heart quite colourful worh...maybe the front of the altar (the low marble "fence" looking thing on both sides, the short steps to the altar in between [now...what is that called?]) can be decorated with flowers.

My AD PG showed me some photos he took for a couple there...and I remember that's what they did. White and red roses. I think the flower colour gotta be clean and simple, coz the whole chruch (esp altar) is colourful enough...

Leave your email pls...(oh, think I still owe AhJo77 and somone else 1 more mass booklet...hmmm)

hi miaka05,

I think so...while it may still be called a MASS booklet, the contents are for a SERVICE. hehs...
Otherwise, what are your guests going to follow? They'll have nothing to read/follow from? My mass booklets are full mass...sorry, I dun have the service ones...(I think)

Hi Diamond

if u efile now at ROM, its abt 20+. If you have to make subsequent changes, you simply can log in and make the changes. The admin fee per change is estimated 15 SGD.After you efile, you can solemnise yr marriage after 3 wks from date of filing. However you have to get married within 3 months from date of filing else the application will lapse naturally.

Go to ROm website for more details https://app.rom.gov.sg/internet/efile/change_solemnisation.asp