Catholic Brides

hi diamond,

some pple go to homes to be better taken care of.. guess its the mentality & communication ba....

well i guess you all cant get the sis to shift back in also rite? its give and take... so i am not sure who is gonna give in..

Ladies! I have finally completed my booklet. I mean Draft booklet. and shown the priest yesterday. But... the formatting have to change alot. hmmm. Sobz. My invites not ready yet. oh no.. hw hw hw

Hey Mish, wat u mean formatting got to change alot? As in the layout or which one comes first or wat? When's ur big day? Normally invites send out about 1 mths ahead? After all, normally ppl call/sms their friends to ask if their coming first. Hee hee....Better still if they say they no need invite! Hahaha...sorry...very crappy.

Hey Andrea,

Our booklets fonts and font size and headings.. all not done properly. Coz my bf was trying to copy and paste some of the readings.. then all the font types different. So he just change all to one font. Now its all over the place!! *faints*

My big day is 14 Oct!!!!! So near.. i havent print invites.. Oh noooooo.. we ask relatives already. But need to send to friends and all. jialat la. stress

Hi Mish, hee hee.

Pooorrr u!! But at least the readings are ok lah =)
Hang in there yeah? Still got time =) At least it's not like u forgot to book the church/priest/hotel right? =P

Hey Mish,
usually the priest would want a BIG format...so they can see/read easily. Maybe can give priest the BIG big one, and do a different one for ur guests? But gotta check with priest lah...

Diamond: sorry to hear about your FIL. Stay strong. u need to be the pillar of strength for your hubby now.

Yes, agree with minssy, the hotel is really nice to give you the full refund. saves you a lot of headaches...

sry, been missing for a while. busy with work. will catch up with all soon.

CSI,

Oh... No wonder my priest ask whether we gonna use bigger font. coz he says out font very small. hehehehe.

Andrea, Yaya. I booked the things liao.. but haven't send invites!

Mish, haha...see not so bad wat =P Anyway, invites they normally have the design already right? Have you chosen a printer and stuff already?

adel, I also want SFX map =P (Lazy to draw hee hee)

minssy, i am very tired & sianz now.. my FH just told me his mum had a talk with him and asked him if can bring forward the wedding date 9 dec to within 100 days of the funeral (ie, by 27 Nov)... a few days is already sept & the my PS is in mid sept, how am i going to get my pic out in time? also, how am i going to get an auspicious date in Nov & somemore a Sat also.. the church must be available too!

it was so difficult to book the date 9 dec.. & it took so much effort & time.. i really am very tired & dread doing it all over again!

i really dunno wats wrong with my FMIL now.. my FSIL & FH all said the mum is not supersitious as she is a catholic.. then how this!!?!?

hi diamond,

my frd did everything in 1 mth. trust me it can be done... unless your BS screws up your photos and unless you are very picky in your selection.... else it will be fine...

as for the superstitious part, as i had mentioned before abt the 100 days thing, its more of a chinese custom than a catholic one...

in your case, see if negotiation can be done.. i understand your frustrations can be heavy but see if you can talk her out of it first..

minssy, my FH will handle the mother. i told him yesterday that i cannot find a good Saturday in Nov which does not clashes with the zoodiac animal of my dad (who will walk me down the asle) and my sis (who is my bridesmaid).

i told him, if he wans to bring it forward to oct, he will do everything... which we have not started doing.. am not going to go find a good sat in oct, check if the church is available, speak to the BS, arrange for both sides of the parents to meet after 49days of the funeral, look for florist, caterer, church invite, etc etc.

i told him am very tired of doing these days all over again & i hv to work.. i thought i have settled the hotel thingie and now this thing.. i told him, if he wants to bring it forward to sept also no problem.. BUT he has to do all the necessary preparation..

he said he will handle his mum... & we still stick with 9 dec

Diamond... Dont worry okie?

It will be fine. My wedding is in Oct as well. We have not gotten the florist, print the invites (Church and banquet), do the booklet, caterer.

I am sure the photoshoot's photos can be out in time. Dont worry. If really have to bring to Nov or Worse - Oct. You can still make it in time.

You can count on us to provide all the information that you need. EG: prices for caterer, florist, etc etc. Just tell us. I can go and find out a few for u.

Hi ladies, can I just ask if the witnesses to our marriage need to stand close to the couple when during the rites of marriage? or are they required to come forward only for the signing of the marriage register?

hi roidana,

the priest will prompt them to stand next to the the bride & groom during the marriage rites.. no worries
. then when its time to sign the register, the priest will prompt too...

hi diamond,

ops.. missed your earlier message. yah the best is that he handle his mum's side lah.... a church wedding is fine also.. less dinner headache..

hi missy,

so sorry to disturb you again but i've misplaced philip lye's number again!! argh!!

and i got to call him to meet up for the songs i have choosen for my church mass..

another 2 1/2 months to go.. getting nervous over everything that i have not done.. haiz..

many many many thanks..

hi missy,

so sorry to disturb you again but i've misplaced philip lye's number again!! argh!!

and i got to call him to meet up for the songs i have choosen for my church mass.. could u kindly dig out his number for me again?

another 2 1/2 months to go.. getting nervous over everything that i have not done.. haiz..

many many many thanks..

hi roidana,

haha!! cool! normally once they vet and if there are any changes, 1 more vetting is fine then u can print already

hi petrina,

hahhah! its 6566 1683 or 9816 9128

hi diamond,

nah i dun.. me not traditional type one wor

Havent been around cos I have been v busy.

My wedding is in Nov.. and I am looking for a place to get wedding invites? Any recomendations? I thought of going to tecman at Bras basah and not sure if anyone here has printed invites there.

Diamond,
I am really sorry to hear about your FFIL's passing. Take it easy and keep cool. Yes I agree its going to be a real hassle to "re-do" everything again.Hopefully you dotn have to change the dates.

Take care, C

Hi CG,
Just to share, I'm considering iSuccess and Lil'Art...
If I'm not wrong, I think Lilian of Lil'Art is Catholic...(I didn't ask her, but I saw the crucifix she was wearing)

hi petrina,

welcome.. no worries abt the songs if you have no clue cos philip will be able to assist u in that area..

diamond, sorry to hear about all that you are going thru... no problem, will send you the map when im done with it, will take some time though cos im not an artist and DIYing will def. take some time.

all the best.

CSI, I have a friend who went with LilArt and she was very happy with theit services

petrina, you will enjoy your talk with philip and his wife.. they are very experienced with wedding masses and provided loads of help to us..

hey y'all, got interesting qn to ask.

Tea ceremony right?
Can jing cha before ROM or must be at least after ROM? Coz my FH and I very confused. We doing the ROM at the church and he's picking me up at my hse. So dunno if can have the tea ceremoby before church after he picks me up or wat.

hi andrea,

it doesnt really matter.. technically it makes more sense to:

1) pick u up (gate crashing)
2) church
3) tea ceremony and his place then your place

however, it really depends alot on your own time & planning..

anyway for your case, you gonna do church solemisation and THEN he pick u up? abit weird leh..

Minssy: Heh heh heh....We tot of the gate crashing first then tea ceremony at my place (for my mom) and then church, then go to his place (luckily he stays near church) and then tea ceremony for his side there. The prob is we might be having a lunch reception so need to see if the timing can or not. Else we might have a lil prob and might be a lil tight.

Just paid deposit for church yest. Feels very surreal...like "wow...I'm actually getting married! =P (heh heh..sorry...kinda silly right? =P)

hi andrea,

oh then i think its fine.. i did gate crashing first, then tea ceremony at my place (small affair), then to his place for tea ceremony, then church, then lunch reception.. its a little tight but ok....

else, have his tea ceremony after the lunch reception...

btw, its nice to have a lunch reception if you are gonna have a noon wedding mass/service, whether its gonna be at 11am or 12pm..

yes its very surreal.. wait till the AD you will feel like a superstar!

Hi minssy

haha...i think so too, esp with everyone ooh-ing and ahh-ing at your gown. But right now, I'm already gettign tired of bridal gown shopping. HAHA...never tot it would happen. =P

HI ladies

I would like to check if there is any florist contact here for church deco ?
I would be having my church wedding in St Anne in end Oct.
Is there any St Anne brides that can share their church deco pics?

Thanks a lot

Hi AhJo,

I had my holy matrimony at St Anne in this year April. I engaged their in-house florist service. Quite satisfied with the deco in fact. But they are not professional, think is a group of helpers helped out in the church deco every week.
402818.jpg

Hi AhJo! I am going to have my wedding on 4 nov at St Annes too!!!!! Finally found someone holding it in St Annes!

Hi Nikko, I have spoken to Cecilia, the church florist... thanks for the Pic, relaly cleared my doubts! I spoke with her too... but seems that she only decorates the 1st X number of pews, therefter, no decorations for the rest of the pews. That's the only thing that is holding me back. in fact, now sourcing for external florist / decorations for the pews only.

And they do not allow fresh flowers on the pews? only artificial ones.. so i only have to make do with ribbons or balloons....BTW Nikko, i see nice drapes beside the crucifix, they do that as part of the deco as well?

Hi roidana,

Cecilia only decorated the first ten rows of the pews and only artificial flowers are allowed, think can only use ribbon to tie, no pins too. Drapes and the the fresh flowers at the altar are all provided by Cecilia too.

As for the pews, I only had around 120 guests, thus I am alright with they actually put up the 20 pews flowers. And I find the church itself already quite well-decorated, you can ask your photographer to capture the pictures with the decorated parts, thats what my photographer had done. He somehow played with the angle and photos turned out like the church is extensively well-deco.

Hi Nikko and Roidana

I am very glad and Happy that i finally found someone who actually celebrating or had celebrate their wedding @ St Anne.

Btw Nikko , can i check how much u pay( in the form of)donation u give for the Church Deco and is there other pics to show us on the Deco Side?

Can I have the contact of Cecelia as I would like to collate and discuss with her on the Deco too =)

Lastly, would like to check if u gals have the tea ceremony in the church premise?? which part of it u have the tea ceremony

Thanks a lot and sorry for my many questions =)

Ahjo77

Hi Nikko, thanks for all the info!. And that picture, sure clears my doubts! will have to call her very soon haha...

Ahjo, Cecilia's the church florist, u can also get her number from the church office.
Nevertheless, have emailed you her number. great to finally "meet" someone getting married in St Anne's.
The church office has suggested a contribution of $100 for deco. This is really affordable for all the work done. Planning to give more in terms of angpao on the actual day .. hee...

HI Roidana

Thanks for sending The contacts to me =)

ya ..seems that the deco is quite good thus 100 is worth n yes would give them an AP to show our appreciation =)

Btw are u done with ur mass booklet ?? mi only start to do niah ..keke

Hi AhJo & Roidana,

I had paid in total $850 to the church for my ceremony at St Anne. The breakout is as followed:

1.$200 for use of church
2.$250 for use of church canteen for reception, I had my tea reception at the church canteen located at the basement near the pond
3.$100 for church deco
4.$100 for church choir, you can get the contact from office, as I had lost both the florist and choir in-charge no.

5.$200 for deposit. But I have donated back to church, thus didn't take it back.

Well, the church office suggested this amount in the information sheet given. It is just a guideline, you can give any comfortable amount if you wish to.

403324.jpg
403325.jpg
403326.jpg

minssy, i just realised that my FMIL's medical cost per month is $5-6k!! And this excludes other incidental cost such as blood transfusion if she needs it....

hi diamond,

thats very xiong but i guess its no choice thing... guess you must be prepared for partial responsibility eventually when you are married..

minssy, am super moody now. the banquet manager of HIPV just called me earlier & told me the GM said cannot refund me the deposit...

she will try to appeal the case for me again

i super sianzz..

hi diamond,

actually technically all hotels have rules that they cant refund all.. esp when nearer to date.. u show them the death cert and see what they can do for you...

minssy, i already showed the death cert. i hv just prepared a listing of receipts of my FMIL's medical cost per week. I need to show them that my FMIL is really very ill & her medical cost is very high... thus, we need them to refund us the deposit.

any idea, what are the normal rules of most hotels?

Hi Diamond,
I dont think it is easy to get a refund but nevertheless you should try.
I have a similar situation as my mom is terminally sick as well. Medical bills can be 5-6K each week.. so you do the math.
My hubby and I are thinking of cancelling our small wedding dinner( 3 tables) at the hotel as we are not really in the mood to celebrate so much.

The hotel firmly refused to refund our deposit and will even levy cancellation charges for loss of business. Rationale is that the cancellation is due to internal family business , not something related directly to the couple..

I hope you can get your refund. We decided to just carry on and make the event really simple as dotn want to waste it.

CG, our case is differently leh. FFIL passed away, now FMIL is very ill. how to celebrate? is not we wanted to wat.. they hv to be more symathic