Catholic Brides

Diamond, my family and my FH's family also ALL catholic! Hahaha..but mommy still say must pick up. *Shrugs* now trying to "tone down" my jie meis before they get too excited about sabo-ing him

andrea: i think it is fine either way... if he go fetch u, it is more towards the traditional way...

diamond: my mum said her time, she meet dad in church, so she didnt know about the traditional thingy. hee, better this way, i just 'follow' her instructions. :P act blur act blur.

CSI: wow, u very good leh.. can find the lyrics. wonder if we can find a soft copy of the songs. hee.

Hi Tea,

Hehs....no lah...just that I'm in the research dept (finance sector)...and searching the internet for global industry news is part of the job. So I guess after a while, somehow you'll just know which key words to enter to search. heehee...

Hi Garcia,
Oh no, no...not United Square (Oops, remembered the name wrongly)...it's opposite this circular building...Wellsprings is on the ground floor just behind what used to be Shell petrol station.

http://www.wellsprings.com.sg

Oops....I just found out that Wellsprings has moved...Garcia, hope you read this early enough...

Wellsprings is now located at 239 Lavender Street, tel: 62523390. Just checked this out from Yellow Pages. (this is an indication how long ago I've visited Wellsprings...hehs).

Hi CSI Fan,

Thanks so much for the update! Luckily, I have yet to head down to Wellsprings. Will probably try to check it out sometime this week!

Still tryin to locate the Tom Springfield version on the net.
If anyone has this mp3, please help by sending it to me at [email protected]

Thanks so much!

My wedding's in 2.5mth time and i havent started on any church preps other than doing my pre-nup and booking of venue! *stressed*

I was wondering if you ladies know of any caterers that do all of the the following:
1) Tea/lunch reception
2) Recept and bridal tables with floral deco
3) Pew Decorations (using artificial flowers)
I need a one stop solution but seems that i still cant find one that does all!
Any suggestions? *frantic*

hi roidana,

they are usually independent contacts... as far as i know... caterers only does simple floral deco (buffet tables, maybe lunch tables and recept table).

how abt using my contacts that i used for the wedding? my florist and do (2) and (3).

Hi Minssy,

Good to see you here... I was hoping that all 3 could be done with 1 contact.. save the hassle of me trying to arrange with Both of them... Kriston is the closest i found so far, but it's pretty expensive..
Have got some challenges also, coz my church only allows artificial flowers at the pews.

Is your floral contact named Susan? Think I have got her number from your previous postings. (when i was still hoping to hold my wedding in Holy Trin)..

hi roidana,

yeah still around

yeah.. u got call susan anot? i am sure she can assist with your requests.... i had fake flowers for my recep table also :p

whats your budget?

CJS also have some simple flowers and helped me with the table skirting for the recep table.. then susan did the flowers.. she is very experienced so i worry nothing actually.. hahahhah

minssy, my FFIL just passed away in his sleep on Sunday morning.. it was so sudden. he was healthy & well... the one who is sick is the mum.. now, everyone so lost.. his mum dependent alot on the father on all daily needs. she has to go hospital every other week if not weekly.. & the father will bring her there & wait hrs for her. now... she is like without her pillar of support suddenly..

our wedding on 9 dec (dinner on 11 dec) also dunno how.. sigh...

hi diamond,

i'm sorry to hear that....

your FH side are all catholics rite? they may or may not do the chinese way, depending on how particular they are, that is, holding a wedding within 3 mths after the death of the elderly person...

from what i see, you guys may be asked to hold the wedding BY 20 November... but since 9 Dec aint too far away from the 3 mths time frame, the wedding could still be as planned. there are no rules, only rules from the elderly pple... so it really depends on pantang they are...

either that or, the wedding will be held 3 years later....

guess it all depends on your FMIL already.. on how comfortable she is..

minssy, yes my FH side are all catholics. i hv not spoken to my FMIL on this.. but i did speak to my mum, she said skip the dinner then. just have the church wedding.

if i cancel the dinner within 90days from the date of dinner, according to the hotel contact, i hv to pay a 50% of the total cost. so, i hv up to 13 Sept 2006 to cancel the dinner without having to pay for the extra 50%.

guess, will have to discuss with my FMIL when the funeral is over

Mish
Yup, i go to SFX and they dont have projectors but yeah the stained glass is very pretty... so looks like you need to have mass booklets. How was your meetup with your priest? Did he provide you with any samples? I will start on mine this week..

Diamond, sorry to hear that. I think your FH side might choose to continue with the wedding since arrangements have been planned and they are catholics( so i presume they are not pantang), but anyhow think better to have a talk with your FMIL to see how she feels...
Hope everything turns out well for ya ..

Adel,

Meeting with priest was good. He sent us the main booklet which has all the readings that we can picked from. You will be starting yours this week? Thats good. I will be meeting him next Monday again to show him our draft booklet.

CSI,

You got your shoes already? I went to shop for flowers and wine over the weekend. Went to green point and a florist at parkway parade. The parkway parade florist prices are kinda steep. But the flowers are quite nice. Hmm. So see how la. My budget max is still 500. Haha. Cheapo me!

Hopefully the wedding invites can be ready this week. Sigh. hope hope hope..

Anyone getting the candles for the church wedding. Apparently it is very very very optional. Hmm.

Diamond,

My condolences. My Grandma passed away at about the time that my brother was suppose to get married as well. Hmm I think we had to hold the wedding banquet within the 100days. Hope all goes well for the 2 of you.

Hi diamond,
Sorry to hear about that. My condolences. Important thing is to talk to your FMIL, though it's probably not a good time. It takes a while to get over such a loss...Does your FH have any siblings? Perhaps can sound them out first, and then slowly approach your FMIL...Hope everything goes smoothly.

Hey Mish,
I saw a few shoes...so now thinking of which one to get.
But I managed to complete my ring pillow over the weekend...heehee.
Aiyah, 500 where got cheapo? My budget also 500...Need another florist contact? I'm considering this 2 ladies...Just let me know!

Where are you getting your invites done at? Unity candles? Yap, optional, but I'll still be getting them. I think they're meaningful...

hi diamond,

yah lor.. when the funeral is over then say.. dun think you can discuss with FH abt this matter yet..think you can work out the possibilites on your own and then decide from there after the funeral...

hi Mish,

whether to get the candles or not depends on your priest.. its not a compulsory part of the catholic wedding mass.. if your priest gives the green light, then you can check out the candles at the catholic bookshop next to holy family....

Minssy,

Yeah. My hubby wants the candle. We went to the bookshope(the one beside Holy family)on Sunday. But it is closed. Sigh. Wonder wat is their opening hours.

My priest says that its okie. Although he dont think that its really necessary la. Hehe.

Hmm ya ya. I think i better give them a call to check on it,

All

I would like to know how we can DIY to print the mass Booklet or where can i print the mass booklet n the cost for it .
I am having my wedding mass @ St Anne in end oct

Thanks for the info

I have a question to ask ya. I will be printing my cards with the church and wedding dinner invitation together. I want to insert a map on the location of the church (SFX) together with the card, but if im not mistaken , seems like cannot download from internet right (some copy right issue)? So this means have to draw yourself??

hi adel,

yeap

unless the printer has the map already from previous pple then its of no issue... when you call printer, asked if they have....

Hi Minssy,

Haven called yet..Havent think of budget.. (see.. so backward in my preperation) I took leave tomorrow and friday, Just to do my mass booklet and call the florists for quotes.. *blush*... and guess wad? My church choir took the initiative to contact me for my email and sent me a list of recommended hymns and some pointers for my wedding mass.. so sweet of them... *blush blush*
Good to hear that Susan gives us a choice to use artificial flowers. Ok. will call her tomorrow.

Oh BTW, i visited Eunice last sat... really the cheapest quote around for mass booklets and yes, she is really experienced! Most prob printing mass booklets with them. Still considering where to print my church invites... (either with Eunice or Tdragon)

Hi Diamond, My deepest condelence...

Adel, I went to Tdragon for quotes. They tol me that they can draw the map for me for $40. I am also not sure on how to obtain the map other wise.. anyone with better suggestions?

hi roidana,

your AD is on 4th Nov rite? ok lah.. still have time... but of cos its better to settle early... i always think such stuff its better to settle early cos towards the AD, there are really lotsa nitty gritty stuff to be done.... jia you ah

Hi roidana,

erm, who's this Eunice? (Sorry ah, it must have been posted in the earlier posts, but I forgot liao...hehs...) I'm still looking ard to print my mass booklets...

As for the map, I DIY. hahaha...the roads are all straight roads. no curves or bends. Even if in reality, the road is a huge bend, I draw it straight, with the road name and key landmarks near it...I'm not sure how the printers would do it, but I look at some of my friends' cards, those winding roads became straight roads on the map...and map is done by printer. So I thought I might as well DIY the map. hehs...perhaps you check with the printer, I mean, if it's going to be straight roads type, just use MS Word to draw also can...IMO.

minssy.. will jia you!!!!

Hi CSI,

Eunice is from iSuccess printing (can find them at Sunshine Plaza)

DIY maps? sound interesting.. ok.. added it onto my "to do list" today!

thanks ladies.
Im with t dragon (hotel gets cards from them), wow $40 for maps??!! def. not worth spending, i think i will DIY... i agree with CSI, haha... SFX quite easy to draw also..

did anyone think of inviting your priest to celebrate mass and perform the solomnization at your dinner venue just before dinner?

can save the hassle of going to church first

hi dat,

they cant do that.. if you wanna have a priest to preside the wedding, it have to be in church...

if you wanna save the hassel, do get a JP instead..

Hi dat,

spoke with priest before. If you want a catholic priest to do solomnisation, it has to be within the church compound. Hope this helps

Thx laides!!!! Yeahhhh.. i got lotsa booklets now!! yippie! Gonna do my booklet nw. Am at second reading.

We gonna do a full mass minssy. Oh.. You sent me last nite is it? I was wondering which is the full mass and which is the service one. Hehe. We gonna do the full mass.

Thx ladies! So nice of you all!!!

minssy, i have just spoken to the hotel. the banquet manager is very nice. said will speak to her management & refund in full the deposit we have made.. i did not even have to ask or negogiate....

minssy. not postponed. dinner is cancelled. church wedding remains on 9 dec.

all of us are very tired... not sleep well & getting up very early.. the wake was last sunday to last wed. thurs was the funeral. fri we collected the ashes, sat, we accompanied the mum to hospital for dialysis- at least 4 hrs, she has to go again tomorrow. just 2 sats ago, she had blood transfusion.. the mths ahead is not going to be easy for the immediate family.. she goes to hospital very frequently... n she wakes up every other hr at night to use the potty, she needs to be showered, etc.... all these were done by the father previously, incl housework.. now my FH & the sister know how tough it is for the father previously.. not even mentioning the financial burden on the sister who has been paying

hi diamond,

its lovely of your hotel to do that.. maybe should write them a thank you letter...

will a home be more appropriate for your fmil? not sure if they will take a dialysis patient though.. but its gonna be at least $1500 or so..

minssy, how will the mum feel if we send her to a home? she will feel that she is abandoned! so that is a no-no

her medical cost is $4000 at least a mth now. she takes more than 10 kinds of medicine a day at different timing.. b'coz she is so weak & ill, her organs are not working well.. worst still if she does not rest well & is depressed... that is why she needs dialysis now... we hope her health will improve & the organs have the strength to start functioning properly again...

she is always in pain... for watever reasons... maybe side effects of the the medicine..

the best way to settle her down as suggested by the sis is to have the mum moved in with her.. & there wld be a helper (aka maid) to take care of her while she is at work.. she will personally ensure that she takes her medicine in the morning and at night... on days where she has to go to the hospital, the sis can send her & the helper in the morning before she goes to work.. she will be the caregiver & monitors her condition every day, her medicine stock level to replenish them on time, her appointments to the hospital, ensure her blood pressure is taken every day, etc.

but the problem is, she does not wan to stay with her permanently. she misses the hubby & the home which they have spent so many yrs & time in. if so, how? my FH will not be as detailed & careful as the sister...

such a headache right?