Catholic Brides

Hello Dat
Andrea is right, you can go for both EE and MPC if you wish( and in any order too )
These courses are meant to provide u preparation for your marriage. Some of my friends do that as they wish to get as much pre marital preparation as possible to build a stronger foundation in their marriage.

I went for MPC and Fiancee wanted to do EE as well but unfortunately we had not enough time.

Cheers, C

Mish, for florist, may not want to go to the church florist volunteer. B'coz i think 500 bucks is kind of ex.. unless, i can share the cost with the couple before me.. then 250 per couple is fine... i am thinking of getting the caterer, kriston for our church buffet lunch. B'coz Kriston's food is not bad and also, currently, as long as u use them as a caterer, church floral is only $350. and the deco package for this is good enough for SFX as the church itself is already very pretty.

as for choir, the church youth choir which is an award winning choir, charges a very ex price to just to sing for a short while. so, i have decided to go to the church organist who will get me a good solost from the church choir. she does not charge for her services. rather, we will give her & the soloist angbows. the organist is also a lector of the church, so will get her help on that also. she will also help us with the wedding booklet. she told us, all it needs is 2 hrs to get everything down and we just have to bring along a notebook to her place..

i did not know father vaz will soleminise the wedding at SFX.. he was the priest for our EE in May also... my soleminiser will be Father Ho, the resident priest of SFX.

Mish, u need to contact the canteen guy also if u have booked the canteen...

all the contacts are at SFX's website if not, call the Secretariat & ask for them

Diamond,

I saw the kriston that you mention as well. However, we are not gonna have our reception there. We having it at home. Hmm. Will check them out. 350 sounds gd!

As for the choir. Hmm I better check with my hubby. Maybe can go find the organist as well. I saw the previous post. The chior really very ex leh!!!!

Father Ambross vaz held ur EE? We got his brother, Monsignor Eugene Vaz to solemnise for us. Father Ho looks like a really nice guy! Hee. We spoke to him. Really nice!

Mish, yes, is Father Ambrose Vaz. btw, kriston will not allow u to take its 350 bucks floral arrangement unless you are using them as a caterer. so, pls take note of that.

check with u, will the church normally provide the reception table at the entrance of the church for guests to sign in? am not a catholic, so not sure abt it

diamond,

I am also not a catholic.. so i also dunno. Hehe. Anyway, the wedding i attended had a table outside for us. hmm.

Father Ambross vaz is very gd. I think the EE is also very gd partly becoz of him..

Can I use kriston for buffet at hm and they do the decoration for the church? Hmmm

Hello Ladies

was wondering if you can recomend place to get Unity Candles and wedding guest book.
Any suggestions? Appreciate it

Cheers, C

Mish, yes u can use kriston at home. as long as u use then as the caterer, they will let you use their florist tie-up at $350.

the table of the wedding that you attended could be provided by someone else other than the church! that wld mean $$$

WOudl like to cehck if anyone had the link where we can create the mass booklet

or is there any kind souls out there who can share their readings n mass booklet with mi as i am in a lost of what to choose

Ladies, need some advise on getting married in church. I am a catholic and my hubby is not. We have already ROM and have planned for EE later this year or early next year. Got some questions regarding getting married in church.

1) how long in advance do I need to book the church?
2) do I need to pay (to book the church)to get married in church?
3) How do i go about getting the mass booklet done? I will only have like 20 guest. so do the printer cater to such numbers or I can do without it?

a bit lost on how to go about doing all these.

hi teacup,

I try to help u ans some of ur questions.

1) You can book as early as possible. My wedding is in Oct. We tried to book in Jan and many of the churches that we wanted are full. So its better to be early.

2) Yes, You need to pay to book the church. The amount to pay depends on the church that you are going to. Just call them and they can give u the rates.

3) Not sure about the booklet. For this, i think the other brides will be able to ans it better. I am also looking for information regarding the booklet. Have you considered not making a booklet? If your church has a projector, You might as well just use the projector.

Hope these helps.

Hi teacup, EE is fantastic *grins* just came back from mine...best to book the slot u want early coz it fills up quite fast

1. I'm getting married Dec 07 and I've already booked my church (just haven't paid yet) coz from wat my fren told me, the 1st half is already fully booked! So figured better get it done asap =P

2. U will need to pay to book the church and the canteen (if ur having a reception) Diff churches have diff amts so u can check with the office about the charges.

3. As for mass booklets, i also wanna know =P Hahaha...

Diamond, did u manage to get the map for SFX yet? =P

Wow, missed so many posts!
Just got back in last night from an overseas biz trip...

Hey D.A.T., FH and I attended EE and then MPC a year after...it's ok to attend both...no hard and fast rule...the only hard and fast rule is, you have to attend at least one...

Hey Tea,

1. Best to book early. I booked & paid mine 1 yr in advance (it wasn't too ex, so it was ok to pay first...hehs)...coz there's also this possibility that there may be another wedding on the same day, and usually, whichever bride that pays first will get the say in the colour of flowers etc (if the flower deco is done by the church). Of course can compromise lah, but some pple are the "must have that colour means must have that colour" kind...

2. Yap, need to pay...(think of it as a donation lah...just that the amt has been pre-defined). For some churches (St Mary's of The Angels, I think...), the amt includes floral deco as well.

3. 20 pax? That's pretty easy...just need a good printer, and you can do it yourself.
Need format? erm, I'm still trying to find one that is in "printer ready" format (Microsoft Publisher, I think that's what they call it). For readings, can search the web or just copy from other booklets. But like what Mish says, if your church has a projector, you might want to consider using the projector to flash the mass/wervice prodceedings...

Which parish are you looking at?

hi ladies, thanks for your replies.
cos my mum has been telling me that i don need to pay and i somewhat glance thru the post and told her need to..

Can share with me an estimation or guage on the amount?

My parish church is Holy Cross but I have shifted to bukit merah area and is wondering if I should do it at st theresa...

wow, didnt know church get booked so early... like banquet venue...

Ladies, another question.. do church do wedding on a sunday?

CSI,

Which church are you going to?

St mary's of the angels is sooooooo expensive!!!!! Cannot afford them! The other churches are of nominal sum. Not much really. I think its more for covering the air-con bills and all...

You got ur booklet ready? As in.. you picked your readings and all already?

Diamond,

I think Kriston uses red Petals. The link is in their website. Red petal's church package is $350. Hmm I think can go directly to them..

Hi teacup, diff churches pay diff amounts so a lil hard to estimate.

Church wedding on Sunday is not the full mass coz of "time constraints" i think =)

mish, yeah!! St Mary's is sooooo ex man! *faint* Other churches not really nominal sum lor...some are also quite ex

Andrea,

Is it? SFX very reasonable leh... i think maybe its the most reasonable one. Haha.

Teacup,

I think Sunday can do mass as well but only for some church. If I am not wrong, Holy cross dont do wedding mass on Sunday. Not sure. Better check.

Got time constraint ar.. just like Andrea said.

St Theresa is a really nice church. You better book early. I tried to book the church but its full! Even Holy Cross is full. haha.

For these 2 churches, Holy cross has a projector and St theresa has the LCD TV.. So dont need to use booklet ma.. Just use the projectors!

hey Tea,

My parish is Holy Cross too! but I'll be having mine at St Teresa!
Coz Holy Cross will be undergoing reno, plus St. Teresa is FH's parish...heehee...(and I just love the long aisle there...hehs). St. Teresa is $400 for both Churh and Recept area (lower level). If you take the upper level recep area, I think it's $100 more...Not sure abt that bit. Church alone is $100 (if they haven't changed it since I booked lah...). All this is excluding any floral deco, which u can get ur own florist, if they also haven't changed the rules. hehs...

Yap, churches don't do weddings on Sunday, though it's mainly up to the priest. Best is to check with your celebrant when you book the church.

Hey Mish,

Yap, booklet ready. Just need to clear with priest and find the "printer ready" format (now it's just in MS Word form) to cut and paste and it's ready to go. My AD in Nov lah...it has to be ready soon. hahaha...

hey dreamdoll!

Heehee...u answered in this thread...hehs...Yap, saw it. Thanks! =)

hey Mish, don't panic...u still can make it...

Mish, when is your AD? oct this or next year?

Yeah, think i better start booking.. lazy me...

CSI: when is your wedding?

Tea,

My AD is this Oct ar...

You better hurry book! Full house liaoz!

CSI.. stressful.. Hopefully this weekend can finish? Hmmm if i start on sat... you think sat can finish? hmm

mish, i have been told by Kriston that the floral cost of $350 is a tie-up between the florist with Kriston. not sure if this is true. u verify already then tell me okie?

mish, i checked with Red Petals leow. they even send me pictures. yes, the rate is $350 also if u go directly to them. good news for me to hear. if i plan to share with the couple before us, that is only $175!

Tea,

Book book!!!!! Hehehe. dont worry. Just book! Coz.. gonna be full very soon. I also tot.. church no need to book so early.. But.. i was wrong..

Diamond,

Its really 350... i ask the red petal ppl for package. They gave me the same package and didnt ask me to book together with the catering services.

Hi Tea,
My wedding is this Nov...

No lah, where got ks? Always safer to book early. But also might meet with priests / parish secretary that tell you they don't have the schedule for that time of the year yet...so, it's always good to try and ask them. You'll never know.

Hi Mish,
Stress huh? I almost had a panic attack when I suddenly realised I haven't confirmed my invites deisgn and printer yet! Been looking at a few printers, but haven't decided on one yet...

You intending to start from scratch? No lah...use a softcopy from someone else and just change the names, readings, responsorial psalm and hymns....add your own design if you want, then you sure can finish in a few hours. Think I heard that some printers can do the "designing" too...just need to have the main layout of the text, and they'll know how to convert the format and show u the draft. But I dunno which printers lah, coz I haven't gone to see...hehs.

diamond, thank God for SFX eh? Heh heh heh....but jokes aside, tea now u see what we mean by diff churches have diff amts so very hard to say what the range is

CSI,

Ya... stress liao lo.. talk to u all even more stress.. I haven't gotten the invites inserts yet! Hmmm. And mine is in oct. jialat lo.

Hmm I got one soft copy of the booklet. Hmm maybe can use that one. Later I go and check it out.

hey Mish,

relax, relax...lift it all up to Him. Just do according to your schedule, before you start, say a short prayer...
cannot panic. Once panic, the mind will not be able to focus properly, and everything else gets messed up...it's a vicious cycle...

I am looking to obtain the song "There's a New World Somewhere" in CD or musical score. I have tried searching the net or Life bookstore but to no avail.

Can anyone help or suggest where I can locate the above song?

Thanks for sharing!

Mish/csi: ok. will go check out the 2 churches these 2 weeks.

By the way, you ladies meeting hubby directly at church or he will come pick you gals up before heading to church?

Garcia: does the song starts with the lyrics 'there a new world out there, they call the promise land, and I'll be there someday, if you will hold my hands...'

Hi Tea,

YES!!! You are right with the lyrics! Have you heard of it? Its beautiful to use in a wedding!

Do you have the song or you know where to buy it? I have been looking high n low for it! Please help if you can.

Thanks so much!

You can email me any info at [email protected]

Hi garcia: i am actually looking for the CD as well.. used to have the tape, haha, that was like so many years ago. but the tape got mouldy.

very beautiful song.

I heard it at my EE!! Hahaha...but unfortuantely don't know who sang it.

tea: my FH will be picking me up before going to church. Poor guy has to go thru the jie meis

miaka, SFX.

Tea, meeting him directly in church. our wedding is at 11am. that would mean, i can sleep later & do not have to get up so early!

garcia, search for the song on the net.. amarzon, etc.. if necessay, just buy online.

diamond, so good. U meeting him there. Wanted that also but mommy say must pick me up. Sigh. Now I got to deal with waking up earlier. Nm...shall "snooze" in the car. Hahaha...

hey Garcia,

Have you tried our very own Catholic bookstore....Wellsprings? It's located at Goldhill Square (or something like that. near Novena MRT)...

diamond:
i thou of meeting hubby in church as well. thought it is more romantic walking down the aisle to meet him at the alter. :P my mum seems to be fine either way.

oh, anyway, hehs...I happened to find it...hehs...

here it is:-

I'LL NEVER FIND ANOTHER YOU
(Tom Springfield)
The Seekers

There's a new world somewhere
They call The Promised Land
And I'll be there some day
If you will hold my hand
I still need you there beside me
No matter what I do
For I know I'll never find another you

There is always someone
For each of us they say
And you'll be my someone
For ever and a day
I could search the whole world over
Until my life is through
But I know I'll never find another you

It's a long, long journey
So stay by my side
When I walk through the storm
You'll be my guide, be my guide

If they gave me a fortune
My treasure would be small
I could lose it all tomorrow
And never mind at all
But if I should lose your love, dear
I don't know what I'll do

But if I should lose your love, dear
I don't know what I'll do

Another you, another you

http://lyricsplayground.com/alpha/songs/i/illneverfindanotheryou.shtml

CSI,

I woke up this morning thinking of the wedding list. STRESS!

Oh.. btw.. i wanted to ask..Anyone knows whether SFX got projector or not? Hmm i remember like done have leh...Sigh... i tot that i can dont print booklet. hehe

Tea,

Ours is the traditional one. So need hubby to pick up..

hey Mish,
it's Friday! dun stress....plan to do some things tmrw lorh...For me, I plan to put the finishing touches to my ring pillow tmrw, and shop for shoes...

hey y'all, I dun think SFX got projector coz behind the altar instead of a wall is stained glass (very pretty though =P) so looks like got to do booklet Mish =P

Andrea, initally, i wanted FH to pick me up. B'coz i worried my mum will not allow to let me meet him in church. So, 1 day, i just test water.. said FH's family are all catholic & calthoics will meet their brides in church and that the bride's father has to walk down the asle with the bride & pass his daughter personally to the groom! then she ownself said, u meet him in church loh! *phew*