Catholic Brides

Hi June,
oh i see...yah, u're right. It's a bit difficult...hmmm...maybe do the blessing/service with the singaporean friends lorh. then after that, have a nice makan for all to celebrate. Then whether need to wear bridal gown or not...I dunno...

hi petrina,

pole dancing aint a new trick but well, it will surely bring nice laughters, ONLY if the brothers are on. for my side, my hub's brothers are sooo boring i can die! ask simon! hahahhahha!

his friends did not tekan him that alot alot lah.. quite ok nia. but he gets flushed really easily..

and well, its your big day! just get angry or anything.. just enjoy your fruits of labour :p

Simon
many thanks for the input, see ya later to view your pictures.

Fleur
ok thanks, i feel more relaxed now, but being in this thread is making my wedding preparation so much more exciting with all your feedback and advice, glad i joined you gals

Aiko
I plan to print church booklets as well cos i personally feel its more convenient and easier for the guests though more work on my part but designing the booklet with FH should be fun lah, haha

Minssy
Can i see your pretty pics ? Care to share ? Thanks in advance!

Hi Petrina,

Thanks for updating my info.
My mass time is 10am.

Hi Evie,

I just collected my invites this morning from Focal-Ad. That's one of the only things that i was on schedule for.
A lot more things haven't do yet. I'll be going to spotlight later to shop for material to DIY bridesmaids wristlets and ring pillow and ang pow box.

Now also trying to find a florist. I'm meeting one next sun at my church after morning mass. But quotation is about $400 - $500. Anyone else got any other florist to recommend me? I'm on quite a tight budget. Looking for $300 or so if possible... (i know it's quite difficult)

Lissa

Hi Minssy,

yes you are right. First bride to get married this year and also probably the most last minute one...hehhee

Hi Petrina, also forgot to add. My mass time is 11 am.

Hi Lisa,

At least you have collected your invites! We are still waiting for the 2nd draft to come. Not very happy with the font on 1st draft. I got materials for my bridesmaid wristlets from this shop along North Bridge Road. They sell ribbon, flowers etc etc which are cheaper than spotlight.

For church florist, I got to know this lady who was one of the presenters during my EE weekend and she does flowers part time from her house. She had done quite a few weddings and I thought she is good, so I am engaging her for the church. Her charge is reasonable - it really depends on what kind of flowers you want.

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Time</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Service or Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">MPC or EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Month of MPC or EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Florist</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Evie</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9th March 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of the Sacred Heart</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Apr 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Angeli Catering</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Hooked on Flowers</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Focal Ad</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Lissa</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11th March 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Immaculate Heart of Mary</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Dec 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Focal Ad</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Viv</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25th March 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Mary's of the Angels</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Service</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Lunch at Rasa Sentosa</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's own</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">T Dragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Chummy</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10th June 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Holy Cross</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11.30am</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Lovebug</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">24th June 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christ the King</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10.30am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">MPC</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">May/June 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Luncheon at Raffles Town Club</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's own</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Roidana</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">4th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Anne's</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9am</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Sept 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">adel</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of St Francis Xavier</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10.30am</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">CSI Fan</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">18th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of St Teresa</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">March 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Select Caterer</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Petrina</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Vincent De Paul</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Feb 06</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's Own</font></TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Kyrie</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Francis of Assisi</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">MPC</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Aug 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Blitz</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of the Risen Christ</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">March/April 06</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Laluna</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">26th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Anne's</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Dec 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Joanna</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Last Update on Evie and Lissa

opps! sorry evie.. mistake in ur timing.. will add that in the next updating i do okie?

hi lissa,

think u shouldn't go to spotlight.. heard that arab street is cheaper.. spotlight is chop head one.. very ex!!

hahahah.. missy.. his brothers very boring ah?? i dun think it'll happen to me.. they already say want to bring lock cutter and ladder liao.. they say they come and snatch the bride ah.. not to play games one.. hehe.. i'm really looking forward to my AD!!! 10 more months!!

Hi June,

I guess some of the gal oready answer ur question here

Anyway,

To answer ur question:

1 Church wedding definitely more troublesome than ROM but I think it is more meaningful. If u will need to get a priest belssing also, as well u do Church wedding. Coz some priest can solemnize the marriage n u dun need to register at ROM.

How much effort is really up to u. If u only have 30 ppl mayb u can forgo flowers (Just use the church flower) n the caterer (U can bring ur guest to some hotel or restaurant for lunch or Hi tea). Tha's safe u lots of headcahe. So basically u only need to book the church, talk to the priest n attend ur weedding :D

2. Well in my opinion there is no hard rule u hafta wear elaborate bridal gown. U can purchase one simple long white gown. it is ok. The priest wont turn u down just becoz ur gown is not good enuf.. but ofcourse dun wear too sexy lah

3. I believe CSI has mention the price. I think it is around that price. I have not pay..so not sure,,

Haha sorry June..need to catcht my train to Malaysia. Just leave me a message if u have any further question ok..

hi lissa,

mine is at $300 ah.. but i hope your church is not that huge lor.. cos mine is $300 for chapel and i think the amt of flowers is just nice

and well, plan your stuff nicely and do whatever you can and dun leave stuff to last min and i am sure you will be fine

hi petrina,

they are not that sporting lor

oh your gatecrashing surely sounds nice already

missy,

haha.. well.. the boys say only.. but dunno whether will have action or not.. now my problem is getting sisters.. i dun have enough..

gals,

can i find out from u all what colour themes u all will be using for ur church deco and flowers? i still can't decide..

Hi Minssy,

What flowers did you use? Can recommend your florist to me?

The one i'm meeting next Sun roughly quoted $400 - $500. For $400 only can choose roses, orchids or gerberas. If i want lilies (which is my first choice) then it'll be $500 or even higher!

Hi Evie &amp; Petrina,

Thanks for your advice about spotlight. But i only have 3 bridesmaids so dun need to buy too much material. I went to spotlight just now. Bought 2m of nice ribbons and 6 fabric gold roses to make 3 wristlets for my bridesmaids. Total cost about $5 plus. Quite ok lah. I dun think i'll have time to go and walk Arab St or North Bridge Rd lah. But i couldn't find any material for my ang pow box / ring pillow.

Anyone else DIYed ring pillow? Where do you find a pillow so small? Or you actually make the pillow from scratch? I'm at a lost as to how to do that! Need help pls...

Lissa

Hi Adel,

Glad to be of help.
Have you bought a place yet? If you haven't, pray and seek guidance to make the right choice. It certainly helps us a lot in getting the right place we want, at the right prize.
Oh yes, lots of decision to be made, so it will be natural for the couple to argue too. Just be prepared and seek the Lord's grace. If you have any questions about housing, give me a shout....

Hi Petrina,
Totally agree with you about Arab Street. I walked there once and was totally memerised by the selection of fabrics there. One of the shop-owners told me that people do go there to even buy fabric for their wedding gowns... Too bad that at the point of time I had already MTM my gown. Hey, maybe some of you gals might like to consider doing just that too.

As for colour themes, I guess white/ pink, white/ lavender were some that were discussed earlier.

i Minssy,
I like that cool hotel room in HK (similar to ours in Mauritius, except that has windows instead of curtains) and also your little posting on your thoughts for new year. Haha!

Hi Lissa,
My friend's mom DIY the pillow from scratch... As for the materials for the ring pillow, I had added on to my purchased ring pillow,using flowers from Spotlight at the handicraft section. Thus Spotlight should have them. My bridemaid and MIL also DIY the flowers girls' headpieces with material from Spotlight.

hi petrina,

a.... not enough ah? u need at least 4 leh... cos you need at least 2 to help out in the church...

mine color scheme is pink &amp; champagne if you realise :p

hi lissa,

u can call susan at 9699 0104. i told her my budget is $300 and i am cool with roses. lilies shd be slightly more ex.. its something like if you still want at $300, of cos there may not be as many lilies.. let her know lah.. she can accomodate

hi lissa,

go buy lah.. can get at $30.. save the hassel..

hi fleur,

yeah i love that too! hee.. hey u got pictures to share with me btw? hee...

Hi Minssy,

Haha... Susan is from Font Creative right? She's the person i'm meeting next Sun! Must have gotten the recommendation from you before.

Anyway over the phone she told me minimum $400 leh. Oh well... i'll meet up with her next sun and have a discussion lah. Thanks!

As for the ring pillow... think i'll just buy. Really too much hassle to DIY lah. But i just did up my bridesmaids wristlets and i'm so happy with them. Think it's the best art &amp; craft i've done in my life! Haha... That kinda tells you just how artistic i am (or not!)!
Anyway it's sorta motivated me a little to DIY my flowergirls baskets and ang pow box too.

Lissa

hi lissa,

oh yes yes! hee...

a.. maybe you have a bigger church and that needs more flowers? for me, holy trinity chapel is relatively smaller so probably it costs lesser.. but if she quotes $400 min, maybe other florists will have to quote more? anyway, it really depends on what u want.. maybe if you dowan the flower stands or lesser stuff, she could do it for a lower price?

yes buy the ring pillow lah.. honestly, i am glad i did not DIY cos i only used for that 1 hr and now its part of the deco on my shelf :p

wanna show us a pix of your wristlets?

hi fleur,

i haven't been to arab street before.. but heard about it from another bride.. i'll be going there after CNY to get my stuff for angpow box, flower gals baskets and ring pillow if possible.. i'm gonna do lots of DIYing with my mum.. hehe... both of us like to do art and craft.. hopefully i'll turn out well.. must pray hard!

the colour theme wise.. was thinking of lavender at first.. but then i realised that my church walls are white and the pews are light brown.. not dark.. if thats the case.. i think it would be better with dark colours.. my co-ordinator went with me to church to take a look and we came to a conclusion to have silver, white and royal blue..

however.. upon thinking about it day after day.. think i wanna add pink or red to the deco.. there's still a girly spark in me i guess.. hence the dilema..

hi evie,

peach sounds really cheery.. but i can't use light colours.. it'll look like the pews..

hi missy,

yupz.. i saw ur photos.. really stands out from the pews leh.. thats why i thought of having pink too..

hi petrina,

pink is one of the more popular ones cos its a subtle color and can match the surroundings
red is also good.. strong and vibrant

Hi gals! Happy New Year!

Haven't posted here for a while.
It's my turn to ask for your help and advice as my wedding date draws nearer.

1) How long is a full Catholic Wedding Mass?
2) How long do people linger to take photos after the Mass?
3) Where can I rent arches or flower stands to decorate the interior of the church?

Here are my details for the table... Petrina, add me on when you've got time. Thanks.

Nick: Emma21
AD: 27 May 06
Church: Church of Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Mass or Service: Service
MPC or EE: MPC
Month of MPC/EE: Apr/May 04
Caterer: TBC
Florist: Nativity's
Printer: TBC

Hi Petrina,
Silver, white and royal blue sounds to be to be a nice combination. Very cool! However, you might like to consider also the colour of your bouquet. I think a combination of red and pink will also be nice and match the pews. Depends on whether you want to go for a warm or cooler colour scheme. Hey, I think DIYing your stuff will be fun... Don't worry about the outcome.

Hi Minssy,
Will definitely show you my photos when they are ready.
Curently have lots of problems uploading them even my broadband speed is 1500 kps.

Hi Roses,
The full wedding masses that I have attended so far lasted from about an hour to 65 min. Whether people will linger to take photos, I think it depends on you, ie ushering by ushers and any announcements made. As for arches, maybe can check with some established florists, such as June Florist.

I always thought that the church will provide the florist and cannot change? Cos the rental of the church + florist = $500 according to Father.

hi fleur,

u can use irfan view to reduce the file size and then upload it.. thats how i do it...

hi roses,

1) full mass is normally abt 1 hr
2) have the photo taking right after you march out so that pple will not be dispersed for the lunch yet.
3) most florist who do deco will have the arch or flower stands.. arch is a relatively 'older' idea so some florists may not have it... its all an 'under 1 room thingy'

Hi Minssy,

Sure, dun mind showing you guys my wristlets. But i think the size of the pic is too big. Dunno if can post here or not. Will try and see if i can minimise the size... but not sure how to do that though.

As for flowers, yah my church quite big lah. The alter normally has 4 big bouquets liao. At least for normal sunday mass lah. Shall meet up with Susan next sun and discuss about budget. See how much i can reduce it if i can do away with some stuff.

Lissa

hi fleur

'irfan view' is a prog that allows you to view your pictures, reduce file size, crop and alot alot more.. try cnet.com

hi lissa,

hahaa! irfan view to the rescue!

ok.. but well, so since your church is quite big and with $300, hope you understand that if you wan a lot of items, then it aint too possible yah

Thanks gals for providing my with suggestions and guidance on my questions. Are you gals getting flower girls or page boys? I am still at the initial stage of church preparation. Abit stressed now.

My details are below.

Nick: Aiko
AD: 15 May 06
Church: Nativiy
Mass or Service: Mass (9am)
MPC or EE: EE
Month of MPC/EE: June 2005
Caterer: ?
Florist: ?
Printer: ?
Thank Petrina for updating.

hi Aiko,

dun be stressed.. there will be more stuff when its nearer to AD just shout for help here! hee..

page boys and flower girls is nice to have but not compulsory.. if you dun have them, its ok. cos the rings can be held by the bestman and your bridesmaid will still march in first holding flowers...

if you have page boys and flower girls and they dun have exp, you gotta make sure they know what to do, buy their clothes and shoes and accessories and flower basket.

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Time</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Service or Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">MPC or EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Month of MPC or EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Florist</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Evie</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">8th March 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of the Sacred Heart</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Apr 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Angeli Catering</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Hooked on Flowers</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Focal Ad</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Lissa</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11th March 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Immaculate Heart of Mary</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Dec 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Focal Ad</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Viv</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25th March 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Mary's of the Angels</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Service</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Nov 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Lunch at Rasa Sentosa</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's own</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">T Dragon</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Aiko</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">15th May 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Nativity Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Jun 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Emma21</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">27th May 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Nativity Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Service</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">MPC</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Apr/May 04</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's own</font></TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Chummy</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10th June 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Holy Cross</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11.30am</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Lovebug</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">24th June 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christ the King</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10.30am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">MPC</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">May/June 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Luncheon at Raffles Town Club</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's own</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">DIY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Roidana</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">4th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Anne's</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9am</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Sept 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">adel</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of St Francis Xavier</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10.30am</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">CSI Fan</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">18th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of St Teresa</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">March 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Select Caterer</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Petrina</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Vincent De Paul</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Feb 06</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's Own</font></TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Kyrie</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Francis of Assisi</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">MPC</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Aug 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Blitz</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of the Risen Christ</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">March/April 06</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Laluna</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">26th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Anne's</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Dec 05</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Joanna</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Last Update on Evie, Emma21 and Aiko

hello gals,

thanks for all ur input on the flower theme.. i'll take them into consideration.. hehe..

hi fleur,

i agree that royal blue, silve and white are cool colours.. coz i wanted it to be different from the wedding dinner.. wanted the dinner to be red, white and gold.. hehe.. i'm so fickled minded.. haiz.. hehe..

thanks minssy, i will shout for help in this forum
I understand that you engaged philip for your church wedding, so you did not have choir?

sorrie petrina, i think i typed wrongly...my AD is 15 July 06

hi aiko,

cool

no i did not have choir.. cos its a weekday and its no way to get the choir in the first place.. actually when i very first followed this thread and heard of philip lye, i know i wan to engage him man.. keke...

Wow, finally finished reading through all your posts, it seems like I only have the leisure of reading now. It is all so informative.

Hi Roidana
thank for sharing with me how you are getting to the church since you have no gatecrashing, just like me.

Minssy
I can see that you have engaged Simon as your PG..may I know how much is he charging. If it is not convenient to talk here, perhaps it may be more convenient for you to send me through email, [email protected]

Petrina
you have already done so much for your church preparation. It's wonderful that your mum like Arts for she can really help you out.

I understand that we need the key personels involved in a church ceremony include the priest, caretaker, altar server, lector, reader, solonist, florist.

Can anyone enlighten me whether we can allocate any of our friends to help out in the following areas:
1) Lector (Is it the same as reader?)
2) Reader
3) Altar Server
4) Caretaker
I am abit confused with the different roles.

been quite busy lately...with new mgmt taking over my company. haiz. so hardly had the time to come in here...only now coz tmrw is holiday. phew!

Hi aiko,
Hmmm...for the church ceremony, not sure if need altar server / altar boys. coz some of my friends wedding did not have leh. Better check with the priest. er...of course the priest is the key personnel. hehehehs....
Caretaker...usually the secretariat will tell u what to do. (i.e. clear up etc) Think the church will have own caretaker...

Yap, we can allocate friends to help out
(1)=(2) lector = reader
(3) altar server/boys: think can, if you have friends who have served as altar boys before. Otherwise, best to check with the priest...
(4) caretaker: not sure what you mean by caretaker. Someone to take care of the church? or someone to coordinate and take care of your mass/service? If it's the latter, think ur wedding planner/friend will help you there. If it's the former, think the church will have its own caretaker who will know what's kept where etc...

Oh, one other thing that I just thought of...are you having an emcee/commentator? Coz if you are having non-catholic guests, think they would appreciate knowing when to stand or sit... You can also allocate friends to sing/read the responsorial psalm, the Gospel Acclamation (Hallejuiah), prayers of the faithful...or the choir can help with all that too.

Hi Pet,
how was your EE weekend? Was it cold? coz it was raining so heavily over the weekend...

Hi Aiko,
I am getting my nephew, also my god-son(will be 2 year-plus by my AD) to be my page boy and maybe my niece to be my flower girl. Doing it not because it's a must to have but cause' they are special to me and want them to be part of my wedding march-in = ) My best friend is my bridesmaid. No Bestman for me.

I am getting my cousins to do the readings, resp. psalm, etc. For altar servers, I think the church will provide cause' at my sister's wedding, they provided 2-3 boys to help out (we gave them Ang Pow as a token of their service). I will have to ask the church secretariat to confirm. Hehe, so far I've only confirmed my Church venue and organist (Philip Lye recommd by Minssy- thanks Minssy!), the details still haven't confirmed yet.

hi aiko,

i am not sure of simon's price now cos i engaged him last year when he was having promo.. however, not to worry.. his price is still very affordable with the quality and dedication he has

to answer your ques:
1) Lector (Is it the same as reader?) not really. this lector or leader is to read for 'general intercessions'
2) Reader: for your first and second reading.
3) Altar Server: at least 2. they assist the priest at the altar. priest will find. just let him know.
4) Caretaker: maybe the church secretariat. just prepare extra ang bao to give him/her shd they assist you in any way.

hi bliz,

2 years plus very hard to control. they may not walk straight and will look for their parents and may drop the rings etc etc.. have to teach them properly during the rehearsal.

and welcome!
just let philip handle the songs and the whatever announcements..

u just need to have your emcee to announce the photo taking sequence

Hi minssy,
I think a lector is the same as a reader leh. Coz FH is a lector at his parish, and he does the 1st or 2nd readings during mass. Dun think they call the readers "readers"...hehs. They also refer to them as "Lectors" in church leh...and sometimes he reads the Prayers of the Faithful (General Intercessions) too, after he does the readings. So I think they are the same leh...heehee.

Haiz, me still looking for BS...last few days rain so heavily, couldn't really go anywhere...

hi csi fan,

yes they are the same in a way too i agree.. however, when you put into words, you will not see the word 'reader' appearing in the wedding mass booklet. thats also why we identify them as 'lector'.....

technically speaking, they are of cos still readers

yah its raining so often now! do more reading in sgbrides first to get to know more abt the BS that you are interested in..

jawn is quite cool... just on the higher price side

Hello Girls!

Petrina, could you add me too? Thanks!

Nick: lipstar
AD: Apr 22 2006
Church: St Anne's
Time: 9am
Mass
EE
EE month: Sept 2005
Florist: -