Catholic Brides

Hey,

What a coincidence. Hmm....so, I see that you're with Silver Cloak and dinner at Bliss Gdn huh.... Pardon me, but where is SVDP....??

haha..

SVDP is St Vincent De Paul.. its along Yio Chu Kang road..

Hi Lissa

Ya...we came with 2 other couples...well, in a way its not so good cos u'll tend to get distracted instead of focusing on ur partner for the weekend...but in any case, we had fun

So u going for MPC? I dun think I have the time to. It is 6 weekends rite?? wow...

Your AD is coming real soon!!
Time flies...it will be march very soon

IHM...heard that its a very nice church, but i have never been there before..Its quite strict right? I rem the website says that you mus be a parishoner inorder to hold ur wedding there....

Hi mountain,

We're not going for MPC. The reason why we decided to go for EE is cos we can't really commit one week day for 6 - 7 weeks. Very difficult cos our work schedules are pretty hectic.

Yep... March is pretty soon. As of now less than 3 full months away!

IHM just renovated not so long ago so it's pretty comfy now. I'm not too sure about how strict it is or what the info on the webbie says. In fact i didn't even know they had a website!
I've been going to that church since i was a little gal... so it's only fitting that i get married there.

Lissa

Hi lissa,
Hmm...IHM...nice parish! My friend had his wedding there early this year. It's really nice. Wah, Mar is just round the corner. getting all excited?

Hi mudpie,
maybe the priest is very busy, so he might have missed out the email. Best is to give him a call. If you are looking at St. Teresa, you can call the parish priest direct (I have his DID. can email me if you want [email protected]). Alternatively, you can go to www.veritas.org.sg, click on Parish Communities (left hand side), and then select Church of St Teresa. The church's number is there. Give them a call, and they will guide you along from there.

yah, overseas...so may be a bit expensive to call, or the timing is off (eg. u morning there, but here is night time)...but I think it's a little-teeny inconvenience to get it settled...just dun call on Sunday, coz nobody will be there to pick up. I think the best is to call the church during weekdays after 2pm or Sat between 11am and 3pm.

I'm looking for a catholic church venues for May 20 or June 10 wedding. Any idea which church is good?? Preferably is somewhere accessible and definitely must have aircon :D
Currently I'm thinking of Holy Cross at Clementi..any other suggestion??

hi chummy,
define good. hahahaha.
Holy Cross is not exactly very accessible (then again, which parish is? haha), coz even if u take a bus from Clementi Interchange/MRT, have to walk quite a bit from the bus stop. The canteen is at the basement, which is accessible from the church level, so no need to worry if it rains.

How abt Sacred Heart? got air con also...

Hi CSI,

Sacred Heart is the one at queenstown??

hehehe..wat I mean by good is the condition of the church.. no reno going and preferably the church n the hall is good so no need to splurge so much on flowers hehe

I like St Mary since they r newly renovated..but the rental is super expensive..so decided to find alternative...

Hi chummy,
Sacred Heart is at Tank Road, off Cleamenceau Ave (near Orchard --> Dhoby Ghaut MRT, near Mohd Sultan, across the road from UE Sq next to this Hindu temple, near Liang Court, opp Fort Canning country club/hill). It's quite a cosy church, think it was renovated and air-con-ed abt 2 yrs plus ago...only thing is, carpark is a bit small, coz the air-con compressors etc take up a bit of space on the outside. H/ever, the reception area is on the 2nd or 3rd floor of the adjacent bldg, and that one is not renovated yet, so a bit "old". But the church itself is quite nice...got nice flowers and altar. Yup, u definitely wun need to spend much on flowers for there. There's even a carpeted aisle to walk down. Dun think the have a website, but if u go to www.veritas.org.sg, and click on "Parish Communities" --> City District "Church of the Sacred Heart", there's a picture of what the inside of the church looks like.

I think the Queenstown/Commonwealth one that u are referring to is Blessed Sacrament (the one at the corner opposite the fire station is it?)...

Hi CSI Fan,

Thanks for the compliment on my church. It's much nicer now after the reno.

Hi Chummy,

Maybe you can consider IHM. It's at Highland Road in the Kovan/Hougang area. Nearest mrt is Kovan mrt... but still must walk quite far. Not too convenient unless by car... but as someone else said, most churches are not too conveniently located. IHM is newly renovated with air-con and the hall is HUGE... so very good for large wedding receptions. Got air-con somemore.
Think cost wise for rental of church + hall is in the region of $450. At least i think that's what i paid... can't really remember offhand liao.

Lissa

hihi gers...
need to ask something...
if my htb is catholic n im a non-believer..

I've gota go for cathetism rt?
Can any of u suggest any churches?

Thanks lotz...

Hi Carol,

Not sure which parish would be commencing RCIA (adult cathecism) soon...Think also gotta consider which parish is convenient for u...

hi carol,

if you are intending to convert to a catholic then you have to go for RCIA.. its about 6 - 12 mths.. most churches will have. but logically you choose the church that is nearest to your house or the church that your fh is at...

if you are intending to just get married to a catholic, you can still go through the ceremony without being a catholic.

Hi Carol,

It is recommended that you go for classes.. for your spritual enhancement, but more importantly, it will also help you to understand your htb's faith. If you are interested, you may consider attending the classes in your htb's parish, and he can attend it with you together, to guide you along as well.

However, i must say that though recommended, it's not compulsary that you attend/convert to catholism, in order to marry a catholic.

But your htb and yourself must attend the EE or MPC, in order to get married in a catholic church.

CSI, thanks for ur info.. will go down to the church one of the weekend..
Yup.. the one I meant was the one near the queenstown fire station..got the name wrong :P
Btw do u know how much is the rental at sacred heart?

Lissa, thanks to u too

Btw wat is IHM stands for?
I think Hougang is a bit far for me since I'm staying in the west..

Hi chummy,

abt 2 yrs ago, the rental (or donation, as they call it) was abt $300 (but not sure if that included the reception/canteen area). So, dunno what's the "rate" now.

You can also consider St. Teresa (I would be having mine there I stay in the West too!
). It's located at Kampung Bahru Rd (near Mount Faber). No MRT nearby. Even if take to Tiong Bahru MRT or Outram MRT or Harbour Front MRT still must take bus. It's like a bigger version of Sacred Heart, therefore probably less cosy. Rental is $100 for church, $200 for canteen/reception area.

Hey, I forgot that I can actually upload pictures here. Well, chummy and for anyone else (the rest, pls bear with me
) here's what the inside of Church of the Sacred Heart looks like...

336890.jpg

Here's another one. Sacred Heart was one of my choices, but I find the carpark kinda small.
no choice, lots of relatives that drive lah.
336894.jpg

Hi Minssy,
Nice photos and nice WG and EG.
Sorry for the late reply. Just saw your photos, now that I am back and am glad for you that you seemed to have a great time during your AD.

Hi Lissa,
Yes, Mauritius was great. We had lots of fun there. The hotels we stayed in were wonderful. We can chat further over at the other thread if you like.

I am back. Thanks for all the well-wishes.
As promised earlier, I would like to share the blessings that God had showered on me and my hubby on our wedding day. He truly answered our prayers, including my mom's, for a good weather. It was particularly important to us cos we had our wedding reception partially outdoors. Prior to the AD and on the WD morning, we prayed for peace and joy and that we will trust that things will go accordingly to His will. Looking back, I am truly glad for that cos I was rather cool before the wedding (I was even working up to the day before the wedding and after that had ran off during my half-day leave to re-do my manicure.) Things went on smoothly except for little hiccups, such as our witness signing at the wrong place. Leaving things in God's hands also meant that I was not overly bothered by little hiccups.

*** continuing here cos having problems putting all in one post ***

I think the church wedding was truly the highlight of our wedding day. A number of guests, even the non-believers, commented that the church wedding was truly meaningful and they had fun at my wedding. The church bells, melodious music from the choir, beautiful floral decorations all made up the beautiful day. I found that my dinner banquet was not as fun as we had it mainly because of our parents' wishes.

Oh, for those who just had your EE, haha! Well, if you do recall Fr Paul was absent for a little while... Well, that's because he was presiding over my wedding. Yes, he was rather humourous during it too!

Hi CSI fan,

Very nice church indeed. Din know that we have such a nice church in Singapore... Thanks for sharing...

hi fleur! Welcome back!
That's a great sharing...thanks for sharing.

Yah, Sacred Heart is nice horh...I had a little bit tough time deciding between Sacred Heart and St. Teresa. In the end, the one with more parking space won. hahaha.

Hi Fleur,

Haha... so you were the couple that he went to marry!
Well... you had all our prayers cos he asked all of us to pray for you!

As for my HM... i'm now having second thoughts about Mauritius. I'm considering doing a F&E to USA West Coast covering SF, LA & LV. But now doing intensive research to try and plan it within my budget.

Btw, which hotel were you staying at in Mauritius? Residence?

Hi Chummy,

IHM = Immaculate Heart of Mary

Lissa

CSI,

hv u found ur banquet venue? When is ur AD??
I saw the Theresa church from the website.. look nice as well.. a little bit looks like goodwood hotel

My hubby n I will look at sacred heart around the new yr weekend... cos we will go to malaysia for christmas..

Well.. merry christmas to all of u..
Have a wonderful holiday

CSI,

hv u found ur banquet venue? When is ur AD??
I saw the Theresa church from the website.. look nice as well.. a little bit looks like goodwood hotel

My hubby n I will look at sacred heart around the new yr weekend... cos we will go to malaysia for christmas..

Well.. merry christmas to all of u..
Have a wonderful holiday

Hi Chummy,
Banquet venue is Marriott. AD is in Nov06. Long way more.

You refering to the veritas website? That picture is prob dunno how long ago one, coz St Teresa now dun have those purple things on the window (outside) and it's now fully air-con. If u have time, go take a look at it also lah...

wah...Malaysia ah. We also planning to go, but not over Chrismas coz may be quite crowded.

Blessed Christmas to all of u!!

hello CSI fan,

which EE are u going to? both our AD in Nov next year.. hehe..

i'm going for the 17th - 19th Feb one..

Merry Christmas to all the gals here!!

'Tis the season to be jolly.. Falalalalalalalala..

Hi Petrina,
I went liao. We attended the 25 - 27 Mar05 weekend. We didn't attend it with the intention of getting married. We went for it to understand each other and the various issues more and whether we are ready to take it to the next level. We have been together for so many years (8 yrs), but the r/s has been kinda "stuck" at that level. So, EE was a wonderful experience for us. In fact, it was right after EE, when we left the ME House (where it is held), that he asked me to marry him (I didn't classify it as proposal coz no ring. haha)

We'll most likely be going for MPC as well. For us, EE was more for understanding each other. So to prepare us for marriage, we want to go for MPC as well. It may be tough with 6 consecutive weekends, so we'll let GOD lead us.

Hi Lissa,

Haha! Yes, it was us. Wow, that was so nice of all of you to pray for us. Very nice of Fr Paul too. No wonder it was a truly wonderfully blessed day.

We stayed in Le Meridian in Mauritius. It was a very nice 4.5 star hotel. Newly renovated. In fact, the room we had was just opened 3 days ago.
The hotel had 100% occupancy when we were there. Of the US west coast, I have only been to SF. The USA is also a nice place to visit, but I guess your choice will have to depend on what you are truly looking for in a honeymoon/ holiday.

Hi Minssy,

You are most welcome.
You looked very photogenic and your EG accentuated your nice figure. Do you look back on your WD with very fond memories and kinda of miss the whole preparation process?

Hi CSI Fan,

My pleasure to share.
On the AD, the takeaway is to remember to take things in your stride. During my reception, a friend commented that my WG is a bit soiled and I just said something like WG are meant to get dirty anyway. Haha! The bottomline is to just enjoy the one special day and not be bothered by little things. I had been very much a perfectionist during the wedding preparation process, but I had reminded myself to leave things in His hands on the day itself.

YES, last but not least.... Merry Christmas, everyone!

hi fleur,

thanx... sad to say i had put on weight after the wedding! hahahahah! of cos i miss my AD! hee.. i miss the preparation, the sourcing for stuff, the coordination and planning and not forgetting the actual AD with me being the 'queen'! hahhahaahah

yes merry christmas to all too! hope your christmas will be a meaningful one

Hi gers... Thanks lotz for sharing...
Will consider thro carefully wif fiance...

Lastly, wishing all a merry xmas n hapi new yr!

So glad that to chance upon this thread for Catholic brides. My FH is non-Catholic and so abit difficult cause' I have to do all the logistics arrangements for the wedding mass alone(Sign). Need some advice from you gals. I do not have an Organist and Choir in mind for my wedding. Are there people who you know I could engage such services for a wedding mass? Most importantly is the organist though for the Choir,I could probably ask some friends and relatives to form one... heh. Also, I will be ROM-ing before my AD cause' I'll be getting my keys to my new home in Jan (given a 3-mth time frame to ROM), do I still need to sign the cert in Church or before my AD? I have attended a few wedding masses, and noticed there's this signing part with two witnesses. Is this the Church cert or some sorts?

Thanks in advance for your much-needed advice. A Blessed Christmas to all!

hi bliz,

i am also a non catholic who married a catholic..

1) if you are not going to engage a choir, you may engage philip lye. he is a soloist cum organist who is also a catholic and is very familiar with wedding masses/services. he provides music services and he can do all the job of a choir
he is contactable at 6566 1683. in case you haven heard of him, he is a blind man... if you are free, read the whole of this thread for some useful info..

2) if you are going to ROM before the church service, of cos you dun sign the cert in church lah
how can?

3) the service you witnessed are couples who chose to ROM the same day as the church.. that means the solemnisation is carried out in the church. whether you do it in ROM premise or church, you still need to have 2 witnesses...

hi bliz,
Welcome to this thread!

yap, you can engage Philip Lye. Heard from the gals here that he's quite good. and you can still gather ur friends/relatives together to sing as well...

I have a few friends who ROM-ed before church. But they still signed something (with 2 witnesses) during the service. Think it's the Church Register, dun think it's the ROM cert...

When preparing the mass booklet, is there a list of readings n hymns to choose from? If so, where can I get them?

Thanks n Merry Christmas to all

like mountain9, i think i need to prepare the mass booklet too. Anybody has samples to share with me? especially if it is for SERVICE, cos i'm not too sure how it will look like.

Btw, how many weeks ahead do we need to get the booklet done? *panic a bit*

Hey Bliz,

Actually, you dun have to worry about the HDB 3 mths time frame. Cos i'm actually getting my HDB keys today but only getting married in July.

I photocopied the form signed by the Father to state that he'll be soleminizing our marriage on that date and in church. And HDB was okay with it.
337544.gif

Hi CSI,

Yup I'm talking abt the pics from veritas website.. u mean now St Theresa change oready?? hehe shld be better then..
Wah ur AD is still a bit long.. got more time to prepare..

I will disscuss with my hubby.. but the prob is we do not have a lot of time. We r trying to get 20 May or 10 jun 06 for the AD. So a bit rush.. so my priority will c the Sacred Heart first

Malaysia not so crowded last weekend... dunno why..mayb bcos I leave Sing on Sat n coming back on Mon efternoon..so I miss the jam.

Do u plan to engage Philip Lye as well? I think he is quite famous rite? Do u know how much he charge?

Anyone considered doing without mass booklets and relying on projector system instead? I'm thinking of leh... cos my church just upgraded their projector system and now it's quite good. They just used it for christmas mass and it was very clear. However, the laptop did hang for a while in the middle of mass... so there was a short interim of nothing on the screen.

Dilemma dilemma... not printing the booklets will save lotsa time considering I was planning to DIY for my 450 strong crowd!

Btw chummy, think Philip Lye charges about $100 - $150. Very reasonable. I booked him liao... but can't remembe exactly what the cost was. Have to re-check my budget.

Lissa

Lissa,

I just checked with Phillip today, he said his charges is $100 for him and $100 for church. But maybe church to church is different.

Hmm your ideas not bad, if can use the projector it'll be even better (save cost also)

Bliz,
what Ann said is right. My Fh and I also got our flat 2 months ago but our wedding is only in Mar. HDB officer told us that to ask for extension is quite easy, just need some kind of proof of u booking church. I suspect u can even give some sound reason without any documentation. Just call HDB for advice also.

Hi CSI,

Thanks for the info you provided. My husband has gotten a relative who's helping out at ST Teresa's church to speak to the priest, but seems like the chance of us getting the approval is very slim.....

Maybe will check out other churches and also SJI chapel.

hi lissa,

DIY 450? i guess you already had in mind to have a team of friends helping you. anyway, if you chose to use the LCD, its cool. but you still need to print a few copies for: the priest, yourself, philip lye, the choir, and just probably 1 or 2 more for your helpers..

philip lye is only at $100. do note that no matter how much it is, it is only a puny portion compared to your other expenses so make sure you dun stinge in this area yah

hi viv,

philip's charges is standard. its $100.

Hi Ann, Viv
Thanks for your advice on letting me know that it's possible to extend my ROM date... good also cause I think it's more meaningful to do it in Church rather than the ROM place itself = )

Hi Lissa,
I will be relying on the powerpoint slides for my mass also cause I figured out it will save costs and moreover don't have to worry about under-printing or over-printing mass booklets. And like what Minssy mentioned, you only have to print a few copies for the necessary people.

I think I better give Philip Lye a call to see if he's available on my AD (9 Dec 06).