Catholic Brides

i'm not sure if this is a norm..

my wedding mass is in the morning and then it'll be dinner at nite.. most of my frens, esp the non-catholics, are not coming for the church wedding.
i know it's a bit troublesome to come in the morning, then break for the afternoon.. and then gotta come for the dinner in the evening.. but just abit disappointed lor.. that friends whom i'll expect to attend are not coming for the wedding mass.. mostly coming for dinner only..

hi CSI and Missy,

thanks for the info gals..

will wait for someone to call me then.. hehe.. so excited.. can't wait to go for EE..

hi missy,

CONGRATS!! wow!! so excited for u.. you're going to be a MRS liao.. hehe.. must let me see your AD photos by Simon ah!!.. i'm sure he'll do any excellent job!!

hi csi fan & petrina,

yes yes.. 8 more days! actually hor, i dunnoe how to explain how i feel now leh.. its so near but i am still not very excited in a way.. dunnoe why. i was sharing to my friends that i am darn free cos yesterday noon i was in orchard shopping, then at nite i went out for a show with FH. normal? wahahhaahh!

hi petrina,

yes i will

hi lavender,

if i can make you feel better, my AD is on a monday. fh & me sent out about 100 church invitation cards. those who rsvp who said they could come is only under 10+. as i am getting the negative rsvps, i am really wondering if i am adored. but i cant blame them. its a monday and everyone is working!

Hi Verylastminute,
Between FH and myself, I am the only one who is even baptised. However, he is very much into christianity. I think our celebrant was very impressed when my FH said that he wants our wedding to be a glorification to God.

Hi Minssy,
Wow, you are really taking it cool. Good for you! You must be well prepared by now. I think it is good to go out and relax prior to the big day anyway.

You also sound like a very positive person. Have you gotten rsvp responses from
everyone for your church wedding? Your church wedding will be one cosy affair then.

Hi Lavender,
One thing that I have learnt through all these is that not to expect too much from casual friends. What's important is that those that truly matters to you turns up for the wedding.

hi fluer,

a... maybe 2/3 of the things that i can do now i did already... i think. hahaahhh! others like final fitting lah, reherasal lah, cant be done till the time is right mah.. hee..

speaking of church rehearsal, i am going off now! catch up with you gals later

Hi gals!!

just came back from church at SVDP.. for those of u who knows Father Michael Sitarum.. its his 50th birthday today.. hehe.. and we had a buffet luncheon for him in the new canteen in the church.. he was very touched.. hehe..

food was from 'fostr*' (replace *with e).. hmm.. never heard of it before but it was suprisingly very tasty and good.. can shortlist that for my AD liao. hehehehe..

hi missy,

yah man! u're so cool about everything.. i think i'll kinda be so nervous when my date draws nearer.. hehe..

u're going for ur church rehearsal today? so fun!..

Lavendar,
Never mind. I think friends close to you would come for the church ceremony. And those who appreciate the importance of the religious rite. But sometimes, just because they don't turn up doesn't mean they don't wish you well, or that you aren't important to them. It could be a scheduling problem. Or a they are just so busy on the weekend, with overtime work, demands from family, other friends etc. Your wedding is an important day for you, but it is also just another day in their lives, and they have their lives too, does this make sense? And maybe that's why they make it for one of the two events on the day only. What's more important is the sincerity in their well wishes

Fleur,

French manicure is where they paint your nails with clear nail polish, then paint the tip with white paint. Makes your nails look very natural and elegant.

Wow minssy,
8 more days to go and yet you are still so steady! If I were you, I guess I will feel stressed. Anyway, enjoy your rehearsal.

Most likely I will not be having the gatecrashing in the morning...then again I guess I will miss the fun of having a gatecrashing.

What about the rest of you gals, would you be having gatecrashing for your wedding?

Hi Aiko,

I'm not having any gatecrashing too. For me, i'll be meeting my FH in the church directly. Means the first time he'll see me on that day is when i'm walking down the aisle towards him.

Lissa

hi petrina & aiko,

hahahahh! yeah.. now still cool lah
lets see if you will hear me getting nervous as the day draws nearer :p.. anyway, i shd be cool cos i dun really procrastinate in the things that i need to do.. so things that i can do earlier, i would have tried my best to do it first

oh yah! i had the rehearsal today... the couple that was assigned to guide us basically told us the below:

- how to stand (couple, page boy, flower girl, bridesmaid)
- how should your dad give you away
- where to sign the ROM register
- when to do reading etc etc...

they are all logistics stuff... i dun have a choir so the rehearsal was abt 1/2 hr.. but bcos i asked some questions and we yaked other stuff, it kinda stretches up to 45 mins...

so anyway, dun worry.. when its your turn, you will know what to do.. hee..

Hi Minssy/Fleur/Roses,

Thanks for sharing.. yeah, i guess i understand what u'all meant.. most of my closest frens are attending and it's always touching to hear 'sure, i'll be there!' without any hesitation the moment you asked if they're coming. i do understand that some of my frens hv work commitments on saturday mornings so i can't impose on them. but its disappointing to hear replies like 'attend dinner only, so that i dun hv to make 2 trips', 'too far', etc..

anyway, will see how things go.. urgghhh.. the guest list is driving me crazy!!

not forgetting.. congrats, Minssy!! :-)

hi lavender,

such friends aint so much of friends anyway

anyway, pray before you do the guest list lah. guest list is always driving brides crazy!

and okie.. thank you thank you..hee.. btw, can any kind soul update the list of the catholic brides.. hee...

Hi Minssy,
Good advice indeed to pray first.

Anyway, I still admire your coolness! Even if I have had prepared everything on my big day,I think I would feel a bit jittery and think that some things are not done yet. Must be like you!

hi fleur,

hahhahah! of cos there are still parts within me is like 'what else can i do'? but well, so long as my checklist is highlighted, and that means that its done.. its done
hahhah. i constantly refer to my checklist to make sure that i am on track

i am going down to ROM later to pick up the documents.. hope it will not be long..

Hey Fleur,
Saw your post on the wedding cakes thread. Can you tell me more about your cake, like how many kg and how much etc? Maybe you can post at the other thread...

When is your wedding date btw?

Minssy,
After you get married, must still visit the forum, give advice and instill your "coolness" in the rest of us okay?

Hi Minssy,
Collected all documents already? All set to go for the big day?

Hi Lavendar and Minssy,
Do you have this problem of inviting non-catholic or christian colleagues, ie would they come?

Hi Roses,

I have just replied you.

Lissa
so how will the events be like for your AD, any plan already?

Minssy
remember to come back to share with us after your marriage....excited now rite!!! Counting down...

I'm having problems with choosing of songs and psalms for my service as 90% of my guest are non-catholics (including me).

I would like to use a psalm that is sung and is familiar to both christians and catholics but other than "As the Deer" are there others?

What are the other hymns familiar to christians that are suitable for wedding entrance hymns?

My AD is less than a month from now, need help, pls give suggestions, thanks.

Hi Fleur,

hmm.. for me, i'm not inviting my colleagues to church coz we work on shift, so i understand that they won't be able to make it even if they want to attend.

But in general, from the response i've received so far, i feel that Catholics will attend the church whether or not they are very close to you. Those non-catholics who attend are only those who are close to you.

hi fleur,

yes collected on tuesday liaozz.. waited for abt 1/2 hr for a 10 min thingy with the issuing officer. we must say an oath in front of the officer. feel so dumb. wahhahhah!

hi aiko,

yes i will i will

a.... not really lah.. my non christian/catholic friends still attend...however, mine is a weekday so the attendance is quite pathetic but well, its ok cos i already expected it

hi carelinwen,

we used 'to god be the glory' as the entrance hymn.. confirmed its a song that is popular among christians & catholics..

hi carelinwen,

welcome.. dun fret too much on the booklet thingy lah.. unless some songs are really meaningful for you all, else just stick to the most popular tried and tested ones...

Hi carelinwen

Are you familiar with Psalm 92? The lyrics for the song goes like this:

It is good to praise the Lord
And make music to Your name
O, God most high
To proclaim Your love and faithfulness
All the days and through the nights

You make me glad by Your deeds, O Lord
So I cherish all the works Your hands have made
How great are your deeds, O Lord
Elohim Baruch Hashem

May I dwell in Your courts, O Lord
There to flourish like the trees of Lebanon
Planted in the house of Adonai
There to live forevermore.

If you'd like to hear the melody, go to http://www.audiblefaith.com/pages/sg201811 where you can listen to an mp3 sample.

In case you're wondering, "Elohim Baruch Hashem" is Hebrew and it translates into "Blessed is the name of God"

Hi carelinwen,

To add to my earlier post, my friend did not play a bridal march during the walk-in, instead, he sang this hymn for the entrance hymn as well as walk-in. It was sooo beautiful and touching - his bride was so moved that she had tears in her eyes :-)

This is The Day (Scott Wesley Brown)

This is the day that the Lord hath made
And I’m so glad He made you.
With each rising sun you are here by my side,
You are more than a dream come true.

Oh, to have you, to hold you, to love you, to pray
To share with, to care with, to hold hands and say:

This is the day that the Lord hath made
And I will rejoice, I will rejoice
I will rejoice with you

This is the love that the Lord hath made
That you and I we are one.
Love’s mystery is unfolding today,
Written for us in the Son.

Oh, for better, for worse, for rich or for poor
Each day that passes I’ll love you more

‘Cause this is the day that the Lord hath made
And I will rejoice, I will rejoice
I will rejoice with you

Ladies, please keep me in your prayer. Now I've a problem with getting someone to help with the LCD projector in church. It has to be someone who is trained and handle the equipment and I'm still waiting for a reply from them. I have actually asked permission from the Parish priest and he approved but the sacrastian refused to let me use unless I can get someone from the church choir. I am very stressed up as the day is approaching very near. I pray that the kind soul will lend a helping hand. If not I've to approach the parish priest again to be granted to operate on our own if I'm forced into the circumstances. I don't wish to make a scene out of it as we are all Christian bros n sisters in Christ. SIGH!!!

hi elizabeth,

sorry to hear that.. confirmed its the church that are scared of pple spoiling their equipment cos there were black sheeps who did that last time.. argh! all these black sheeps!

tell you... get the priest to talk to the whoever sacrastian!

Hi Aiko,

My day of events are more or less settled. The flow will be along these lines:

8am: Wake up to start make-up
9.45am: Leave for church to standby by 10am.
10.30am: Wedding mass starts
11.30am: Wedding mass ends. Photo taking with family.
11.30am - 1.30pm: Lunch reception
1.30am - 3pm: Photo taking for bride & groom
3pm: Head to hotel to rest
6pm - 7pm: Tea ceremony in hotel for both sides
7pm: Cocktail & Dinner start.

When is your wedding btw?

Lissa

Hi carelinwen

You're welcome! I tried looking for the tune on the net but couldn't find it. I found the chords on this page though: http://www.nfphampden.com/thisday.pdf#search='scott%20wesley%20brown%20%20this%20is%20the%20day'

Another way is to go to a Christian music CD shops and see if you can find the album by Scott Wesley Brown.

Hi Elizabeth - sorry to hear of this last minute hiccup. If you don't mind me asking, which church is this?

Hi annelise,

St teresa's church. called the sacrastian to book the church rehearsal, hopefully she can help us to find one as she said she will to my FH. Will pray everything wil work out fine! Faith!

Hi Elizabeth,

St Teresa's is lovely! Don't worry - everything will work out well in the end - like you said, have faith!

Hi gals, Haven't been logging on much coz was very busy the past few days. Phew, it's friday now, so can relax a bit more...hehs.

Elizabeth, sorry to hear about the issue. Don't worry, things will turn out fine, yah? The Lord will provide. Important thing is to enjoy your day and thank HIM for everything. Not sure if you have mentioned in earlier posts, but when is your wedding day? My neighbour is getting married at St Teresa's too...this Sunday...hehheh...

Lissa
thank for sharing your AD events. My AD will be next July so still uncertain about the flow of events. Still a long way to go rite? A bit kaisu hor?

Hi Annelisa,
Agree that the song "This is the day" is very nice. Your friend had an very unusual wedding march-in indeed.

Hi Elizabeth,
Sorry to hear about your problem. Trust in the Lord that things will work out...

Hi Minssy,
One more day to go! Busy making all the last min's preparations?

Hi Fleur! I got your message on the cake. Thanks for the info

Minssy,
Yes, tomorrow is your wedding day. I hope you read this in time. Just want to wish you every happines in marriage, and hope the day turns out perfectly. God bless!

hi fleur,

yes yes.. busy busy.. my room is quite untidy so i am gonna use the next 1 - 2 hrs to do a last minute clean up before i do my mani in the noon.. hee....

hi roses,

tomorrow is DDDDD day! hahahahhahh! oh i hope the day will turn out perfectly too! i am a super quick tempered person and i hope things will be cool else i faint :p

Hi Minssy,
Relax and enjoy every moment. i'll probably be worrying lots and hoping things turn out ok too when it's my turn, (hehs...) but still must say this to you...Things will turn out beautifully.

Congrats!

hi csi fan,

yes i know i will worry. confirm passport chop man! hahhaah! thanx for your wishes.. hee...

hi petrina,

thank you too.... yes i hope it will be... i shd say 'i know it will be!'.. hee....

yeah aiko,

i second what u say..

it will DEFINATELY be.. so missy.. enjoy every moment of ur big day..

looking forward to hear on how ur day went by..

my mum has forced me to get a wedding cake for the church lunch.. anyone has got any recommendations for nicely decorated yummy cakes within the budget of $300?

i'm hopefully looking at a 2 tier or 3 tier one..

HI ladies,

Thanks for the ecnouragement. The Lord indeed answer our prayer. We received an sms during our engagement encounter tath someone is offering to help us. Praise The Lord! The EE is a very enriching experience! Just got back today. Was sick on 2nd day. Bit that didn't spoil our weekend.

Will write again. Need to take a shower! Ha ha ha!

Congrats Minssy!

hi petrina,

how many guests do u have for church lunch? for yummy and lovely wedding cakes, u can try pine garden cake

*C*O*N*G*R*A*T*U*L*A*T*I*O*N*S* on your BIG day today, minssy!

Where there is love, there is a beauty beyond description;
A strength that is invincible;
A joy that is unsurpassed;
For where there is love, there is God

Wishing you and your husband all that is best and beautiful in life - today and every day for the rest of your lives :-)

God bless,
Annelise