Catholic Brides

roidana,
my church is at 11.30pm hhehehe.. so i was originally happy that i don't hv to wake up early. Now my mum wants me out of the house by 7pm and must hv umbrella (don't ask me why) outside the gate.

Hi Viv,

Can I ask, are you Teochew? A gal friend of mine said Teochew brides have to be married off before the break of day, or something like that. I think the umbrealla is to hide and shelter you from evil spirits.

no leh, i'm hakka.. well, indonesian hakka.
my mum also said that teochew hs lotsa rules. Dunno lah, i think one shd understand the logic behind certain 'acts' of tradition, cos the context may not be suitable.

I read somewhere that tea ceremony has certain context that is actually not really applicable now, but as christian we could still do it as a sign of respects (as long as there's no 'altar' prayig concerned). I also think that tea ceremony is a nice gestures to parents... but waking at odd hours jsut to follow some man's(what u call them?) date of birth reading? hmm....*scratching my chin*

hi viv,

if you wan to have fun tekan-ing your hubby, have him pick u up lah. see how modern or traditional your family is lor.... for me, i will have the gatecrashing, then tea ceremony at my place, then his place, then church is the last.... all up to your own schedule...

hi fleur,

i see.. very siong hor? if its me, i will faint.

minssy...
oh now i know... i don't hv gate-crashing lah, so now... no point fetching also hor.. hhehehe.. i'm trying to justify myself

as for me: church - lunch - tea ceremony - if have time b4 sunsets, photo taking at beach

minssy and fleur, u also doing renovation together with wedding prep? me too.

Hi red&pinkroses, I heard otherwise - my aunts were telling me teochews don't like the weddings too early (I think sort of like can't bear for the daughters to leave so soon). I'm not supposed to leave my house before 11am, so my FH is going to come over (Chinese style) to give me my bouquet and play games, then he'll proceed to the church and I'll meet him there (ang moh style). :-)

hi viv,

no gate crashing means less fun but guess more suspense for both of you lor.. but what you gonna do from 7 till your church? take photos ah?

oh i am not doing house.. haven get it yet.. will stay with fh till we get our own place..

hi lavender,

i had just confirmed a florist who is familar with holy trinity. i told her my budget of $400 and she will be able to do the standard stuff for me within this budget. her style is such that we tell her the budget and she do the stuff based on our request. we instantly confirmed her! hee.... u may call susan at 9699 0104.

hi fleur & minssy,

thanks alot for your recommendations!! i was also thinking of june florist as i might be able to get a discount from them; they tie up with the hotel where i'm holding my wedding dinner. fleur, mind sharing how much they're charging??

i also called up my church florist today and was quoted $400. but i hv yet to look at their portfolio and designs..

btw, i hv another question - do u'all know if we are suppose to arrange for altar servers during the wedding mass?

Thanx red&pinkroses, the guide is rather comprehensive. I have 9 mths left. Think I better start ticking some things off!

Hi minssy and all

Wah.. din realise this thread is back and alive again! Hope everything's going well for everyone! ;D

Hi verylastmin,

Altar servers are the helpers for the priests when he conduct the mass service, eg help him with the communion, carry the candles etc... Am I right??

i was actually asked to see if i can look for my own altar servers. the church will arrange for me if i can't get any.. sound weird, right?

minssy,
no lah, i don't like to take photos (no PS for me) so will prob sleep late til 8 (usual time for saturday) then get ready for church.

I think i'm super lazy, i'm taking OTR, cos too lazy to think ideas for MTM.

Hi Viv,

What's OTR? Are u going to Nov EE? Me blur liao. Can't remember. Too many ppl!

Hi hi ladies,

Come by to say hello! Been busy! Good to see the thread back again.

hi verylastminute,

yes joviager is right. they are the 2 boys helping the priest. some call them altar boys. gotta check with the priest on this.

hi lavender,

just get the church to arrange lah. save your trouble. and also, do remember to prepare ang baos for them too.

hi elizabeth,

OTR is off the rack. its one of the BS term. whats BS? its bridal studio :p

hi viv,

i see
so i guess you save some logistics.. church logistics is a big headache man. faint.

Hi phy_*o* (phy_o),
I have yet to confirm what time i will hold be church wedding.. the one that has to leave house at 7am is Viv... hee

Turin, yup, that's what i am planning to do, subjected to the availibiliy of the church in the morning.

Minssy: You holding at Holy Trin right? any idea whats the earliest they can hold the wedding?

Liz, yes yes, we'll meet in Nov EE, so exciting.

Turin, Roidana, are you chinese? if you are, can give me tips on how to tell ur parents on the arrangement to meet in church? hehehe... I even hv crazy idea to get around it, that is, to have FH's parents fetch me then we go to church and meet FH in the church... (i like to break tradition lah...)

Hi Lavender,
Sure... June Florist is charging us $600. They have 2 packages. The basic one is $378, the more comprehensive one is $478. After adding more details such as couple chairs deco and more pews deco, ours came up to that price. So, the church deco pricing can be very economical, but it really depends on what the entire package comprises of. I had initially wanted to sign up with one of the designated church florists for convenience's sake. I went to an actual wedding on a Sat morning just to check out what their $600 package comprises of and was horrified to discover such minimal deco, ie one flower, (without netting and ribbon!) per pew, linking sashes, some simple bouquets and one church bell with sash at the entrance! By the way, do you have to pay for June Florist's services at your hotel venue?

Hi Viv,
Next best alternative might be to book an extra hotel night in your hotel to stay from 7 am plus to 10 am plus on your wedding day. (Actually, I agree with you that it is rather ahemm... redundant to follow such customs) Can ask your hotel whether they might be able to throw one more night FOC. When's your wedding, by the way? How far are you with reno now? Siong, right? keke...

Hi Minssy and Pink&Red Roses,
Yes, preparing for the house can be quite a headache... but it can be quite satisfying at the end of it. At the end of the day, I hope to be proud to say that we have done everything, from starting wedding prep, to attending MPC, to searching for a house, renovating, decorating the place to getting married smoothly on the actual day, whilst juggling work... all within 10 months!

Fleur,

Wow! 10 months, I think that's incredible. You must be a very organised couple

Viv,
Maybe you can leave at 7am, go to your FH's house and have the tea for your FH's side of family, then church, then lunch then tea ceremony for your own side of the family? Just a suggestion.

Roidana,
I'm having my church wedding at 10am. Probably will ask guests to be seated at 9:45am. I thought that would be just nice cos I'm having a lunch right after church, around 12-12:30pm. Personally, I would be a grouchy guest if I had to wake up for 9am wedding. But that's just me. Haha!

About church flowers ... I'm going to volunteer with my church's flower ladies group. Taking the opportunity to see how floral arrangement is done. Will share some tips when I pick them up.

Minssy,
Saw your reply to someone on a VG thread. Could you please share your details on photographer and VG with me? I'm starting to look around for photography. Thanks in advance!

Thanks, Fleur! hmm.. it's quite steep huh? i dun hv to pay for June Florist's service at the hotel. Just that they happen to be the official florist for the hotel, so we are eligible for 10% discount if we want to top up for more elaborated floral deco or if we use them for church too.

I'll probably check out my $400 church florist first. will take if good.. sighh.. too bad the church has no other wedding couples on that day, so nobody to share cost with..

hi red & pink roses,

my PG is simon lee who is a catholic and is familiar with the catholic procedure. thats part of the reason why i engaged him. he is very good, professional and not that ex. u can call him at 9431 2228. can say minssy recommend one

my VG is raymond delon poh. his work is not those traditional predictable type. he will pass you his DVD samples and you see if you like. he is at 9769 9996.

viv: Yup.
316206.gif
I am a Chinese. Thankfully my parents are very easygoing. So they leave everything to hb and moi.

I agree with red&pink roses's suggestion. Leave the house at 7am, go to FH's place for tea ceremony then go to church for wedding at 11.30am.

Hi Minssy and Red & Pink Roses,
Ya, thanks! FH and I just have to be be more disciplined and do wedding or house stuff every weekend. Haha... Trust me, it was really every weekend, without fail, cos we even DIY some parts of the house ourselves.

Anyway, Minssy, can you share how much you are paying your PG and VG? Thanks!

HI Minssy, yeah, i realy hope that i wil be able to book the chapel at 9am on the date that we are looking at man... better start confirming my date fast...

Viv: For me (yes, i am chinese), i simple put it directly to my mum (also catholic) to meet in church. Planning to have the bridal car to fetch me and dad from my home. FH? his family will fetch him there.... My tea ceremony will be after the ceremony.... FH house, my house etc...

Hi Red&pinkroses, agreed that 10am is a comfortable timing, but i bet your FH and you will be so excited abt the day that you guys will wake up super early! hee..

hi fleur,

a... you PM me can? cos you cant accept PM...

hi roidana,

yes you must settle the date first before things will start flowing.. but of cos you must check the availability with the church...

Minssy,

Yup yup, currently still discussing over the precise date.
Mind sharing which father will be hosting your wedding mass?

hi roidana,

father tim.... actually if given the choice, i will pick fr alex... but well, its god's will i guess. when we went to church to look for a priest, fr tim was there so we spoke to him..

Roidana,
Yes, I'm sure I'll be awake early on that day. I'm sure I'll have mixed feelings of being excited about marriage and our new life together, and of being sad about 'leaving' my parents house. Sometimes I think about the latter and I just want to cry.

Viv,
Something else I thought about... I think some make-up artists ask for a higher fee if you require them to be at your house at wee hours of the morning. So if you have to leave at 7am, then maybe she must there at 5am?

Minssy,

Fr Alex was the spritual director at my EE recently. I would also like him to be at my wedding, but the timing's not right, so ....

Red&pinkroses,
Think on the brighter side, you can go back to visit your parents constantly, not to worry, unless of course, you are marrying abroad?

hi roidana,

he was the priest in charge for the EE and he's really cool.. i even had the thought of changing and fr alex said its not that nice.. i understand so i shall think of it as god's will

Can I just check if you have any recommendations for hymns to pick during the church wedding? My church wedding is in 1 month's time and I haven't finalised that yet!

hi babyblues,

if you are not particular, just take existing samples and copy directly. i am sure you would have some samples rite?

hi babyblues,

if you are not particular, just take existing samples and copy directly. i am sure you would have some samples rite?

minssy,

yup.. agreed that he's pretty cool abt things. The best thing is, his sharings did not turn my FH off... (My FH is someone who does not believe in religion totaly and doesnt like to listen to sharings in relation to religion!). I was so relieved...

redpinkroses,
ya MUA has to reach my place early in the morning if i hv to leave by 7am . Poor MUA...

My mum knows that I am not supposed to follow all this '7am' stuff (she knows i'm stubborn abt Christian principle) so i think she'll let me hv it my way. The more she pushes the more i'll resist.. she did say "If you don't follow this timing, later if you hv problem in your marriage, don't say it's my fault ah" hehhee... I told her " i'm sure there are plenty of couples who divorce even after following the 'good' day and 'good' timing stuff"

Anyway, it's her belief so she shouldn't impose it on me, just as i never force her to go to church :P Sigh... on the other hand, i don't want to make her unhappy also. She already objected to me not having PS, not having dinner, not having chinese course, not taking 'taiwanese' bridal, spending unnecessarily on real wedding cake hehee..

hi roidana,

cool.. fr alex is young but he sure can relate to us

hi babyblues,

if you are not a catholic and your FH/hubby is, then let him pick the songs that he is familar with. its only 2 or 3 songs the max... not that tough.

hi viv,

sounds like you are going to have a simple wedding?

Roidana,
Thanks... well, I'll try very hard to visit my parents often and regularly after marriage.

Viv,
I've spoken to my parish priest about similar (kinda private story
) situation in the past and his advice was very sensible. Basically, he told me that one has to be sensitive to others' beliefs and it need not necesssarily mean that one has compromised one's beliefs by being sensitive to others. I felt better after speaking to him.

Hi Viv,
Your story sounds familar... My mom was also like this, even though she is catholic... She was picking on the choice of psalms that we chose.... Initially, I was quite upset as the mass booklet were already printed. Anyway, she was ok after my FH spoke to her nicely, addressing her concerns. *Phew*.

Hi Red&Pink ROses,
I think it is normal to feel that way about leaving the parents. Initially, I felt quite sad about it too.

Hi Minssy,
I have activated my PM already. Thanks!