Catholic Brides

hiya greentea ... i was just tokin to mi rcia coordinator yest ... for help in gettin choir ... told her i intend to do it onli 6 mths before the weddin ... she said she know of one couple who are gettin married in 2010 and is already workin on their mass booklet ... so i guess it really depends on individuals

-___-||| so early...
it think for church stuffs we can plan 6mths ahead la. hey i thought the priest wil assist on mass booklet stuffs like that?
oh yah, i have settled on Blessed Sacrament Church @ commonwealth
10am mass. i think it;s the best time liao since we can decide the time ourselves hor.not too early :P

haha i actually did up my mass booklet six months in advance, just after meeting my priest for the pre-nup. He should help you.. if not there are lots of resources around, sure can find.

as a choir head i think couples shd ask their choirs 4-6 mths in advance.. as some plan their schedules quarterly, or in bz periods like easter and xmas, can tell the couples early if they can't sing for their weddings..

my church florist and deco i settled 9 mths in advance haha.. kiasu.

wow... 9mths in advance! anyway it's better than plan everything in last minute loh. u'll get stressed up by that time! guess i should also start kiasu liao =P
oh ya i should make appt with the priest or he will call u to meet him one?

hehehe so tnk i better get started too ... got florist, choir, mass booklet and logistics to settle ...

mtg with priest -- tink tat one will b done after u hav went for MPC/EE ba

yes the meeting with yr priest shd be after your EE/MPC.. but you should initiate the appt with him, he might have too many more impt other things on his mind or that he's busy with.

Hi Raine, excited? 50 days... its coming! 5 priests! wow... one holy mass alright : )

they say that wedding mass booklets take up alot of time, so its best to do it as soon as possible. things that can be done earlier, do first cos as months draw nearer, got more impt things to do

something to share with you all.

Rasel is having their wedding workshop on 10 april. those who has not found a caterer for wedding can consider attending. I'm going for session 2, anyone wants to join me there? can register through their website www.rasel.com.sg

**We can meet at entrance of ACM** [email protected]

I'm a non catholic but my FH is one. After reading thru the threads, i realise many of ur prepares ur booklet early in advance and oso engages pianist, choir etc. Or even sing songs urself?

I haven attended any church wedding b4 n is totally blur of the procedures n any prior arrangement needed.

Does most church wedding requires a pianist, choir etc? Izzit wierd to do without one?

Can somebody pls send me a sample of a mass booklet dat comes togt with a full mass?

Am i required to sing??

Where can i select the songs to put inside the booklet?

Pls guide me!!! Many thanks!

Hi estatic bride,

When is ur wedding? Have you talked to a priest?? From what I know, some priest are quite strict on wedding mass. If one is a Catholic and the other is not, usually it'll jus be a wedding service instead of a full mass.

Also, it'll be compulsory to go through MPC or EE. (At least for my priest)

Lastly, nope, you dun have to sing. The hymes that you want to select can be found in the hyme books which you can borrow from church.

Good luck

hi estatic bride, i've sent u samples for mass booklets liao =) got for full mass and wedding services so u no need to panic...

Most church weddings have at least a soloist and organist to help make the singing sound "louder" =)

you may also wanna look at geting a caterer for a reception after your wedding (unless you're having a lunch straight after the mass), floral decorations for the church wedding (if u can get the contact details of the couple before or after you, see if they wanna share for the decorations =P)

Have you chosen a church, priest and date yet? I take it you're also going to be ROM-ing on your wedding day. You will need to make sure (if that's the case) that the priest celebrating your mass/service is also someone who can sign on your wedding cert as the JP

Good luck! =)

Hi Nok Nok,

Thank you for ur reply. The priest only told us to go for the so call 3D2N camp first and after which, he will interview us again. So initally i tot there's nothing much we shud do now till i read this forum which kinda freak me out.

The priest let us choose whether we wan a full mass or just a service but my bf opt for the full one since he is a catholic n his relatives will prefer it too.. But the option is still open la...hehe

Btw, my wedding is on 21st Nov..Did u hire any violin or piano player for ur wedding? n when is urs?

Hi Andrea,

Thanks for the booklets. When's ur big day? Mine on 6th Feb. 10am mass. Have you spoken with the church regarding deco, choir? I haven started on anything yet...

hi jasmin, mine is 12th dec, 10am mass also =)

Decor I'm using my own florist, choir i'm using their organist Mabel who is helping me find a soloist to sing as well =) Youth choir a bit out of my budget

Aside from that, just need to settle your songs, readings, caterer...other stuff like ang bao boa, guest book all this can settle later =P

Hi Andrea,

Congrats on your upcoming big day.... Youth choir? the one on Sat mass? How much do they charge? Im not doing catering after my mass cos i need to rush back home for tea ceremony. Will it look bad??

youth choir i think charges $1k? (or is it more by now)

This I can't say coz I am having a lunch reception but is it poss to at least provide a light reception? If you really can't have, then at least make sure your guests are aware, lest they expect one & dun have =)

Hi Andrea,
please share with me samples of mass booklets as well. Thanks.

Any idea where to engage the choir huh? My fiance and I don't participate on in church activities. Just go for Sunday mass... heehee...
Will be holding in Church of St Teresa. Anyone knows how's the choirs there? And the price range?

Hi irene, u got mail =)

Incidentally, u can ask the church secretary if they know about the charges/choirs typically used for masses.

If u dun mind soloists, philip lye is quite popular to sing at weddings. I wanted to engage him for my own wedding, but timing not suitable and this was around Feb when I asked him...10 mths before my wedding got ppl chope him at other timings at other churches liao...hahaha

Hi Andrea,

Thanks for sharing the info. 1k for the choir??? So exp... Maybe I can consider hiring Philip Lye as you mentioned. But I haven of him b4. I dun have much Catholics frens and haven been to a wedding mass. Any web that I can view/ hear his works? And do u know if we have to attend mass again on Sunday since our Sat wedding mass already have communion?

hi jasmin, u try can mabel also...i'm using her for my own wedding...unfortunately he has no website...

i not sure about sun mass though

Hi Noknok & Greentea...i'll be at the rasel workshop as well. the 6pm slot! looking forward to it!

I have the rasel buffet menus if you gals are interested.

Hi love.or.money.. see u there.. their menu is online right?? Think no hurry lah.. they sure give us a copy there one.

Sobe.. I received mine already. maybe can call them and ask??

I am attending Q2 MPC!! See u on 19 Apr..

TIme flies, It feels just yesterday when i registered for MPC in Jan. Now already Apr.. Wow.. sooon.. will be walking down the aisle..

Hi all & Love or money: i also registered for Rasel wedding and received confirmation from them. also 6pm session de. hehe... wow looks like many of us here are attending! how to recognize u gals leh? :P

How to recognise ah.. all wear a cross.. it's good friday afterall.

btw, my choir agreed to sing for me leh.. but I dunno how much to give them. They jus ask for a big ang pao. how?? I'm part of the choir too. can someone advise me how much to give.

Hi all, need advice from you all... normally church wedding will be in the morning rite? isit good to have it in the afternoon? Coz parents prefer to be in the morning le..
Now i'm thinking whether to have church in the morning then lunch reception, or church at 3pm then proceed to hotel for dinner... which one sounds better leh?

Hi Greentea,
Mine is at 4pm.
Reason being my sister's one is kind of rush(afternoon mass). It also depend on the time your HTB comes to fetch u. So if you start ur day early, then after all the time spend on he fetch u then go back to his place then go back to urs.
So for me is I don't have a banquet so I guess it kind of good timing

Hi femme,
my budget is ard $500+. But it depends on the flowers you choose too. I got some quotations is ard $1k+. Way out of my budget so... Try to look ard then compare the price.

hmmm... coz parents always think that wedding should start from morning ma. haha.. my schedule will be -- church @ 10am, then lunch @ hotel, then tea ceremony @ hotel, then finish everything by 4pm.
Now i'm thinking maybe i can do church @ 3pm, then go hotel for tea ceremony, then dinner @ hotel... which sounds better le? isit normal to have wedding mass in the afternoon? seldom rite..

Greentea -> Mine is at 2pm...banquet held on different day so having a late lunch/high tea buffet thereafter. Haha...with my kind of timing, it seems it's more like late lunch/tea/early dinner -- all in one! :P

Spoke to my mum bout the tea ceremony before booking the church...she wants it to be after the wedding mass and timing doesn't matter even if it's the evening. 'Cos the alternative for me could've been 9.30am mass followed by brunch then tea ceremony -- but this would mean that my friends who work on Sat will not be able to join in the church celebrations!

Hi i am just curious, anyone holding their church wedding on Sunday? Cause i saw the notice in my church that there are no weddings to be held on Sunday.. So I wonder how those couple who already set the wedding date on Sunday?

sella: ya most church dun do wedding on sunday, if it must be on sunday, it shall be wedding service only. that's wat my church told me

irene & sobe: looks like mass in the afternoon quite normal huh. hmm.. sobe, u r right, our frens who work on saturday can attend the event if church in the afternoon
and also it wont be that rush lo...