Catholic Brides

fss

Have anyone used Wendi, the St Teresa's church florist?
Just need some feedback for me to confirm her services!
Met up with her today. According to her, her usual package is $800-1000. As mine is a weekday wedding, and im very much working within a tight budget (wats new!) - I will be using her still as i like it that she is familiar with the church, but at a price of $500. So example, instead of four big altar arrangements, I only have two. No standing heartshape floral stands etc. Basically simple, but not sparse (i hope! im keeping the faith!).

roomfulofstars

Thanks FSS!

juztea

Hello, I want to be Venus Bride too. Can anyone share package? Also, anyone had experience with St Mary's of Angels? It seems weird, I just contacted the admin office, and tables and chairs have to be rented from a specific vendor. How about those free chairs and tables from the wedding caterer.

So strange please help!

neona

Anita, to wait till end of the year seems long. I cant get a peace of mind until i book the church and priest - the 2 most important things. The rest, can wait. ha. Maybe u wanna consider another church?

Andrea - thks! Seems like Philip Lye would be a good choice and helps my budget too

jadeyu

Hi only, go to the Venus JB thread. U'll find more info there.. a few of us here are there..

Anita, CSI and FSS,
thanx for the info.. agree the deco in the pic very sweet.. can do it ourself?

FSS, totally agree with what you say!! haha.. simply lost and clueless... i got Fr Cary fr Holy Cross. Having dinner at Sentosa... so go straight in after church..

anita, i book the church in the beginning of this year too.. though slowly took my time to get the priest.. hehe..

Btw, anyone not engaging/ did not engage choir for church wedding?would it be very weird.. i think i've asked myself this question umpteen times... sigh..

anyta

Hi neona, yes i agree, i do not have a peace of mine. hahaha! tom i'm going to the church to look for the parish priest. *cross fingers*

sher02

Hello Everyone,

Newbie and glad to know I'll be able to get some help from all of you!

My fiance and I live in Australia. He's Australian and a catholic and we'll be having our wedding in Singapore. We've never been to a church in Singapore and I'm not a catholic as well so I'm lost with which church to use and which priest!

My concern is since we don't live in Singapore, there won't be many people coming to the wedding and I'll walk in to a half empty church!

Any recommendations for a small and nice church? Somewhere in the east or city will be perfect!

suwaiwai

Hi Andrea/Charmaine,
Checked with Fr Vaz and he said secular songs not allowed. Think Jmi's right, the music has to be instrumental/classical. So its back to the drawing brd for me! :p

anyta

how long after securing a church slot and priest do we pay for the church booking/reception facilities? how long before the wedding?

krystal80

anita, i paid mine within a few weeks of booking the slot because my church only confirms the booking upon receipt of payment.

So check with your church secretary as to what's the arrangement there

Sherling, you can try Cathedral of Good Shepherd, Church of Sacred Heart, St Peter and Paul...but just a warning, 2 of these churches have no aircon =P But they're located around the city area =) I think that u need to go for either EE or MPC before your wedding date here in Spore...best to check with the priest when you book the church =)

natalie_diana

I am very lost I am the only Catholic in my family and my the other half is non-catholic.

I am the only one planning for the wedding I am not sure what I have miss out.

The following I have prepare already:

-- Went for MPC

-- Book the Church Venue

-- Have the Pre-Nupture with the priest.

-- Book my wedding bands.

What else i need to do for my Church wedding?

I am doing alone only pls help my wedding is this sept 2008

krystal80

Hi diana =)

1. Church decorations?
2. Choir/soloist/musical accompaniments?
3. Mass booklets/powerpoint slides?
4. Church catering?
5. Readers/ushers/receptionists?
6. Church rehearsal?
7. (If you're signing ROM cert at church), is the priest a licenced JP?
8. Witnesses for the signing of the church register?
9. Unity candles (if you want)
10. Music/songs for the mass/service?
11. Passages for the readings?

I ttthhiinnkkkkk that's pretty much it =P

man_d

jus wanna ask..
if it is rude to change celebrant?

Cause i have approached a priest to be my celebrant but he has been really busy and when I met up with him, he said he have another wedding on that day and might not be able to make it. He will get back to me at a later time

I am kinda worried and want to go ahead to find another priest to be my celebrant. Will it be rude towards the first priest?

papaya123

mandy, i think if the priest is unable to confirm with u now, u can look for another priest first? and if the first priest is able to make it, they can co-celebrate the mass?

will it be better?

soulsista

Hey Ladies,

Can i just check with yall, b4 u selected philip lye, do u go down to his office to meet him to hear him sing, or give him the hymns to hear how he play? or u just call him say book him and thats it, see him on wedding day?

and how much does philip lye charge?

Abit lost on this..

necrosis

soulsista,

for philip, all i did was call him,
talk to him abt my date and time.
he checks his schedule, and confirmed over the phone.
he says at a later date, nearer AD, we'll go over to his place and do a hymn selection with him....
AD then pay him in full.
his charges are $120 as far as i know. ;)

andrea,
could you please send me a mass booklet sample too?
or samples? am clueless too...

neona

Anyone has had their wedding reception at St Theresa? I just called to enquire about having a tentage to extend the canteen but the secretary said NO?? But I was there a couple of wks back and saw a couple doing it! I have tentatively 250 guests on that day, I want the elders to sit comfortably lor but its not possible without an extension. Can anyone confirm if the secretary is right? Sigh

natalie_diana

Oh thanks andrea,

Thats alot i have not done yet and i only left with less than 3 months to do all that.

For my the other half is not Catholic so there will be only service and not a Mass.

I still need to print the booklet but i do not know what to put inside the booklet because my family they are not christian they do not attend church so they have not been through the order of the Mass. Can anyone teach me?

I have the following already

--- priest a licenced JP
--- Witnesses for the signing of the church register
--- passage for reading

I did not want decoration or catering in church jus very simple one that is my papa , mama , bro , sis and godma and me my other half and his mum only mah.

catering service will come after the wedding outside the church.

BTW for the choir, reader the church will help me find? will the parish secretary help me with all the procedures? I am not marrying in the Church I normally attend coz it is under renovation during my wedding mah so over there the ppl all I dun know one mah.

How much will it cost just the whole wedding itself?

krystal80

diana, i can pass u some sample mass booklets if u like...

choir reader all this, usually ppl get their frens to do...if u dun wanna pay for a choir, u can get a soloist like phillip lye to do

readers maybe u can get friends who don't mind reading? =) U can arrange for a church rehearsal so everyone knows wat to do =)

The church wedding costs varies depending on how much u spend on decor, the choir/soloist, decorations, mass booklets etc =)

natalie_diana

Hi Andrea,

Oh please Can show me some sample for the Mass Booklets :)

I might call phillip lye to see if he is avaliable anot on that day.

Oh no i try calling my RCIA Friends to read but I am not sure they will freak out anot because we all are Very New Catholics mah all still not very steady yet hehe...

Wow i am not sure can dun decorate mah hehe...

papaya123

diana, which church are u getting married in? some churches have their own florist, and i think the church will look nicer with some deco around. perhaps you can consider some simple deco?

krystal80

hi diana =) no worries, just gimme ur email or u can send me a PM =)

to be honest, the only thing u need as a reader is guts to stand there n read =P Heh heh...

decorations to be honest are optional n my fren had hers without decoration...=) i mean esp since ur having only a few ppl there =) but u always could tie some ribbons around the pews if u like =)

natalie_diana

Hi Andrea I have PM you.

Humm... My Godma she will help me with the reading.

but my wedding is on weekdays my godma say that will be very difficult as ppl are working n studying no Altar Boys or Choirs there.

krystal80

diana, i email you liao =)

that's good that she said she'll help with the readings...that's really sweet of her =)

As for altar boys, check with the priest if need in the first place...=)

elfrushi

Hi Diana

For my wedding in risen christ,I enquired with them after being referred by church secretary & they told me that the altar flowers are usually up on sat mornings, for the weekend masses. They said if I am ok with their normal weekend floral deco, I do not have to pay them further to specially do up flowers for the wedding mass.

I decided that I will make do with the floral deco that they put up. I just spent a small sum on the pew deco.

ocean_blue

Hi Anita,

Yes, it's fine to wear strapless gowns. Of course, don't appear in gowns with your boobs half exposed or back that is so low till almost everything's revealed, if u catch my drift. Still have to give reverance afterall, you are standing on Holy ground.

chanll

Hi All, I'm a 30/05/09 Bride.

My church is St Anne's at SK. My hubby and i have spoken to Father Kenny and he is available on our wedding day. Hence we will be going down with our form to submit to him. We have also booked for our Marriage course in either Sept or Nov this year.

My hubby was baptised while Father Richard Ambrose was still st St Anne's and i really miss him at St Anne.

Well just to check if you guys were asked to pay $200 to use the church for the wedding? My sis did her wedding at St Anne too but was not asked to pay for it. We ask another church at Hougang and was told by the sec that it was the instruction by the Bishop.

We were upset initially cos we do not understand why would we need to pay to use the church when we want to be blessed for our wedding which we should as catholics. So after knowing it, no choice loh.

We were also told church choir is $100 and also have to pay a deposit of $200 incase if we dirty the church and it will be forfit for cleaning the church up.

Anyone care to share your cost for usage of the church?

graciie23

Anyone kind folks who has been to EE can advise the following? These may sound silly to some, but I'd like to know what I'll be expecting, rather than get a surprise:

- Is the room air-conditioned or chilly in the night?

- How many girls are sharing the same room?

- Are we allowed to wear bermudas (both guy & girl) and flip flops (for the daily sessions, I don't mean the Sunday mass)?

- What sort of breakfast, lunch and dinner are served?

- Do we really have to turn in early (like lights out...think along the line of school camp) coz we are late sleepers?

anyta

Hi Lorraine, I will be getting married in St Anne's too in Sept 09 and have asked Fr Richards to be our celebrant.

I didn't know initially that I had to submit the form personally to the secretary and I just dropped it in the box outside the secretary's office as she wasn't in.

When I checked with her if my date has been blocked she said no and that i should pass the form personally to her and asked me to do the form again and get Fr Richards to call the parish priest of St Anne's.

I let Fr Richards know and he took the form frm me and said he'l settle it. Am very grateful!

I wasnt informed by the sec of how much we are suppose to give for the church/renting of facilities/choir etc. When asked, she was curt and said there's still a long time to the wedding.

i'm kinda worried, do let me know when you place the deposit. when you submit the form or closer to the wedding day. thanks!

krystal80

gracie, the room is air-conditioned but u can make a compromise with ur room-mate about wat temp to put it at...

it's 2 ppl to a room (both for the girls n guys)

My hubby and I wore berms and sandals with straps since we had to wear for masses anyway but i think I saw some couples wearing birkies and stuff

The meals are catered i think

There is a lights out (I think) and it's good if you can follow it coz you'll wake up quite early and it's quite a tiring weekend so best to get as much rest as poss...

Lorraine, I paid $150 to use the church and canteen. Some other churches ask for more than that...

graciie23

Thanks Andrea! I'll know what to pack for the weekend!

Lorraine: I'll be getting married in Holy Fam. On the wedding prep checklist, I'll need to give a love offering of $200 (min) to the Church. Take it as a donation to the Church.

krystal80

gracie, no worries =)
U should be getting (if not have gotten) a note from one of the presenting couples for EE, so u can actually check with them for more info =)

graciie23

Hi raspberriez91, my EE is this coming weekend. Didn't hear from Gwen what to pack, so thought I'll just ask for advice here from couples who have attended

necrosis

hi gracies,
remember to bring a jacket, the seminar room can get chilly.

just wear casual clothes, something comfy.
sandals are fine.

bathrooms are shared and down the corridor, so bring shower items in a small bag.

there is a basin in the room tho, so toothbrush etc can put in the room.
;)
enjoy.

food is prepared by other couples who are volunteers.

chanll

As what i know chucrch w/o aircon is at a lower fee and church with is higher which is ard $200.

Anita, i wanted Fr Richards to be our celebrant too but hesitated cos of the hassle. Like Fr Richards have to travel here and there.

Fr Richards is always that helpful, he was the celebrant of my sis's wedding and my hubby's baptism so we wanted him to do our wedding too.

Care of share how you asked Fr Richards? Maybe i should do it too. Guess we were all very impressed and touched with what Fr Richards have done when he was at St Annes. He have always been in our hearts.

anyta

Hi Lorraine, my fiance and i work near science park in west coast. i accompany him to attend RCIA in holy cross (near work!) as he's non-catholic and Fr Richards conducts the programme there. That's when we asked him. Thanks for yr email btw! =)

krystal80

Hi madelyn, I'm a SFX bride! hahaha =) it's $150 for the church and the canteen...you can download the form from the SFX website but booking is only confirmed when payment is made =)

and will send you the mass booklet samples =)

Lorraine, I don't think it's about whether the church is aircon or not =) It really depends on the parish priest...coz I heard of some churches charging $200 deposit to use the church which will be refunded if nothing happens and another $200 on top of that to book the chapel...some charge $500 just to use the chapel...so it really depends on your parish =)