Catholic Brides

kitty_li

hi jessi,

nothing different. probably just 2 things:-
(1) instead of just signing in the church's register (to show that you got married in that church), you'll have to sign the ROM cert as well. Sign 2 things instead of 1.
(2) you'll need a priest who's a licensed solemniser for your mass/service. If you have ROM-ed already prior to your mass/service, the priest need not be a licensed solemniser.

that's all I know. hehs...

kyrieleison

Thanks so much! Yah think the way i asked Fr was unclear.
Heheh.. anyway this form is supposed to be printed out by us for Fr. So it's my fault for not realising it. hee we've met Fr last Sat already but luckily i realised it before we collect the certs from ROM next Tues.

bbstars

hii, gals...
i'm getting married in SFX next April.

Can someone advise me on the floral decor for church? any recommendation?

baihuayou

I have a question here and hope to get some advice.
Is there a difference between confirmation course n RCIA? I'm a non-Catholic and my husband is a borned Catholic. He has yet to get confirmed. We are having a Church Wedding and the priest wanted my husband to get confirmed first. We are abit lost now as we do not know which church to approach for my husband confirmation. Our wedding is in July 2007.

Can anyone advice please?
Thank you...

lyons

hi bear, I'll prob get an outside florist but if you wish to use SFX's florist, you can approach the secretariat. She will be able to give you the contacts of the church florist.

hi baihuayou, if I"m not wrong, RCIA's for non-catholics who want to be catholics. But for your husband, I'm not sure if he can go for RCIA. Maybe you can ask your priest or your church for help as to where to get confirmed. better do it now cos it may take some time.

moontwig

Hi baihuayou,

There's a difference bet the two. RCIA is for non-Catholics wishing to be baptised and enter the Catholic Church. The confirmation course is for your husband. Although he has gone through baptism, he has yet to go through what we call the Sacrament of Confirmation (usually carried out during our youth). That's the 'course' your priest spoke about.

You will need to ask around to see which Church is planning to conduct an adult confirmation class. From what I know, the course is short. But you need to check around. You can try www.veritas.org.sg which is the official website of the Catholic Archdiocese. It will have lots of info that can help you. You can also ask your husband to call his own parish to check on their schedule as a start.

lyons

hi ben! Nice to see you here
you can go online and register with ROM first, then closer to the wedding day, collect the certs from ROM, pass to priest. Then the signing will be during mass

hi ben,

if you wish to 'get married' in church, then the solemnisation will be in the church by a priest directly.. as per bride, you can register first. ROM will give you a date to collect the documents...

hazuki

Hi all, if u wanna rom first, u can rom then collect the cert on ur ad in church. but marriage cert will be signed by Justice of peace, not ur priest... unless u need to get hse, i suggest u dun rom seperately. best is collect empty cert n sign during mass so that ur priest is ur JOP. n have to get married church because u must sign church registrar. Comfirmation course is 1yr course to assure that u wanna confirm urself as a catholic. must confirmed then can marry otherwise not really considered as catholic... the 7 steps: baptism, confession, communion, confirmation, marriage, ________, death rites... I forgot 1. hehe.

jklim4642

petrina, your info is not very correct. there is no need to get confirmed as a catholic to get married in church and to sign on the church registrar. I am a non-catholic. but i married my HB in a catholic church 2 weeks ago & we signed in the church registrar.

jklim4642

the church will recognise this inter-faith marriage of the catholic member as the one and only marriage. only death will part the couple of interfaith.

eg, a cathoilc can rom at the registry with a catholic/non-catholic. but this marriage will not be recognised & the church will still treat the catholic as unmarried. the church will only recognise the marriage held at a catholic church (irregardless if the couple rom first or not prior to that)

babyfifi

petrina, the missing one is "annoiting of the sick".

Diamond, i presume your hubby is a Catholic who has already been confirmed. For baihuayou's case, we are talking about her husband who has not been confirmed. She is also non-catholic.

I don't think that there are any churches who allow the wedding to be held in the church if both parties are non-catholics. The confirmation requirement,I'm not sure if it's for all churches or depends on the priest only.

jklim4642

petrina, i used SFX. booking of the church AND canteen cost $150. 200 copies of the booklets, i did myself. the church will not do that for you. unity candles, we bought them for 20 plus. deco i used my own outside florist (which charges me $350) and i shared the cost with another couple. SFX florist's quote is $500. choir, i approached the church organist who brought her own soloist. the latter has a very good voice which many of my guests praised. her fees are by way of APs. SFX's youth choir's rate for 2007 is $1k.

jklim4642

The florist i used is:
The Red Petals Florist
50 East Coast Rd
#01-08 Roxy Sq S(428769)

It has a website which shows the wedding packages it offers.

I got the unity candles from this christian bookshop next to the catholic church along east coast road.

petrina, unity candles are not a must. some priests do not allow that also as my priest told us that is practiced in America not in Rome. H/w, my priest is very chinchye, he let us do what we want. also lighting of the unity candles need not be after signing the registrar. ours were not. for us, after signing the registrar, the priest presented us with the ROM cert & we marched out.

skinnybeany

hi petrina & diamond,

tks for the info.

i guess it's better for me to check with the priest before deciding to get the candle or not ;)

kitty_li

hey Junie, yap, better check with the priest regarding the unity candle...coz some priests say the candle is not part of the liturgy. The essence (and most important bit) of the wedding mass / service is the Rite of Marriage. So, some priests will prefer to do away with the candle.

Blessed Christmas gals!

cornwall

I had my wedding on 4th Nov and I just wanted to pop back and say a BIG thanks to all, esp, Minssy + CSI Kitty, for your inputs.

Everything on that day went quite smoothly and my guests commented that it was a quaint & memorable celebration.

A blessed Xmas to all and peace..

hi cst fan & CG,

it great to see you here! marry christmas to you and to the gals here too!

hi CG,

you're welcome..
thanks so much for remembering me.. i'm flattered.. kekeke...

kitty_li

Hey CG,
You're welcome! Not sure how much I've helped also lah...hehs...
Really happy to hear that you wedding went well!
Me just back from honeymoon...in time for Christmas! 1st Christmas as a Mrs. hahaha...next comes CNY. :p hahaha...

benceltay

I understand that there will be no mass if one of us is not catholic just a service.....anyone knows? how is it?

e.g. if my church wedding is on 7 july, do I need to wait for 3 months before then can sign up online then wait for ROM to ask me collect or??

anyone can sell me her mass booklet....?

Flowers at S$350 is very ex rite?

was thinking to DIY le...think it will be alot cheaper?

just decorate the seats only rite? and whatelse?

Thanks alot

hi ben,

1) yes a service is recommended. however, there were cases that full mass was conducted, so its priest dependent.

2) ROM requires u to apply 3 mths before. in your case, you may apply online after 7 april. collection of documents is usually done abt 3 days before your marriage date. then u just have to pass the docs to your priest.

3) SELL? no. u can ask for references and change accordingly based on individual preferences. there are guidelines as to what can be changed.

4) $350 is cheap. standard average is about $500. but of cos this depends on the florist you are engaging and the type of flowers you are looking at.

5) sure. DIY if you have time. but as a groom, i doubt you have time in the morning of your AD or even the eve to do such minor stuff. leave it to your helpers if you insist. else to save trouble, just engage a florist.

6) usually, there are standard stuff in a floral package.
- altar
- 20 pews
- 2 stands
- reception

There are LOTSA stuff to be done for a catholic marriage. Since your AD is so far away, i suggest u take some time to read thru this thread and jot down notes...

kitty_li

hey Minssy, heehee...it's sure quiet in here, esp with the Catholic BTB 2007 thread.
hahaha. think we can move on to another thread liaoz...hahahahaha...

hi csi fan,

hahhah! yah lor.. they are so active somemore.. but after a while, everybody will be asking the same questions and the cycle repeats again... hahahahhah.

oh.. then we can just chat here and this shall be ex-catholics brides thread. hahhahah

okie for a start, how's marriage life?

kitty_li

hahahahaha...yah manz...

well, married life...
getting used to it. hehs. There's so much clothes to wash (machine doing it), house work to do...aiyoh. I miss my old bed! I brought my pillow, bolster and blanket to the new home. Hubby said "why dun get new ones?". I said "save $$". Actually it's more coz I miss them...hahahaha. I must be mad. Aiyoh, I haven't been updating my multiply also. haiz. lazy...

hi csi fan,

tell me abt it man. i wash clothes every 2 days lor. its like today i wash, tomorrow i fold. then the next day i wash then next next day i fold etc etc etc.

yah lor yah lor.. then got no photos to see also.. i am waiting leh.. hee...

hazuki

minssy, ur wedding is full mass or service only? btw, how's phiip? one man show does it look pathetic? i also getting him but i have my reserves abt it.

hi petrina,

actually our culture here is that a 'hi' is lovely

mine was a weekday service. attendance was less than 100 but i do not think its pathetic though philip was singing solo. he got such a wonderful voice! dun worry abt it.

cookiebunny

Hi Minssy,

Just want to say thanks for all your help, sending the wedding booklets and recommending Simon. He's been great, we cant wait to see his pictures!

Our wedding went well, everyone enjoy themselves at the wedding

kitty_li

hi minssy,
aiyoh...1000+ photos leh...I dunno how to upload. hahaha...too many siah...ok, will try. I have it on Yahoo photos though...maybe I can link it to there. hehs...

hi cookie bunny,

thanks so much for remembering me... and its cool that things went on well! yes simon is fantastic! how i miss my AD. hahahah

hi petrina,

haahha. no offence okie?

hi csi fan,

of cos u gotta choose like 200 - 300 that kind.. repeat shots dun have to show one lah.. that one is waste of time... hahaaah

oooh... can i see you photos? kekeke..