Catholic Advice Needed Please

oraia

hi steff,

yup u are correct.

yes, am aware there's a thread on quintet... it certainly is getting busy!

buffy

Hi Oraia:

Hee... Yah, was thinking of a white shirt 'cos its not too casual and not to hot. Ok, ok. If you can make it for the 12.30 mass, look out for a petite girl in white shirt lah.
I most likely will be in jeans because jeans is my staple for weekend lah!

Which reminds me, I still have not gone to the piety corner to buy the book...

oraia

hi buffy,

aiyah, tmr i can't go for the 1230 mass liao, cos me have a family lunch.

but "jia you" ok? hehehe... dun nervous, i'm sure u'll be just fine.

ssmilezz

<font color="0000ff">Buffy ~ wow, going thru your Rites of Acceptance on Sunday (gee, that's today!!!), since i can't be there to support you....i just wanna say JIA YOU JIA YOU..stay calm don't get too kan cheong yah? *grins*

Any idea what's the time lag between the 1st and 2nd appt? Since u say your first appt is this month end mah, so i'm trying to figure out when is the earliest for us to enjoy your pics. LOL!

Oraia ~ yup, no dinner for me! woo hooo!! One less headache for me. LOL!! Yah, i hate taking MRT from one end to the other. Nevermind mah, u can get your lao gong to drive u around next time. Do ya have a driving licence?

buffy

<font color="F0099">
Morning ladies!

Hee... I made it without any glitch! Hee... Thanks for all the well wishes! We had to stand outside the church until Fr Phillip asked the community if they are willing to welcome us and then we entered the church. It was soooooo HOT outside!!!!!! But the ceremony went beautifully and when the church applauded to welcome us at the end of the ceremony, I was so touched. Hee... So silly hor?

Ssmilezz: Oh, I also dunno what is the time lag leh because we only get the next appt date on that day. Hee... U shound so excited. Dun have too high hopes for my gown lah, should be quite simple because I am so small in size so cant take a lot of designs.

buffy

<font color="0077aa">Oh ladies,
Wanna ask about 2 things.

One - EE. It seems like HB and I cant make it for MPC 'cos he will be away for a 3 week reservist for the Aug intake and if it is in Oct., it is too close to my AD so I dare not register for that intake.

It is a weekend thing right? Anyone can give me more information and share personal experience?

2 - Any of you ladies have had co-celebrants for your church wedding? We will most likely have it at St Mary's but ILs want another priest to be involved in the wedding. Fr Phillip has agreed to having this other priest as a co celebrant and I was just wondering abt the role of the co-celebrant. Will he do any readings or something?

Thanks!</font>

steff

Hu Buffy,

I had a co-celebrant for my wediing. During the rehearsal, my main celebrant told me which part he will let the co-celebrant conduct.

I had a Wedding Mass and so the co-celebrant started his part from Eucharistic Prayer, followed by the Memorial Prayer &amp; Nuptial Prayers. He helped out in giving me the wine when it was Communion.

Hope this helps you.

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Buffy ~ glad to know all went well.
hee..must be quite emotional right?
small size = simple gown arh? U sure?? anyway, i'm just excited for you lor...cos my AD still a long way mah. hehehee..

EE arh? well, i've not gone for mine so can't say much leh..but if u need to book for EE, better hurry cos i think the weekends available is now for Jul! yup, it's a weekend from Fri 8pm to Sun 6pm or so.
Stay-in thingy. What else u wanna know arh?

steff ~ hello!!!
I finally went down to SFX Maundy Thurs. I quite like the small and cosy environment. hehee..

crankset

Hey all,

Long time no post here. Glad to see everyone's running along smoothly. They way you guys post like machine gun like that, one time post so many, it's hard to keep up haha.

buffy

<font color="99CCCC">Steff:
Thanks for the information. Mine is going to be a service wedding because I am not a catholic; am still undergoing RCIA.
Any idea on how it works if that's the case?

<font color="996699">Ssmilezz:
Hi girl! Yah, was quite an emotional experience for me! hahahaahahahaaa... Hmmm... I really am quite petite so I could not take big ball skirts and some designs because the design is bigger than me! So looked as if I got overwhelmed lor.
Hee... U are more excited than me!

I spoke to the coordinator for MPC again and I think we should be able to squeeze in for Oct. Need to confirm with HB.

buffy

Hi Celtricia,

Hee... pai sei for the confusions. Originally, we had wanted to sign up for MPC, July/Aug intake. However, HB has a 3week reservist then so "no cant do".

Tat's how we ended up considering EE. I just learnt from Ssmilezz that EE starts from Fri thru Sun. HB is in the events line and it would be virtually impossible for him to disappear from work for so many days over a weekend and the next few months are his peak periods.

So, we are back to consider MPC again and in Oct. Because at the very worst, it is only half day each time so it is manageable for him. I am just worried about not having enough time to run other errands esp the last day of MPC is on 28 Nov which is one month before my AD...
But it is OK. I believe everything will turn out fine!

<font color="ff6000">Oh, anyone else has any experience with co-celebrant besides Steff for a Service Wedding, even one you attended?</font>

celtricia

Hi Buffy...

oic.. nw i understand.. heehee.. so nw u r considering abt MPC again? oki.. but for MPC u haf to sacrifice most of ur weekends for 6 weeks right.. isn't dat worst?

buffy

Hi Celtricia,

Oh, no lah. MPC takes up only about 4 - 5 hours each time so it is only half a day for each session unlike for EE where it will be from Fri night thru Sun evening. Thus, HB will still be able to work around this schedule lor.

lenz

ya lor..mpc only for sunday mornings.. so got rest of the sun aftern and evening go pak tor or settle wedding stuff.. there's enough time.. no worries!

and it feels good to start your sundays on a romantic and loving mood. ;)

buffy

<font color="119911">Hi Lenz:
Hee... U so funny and such a romantic. Somehow I did not think of it the same way as you. Hee... But now that u mentioned...

U went for MPC too? How was it? Any feedback?

How's everyone's preparations?

oraia

hi buffy,

am back!

glad to hear tt ur rite of acceptance went great!
u're so cute hehehe...
when u take ur pics of ur gown, i oso wan to peek kae?
hehehe. *kaypo*

ssmilezz~ me dun hv driving license leh. very lazy. but am planning to start learning mabbe early nx year. ;p hehe.

lenz

hi buffy, u still there? sori i did not see yr msg sent on apr 22..hehe.. ;)

and yep, i went for mpc lor... almost every sunday for 6 weeks.. except one week which was held on a weekday at a couple's place.

my hubby and i enjoyed the mpc course alot.. find tt the 6 weeks of course was very meaningful. do go for it.. u will enjoy it too! ;)

bin

Hello to all Catholic brides!

Hi little_ger,
I've been to EE about 5 yrs ago and will be attending the aug MPC too. Looking foward to it!

Hi buffy,
I've attended several weddings with co-celebrants, usu the co-celeb gives the sermon (if not the main-celeb) or juz read part of the order of mass. Think i'll hv at least 2 priests to co-celebrate mine too

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Buffy ~ hey! are u around? i've not "heard" from you for quite some time already. hehee..

I just finished my EE weekend 1 week ago.
It was tiring but i think definately very memorable. hehee....</font>

buffy

ssmilezz,
Pai sei, quite busy recently so I have sorta MIA-ed for some time. Ohhhhh... U went for EE huh? How was it? We have enrolled for MPC Oct intake liao.

Lenz:
Thanks for the encouraging words on MPC. I think I will enjoy it as much as you guys will. I mean, these courses have been around for so many years so they must be helpful to a large extent.

Oraia:
Hee... Yah lor, my rite of acceptance went quite well. But I gan cheong spider lor!
Ai yah, I tell u hor, I am very lame leh. I forgot to bring my digicam for my gown fitting over the weekend! Sigh... I am a bit sotong sometimes lor. Nevermind lah, will share after the next one lah.

Bin:
Ohhh.... Thanks for the information. For mine, it will be a service wedding leh, then how huh? Sigh... This one is another headache...
Wah, you attended EE and now, MPC huh? Thats good!

Little_ger:
Oh... I wanted to apply for Aug intake but cant leh cos HB is on reservist then. Sigh...

How's everyone's preparations?

lenz

i think it's ok.. cuz MPC is a totally diff experience from EE.
i think it's good for couples to go for such retreat once in a while.. to improve communication and relationship..cuz sometimes we may juz unknowingly take each other for granted. I intend to go for marriage encounter too!

zara

i'm new to this thread, was previously on the quintet thread (hi oraia), but have been really busy the last few mths to post anything...

both fh and i are catholics and are thinking of holding our wedding at our lady of perpetual succour in siglap next may. i would like to ask if anyone knows the rough cost involved in a catholic church wedding e.g. paying the church, reception etc? cos we're trying to work out a budget.

btw, what are your views on not having a wedding dinner? we're thinking of skipping that part and using the money saved to spend on the other parts like the church wedding (which is the most impt part to us after all), honeymoon, and of course our home in 2006 etc.

care to share ur views? thanks! =)

oraia

hi zara

long time no see!

i think charges for catholic church weddings differ fr church to church... u can call up OLPS to ask exactly how much u need to pay for rental etc.

if ur parents/ inlaws don't mind, i think doing away with a banquet is great!
how lucky to be able to do that!

zara

hi oraia,

u think so? fh would rather not have a dinner but he wouldn't mind one too. both sets of parents are catholics too so as long as we get married in church, they're fine without the dinner. i'm just undecided maybe cos having a dinner seems to be a typical thing, and without it, not sure if it'll feel like something's missing from the wedding day. (and there's no chance for me to wear evening gown... hehe...)

btw, did you attend ee or mpc? i'm wondering which to attend, what's the difference... sorry, a bit lazy to read thru all the previous posts again. =) according to the ee website, it says that ee is more suited for pple who feel more comfortable with private discussions within the couple, while mpc requires sharing in small groups of a few couples?

oraia

hi zara,

how about a later church ceremony in the afternoon, and after that,a more informal buffet dinner style for close friends and relatives instead, where u can mingle freely? then u can wear ur EG.
hehe.

i attended the EE. just a couple of weekends ago. a really memorable experience.
EE is just one weekend, the schedule is quite tight, and rather tiring, but quite fruitful.
MPC i think spans over 6 weeks. depends on ur and ur fh's preference i guess. and yes, EE is mostly about pte sharing and discussions betw the couple.

little_a

Hi zara, i am oso attending mass at OLPS. Maybe u should sign up for the MPC course, there will be a catholic couple guiding you. Mayb u could seek advise from them.

zara

hi little_ger,

i'm attending mass at olps too tho that's not my parish. olps is fh's parish, mine is blessed sacrament in queensway.

presently we haven't decided whether to attend ee or mpc cos of our schedules. we're normally quite busy during the yr except for periods like jun and nov/dec... hehe... guess u can tell our jobs... =) so ee may be better since it's only one weekend, while mpc stretches 6 weeks and there're only 4 sessions a yr so less choice... still thinking...

hi oraia,

thanks for your suggestion. may consider that. but my church reception will have to be for all that i invite to the church, it's only nice since they came for the mass, so can't be for close frens and family only. well, i'm just getting as much ideas as i can now before deciding. =)

little_a

zara, u getting married at OLPS? hmm, I am wif the sunday choir. If u need a choir for the church wedding, let me know.

bin

Hi Buffy,
If I'm not mistaken, wedding mass and service are quite similar, u'll still hv readings and sermon. Check with ur priest on tt...

Hi oraia,
I'm probably KS, hee...

It's been 5 yrs since I attended EE with FH and that was b4 he went away to further his studies, ie. he's been away for ~5 yrs. Tot it'll be good for us to spend some time focusing on each other at the MPC, ironing out issues we seldom share... And since we've run out of places to go on weekends, and heard there'll be homework to do aft each session, think it'll help kill some time

Hi zara,
Me &amp; FH are doing away with dinner, having lunch banquet immed aft mass instead. This way, we cld invite more ppl at abt the same cost as buffet + dinner. Moreover, it'll only be half-day affair while we expect better turnout and most imptly, we want our guests to witness our church wedding

If you like, you can hv a lunch buffet in church aft mass, think OLPS shd hv ample space to sit your guests. We wanted tt initially, but tot my church hall is too small (Risen Christ).

ssmilezz

<font color="0077aa">Buffy ~ aiyoh...u so sotong. Forgot to bring your cam eh? hehee...must remind u the next time round yah? so we have nice pics to see. hehee...

Zara ~ I went for EE too and yes, it was really quite tight and well, u get to meet all sorts of diff couples there.
But most ppl were very friendly.

I am just having a church service followed by a reception (tea ceremony). There will be no dinner for me and as long as both parents are fine with the idea, i don't see why not!

For me, FH's parents only had a church wedding and no dinner too! haha..so they are open abt the idea.

His parents went for Marriage Encounter too and found it very meaningful. His mom could still recall their ME weekend no and was going on and on abt their weekend when we were chatting abt our own EE experience with them. LOL! </font>

bebee

newbie here... actually from Oct04 Brides..
I am a Catholic, but BF is not.. however we had fun attending the MPC course few months back..
anyone was from that batch?
think we considered graduated in March heehee

I used to attend Holy Cross whenn young, and my parents now attend St Mary's... however, I am shifting to Katong end and have attended Holy Fam and Queen of Peace

I will be starting to plan my wedding mass, booklets and songs... if anyone can help?? keke

oraia

hi bin,

orrh.. i see.. hehehe... very cute leh you, use the "homework" from MPC to kill time ah? hahahaha...

hi buffy!!!!

alamak!! u forgot to bring camera ah?? hehe.. blur blur lah you.. :p when's ur nx fitting? we shout loud loud here and remind u hor. :p

hi bebe,

welcome!
so which church will u be holding ur wedding at?

buffy

hee... Oraia/Smilezz, yah lor, I am so pai sei leh. Can forget digicam. I only remembered when I reached the bus stop; when I was at the gate of my apt, I was telling HB "Hmmm... I hv this nagging feeling that I hv forgotten something." Then I realised what that "something" is when I got to the bus-stop.
Think I am too "gan cheong" liao. Hahahahahaahahahaaa...

Frankly, the gowns are ok. EG and WG are still quite bare and there were only "samples" of the detailing being pinned on. No beading or detailing sewn on yet, they basically wanted me to feel ok before proceeding to sew them on.

Bin:
Oh... I have just spoken to the priest this morning. The difference is with a mass wedding, it will have the eucharist "celebration" and thus, the communion.

Oh, how's everyone's preparations coming along? Anyone gg for fittings/PS? Hee... If so, must share share experience and tips lah!

zara

hi little_ger,
which sunday mass choir are u with? and thanks for offering, i'll definitely let you know if i need a choir for my wedding.

hi bin,
i'm actually quite glad to hear that someone else is doing away with the dinner too. makes it less unusual. hehe... you said lunch banquet, means it at a hotel or restaurant? i was considering that but was faced with the problem of getting everyone from the church to the lunch place, esp those that dun drive. how are you doing your arrangements?

Hi ssmilezz,
Yeah another one with just the church wedding. pple are telling me that i'm lucky not to have parents or in-laws who insist on the dinner... it's beginning to seem lucky to be able to toy with the option of doing away with it...

bin

Good a.m. ladies!!

zara, i'll hv lunch at a resturant, Imperium @ Ngee Ann City. Going to pay the deposit tmr. We did think of the prob wif transport too, as most of my parents' friends in the bible study group are old ppl. Likely to charter a bus (one-way) and will request friends with cars to offer car pool. We even tot of travelling with the guests in the bus with our photographer and prob do away with bridal car. Can even take some pix which are "different"

Our preference for lunch is oso becos most of our friends are married with kids (we r one of the last few) and u'll expect most having to leave early or even not turn up if it's dinner. Aft lunch, they cld still stay on to chat while we proceed with the tea ceremony at the resturant. zara, when is your AD?

Buffy, you leh? When's your AD? I'm going to select my gowns on 19/6, PS in Sept. Looking forward, but I'm taking thing easy...maybe becos lao liao...
yawn.gif

buffy

Hi Bin,

Oh, my AD is on 30 Dec this year. U leh? U only mentioned yr PS and gown selection but i think i did not read anything abt the AD. Hee... I may be sala lah!

My PS will be some time in mid Aug.

Ai yoh, why u say until you so old?

oraia

hi buffy!

hehe.. no need pai seh lah.
u very cute leh. hehehe.. must be too excited to go for ur fitting that's why forget lor

the nx time u go must rem kae? hehehe. when u go nx time will have all the beadings and details sewn on liao is it?

bin

Hee...i'm quite old oredi lah. Oops! Tot I mentioned my AD. See? Becoming forgetful...hehe.. Mine is 2 days aft urs!! Yup...1/1/05. It's the feast day of Mary, Mother of God.

So u MTM your WG &amp; EG? I'll juz go for the OTR ones.

Hi ladies, hv any of you attended NFP (Natural Family Planning)? Any idea when we shd schedule it in our wedding prep??

buffy

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Oraia,

Hee... I think it was part excited and also partly because I slept very late the night before and so I was a little "stoned" when I woke up and rushed down for the fitting.

How's things for you? How are your preparations? Oh, the next fitting for WG is almost like perhaps 80% done with the beads and detailing? Then it will just be minor modifications I believe. For the EG and my Tea Dress, the next session will be the 2nd fitting only (I confirmed on the EG and tea dress much later than the WG) so the details will be pinned on for "show" and confirmation.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Bin:
Eh, dun keep saying you are old lah. Hee... Wah wah wa, yr AD is so close to mine! Think we can "panick" together come Dec! Hahahahahahahaaaa...

Yah, my gowns are MTM. I decided to MTM because I did not come across an OTR pc that I like to take enuff it as a whole. Always 30% from here, 30% from there, etc. Hahahahahahahahaaaa... I have eccentric taste lah. Which BS you gg to?

Cant help you on the NFP but I am aware that the church does organise this. The church I am gg to, St Mary, if I am not wrong has this leh. Incidentally, she is also a sponsor for RCIA. She was a Cathechist for many rounds and this time round, she decided to be a sponsor and ask her HB to take over as the Cathechist.</font>

zara

hi bin,

my AD is 23 may 05... should be sticking with this unless something comes up, like my grandma (who's not catholic but buddhist) violently objects...

oh yeah, so which bridal shops did u gals go to? should we compile a list of the AD and bridal shops etc of all the ladies here?

oraia

hi buffy,

heeee... u veri cute leh!
when are u gg for ur nxt fitting ah? i forgot liao. did i ask u before? :p *old liao*

for me ah... am trying to take baby steps twds doing more wedding stuff lor. v lazy leh :p my gown still not "formed" yet. hahahaha. will only choose design in mid june to MTM.
so don't worry lah... u're quite fast liao... even tho' ur wedding is 2 weeks after mine!

oraia

hi bin,

hehehe.... me oso "old" lah.. same same club hor? :p *high 5* hehe.

we also signed up for the NFP talk when we went for EE. wondering whether someone will call us or something...
i don't suppose there's a "fixed" or "ideal" time u need to go... go when ur schedules are free i suppose

buffy

Hi Oraia,

Oh, next fitting would be end of this month or early next month I think. I am also not sure, think they will call me.

I dun think you are too late lah. Just that for my case, I am having 3 MTM measure items - WG, EG &amp; Tea Dress so it may take a longer time, thus, I started earlier lor. Some more I am so indecisive. How? It is almost mid June now so you gonna start your designing? Exciting right?

celtricia

Hi ladies...

Seems like all of u r so well prepared for your weddings.. PS, fittings, choosing of gowns...*phewz* so much things to do..

For me, still lazing ard not doing anything abt my wedding except the booking of the church whh is at St. Mary's as well as the priest.. heh..

Nw only busy wif my hse reno.. haiz..

Tink zara is right.. we should complie a list of details as to whh bs, church, AD, etc.. so dat no one claims to be "old" hahaha..