Carlton Hotel

Sori to trouble u again.

I will like to ask u for the bride & groom family & relatives stand u placed at your reception table? U use card board ah?

Btw, can u share with me ur emcee speech & your agreement contract (this one is for morning sabotating) Can show me & let me have a rough ideas? Thanks.

Hi Chipdale,

I used A4 paper to do and fold into three but used a cardboard to put on the bottom so that it will stand up.

Err my emcee speech is no longer with me liao :p...deleted it away already but I think you can do a search in this forum cos I got mine from here and modified....as for agreement contract for morning sabo...I don't have one leh....my sabo all is makan one.....kekeke

Oic. Then i will do it myself then. My art & craft is very poor one. Hehehe.

It's ok. I will look for it & modify.

Ok, it's all makan for ur hubby. Then he must be suffering tat morning. Kekeke. Anyway, thanks.

Hi Chipdale,

Heehee my arts fail one.....I just use powerpoint to do it up and then trial and erorr...kekeke

He suffer? Was still wondering how come so good life....eat those things that he don't mind one... hahaha

Hi all....

I did intend to hold my wedding at carlton initially even my sister told me that they have bad experience with them during their last meet up with the coordinator last time by not being punctual (late by 0.5hr) on the appointment time hope no one here got the same Banquet coordinator by the name A**il..in carlton..heard that the PIC
is assigned to different PIC by groom surname...

Incident encountered before even meet up:

1st call to Carlton on Sat: a coordinator said he is not incharge based on my HTB surname and suggested A**il will meet us Monday at 7pm base on her schedule she is free that day

Monday receive call from A**il at 3pm: Can't meet us suggest to meet us on Thursday

Thursday receive call from another coordinator: Mention that A**il on MC will call us tomorrow to fix another appointment

Until now already 4 days still no call from them...I really doubt their sincerity even before I sign up with them...lost confidence..with them liao...

Hope I din dampen Carlton BTB mood..but do ensure you follow up with them consistantly..I think not all Coordinator are like that.. ; )

Is it?Then i also need to do it again & again. Haiii... Hehehe.

Oh! So he din suffer on AD? Even though he has eaten sour,sweet,bitter,spicy foods. Kekeke.
Btw, did u engage VG? If yes, must have captured the best & funny moments for ur AD.

Hi Twinklestar,
Probably it's really based on individual co-ordinator. Sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with them.

Hi Chipdale,
heehee, just trial and error lah...still got time...

Heehee he really never "suffer" much lah....just that he's perspiring away badly cos it was quite warm there and the whole sabo thingy lasted 45 mins. kekeke.
Yeah, had a VG and when we look back at the video, it was very funny kekeke

hi gelaine, care to share with me on the price of the table Carlton quoted u?

I spoke to one of their sales person on mon and they informed me the price shown on 2006 package is not applicable for 2007 wedding, even if we sign with them this yr. they will charge an addtional of $30 nett/table.

what the perks that u wanted but already listed for wedding in 2007? hee..

Ya lor,i still have time to try here & there. Hehehe.
Ur jie meis sabo him for ard 45mins. Then he must be perspiring alot as the weather is hot.
Then u must be very anxious why he still have not get in hor. Kekeke.

Yeah, it's good to have VG, at least at video down those memorable & precious moments for us to see & keep as memories.

I also engage VG. Wanted to see how my hubby been sabo? Kekeke

Hi angie,

The prices we paid is indeed $30 on top of the 2006 prices.
We're okay with that coz Carlton only have one price increase per year whereas some hotels increases twice, second time during the later part of the yr. We are holding ours in Nov 2007, so we're comfortable with extra $30 lor.

Perks wise, i think it's better you talk to the coordinator to discuss lor. Go and view the place and talk to your coordinator in charge and if you comfy with them, then continue lor. If not also no point.
That's what i feel..

Hi Chipdale,
yeah and he's that kind that sweat easily....anxious?? abit lah...kekeke

Yeah, the video brings back memories and good for us who missed out the sabo part keke

I also think tat i will get anxious too.Sure,can't get to sleep the night b4 one.Kekeke.

Hope that everything will go on smoothly on my AD. I would want to enjoy the whole process.

thanks for ur info, geladine!

i'm going down to Carlton on this sat, hee, make an appt with Eunice (yes, because of my bf's surname). hopefully she is able to show us the bridal suite as well.

our tentative AD shuld be around late Sep or early Oct 07, hee, u booked real early. hot date?

Hi angie,

You spelled my name wrong... it's without the 'd'

Anyway... yeah i booked pretty early. It's quite a popular date according to Eunice. We've got the same coordinator.... heh... Eunice is not bad. What's ur hubby's surname?

If can take some photos of the bridal suite yeah? i dint get a chance to view them. Heh...

gelaine

opps, sorry, hehe.. typed too fast!

ya, so coincidence. his surname is Tang, what about your hubby?

not sure if we are bringing camera along though, but if we do, i will snap a few photos of the suite. actually i have been to one of the suite because of my friend's wedding last year, quite spacious!

hope that Eunice can show us around on that day.

Hi Chipdale,
Yeap you will.....for the food tasting, which dishes have you choose? Must try the mango duck if you have a chance...

my FH surname oso start wif T and our cordinator is Eunice too
....she seems like a young nice lady to me.....as for Axxxl we have meet up once wif her which was quite sometime ago...din really have a good impression of her...

I've just signed up my banqunet with Carlton tonight... Quite satisfied with the offered package... :-)
Do you gals have any comment abt this hotel? Can share share?? :-)
Nice to meet you gals here...

My AD will be on 23/Nov/06.

Hi Gelaine,
What is the meaning of you mentioned at your previous msg of Carlton assign coordinators by your hubby's surname.?? Is it meaning of there's a few co-ordinators? And my FH's surname is Lim. Then who will be our co-ordinator? I'm signing my package with April, is it meaning that my coordinator will be her also??

Hey Jennifer,

YEs whoever you signed ur package with means that the person is your coordinator lor.
That means April is your coordinator so anythign you will discuss with her.

Angie, My hubby's surname is Wui. Heh...

Hi Twinklestar,

Sorry to heard abt your bad experience...

Tonight I just met up with A**il, she told me that she was on MC from last Wed throughout the week... but her health is not tat good, cos she had "something like x-ma" (I forgot what's the term call), when she talks, she sounds breathless... In face, I feel she sounds rude and hush in the 1st place, but after when you know that her health condition, feel that she is very poor loh...

Btw, I think it is beeter that you do a constant follow up with her for your viewing appointment, just keep on calling her... even me, I had called her for a few times to look for her (is quite difficult to catch her)...

Wish to hear abt your gd news with Carlton :-)

Hehehe. Hope so.

My food tasting menu:

1.A combination of Shrimps Salad, Spring Roll, Soya Chicken, Suckling Pig & Jelly Fish
2.Sliced BBQ Duck With Mango
3.Deep-Fried Prawns coated with Mashed Taro
4.Fried Glutinous Rice with Dried Meat
5.Braised Broccoli & Straw Mushroom with Crabmeat
6.Steamed Sea Bass with Thai Sauce

Btw, did u manage to try whether is the sea bass taste nice in Thai Sauce or deep fried one?
What about the sharkfins? U took which one?

Hi Chipdale,

heehee I think my menu was similar to yours except that I had the ee-fu noodles instead and also i had the full course for 10 pax.
The sea bass in thai sauce is not bad but I only remember the mango duck cos it was something different

My hubby & I fid that these dishes look nice & presentable.

Oic,i prefer glutinous rice than ee-fu noodles.The noodles like very oily leh. Cos mostly,when we eat ee-fun noodle is oily one. Hehehe. (Only my own opinion)

Dun take it heart gals!

I took the mango duck is becos it's something special.

Hi Chipdale,
Yeah, but my mum prefer the noodles so we chose that...kekeke and rice was too filling towards the end of the dinner

Ok,i tried the rice in food tasting 1st, see whether which one is better. Might stick to rice.

Anyway, i dun have the chance to eat it on my AD.

Btw,just to check with u whether will they keep the banquet foods for us? can we request to ask them to heat the food for us?
Then before our dinner starts, we have pre-snack, rite? Can i know what is it? sandwiches?

Hi Chipdale,
Yeah, for me, AD I only ate the cold dish and nothing else...wahahha....

usually hotels will keep the banquet food for you but for Carlton, they actually told us in advance that they will not keep cos by the time they serve to us, it's cold and not nice already....so instead, they let us choose 2 main course + 2 drinks from the room service menu...kekeke....and the food is GOOD! For pre-snacks, I think we had the club sandwich but can't remember if we could choose cos I was doing my makeup then.....no mood to eat...kekeke

Ya lor,sure have no time to eat all the foods on AD. Never mind,as long as my guests are happy with the food & i will feel happy too.

Oic.So we can choose fm the menu what main course & drinks we wan, then order throu room service. I think by then,both of us will be very hungry liao, provided my hubby dun get drunk. Kekeke

Hi Serene & Chipdale: Roughly the foodtasting will arrange at how long before the AD dinner? Or we need to make the booking initiatlly ourselves?

Hi Jennifer,

It can be anytime you want......from 1 month away from AD etc.....You just have to call your co-ordinator and let them know....

Hi Serene:

Thanks for your info... I'll arrange it when my AD comes nearer...
From the previous messages reading, think the comment is quite good abt Carlton...
At least no need to worry too much la

Hi Jennifer,

No worries, Carlton is good in my own opinion and based on my own experience. Had a unforgettable dinner banquet there

hi, jennifer

I have just e-mailed my saleperson at carlton on the dishes we choosed. Perhaps you can send them an e-mail too on the dishes you wan and the date of food tasting first...

The chinese restaurant starts at 6.30pm so food tasting is done at 6.30pm or later and it is weekday..I have just confirmed our date of food tasting which is around 1 mth from our AD. My coordinator said can also 2 to 3weeks before AD but in my opinion, by then you will have a lot of things to handle so better arrange earlier.

hi, chipdale

how is your preparation? yours is on July, right?
I am doing the guest list and oh my.. it is so headache.. this guest cannot sit with this guest, etc etc..so the pillars in the ballroom are really a blessing in disguise.. can use the pillar to separate out those guests.. will you be showing your montage in the ballroom itself? I am getting rose petals for my march-in..how about you?

Hi,Jennifer

ya lor.. so better arrange early and confirm the dishes..your AD is in Nov so still got time. I guess you must be busy with other stuff like gown etc..

enjoy the process o ...

Hi Faintz,

Ya, mine is on 9-July.

Very excited & happy over it.

Ya lor, it's a headache planning for table arrangements. I will like to utilise every table, not to leave the table open w'out using them. Nw, busy writing cards.

I will be showing my MTV montage in the ballroom.Will u be showing ur morning express highlights?

Hehehe, i will also be using rose petals for my march-in. I will asking my hubby's niece & nephew to be our flower girl & page boy.
Btw, what colour theme u choose? Mine is oriental. What colours of roses did u use? Btw, when is ur AD?

Hi Faintz: Yap... u r right, at this moment I am busy for other stuff, heehee

Hi chipdale: Where you do your MTV montage?? can introduce to me??

Dear all: As for the poster printing... how long leadtime does the contractor need?? Cos need to prepare my softcopy of photo on time...

Hi Jennifer,

My BS will be doing the MTV montage free for me as i paid full amount of my wedding package.
Sori tat i can' help u on it. Prob,u may check with other gals here.

Hi Popie,
How are u? Busy with ur preps?

hi, chipdale

wa.. you writing cards already?? me still haven finalised the list yet.. AD is 25 jun 06.

i will pick oriental theme lor.. nicer.. what color table top you opt for? haven decide on the rose color.. how about you? me thinking of red but seems like the oriental theme already very red.. what do you say?

I am not showing our morning hightlights.. we wan a simple and sweet montage that will be showed outside the ballroom instead..

when is your food tasting? me doing it end of may.

hi, jennifer
oh ya.. got poster printing.. i am thinking of giving it a miss cos we have a guest book already.. any idea we can change to other things? better to give Jasvy at least two week ahead..

Hi Faintz,

My Hubby & I tied the ribbons onto the cards by ourselves. Save costs. Hehehe.

I choose baron colour for the table top. I will use red roses. But still deciding whether to have mixture of red & champange roses. What do u think? Will it be nice to have both colour roses?

I will having my food tasting dinner on 20-May.

Hi Faintz,

About the poster printer, I asked my co-ordinator during the negotiation of my package, that is it possible to rebate or x-chg something else if I dun want the poster, but she told me cannot x-chg or $$ rebate...
Me too, my bridal package already include signature book, which also cannot rebate or x-chgable....
May be you can still take the poster, frame it up & placed outside the ballroom, while using the signature book for your guest signature...

Anyone read the Carlton's advertisment in latest issue of Female Bride magazine??

Woundering is the additional perks stated in the advertisment is applied to all kind of packages??

I hear negative feedback on carlton service, is that so? Any comments?

Still considering whether to sign up with carlton or not.

Hey Jennifer,

You may want to contact my montage person at [email protected]

Anyway, addiitonal perks stated in the advert, i think not really everythign will be included. You will have to negotiate with Carlton lor... but also dependent on the number of tables you can commit lor. But dun worry lor. Carlton's package is very good and comprehensive to begin with. So you will be satisifed one lah. Heh...

Hey Adeline,
I think negative feedback exist in all hotels one... so you have to be open to them but dun let it affect your own judgement. Try fix an appt with Carlton and experience it yourself if you shortlist them lor... so far i'm quite satisfied with them.
And i've attended weddings there too and the food is good, service is not too bad too.
I think alot of times it depends on luck too.

we went to Carlton last sat, they didn't open up the whole ballroom because there is a function going on. so my bf didn't get to see how it looks like w/o the paritions.

for a start, not bad, they throw in the courtyard for our soleminsation, hee.
quite like the area because one can see the view of the surrounding buildings.
but because we are having a wkday dinner, so may need to pay for the food tasting.

went to see their bridal suite too, quite small but ok.

thk Eunice is really busy because she was late for almost 15 to 20 minutes.