Carlton Hotel

Hi Gelaine: thanks for your info... Becos I read the advert after a few days of paying the deposit... becos they were unwilling to give me free flow beer, whereby the advert indicated there is... so I am "suspucious" with it, haha
Overall, I quite satisfied with my banquet package (after hard negotiation)...

Hi Adeline: So far Carlton's service is ok, but the co-ordinators are very busy, so you need to be more initiate to look for them... By the way, Carlton's package is very comprehensive, as in its location & food... Do make appt with their co-ordinator to have a feel... By the way, when is your AD?? Heard that they will have wedding show in the end of this year... may be there will be more free perks by then.

Hi Angie: U so good, have the chance to take a look of the bridal suite... Too bad, 2 appts with them (1 viewing & 1 confirm my package), I still haev no chance to take a look, becos the rooms are full...
As for the food tasting, I think you can negotiate & more additional perks with them for free b4 confirming your package, even your AD is weekday... Becos I also negotiated many things for my weekday's package.
Btw, their co-ordinators seem very busy, I also waited them for abt 15 mins for my 2 appts, and they are quite difficult to reach also, heehee...

hi, chipdale

wa, your food tasting is earlier than me.. do give me feedback when you are back..

I am taking champaign color roses mixed with red cos I find it too red if take all red roses with oriental theme and somemore my VIP table clothes are also maroon, quite dark..

Hi, jennifer

ya, they can't exchange sth for the poster. I have checked. According to the printing in charge, they can take hard copy if you do not have a soft copy of the photo like us. Preferably, the two of you are small in the pic with nice background..

Hi Faintz:

I mean we can choose the flower's colour for the ballroom decoration??

I think it's better to providing the printing in-charge soft copy of photo, as I believe the printing will be more clearer...

hi, Chibi

thr roses colour can choose but only two or three colors to choose from.. so far, only have red and champange.

agree soft copy will be better but for us, we dun have soft copy so give them hard copy lor..

Hi, Gelaine

Are you fr Santiago thread as well?

HI all, for the brides who have booked with Carlton, how long did you taken to confirm your tentative booking if you did? I had a meeting with April a few weeks ago. When my FH called her back 1 week later, she said she doesnt remember my FH. Can we change coordinators? Thinking of calling the manager leh. What do you guys think?

HEy Stephanie,

Actually i think all coordinators are the same. Whether is it Carlton or others. Evn after you sign up with them, they may not rememeber your names too.
But after seeing them again, they should rememebr u lah... think coz they have too many couples already. So dun be too affected.

Anyway, tentative booking with Carlton is only for a week according to my coordinator. But me and hubby went to confirm after 2 days. Hah...

As for changing coordinators... if you not comfy, then maybe can request to change?

Hi Stephanie:
My co-ordinator is also April, basically they will only block the tentative booking for max. 1 week, if you are not confirmed with them... Regarding to the co-ordinator, I think Carlton assigned it according to your FH's surname. My co-ordinator is April too. I think you need to go down again to confirm your package (paying deposit) & negotiate perks with her. Last time when I wanted to confirm my package through phone, she also didn't remember what she said during my 1st viewing appt and she required me to go down again...

hmmm.. isnt it then very bad? we are comparing her with park royal's vincent. He was much better. she also din reply to emails when we emailed her to book a tentative date

actually dont really like their ballroom, but their perks cool and the plce convenient.Novotel ballroom seems pretty good. no pillars, but as you guys can see from the reviews of the hotel novotel, not much good comments

Hi Stephanie: Ok.... as for April, my comment is, she is a super busy person. If u are really need to confirm your banquent @ Carlton, the most effective method is to call her personally. And u need to be initiate also. As she may not returned your call even her colleague left her the message.
I think they overlook your e-mail, this also happened to other hotels too.

Hi Stephanie... yeah.. agree with what chibi say... go discuss with her personally and see how lor.

Carlton's package is really comprehensive and food is nice.

Hi Stephanie: I didn't go to Park Royal... Heehee. So far I only went to York Hotel, Le Meridan Hotel, Swiss Hotel Merchant Court & Carlton Hotel... As agree to Gelaine said, Carlton's package is very comprehensive as compare with other hotels that are near to town's area MRT station... No worry, go & discuss with April & negotiate more perks from her, heehee

Hey Stephanie,

YEap can negotiate the perks with her before signing the contract. But me and hubby din request for anything coz Carlton's package too comprehensive liao. Watever we wanted, all included in the 07 package.

As for other hotels, we only went down to Amara before. But din really like their attitude. WAs supposed to go down to PPR to meet Felicia but we decided Carlton in the end coz we both love it.
Seems like no other choices for us in our hearts... heh

Hi Stephanie: U will negotiate additional perks with April face to face before you paying the deposit... See what you need & what is the item that your package include...

Like you can request for extra one night of bridal suite, free flow of beer, free helpers room, thank you voucher, free food tasting, complimentary wine, etc. She will agree to your request depend on your wedding package.

the stuff is online.. heheh. the hardcopy with my FH. also, we did not get the 2007 package leh. if i am not wrong. i think 2007 got additional nite in the package.

i am confusing you arent I? checked with FH. the 2007 package not out yet apparently. we might be wrong.=) how many tables are u getting?

Hi Stephanie: Heehee, I'm confirming 23 tables during weekday... How abt u?? When are you going to have your wedding dinner? By the way, give her the min. no. of tables confirmation, becos later you can still add table but cannot reduce the no. of table once you confirmed the package.

Hi Stephanie,

Mine is confirmed in Nov 2007.
2007 package can be obtain from the coordinator when u meet them.
And yes, you should have more bargaining power since yours is weekend. But seriously, Carlton's package is so comprehensive i think also dun have alot of things to bargain for.
BTW their package is 28 tables min, so you dun really have to tell them how many tables till nearer your wedding date. As long as you have min 28 is ok.

Chibi,
You confirmed your tables liao? Coz i thought Carlton don't have a room for 23 tables or so. Their smaller ballroom if i remember correctly can only take 16 tables max and big ballroom is 28 tables min. That's why my friend forgo this hotel... so curious to find out from you.

Hi Gelaine: Yap, I have signed up my package with Carlton already. I'm taking Empress Room (the bigger one), weekday's dinner min no. of table is 23... Heehee
It may be a possibility to increase no. of table when the time coming nearer. If I'm not wrong, min. 28 tables is for weekend package.

Hi Stephanie: Although you are having 28 tables, I believe there's still a room for u to negotiate with the additional perks. No prblem one... Like u can ask for additional night stay for your helpers or parents, ask them to provide MC, etc. It's better 4 u to confirm with them 28 tables 1st, and when the time come nearer, add till 30 tables...

Hi all, can't remember how much is mine le... hah..contract is with my hubby. Eversince we paid for the deposit, we havent really thought much about it. Heh.

But i do know it's 7XX nett....

Steph... urs is a saturday right? Coz i think my min required is only 28 tables. For a sunday...
Have u already confirmed booking with Carlton? If not maybe you can consider PPR as well. Attended a function there and it was great! Service as well as food... and pricing also not too bad.
Though i personally have no regrets for Carlton... still pretty happy i made my choice.

Hi Stephanie: I see, $798 (weekend) is also applied in this year package... but in year 2006, min no. of table is 28

anyone printin the map of the hotel on the wedding cards?

i am thinking of just puttin in the small map together with the wedding card. would it be funny?

Serene - need your help.. is there any rehearsal before the AD that the Emcee runs thr the script? On AD, usually what time will the banquet officer meet up with the groom and committee members of the couple to instruct them what to do? Does the committee officer be doing the overseeing and giving cue to the emcee and couple throughout the dinner?

Hi Faintz,

no need to print the map. What I did was to request from Carlton.....and they proivded me with a small printout of the map which I can slot it in. They gave me the one that is usually given to guests of their hotel, so that they can find their way back.

My Banquet Manager of the day was Augustine and all I can give him is a GOOD thumbs up. They will let you know upon checking in what time to have a rehearsal, what time to get ready etc etc. He will also be around the whole night to ensure that the event is run smoothly and giving cues to the emcee and the overall co-ordinator from your side.

Rest assured gal!

Wolud like to know about the service from Carlton.. Heard -ve feedbacks on their service. Is that so? As for food i think should be alrite since its from Wah Lok.

Ade.

Hi Ade,

I feel Carlton's service is acceptable so far.
It depends on who is your assigned co-ordinator, which according to your husband's surname.

So far the comments in the forum is quite satisfied with Carlton's banqunet. As well as my sister in law, she had her wedding banquet @ Carlton b4, her comments abt Carlton is not bad.

I think it should not have problem, go ahead with it ba
Carlton's package is really very comprehensive...

If my AD is on end Nov, when will my co-ordinator start contact me for my banquet arrangement, i.e. food tasting, invitation card collection, etc.?

Hi Ade,
Personal experience with Carlton. Excellent! Enjoyed my preparation process as well as my AD with them!

Hi Chibi,
Actually, you can call them up for the cards already, if you don't mind the current patterns. You can also check with them if there will be any new cards pattern in the coming months before deciding......You can speak to your co-ordinator and get a time list from them, that way, you can work checking against it

Hi Chibi & serene,

Thanks.. Have already make appt with Eunice this friday to discuss for my AD next yr...

What else to ask for ah??

Ade.

Hi Adeline,
Basically I think Carlton's package is quite comprehensive...and also depending on what you want...eg...asking for an extra night at the bridal suite, 10 person food tasting, day room for helper etc...