Carlton Hotel

Hi i am new to this thread. Had shortlist Carlton cause it is in the city and not too crowded as in Orchard.
I just email carlton to check the date availability. May I check how is the size of ball room?

Hi Chris,
Have resent you the link

Hi Jewelmelody,
The Empress ballroom can fit up to 38-40 tables MAX but the more comfortable seating will be 34 to 35 tables

Hi serene,

Have received the photos tks a lot. Btw my AD is on 10 Oct 2006 but too bad that date is taken up =( Me thinking of either Le meriden or PLaza Park Royal as alternative. Do you all gals got any feedback on these hotel...worried about food and the hotel setting. Please advice. Tks

Hi serene,

Have received the photos tks a lot. Btw my AD is on 10 Oct 2006 but too bad that date is taken up =( Me thinking of either Le meriden or PLaza Park Royal as alternative. Do you all gals got any feedback on these hotel...worried about food and the hotel setting. Please advice. Tks

hi hi..
sorry sorry ermm guys who were asking for the pics from me..
was away for a while... ermm anyone still need it?
hi chris..ya i was thinking of le meridien and grand plaza also..hmm yea same kinda worries sigh..

Hi Chris,

No problem.
I am not sure about Le Meridien, except that their ballroom was renovated last half of 2005. As for Plaza Park Royal, heard the food is not bad. Another alternative within this budget range, you can check out Holiday Inn Park View.

Hi Froggie,

I will be having my dinner on 05nov06 at the esplanade ballroom,only having 13tables so i asked the banquet guy will it look too bare?He told me to come down this sun to have a look cause a real wedding was going on.If me and my fh is satisfied then we will sign the contract.Could you email me yr photos for me to take a look?My email add is [email protected].

Theres 1 thing i dont like abt carlton,i hate the wedding favours,not personlised at all anyway thats my only gripe & also the guy i lised with can't exchange the guest scroll to guest book which i prefer ay so many complaints of me ke ke

hi, chris

Errr.. holiday inn not bad ambience but the food so so only..heard that the chef is not in house so QC wise is not there.. dun know this change already or not.. u might want to check with them..

plaza park royal is somewhere near penisular plaza right? it has a nice exclusive receptionist area. how many tables you lookin at? the ballroom is kind of squeezy if 30tables.

hilton hotel is also good..

hi fainz,

Tks for your info. Me looking into 35 tables. Hilton think quite ex so neber enquire on the package.

Actually looking into other hotel like Merchant Court as well as orchid country club. So sad actually my idea hotel is Carlton with its good food, attractive price and nice ambience. But too bad... me welcom more suggestions.

Tks honestly I feel you all are more sweet and helpful than other channels.

Hi Chris,

No problem. Hilton if I am not wrong is about $700 per table range. Holiday Inn I only know the ambience is nice, but had some ok reviews there.....What about Crown Prince Hotel, Meritus Mandarin, Orchard Parade Hotel where they serve Tung Lok's food (VERY DELICIOUS cos my brother had his wedding there), Grand Plaza Park Royal @ Coleman Street etc?

Faintz,
Plaza Park Royal is at Beach Road.....the one near Penisular is Grand Plaza Park Royal....hehehe I always mixed them up last time too!

wow... dance floor... very interesting idea leh... but it's carpet flooring leh... will it be very difficult to glide? :P or u thinking of disco nite?

i think it will depends on how many table u having lor..

Hi Shihui,

I tot usually they put additional flooring on top of the carpet? some laminated floorboard thingy. :P Was thinking about a salsa night thingy. hehehehehe then can get all the couples to come out and dance. BUT FIRST, me and FH need to go for a crash course in salsa. hehehehehe

If i were to go for the min 28 tables... should have enough room for a dance floor lar hor. :P

Hi Assirac,

wow... salsa night.. will be fun..
u got alot of frens who dance? may need to check with them if they charge extra for the special arrangement.. :P

was thinking of learning salsa last year.. but gave up aft realising tt my hands and legs refused to coordinate during dance aerobics... :P

Hi shihui,

Have got a few frens who are frequent salsa dance clubs. others can just anyhow dance to the music lor. Doesn't really matter one right? heehehehe

Hi Chris,

I've been to the bridal fair at GPPR. The ballroom is quite nice, high ceiling, mirror decor, etc. I got to try their shark fin and noodles...tasted so-so only. I don't really like their bridal suite,found it a bit too small....

I remember their package price is also a tad higher than carlton. You may want to check out the prices first.

Hi Chris,

I've been to a wedding dinner at Crown a few years back, but it didn't leave a deep impression on me. Can't comment much, sorry ...

hi Assirac and Faintz,

tks for your info. Me went to crown Hotel today...find the coordinator not flexible at all...so sad hopefully everything will turn out fine for Plaza Park Royal tml

I went to Santiago to try on their ROM gowns. Fang-jie was really nice. I tried on about 8-9 Gowns ... She even took out some bridal gowns to let me try. In the end, I settled for a simple dress that I couldn't even fit into... wahahahah... too fat liaoz lar. Fang-Jie doing the alterations for me ... So need to go for 2nd fitting :P

Hi chipdale,
Thanks for the reassurance. I'm planning for my AD for 2007. Contacted Carlton and they got Eunice to contact me as she is my assigned coordinator according to my FH's surname.
Spoken to her on the phone and she didnt sound too friendly, so i was quite worried. But guess it's prob coz i havent met her in person.

Anyone knows if Carlton only have one wedding show? Coz i know some other hotels have 2 at times.

I know i'm being very kiasu to think of booking my AD now when it's gonna be in 2006. But really want to secure my date which is gonna be 18/03/07 (1 yr after my ROM) or a sunday in July 07. So worried that i can't get the date. I've more or less settled for Carlton...especially after seeing all the positive remarks from Serene and Shihui. Heh...

BTW, Serene and Shihui, mind giving me your emails if convenient? Have some personal questions to ask since you have gone through the event. Hope to get your help.

generally how's the rooms in Carlton? any big pillars to block the view? what can we usually negotiate for? we are meeting the coordinator on feb 5..just wanna get ready..

My co-ordinator is Kelvin so I do not have any dealings with Eunice or Jason, can't really advise.

Hi Gelaine,
Heehee no problem....my email is : [email protected]

Hi Red088,
There's a few pillars in the Empress room that would block out the view of selected tables but if you are not maximising the ballroom, you can actually ask Carlton to re-arrange the tables so that they will minimise the blockage. Basically Carlton's package is quite comprehensive, nothing much to bargain for except for an extra night stay at the bridal suite

Hi Rachael, my coordinator is Jason.. I was originally served by someone else but she left b4 my AD and Jason was assigned to me to replace her.. but Jason got reservice b4 my AD and Eunice was assigned to take over Jason. Find both of them okie..

Hi Gelaine, my email is [email protected]

what is the max and min for empress rooms? how's the food? have not heard anything about the food... do they throw in free projectors??

Hi Gelaine,

Have read that you are lookin for AD for yr 2007 but the "Tong SHu" for Yr 2007 is not out yet. How do you find a AD for 2007 then? Can advise? I am a bit upset as my younger sis is geeting married this 06 Oct 06 and i can't hold my customary till 4 mths later ard Feb 2007 but at the same time i want to settle my hotel venue first. I would really appreciate it if you could advise. Thanks ya!!! alternatively you can email me [email protected]

Hi crystal08,

You can actually seek a geomancer instead. They are able to calculate wedding dates for future years up to even 2015 i was told.

It seems that the size of the 2 ballrooms at Carlton are not quite suitable for me. Esplanade room can only take up to max 16 tables and Empress Room the min. is too big for me. If I have around 18 tables, how? Will the Wah Lok restaurant be able to accommodate?

Hi Crystal,

You can find a geomancer to get a date for 2007. I am also holding my AD in 2007. Meeting the geomancer this sunday. It cost $150 to get a date for 2007.

I find that Carlton package is quite comprehensive, really include alot of things. They even throw in free Solemnisation, which is really good.

Can anyone advise on what other perks I can ask from them?

hihi, can i just ask those who might have attended the past Carlton bridal show earlier this year? if u happen to, can anyone remember what's the brand /company for manicure/pedicure that was one of the participants at the fair? please email me if you know..
thanks...

I emailed Carlton my FH's surname but so many days still no reply from the person-in-charge. My FH's surname is Ng, anyone knows who will we come under?? How is he or she??