Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

Ha tlc, mine is like that. U know the optional upgrading package we have, we were given many options, like whether to instal the air-con, whether the floor change to parque, how many fan points, tiles for bathroom etc. So we opt for changing the tiles to bigger one like show house for the whole house, more fan and air-con points, bethroom tiles etc, only paid additional RM10k, total still less than RM300k.

Anne, skudai is v big estate ler...UTM is more future down, me at another side near another new town called Nusajaya, der got alot developemnt as Jas site, this two area got few same developer own land at west & east. Cos u not local, may not aware tat...if u notice Sg news u wil noe, many lompak happen der cos Sgrean like go der, got many supermarket, of course not say skudai dun hv lar just lesser, everywhere same...(no offend anyone ok) but Jas site is new residentail & is like higher class ppl stay, shld b ok, someore most JB property now all hv 24 hr security guard...for safety i refer to the estate area nearby not the residential itself

Jas, we can choose bank after make DP ah~ tok is during same time when we sign to buy, lucky u tell me... but how long we can choose our bank loan? some bank represent wil b der ask us sign on d spot when buy house

I'm not an Accountant lah .. failed in Maths too, ha ha ha

i didn't have any future planning when i had the intention in buying a house, i just tot to myself that i need to have an asset by the age of 25, so 'chun-chun', IOI came out with a project in Klang (my hometown, 15 mins from where i was staying in Shah Alam) and when i saw the price of RM125k, I was quite doubt on the land & location.
I drove down to the place by myself and found out that it's an ex-palm oil estate land, so not so bad and this place is very near to where most of my relatives are staying .. so, happy with the price and place, so bought it loh .. house is not big, about 1500sqft, but it's good enough for a small family. My parents wanted to get another house, also at my housing estate .. before knowing that I have to come to Singapore, I suggested to them to move into my house instead of using their money to get another house .. 15 years loan cost me about RM710.20 monthly ..

I don't have the regret of getting a bigger house as after got this one, then only i know that not only bigger house=bigger monthly installment but insurance also expensive, lawyer fee also more expensive, more raw materials involved for renovation .. ok ok, be thankful with what i have ..

Lk, we didn't opt for the air-con hor, as we think this one we buy cheaper. =>

But at least with the tiles all done, we save time and money on redoing them again. That's why not much reno is necessary lah...

tlc, where got high class. If u like then u can buy one lah... JB more luan, even my hubby Perling area also got robbery happen. So just have to be more careful when going out lor...

soly gals...almost 4get to ask tis as 2day keep send bout housing question...ok, need ur advice here - do u think bit shinny silver wif a line of crystal beads shoes instead of white color match well wif most white/ivory WG? it's cover toes shoes...

tlc, i think in terms of value for property..town area is still having better market for now and future. No offend lar..although I'm not local..I have alot of johorean colleagues. I personally don really like JB too coz it is quite messy but still think that since eraning S$ and spend in RM..it is a win-win situation ler.

About skudai, maybe I'm not that familiar to that place..I been there couple of times. Been to the town area for makan also. I find that the ratio of races, malay stands more.
When i see all these young malay hanging around..i will feel the place is quite unsafe liow..keke..this is my perception lor

susan, u are so independent! Bravo! and i really admire that you have finished paying your loan within such short time!

yeah.. u are right, bigger house means bigger expenses for everything...
if i didn't rmbr wrongly u are staying at bedok now right? you bgt together with ur hubby? 5rm?

jas... air con or no air con... ur house is really a gd buy lah.
Only think bad abt staying in msia is bad transportation... i always feel like a crippled everytime i go back jb... like no car = stay at home!

tlc, we paid the DP on the spot to confirm the unit that we like. Actually that was the 2nd day after we first visit the place. It was selling like hot cake and many have been sold. But the developer gave us 1 day to consider whether to take up. So next day my hubby went back again, with the cheque for DP and paid on the spot.

After that, we were given time to look for a banker. We don't have to go far, becos oredi many different banks set up booths outside the showhouse. => My hubby brought back the pamplets detailing the interests offerred by each banks. After that we shortlist a few, called up and meet up with the bankers, and gave them our income details. Then finally we chose OCBC...

The bank will then prepare the loan agreement for us to sign. And they will prepare some other legal documents to be forwarded to the lawyer.

Our lawyer meanwhile also prepare the S&P. Once ready they called us up and we went down and signed. The lawyer fees about RM3-4k.

tlc, haha, i also saw the type of shoes described by you! They very nice hor, but dun think match with the WG lei... EG more suitable...

yah...perling & tun aminah oso luan...i din find tat when schooling until heard fm JB town friends den i realize, haa..but i told dem, tat's where i stay der, so far ok ler...my site is surround by bukit indah, tmn sutera, part of skudai but more front end, most chinese stay but govt rules must build cheaper flat for bumiputra in every estate, so der's bit malay in each tmn...u noe lar...m'sia everywhere got malay den look like dirty like tampoi, lucky some estate is more chinese when more sgporean come invest.

Sunsnow, staying at a Bedok rental flat, 3-room only, just shifted late last year .. hubby just being transfered from M'sia to S'pore and I was being moved in year 2003 .. we're not a PR thus no CPF contribution, thus no property in Singapore. It's really not worth in paying that 'blind' interest rate which add no value, so paid up all loh ..

Actually buying a house in M'sia is quite easy .. like Jas said, when u got to a property office, most bankers will participate themselves there and u can choose one on the spot .. but as for my case, i sourced it out my own and developer gave me a 1 month period to feedback to them on my desired banker.

yah...perling & tun aminah oso luan...i din find tat when schooling until heard fm JB town friends den i realize, haa..but i told dem, tat's where i stay der, so far ok ler...my site is surround by bukit indah, tmn sutera, part of skudai but more front end, most chinese stay but govt rules must build cheaper flat for bumiputra in every estate, so der's bit malay in each tmn...u noe lar...m'sia everywhere got malay den look like dirty like tampoi, lucky some estate is more chinese when more sgporean come invest.

Susan, Jin check on the PR status liow?? I think he has to ring up ler..sometimes letter might lost on the way.

anne... i am planning for a minimalist concept, so don't need much reno.. probably build a walk-in wardrobe in master room, change kitchen cabinet and some painting bah.. that's the draft idea lah... but who knows when meet ID or contractor they will suggest this and that...
the floor is already white ceramic tiles which is what i have always wanted.

marilyn, is Jeff ok? when is the report coming out? hope he is just doing fine without any further test or specialist advise needed.

i wrote an email in and still asked us to wait till the 3rd month, no news then only make complaints .. he actually hand-delivered the docs.

sunsnow, that's right. when u need the ID..it will become more and more. When i got my house..i also thinking of minimal too..but end up i'm doing the whole house except kitcken

spent a lot of hard earn money on that..but ok lar..after that u get a fresh look..very shiok

Susan, then no choice lor..wait and see the outcome. pray hard for that before ur bb pop..ok?
Last time we usually got it within a month. maybe the procedure change again..very sickening ler

Sunsnow, yalah...act i oso not so like JB, oopss..shld b m'sia n more used Sg life, but for my hubby carer sake, invest in Jb lor...for me m'sia tranport, shopping (except KL) & govt/bank service really poor & v impolite...mayb too get used sg SMILE service liao...good thing is back jb more relax got big house n gib car, gather out wif my gangs, cheaper stuff after convert lar...

Anne, mayb the area u mention is near Tampoi, where fm main rd u can see lot Malay, mostly along main rd malay like hv small stall der..tat's our country lor!
M'sia every part got mah, the way u see is outside, if go inside tmn suppose wil b beter...tat's y going out need more careful. City Sq outside got lot modern malay youngster lepak, me even think now malay more fashion like Sg liao as they din wear tudung n wear more 'in' n makeup nicely...

act, dun say malay, estate more chinese oso high dangerous as it's who ppl target, like more sgporean stay more lompak. Malay = pencuri, chinese = pelompak....ppl claim chinese do more bigger business like dadah... tat's wat i heard lar

sunsnow, i engaged the ID company intro by friend.
Their workmanship is good..I'm a fussy person also pleased with their service. Everything is up to our expectation. but I din get them to do all the works coz some like aircon trunking and aircon supply they r more expensive that what i can get fr other source. And I also go direct to order my laminated flooring. ID just the main contractor.

Ya Susan, sometimes they may not be as efficient as we thot, and the rules keep changing too. So better always call up and check. Ur hubby apply, do u apply too?

The other time we went to EPF centre in JB. Surprised by their efficiency and technology. My boss went there b4 too, and kept praising them when he came back!

anne, how come u left out kitchen not reno? Thot that is the area most money to throw in as the cabinets cost a bomb oredi...

tlc, luckily my site is exempted for having to build low cost houses/flats, else scared also... Haha, think we all a bit racist hor... Malay/India=Crime? Actually most are quite nice one lah...

Sunsnow, u can control by telling ID ur basic requirement, set ur priority on kitchen 1st...if u willing invest more, den ur house wil hv a theme concept, basically reno most on kitchen n bedroom wardrobe/living hall. See quotation 1st, some may no need add much den can hv whole new house instead kitchen oly...rather than later on u need re-design to add in extra thing, they charges more since not reno at one go, topup more... sure u wil enjoy when u move in ur new theme house

jas...u sure dun hv cheaper flat? den ur tmn really more class...u noe 5 class tmn sutera rite? even it oso hv...normally they r built after almost all terrace houses completed n it not really indicate in plan. ur developer is same as mount austin, mayb they can build in same land under them but not must in each tmn bah...

Jas, my kitchen cabinet looks brand new after we clean up properly..the surface still as shine. Just that i don really like the colour they put up..but my ID scold me when I told him to design kitcken for me. He said what for I waste at least $5k and how often I cook..aiyoo..
So ok lar..I save up the money first..since now I don really cook a lot..and it is all well equip for me to cook too. Maybe my next house I'll do the kitchen that i like lar.

sunsnow, maybe u can consult marilyn, she planned for her theme house. guess she done up nicely for her house too..spent a lot of $$ on reno

My house is quite simple..i paid alot of my build-in wardrobe on my master bedroom, aircon trunking and aircon units. The panel of glass door for wardrobe cost me $750 each..but I just like it..so no regret. It is fr Alumix.

Hmm..maybe u can come and visit my hse when u wan to source for ID concept. Zann, Susan, Marilyn they all have been to my hse couple of times liow..can get ideas fr them too.

Yep, oredi confirmed with the developer. If u see from the website, it is mentioned in a press interview too. It is because the low cost components in Mount Austin has been sold to other developers.

My developer only has one project in Mount Austin. The rest own by other different developers.

wah anne...u make me feel excited suddenly! did u build it just outside your toilet? i read from other forums that it's not gd to build it near toilet as there will be moisture and affects the clothes and shoes/bags etc... your walk-in wardrobe has glass door panels?That's nice!
Pity the masterrooms in sg are pretty small so usually the walk-in wardrobe also quite small --
jas, think u will have the biggest walk-in wardrobe next time!

anne, how much did u spend on reno roughly?

mrc not here today? didn't see her postings leh..

sunsnow, i din do build walk-in wardrobe coz i learnt the lesson fr my cousin who has walk-in wardrobe initially and end up rebuild a normal wardrobe again. My wardrobe is next to toilet where my room actually got one corner is desinated for build-in wardrobe.
build-in is nice if your hse is designer concept with simple things only. and the colour of your clothes is uniform..or else, it will look a mess when u have multi-colour tone. 2ndly is it get dusty, moisture and the clothes got moulded eventually. this is the experience tha i can shared fr my cousin.

so when she has a bb my nephew, she do away the walk-in and get panels to cover up instead. so some of the structures has to be removed..wat a waste rite?

Jas, u can drop by my place anytime, just let me know in advance at least i can be home to welcome u. U can bring along sunsnow too..keke

nothing great of my hse..just as simple white walls, maple flooring with curtains, zen colour of furniture..that's it lor.
all in all, we spent around $32k to move in.

Jas, u saw Kame's platform in the living area rite..I'm laminating the wooden strips on my flooring lor. I din build platform coz that time we were thinking that when we sell we have to remove it..a bit sayang lor. it is against HDB rule of doing platform, so whenever need to sell, have to remove it.

oic... so yours is build-in, not walk-in... ic ic.. misread... must have been looking too much at the comp! my masterroom doesn't have a designated corner for build-in wardrobe so even if i built one, it will be jutting out... sigh.. headache lah... will see what the designer can do...
anne ur place is along NEL area?

oic... anne, $32k is quite ok lei... Does it include the furniture and electrical appliaces?
Ya, saw the platform in the living room. U laminate on ur living room as well? I think Kame's house simple, neat and comfortable!

Ooh ok..but shd be alright lar..yours is 5rm what..mine just tiny 4rm already can do it..y not urs rite?
Yap..my place is Sembawang, next to Yishun..it is on NEL.

Jas, $32k inclusive everything. Thereafter, I add a lil here and there but not that much lor..maybe another $3k more only.
I laminated my whole house flooring, except Kitchen. Coz the tiles that the previous owner has is too ugly for us to accept it. And my hubby like timber feeling..so he choose to have laminated flooring lor. Now I really like the feeling, very neat and easy to maintain.

Wow... That is quite cheap hor. U very good accountant lei... =>

LK, later me gg to meet the photographer, Layna. Initially yday, then i postpone to today.

oh really? okie... she very chin chai one...
expect a lady dress in v casually (t-shirt and jeans) and short hair..

not sure we will have the same taste to like her work but at least her price is reasonable...

Ya... Need to see before can judge mah. My hubby said he has frens doing photographing also, but not specialise in wedding day photographing, so i not really fan xin to let his frens handle our AD photoshooting. =p

see a few photographers work lo and compare.. actually i only saw layna's work, didn't compare.. coz i was my fren's photo it was gd! and after i saw her portfolio and she told me she has 17 years of experience, i decided to confirm her...

Hmm..ok ok..u both arrange then let me know. At the same time can view my PS album and my AD video too if got time.