Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

Jas, u shd try now

Well, carrying them for 9 months is not easy but having them on our arms are so nice..keke

anne,
Indeed, it must be such a lovely feeling to see Glennice smile in yr arms!

Jas,
So, are you going to ttc soon? Kekeke...

Hi anne... My HM no fix date yet as hubby very busy with his work.
Will go for the coming Natas fair see got any good deal.

Hi sp, so many places we want to go but so little money and so little time now...

We would love to go East Europe, but the package will be quite expensive. So see how loh...

Jas, u must enjoy before u conceive ya..once u r preg till given birth, no chance for long distance travel!
Guess Natas fair shd have some great deal..grab it if there is.

i need advise from u gers... i'm a m'sian, FH a s'porean...

On AD, i'm tinking of getting my FH to fetch me from my is house, which is in s'pore. instead of from m'sia...

as my PG, VG n BS are all from spore, it's also very troublesome for me to married out from my house in m'sia....

i'm having a church wedding also...

i'm thinking of doin everything in s'pore then have other dinner in m'sia for those relatives who dun have passports...

did any one of you did tat?? i need advise...

I'm M'sian from Johor, my FH is Singaporean. I have same thinking as Cresent, cos everthing do it in Singapore will be much more easier. But the problem is bridal car is difficult to find unless your friend can borrow the car for your weeding.

hi crescent and melody,
Me! Me!! I have everything done in Spore cos my hometown is all the way in Ipoh. Cannot expect hubby to fetch me from Ipoh to Singapore right? hehe...

Crescent,
that was what i planned but it did not happen.. until now i still haven't "jing cah" to my aunties and uncles. only to grand ma only...

i married out from sister rented apartment at the time.. actually a few of my malaysian friends marry out from the hotel room.. it's very common lah but of course not so fun cos you cannot make too much noise right?

got a question. anyone know if malaysia TAR college is recognisable in Spore? my cousin is thinking of going to study there and then proceed to UTAR from there. But we were not too supportive cos she scored very well for her SPM and think she has no problem studying form 6. But then studying TAR means she can save abt 1 year.

Anyone has any comments?

marilyn, Spore only recognise UM. The rest of uni all not until recognition list. Same goes to other countries on Spore U, only NUS is under recognition list, NTU is not.

anne,
well, actually i'm more concern of getting a job in singapore suppose the degree is from UTAR. I just worried that if next time she want to come to singapore to get work related to her degree, it's diff for her.. i think for local U in msia should not be that difficult cos both my brother and his gf also work for singapore goverment. they graduate from UKM.

That's why we wanted her to study form 6 so that at least she can get to a local U in msia which will help in looking for work here...for UTAR, i'm not so familiar and have not known anyone working here with UTAR degree.. probably because it's a relatively new uni in msia..

Well, think of it this way, there are lotsa of graduates from other universities in the world, & most of them would be able to find jobs in Singapore rite, whether or not it's "officially" recognise. More importantly is the course that your cousin is going to take.

btw, anyone know the procedure to renew passport at the Msia Hicom? Mine gonna expire soon.

Marilyn, I agreed with what Elaine's point. Unless your cousin wanted to work for govt sector in Spore, otherwise not much concern about which uni she grad fr but what field or deg she is in.

I'm not grad fr local uni either..but still able to get a job in Spore what..keke

Elaine, we just did my baby's passport. The procedure has been changed after they shift to Jovier Rd. Now u don't have to go early like 4-5am to queue for the no. Go there around 7.30-8am and get the form, appt date and time. Now they give out appt date and time. Each hour they only process 40 passports. If not mistaken, the appt date has been given till mid Apr already.

Elaine, for my bb's passport it takes 10 working days to be ready. Not too sure about the renewal passport for adult. I think still need couple of days bah.

My bb become very notty now..wahaha..getting smarter and learn to be cranky so that we will carry her!

Jas, I got my maid in already. Basically she is helping on household chores only. I'll be taking care of bb most of the time.
I'll quit my job after my maternity leave..gonna be stay at home mom for temporary till probably baby can go to childcare. We still can't let maid handle bb alone at home.

So good, anne, able to take care of the bb urself. Ha... Must ask my hubby to work harder then next time can support me to stay at home taking care of bb too. Haha...

Jas, handling bb by ourself is quit stressful ler..not easy to take care of bb alone. Haha..having bb sitter still better choice but I just couldn't find one at my neighbourhood.
Hmm..old folks actually encourage me to take care by myself if financially can afford coz they find that the development and growing up period of a child is very important.

I am pretty newbie here. Hope everyone will attend to all needs lah... Hee...

My ROM is drawing near and checking if there any great buffet to intro? What abt the soleminsation? Anything that can care with me this bride-to-be?
358435.gif

hi mrc,

for the buffet will be more like a chinese style crusine. Budget arh.. coz for my ROM I will be inviting ard 30 pax..

hi ixq,
got this info when surfing the net...hope it's helpful..do call to check the price before making reservation cos i'm not sure if the price is still applicable..

Chinese Buffet List in Singapore

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crown Prince Hotel Long Jiang Restaurant (2nd flr)
Tel: 6732 1111
Ala-Carte Cantonese-Szechuan
Lunch (11:45am – 2pm)
Dinner (6:30 – 10pm)
$16.00+++ (daily lunch)
$24.00+++ (daily dinner)

Concorde Hotel Xin Cuisine Rstn (level 4)
Tel 6731 7173
Dim Sum Buffet Lunch(12:00 – 3:30pm)
$18.80+++ (adult) Sat Only

Dragon Gate Restaurant
Tel 6278 0288
Dim Sum Lunch (11:30-2 pm)
(22 items)
$10.80+++ Mon-Fri
$12.80+++ Sat,Sun,PH
Ala-carte buffet Dinner
(48 items)
$19.80+++ Mon-Fri
$22.80+++ Sat,Sun,PH

Dragon Pearl Restaurant
(Ngee Ann City #05-09)
Tel 6737 1788
Dim Sum Lunch (11:30 – 2:30pm)
$16.80+++ Daily
Ala-Carte Dinner Buffet
$29.80+++ Daily

Harbour City Restaurant PSA Building #03-01
Tel 6273 3966
Ala-Carte Buffet Lunch (11:30 – 2pm)
$17.80++ (adult) Sat only
$8.90++ (child)

New Park Centre Hai Siang Restaurant
Tel: 6291 5533
Cantonese Ala-carte buffet Lunch (12pm – 2:30pm)
$20.00+++ Daily
Cantonese Ala-carte buffet Dinner (6:30pm – 10:30pm)
$25.00+++ Daily

Orient Ocean Miramar Hotel Level 3
Tel 6736 3677
Dim Sum Brunch (11:30-2pm) (34 items)
$10.80+++ Mon-Fri
$13.80+++ Sat,Sun,PH
Ala-Carte Dinner Buffet (37 items)
$19.80+++ Mon-Fri
$21.80+++ Sat,Sun,PH

Pearl River Palace Rstn (Suntec)
Tel 6332 9733
Ala-Carte Dinner Buffet
$30.80+++ Mon-Fri
$32.80+++ Sat,Sun

River City Restaurant
Excelsior Hotel Level 4
Tel 6339 9969
Dim Sum Brunch (11 - 2pm)(20 items)
$9.80+++ Mon-Fri
$12.80+++ Sat,Sun,PH
Ala-Carte Dinner Buffet(33 items)
$18.80+++ Mon-Fri
$20.80+++ Sat,Sun,PH

River View Hotel Singapore
River Palace Restnt (2nd level)
Tel: 6732 9922
Unlimited Ala-Carte buffet Lunch(12pm – 2:30pm)
$18.90+++ (adult) Daily $9.50+++ (child)
Unlimited Ala-Carte buffet Dinner (6:30pm – 10:30pm)
$21.90+++ (adult) Daily
$11.50+++ (child)

Gim Tim Group of Restaurants
Brillant Garden Restaurant
(Boon Lay Way, The Chevrons)
Tel 6795 9339
Crown Palace Restaurant (Yishun)
Tel 6756 6933
Imperial Court Shark’s Fin Rstn
(Yio Chu Kang, The Grassroot Club)
Tel 6553 2777
Ala-Carte Lunch (11:30 - 2:30pm)
$15.80+++ (adult) Mon-Sat
$10.80+++ (child)
$18.00+++ (adult) Sun,P.H.
$13.00+++ (child)
Ala-Carte Dinner (6:00 - 10:30pm)
$24.80+++ (adult) Mon-Fri
$16.80+++ (child)

morning mrc,

that's so nice of u! =)
Heard that the Dragon gate food not bad is it? Or is it 88 rest? Coz I think both my FH and mine parents would prefer more traditional food.

hi ixq,
morning! i think i've tried dragon gate at the harbour front branch? or was it 88? anyway, theyhave ala carte buffet dim sum. variety quite and taste quite ok too. why dun you go and try out with your FH and then decide?

mrc,

hao ah.. perhaps this weekend or next weekend bah.. so u married le arh?
359081.gif

oh ya, then for the ROM hor, u got any good photographer to introduce or not arh?

wah, marilyn, always can count on you for such info... =)

btw, any interior designer/ contractor to recommend ah? think you recommended your fren rite? but i'm on a extremely tight budget. Used all my savings for my honeymoon oredi. But worth it! =)

morning,
haha..no lah..i just "google" it only mah.. :P yep, i'm married liao
in fact i'm the first to married in this thread

how tight is your budget? i got one collegue engaged a ID from queensway shopping centre. Reno less than 20K inclusive of air-con, fridge, hop and hood. Not too sure if buy this seperately lah. His flat is 4 room standard.

hi marilyn...

i'm looking at >$20k. Basically, to change the bedrooms floor to parquet, toilets & kitchen. Not gonna to hack any walls down. Think it's within the budget?

btw, i didnt know you were the 1st to get hitch! =)

Yalor, eccentric, when u went for HM ah? Share lah.

Good news! My developer has finally decided to complete my little hse and has just given the letter to ask us to take the keys! But still pending CF lah. That's a delay of 2 yrs 4 mths. Finally, the long wait is over... hope no major defects to deal with.

sp, glad for you! Finally get the key of ur house! BTW, any compensation from the developer since it has been delayed for so long?

elaine, try to use laminate floor instead of parquet. Partquet very difficult to maintain in long run. My house is using Supreme laminated wood, already 3 years..so far so good. Easy maintenance.

Ping, so glad to hear that u finally got your house keys!!! Such a long wait..at least now u get to stay in after CF and renov done.

eccentric,
i think should be sufficient if you're doing minimal reno. I think my collegue dun have the contact anymore but he told me the contractor from queensway shopping centre. May be you want to check that out?

sometimes it a bit risky to recommend reno contractor also cos luck plays a part. The contractor might engage different batch of workers and hence different workmanship. So, a possibility of double standard even though same contractor..

i am new here..
I ROM last year and completed with my reno.hehe

Hi eccentric,

I used this contractor. Quite happy with their service, affordable charges.

Joo Guan HUat
IMM - 65675331
Look for Sam- 94899982

Hi ykfoo, I have mine in Jan at Grand Straits View Restaurant at Danga Bay ("Xin1 Hu2 Bing1"). They have grand ballroom which can hold abt 100 tables and a smaller ballroom for about 20 tables. Most of my guests commented the ambience and service are good, food not bad too. Better if you go visit the restaurant urself or u can call the restaurant at 07-2349799. Better book fast as think their booking till end of the year oredi.

Hi, Jas, Anne,
Thanks for sharing my joy! We haven't collected the key yet, letter just came yesterday. Think will take leave next week to go collect it.

hi ixq,
oops skipped your posting. sorry.. yeah, most of the member in this thread is malaysian except zann and a few other girls

proud to be the 1st one to married? no lah, just happen to be the 1st lor.. hehe..