Buying Diamond Ring

happyguy

Hi all...need some of your commends. I wanted to propose to my gf during V-day and i went around choosing the ring. I happen to saw a ring that is of 0.32C with VVS2 and colour wise is somewhere btw H to D. it is original price @ around 2.5k but now it drops to around 1.1k. is this a good buy? it has got the Internation Cert with it.

Hope for some comments. cos i am really at a lost of choosing a good ring.

hi HG,
aw.. that is sweet.. cos u so sweet, let me help u alittle, but me not expert too la, i think my hubby better then me, cos he oso hunt alone that time when he proposed.

ok, the price is really good, but the color abit not rite lay.. to me, diamond big or small not important, the most impt one is the color, cos it will kept sparking if u choose the color rite. So try to hunt again, as the V-day still a month away.

My hubby bot my ring at Defi orchard, not bad quality maybe u can take a look there?

hi babu,

thanks for your information. hmm....but i dont understand by your little comments that say the colour is not rite. what your mean leh...maybe what i say is not clear when i am posting. the colour wise falls btw H to D. i forgotten which one is it because see too many liao. hehee.....
R u saying that i should look for one which is either D, E or F?

Blur liao. hahaha

hg,
ya ya ya this is wat i meant lor.. color very impt..but of the clarity oso very impt la, the one that u saw, the clarity is good!
mine D, but clarity only VS2.. hehehe.. don let my hubby saw this thread else will kanna from him!!

ohh....okie.....
will try searching for more again.
i scare buy now then coming near to V-day then got special discount. then i can bang wall liao
hahhaha

ya lor.. take ur time la.. no rush la..
now got time think of how are u going to propose to her la.. think of a special and romantic way to propose huh.. don open ur mouth and say: let's rom tomorrow!! wa lau, i will flip man..

hahaaha
somehow i think i am quite a romantic guy....my gf also says so. (am i thick skin) ;) we have some how talk about ROM liao and getting house. but i think it would only be nice if i have propose to her before i really going to do all those rom and housing thingy. it will be more meaningful this way. how your hubby propose to u ? share share leh....

i call up the shop and confirm its a G colour with VVS2. price @ around 1.1K.

another one that i know is 0.35C with VS1 with F price @ $1288.

anyone can give comments? which one should i choose leh....so blur now...hai...

hg,
ya abit thick skin u.. hahaha.. but i oso la, cos i am going to say i am very lucky to have a very romantic hubby.. kekeke..
he proposed to me really sudden, we don even talk about the marriage thingy at all, so he just tried his luck only.. he proposed to me at swimming pool, he invited me for a swim at very late nite after i came back from work.. so i don mind lor.. after swim for a while, he suddenly just kneel down in the water, and i don know where and when he suddenly came out with the ring and said: will u marry me? aiyo.. i melt ah... hahaha.. so i stood there and kept laughing lor, don know wat to say oso, blur liao.. too sudden liao...

Happy Guy

Did u ask them to let u view the diamond under the microscope? sometimes the cheapsale b'coz of some crack which u might see under microscope. for Lazarre diamond, u can even see the serial number of the certificate under microscope. G color is a bit too yellowish and look "impure", i think. try not to go beyond E color. if the piece looks nice under the microscope then it should be ok...

be ware, all those diamonds come with int'l cert like HRD,GIA should bear the same serial no on the dia!!!! the very edge of the diamond, can be seen under a microscope.

happy guy:
1) 0.32C G colour VVS2. price @ around 1.1K
2) 0.35C with VS1 with F price @ $1288

in my opinion should chose 2) cos bigger diamond n better color. color is very impt for dia around this size.... as for the clarity, i think only make very slightly difference. unless u are getting like a 0.5C than i think both color n clarity impt.
since now got sale, go n look ard with ur budget. dun be pai seh... o ya, diamond with 4 claw is able to reflect more light thus appear more shining. unless is like 0.5C or bigger then 5 or 6 claws. to hold better too.

happy searching

hi onzz and dabee

Thanks alot for the information. okie....will take note of hte points that you gave. but one thing to check. if hte diamond already put in the setting liao (which i presume setting is the ring itself...am i right?) then how to check the serial no?

Hi Happy!

Not all certified rings come with serial numbers. A professional setter would set the stone in a way that the numbers are visible between the claws.

Also, if you want sparkle, it's the cut (eg hearts and arrows) that's responsible for it. Colour juz accounts for 'whiteness'. As for clarity, VS (1 or 2 ) is good enuff cos inclusions are only visible under 10x magnification, meaning naked eyes can't notice 'em normally. Have fun choosing!

Hi pepper

well, what if hte rings does not comes with serial number? then they can anyhow take a certificate to certified the diamond liao rite?
scare leh....

If it's an in-house cert, yes they can prob fake the specifications.
If it's an international cert like GIA, there are ways of checking...like matching the layout of the inclusions to wat you see in the diamond under the 10x-loupe.

Ultimately, it's the credibility and trustworthiness of your jeweller that counts. Quality usually comes with a price

Happy guy,

Ya, not all certified stones have serial number printed on it. The Lazarre one i mentioned cost abt $3k for 0.3 carat D color VVS1.

For $1k +/-, if u get VS1 with F color n 0.35 carat, its quite ok. Juz view it under the microscope, as long as no cracks no visible defects can liao lar. Main thing of course make sure u buy from reputable source and proper certification, so u dun get crystal instead!

hi Onzz

hahhaa i read your last sentence i wanna laugh. if i get a crystal insteady of diamond from L.H/S.K or even G.H then i really dunno what to say liao.

Onzz

i think u misinterpret what i say liao....i was saying is if they(L.H/S.K/G.H) use crystal to bluf customer that it is diamond then i really duuno what to say. that is what i mean.

hi happy guy!!!
during my search for my diamond....those with intl cert, the shop will sure able to show u the serial no on those diamonds. serial no match with its birth cert. if not, dun trust..

hi all....

am back from my recce liao!! me finally bought the ring. 0.39C with VS1 and F colour priced at $1798 after discount from $3360.

Is this worth it?

Hi happy guy!!!
good to know that u hv bought it!!!
hmmm..in my opinion, of cos is WORTH it lar!!!! cos is for your darling gal

i m sure that she would love it too....

Hi Happy Guy,

I think in the end only your gf will determine whether it is worth it.

My hubby proposed with a trilogy from Lee Hwa with cert and nice sparkle and all but it cost more than $1K. After a while, I find it too small, that no one really notice that it is an engagement ring.

Later for our 1 year anniversary, he bought me a 0.5c from SK jewellery with only in-house cert also cost $1k. I absolutely loved it because it looks good.

Sorry if I sound to bother about the size but for me size does matter.

i saw 1C also at SK.....around 2k nia....
but due to its inhouse cert i dare not buy.

sorry if i sound to bother about cert but cert does matter to me but ofcoz the size too and all other factors loh.

Diff ppl view things differently. some see size, some see clarity, some see colour.....some see cert..

Good to hear that you are happy. Who knows in near future he will pop another 1C infront of you. ;)

CHEERS!

hi happy guy

can check if u where u bought the diamond?? hehe. me thought of getting one for myself? is there sales or u using VIP disct????seems a gd buy leh

aiya happy..i know u oredi bought it. But just 4 ur info, 4 one i mentioned comes along e e int'l certificate if am not wrong. Got to chek if any interestes party.

e site if am not wrong shld be : www.leonids.ca

Hi pooh

I got it during last wk at bugis lee hwa....they are having renovation sales. dunno if it is still on the R.S. maybe you can try to call them to check.

Hi HM

hahahaa thanks for your info.

Just to share my happiness. Last nite i propose to my gf........
Well...i have 2 plans in mind just incase one fail. We had dinner at Sake Sushi and intent to have drinks at one of the cafe @ Fullenton that i had already make some preparation for my gf. Its 4 Lee Hwa boxes where each box contain each letter of "Will you marry me?". This plan fail because we dont want to go cafe anymore. so i have my 2nd plan still without her knowing. We stroll until the merlion where we took some photos and we seat down and chatted whereby i slowly bring her into the topic. Finally i took out the ring and propose to her. Alot of ppl are looking at us. my gf is so pai sei, so am i. hahaha..... said alot of things to her and finally say the 4 magical words. she is very very paisei and dont know what to do and keep on asking me to get up first. well, in the end she let me put on the ring for her... but have yet to say "yes". kns right. but in the end, we went to Tanjong Rhu park where she finally say YES and we were both so happy.

hi Happy Guy!
juz came across your postings. congrats dude!
it's reali sweet of u to put in so much tot into your proposal.
so now, enjoy the process of your wedding preparation!

Congrats Happy Guy....

Well just came across this posting if not i can give some advice on the Diamond Ring for you too...

Well i brought mine form Larry and is a Lazarre ring which cost me close to 5k....vomit blood..

Did alot of shopping and gather lot of info's too...

For ur ring is actually very value for money....
F colous is already colourless and VS1 is good enough as u can't really see the clarity from naked eyes and the size is quite ok too...

Congrats...

Hi, I am helping my mom to sell cheap one solitare genuine diamond 0.75 carat. She's selling cheap coz she wants to upgrade. Colour is G colour. Clarity is SI in white gold. Desc of SI: Slightly included. I know.. I know.. you all prob think that this is a very bad diamond but frankly, I think it's better to spend the money on bigger diamond than clarity. Coz you cant really see the clarity without the proper tool anyway. What for spend a lot of money for something that ppl can't see? But people will be impressed by the size! Including your girlfriend!! But color is obvious, and mine is a good color, G.

This is really good value for money diamond. The diamond is big and white.

It does not have a certification. We can arrange for verification at a jeweller.

Ring can be altered in any jewelry shops. Ring band made of white gold. It's great as an engagement ring. Your girlfriend will be so impressed with the big size yet you dont have to make a big hole in your wallet! Pls email [email protected] if you are interested. Thanks.

You are wrong. Clarity of a diamond does have a part of giving some brilliance to the diamond. I personally have a Color F and VVS1 diamond ring. The cut of the diamond is just good, not perfect, however, i have feedbacks coming to me from friends around me that my engagement ring is very bright and glaring. But of course, the ideal cut will also bring out the brilliance of the diamond. Just my 2 cts worth

it depends on the cut actually. if it's not a good cut, even IF clarity will not be sparkly. i recently bought a diamond - Si clarity, and it's very very sparkly.

it all really depends on many factors.

I am looking for a proposal ring too. As my gf doesnot want a silitaire, or trilogy, so i went around hunting and found 1 at Huen's jewellery.
1. Anyone havs any comment on this jewellery shop at Far East Plaza?
2. 18k white gold, eternity setting, 27 small round diamonds surrounding the ring, total 1.35 carat, G color, VS2 clarity. Only in house cert. cost: S$1650. worth? cheap?
3. SK selling the motivia solitaire with round mobile small diamonds. Solitaire around 0.33carot. $760 only. cheap? Anyone seen before? Not sure about the Color and clarity as they can't tell me too.

Starystarynite, personally I wouldn't recommend SK jewellery for your proposal ring unless your budget is very tight. Reason is cos I feel that SK's craftsmanship is not so fine and their diamonds are usually the lower grade type. SK is more for gift giving. As for the eternity ring, it seems pretty good, but the problem with eternity bands is that if the finger become bigger or smaller, it's harder to resize, unlike gold or platinum bands. You may need to reset the diamonds in extreme case. In house certs are not reliable...best is you can shop with someone who knows more about diamonds to see if the diamonds are really as described. If you go alone, make sure you have white paper and ask for white light (any reputable jewellery shop should have) to view the diamonds.

can anyone tell me how to compare the facets of diamonds?

Is it the more facets the better? Like 57facets for Destinee and 66facets for Brillant Rose? Which is better?

Among Brillant Rose, Destinee, Lazare, which is the best?