Brazilian Wax

hi ryes,
yup, i went to vivan. she quite nice. but i must say her waxing she really do veri fast. i did upper lip waxing, half leg waxing & brazilian waxing & facial. spent abt 2hrs+ there. she didn't ask me to sign package or buy any products at all. dun worry lah. the brazillian waxing not as painful as ppl say. at 1st i so scared cos it's my 1st time & i remove all off. she also didn't explain to me much wat it's gonna be like. but like vivian says, the more relax u are, the less painful it is. if u really can't stand the pain, can jus tell her. she'll let u rest a while 1st then after that then continue.

at first is jus lie on yr back, face front with yr legs bend(open up), then turn to the front & open yr legs thats all. yesterday then i know the ass there also got hair. haha! behind not painful one.

hi littlemay

sori for the late reply. busy....lately

i personally feel tat its not much diff between IPL and waxing. guess when you are tensed up, the more pain you wl have regardless of IPL or waxing right

Hi IRENE,
I am not referring to the pain...But is it safe? I mean since its some ray of light that you put near your private area, not sure if there are any side effects like difficulty in conceiving next time?
I'm really interested to do the IPL but still afraid....

I went to try Vivian last Sat.
I must say she's not bad, cos she does it very fast.
But my therapist at Strip is not bad too. So guess I will go back to Strip since I already have a package there.

Hello all i'm a newbie.. anyway was reading thru this post and i think i wanna share with u all my experience also.. I went to Strip too! n did e XXXX .. my 1st time was free cos it was done by e therapist under-going training.. They do offer free trials noe. you can call them and ask them whether they need models for the moment then u can do whatever kind of wax u want..

aiyo i tell u my virgin time was e worst.. i screamed like hell man til i have to ask for a towel so i can bite into it when my therapist pull e hair out.. i have been going there for like 3 times already.. now is lesser pain and also lesser hair.. but somehow i find that my hair starts to grow out faster but of course lesser..

Now i'm searching for cheaper IPL for armpits.. cos i find that Strip offers a bit ex.. its like $120 per IPL session. But if you get e package is $900 i think for 8 sessions..

Hi Winnie, Don't frightened the gals out here...The therapist matters a lot...So my advice to gals out here is Don't go for FREE TRIALS...Cos these are done my new therapists that have no or little experience...the pain will be unbearable...My advice is to go for experienced therapists to minimise the pain!

yup! it's really not as painful. initially when i read the forum, i was so frightened. it's not tat bad actually. yes, it's painful. but not pain until will make noise that kind.

I notice one thing about Vivian is that she did not change her gloves frm one client to the other. I hate to imagine the same gloves touching different people at those places.

really ah? i didn't notice tat leh. cos usually i do it at her hm & think she uses a new glove. nelle, u sure? next time i go must pay extra notice to it.

greenie, yes, the centrepoint one.
zen, maybe if she have clients back-to-back (no pun intended!), she may have forgotten...

Huh really? i'm jus thinking of switching from STRIP to vivian as recommended by you folks above... Oh bte is it $50 for 1st timers or ur 1st visit to her? Cos i have waxed before n not as much hair as before also..

Just checking.

How clean are the waxing processes?
My friend got an infection from one of her visits. Blister-like sores. Yikes.

infection? is yr fren's waxing done by vivian? cos i've veri sensitive skin. but when i went for waxing & facial by vivian, i've no such problem. i'm quite worried abt hygiene so ask her a lot of questions but she's not offended by my asking.

Hi Greenie,

I hv tis problem 2 when i done my BW at Vivian, I did ask her but she said is norm if we hv xtreme sensitive skin but after few days, it will go off...

ya after i hv done mine, feel very sore...cld b cos my hair is very thick and very bushy.....hahaha

its like that one in e beginning especially so if yours is rather busy.. i went to STRIP and they recommended me a Sothy spray which i bought quite ex $75 for a 75ml bottle.. u spray on your waxed parts twice a day its to soothe ur skin n also to slow regrowth of hair in that region..

its v comfy n your re grown hair really softer..

Hi greenie,

Is it really blister-like sores that your friend had or are they just blood spots?? I had tiny blood spots when I did my first+second BW but after that my skin somehow has got used to it.

Li Zhen..

The blood spots are common... i got them, she got them. But seemed more serious this time round. She went to see a gynae, said to be some infection.
Bleah.

Maybe her skin is really really very sensitive. Coz there's nothing wrong with me.

HI GALS,

went to Strips at holland village. The therepaist is quite alright,in fact better than survins. Cleaness is there as well. However they are very pushy in terms of the package which puts me off. Not 1 but 3-4 of them at counter. did not like their hard sell tactics.

hi girls, i am keen on trying my 1st BW at Strip, however I don't dare cos of fear of rashes. How is it like? I once bought this take home set from guardian pharmacy, and it could not pull out hair properly, it gave me surface rashes! i also tried it on my legs and my legs had rashes for a whole week (gross!). so i was wondering whether there's a chance i might have rashes like that with an experienced person at Strip? comments?

haven been here for a while... happy to know that a number of you have been to vivian...

I do my waxing and facial with her too, and have been for the past 3 years... no problem with the cleanliness issue, but if you girls are very concerned abt that,i can check with her...

here to share my BW experience. i do BW once in 2 mths at spa haven on amoy st. they're really professional. it cost $42/session there. and itz such a pleasant experience becos the therapist talks to u so u dun feel the pain and before u know it itz over

oh btw, ask for ivy. she's really nice

hi gals, juz curious, do u gals wash your genital area juz prior to waxing? coz i was thinking if we go 4 waxing after work, we wun b as "fresh" smelling anymore, and i oso do get quite conscious of my own smell if i go after work to wax. any suggestions?

Well wash it.. I personally think its really hygenic to wash down under after every toilet session.. U really feel fresh n clean

but wat if we are outside and there is no way to wash? i do wash myself after each toilet visit at home, but in public toilets there is no such taps attached to each cubicle to do tt.

hi magix,

i also went to vivian like jellybean & i ask her why she din ask her customers to wash before they go to her for waxing. won't it smell? she says it's too troublesome for customers to do tat & it actually doesn't smell tat bad. anyway, she put some powder over it first before she wax so dun worry too much.

heehee.. today i jus went to do waxing & facial wif her.

hi all~
just went for my very first brazilian yesterday at Wax Affair (Holland V) ....agree for first time it is realli OUCH but diana the therapist assure me that the 2nd time onwards will no longer be painful
hee..counting down to next trip 3 weeks later ~!

Im a newbie in in this thread and Im super interested in having a brazilian wax. I read in this thread that someone used their epilator as a replacement for the brazilian wax, was kinda tempted to do that coz this saves the embarrasement I will face with the beautician. Anyone tried this method? Does it work?

i have also gone for my 1st b wax at Strip!!!
every thing was okie.. not as embarassing and painful as i have expected.

hi star,

NO. the down area is too sensitive to such chemicals.. dun even think abt it okie? read the instructions carefully.. they do not recommend even for bikini line waxing.

hi star
if u want to diy, can get the andrea brazilian wax...dat one can be used on "that" area since it is specially for that

hi josl!

yeah.... i wanna go... its been abt 2 mths since i last mine.. u wanna go too?

i am considering strip at wheellock place... but i think its $40+ rite?

HI minssy,
haha its been 5 weeks since last mine, i wanted to go yesterday but its last min so they din have time. Me do at wheelock 1, its $40 and 2 buck gst so its $42 loh...
But i thinking still coz i gg to bintan next 9sept so its like a not here not there time leh...

hi josl
me long time didnt go liao...used to go to holland one...datz is before they opened the wheelock place. somemore i sign package so i think i got 1 free wax which i haven use....cos quite far and find it inconvenient so after my package finished, me stop going and then i found the andrea wax and tried DIY lor...not too bad lor...was going to ask them if i can use my free wax at the new outlet in wheelock but haven call them yet....thinking of doing it closer to my AD so perhaps josl we can go together somewhere before yr trip

HI starmoon,
how abt a gathering to do brazilian keke...i prefer they doing rather than DIY, i usu do the full 1, so not easy to DIY ar. Hee...now BW also got kaki liao.

hi josl
good idea! kekeke...u organise one? of course i oso prefer they do rather than diy, but sometimes too lazy to travel all the way there lor...then after the new outlet open, busy wif wedding preps so no time to go lor
i oso like the full 1...cleaner and smoother feel...hahahah