Braces(ORTHODONTIST)

i done my braces in SGH..last for 2 years.
its really worth the pain & money.
i have more confidence now...

Hi, I just had my braces on last week. I done at Ubi Dental and very cheap. I had ceramic for only $3.2K and initial payment is $600. The Doc and assistant are all nice nice people and making you feel so comfortable.

Hi Janet

I think the assistant also by the name of janet, right?She is really nice....

I did my braces with a specialist about ten years ago with lien li choo clinic at mandarin hotel. she is really good in hand altho more pricey.....My teeth is still very straight and nice ......no relapse...guess will send my gal there when her teeth are ready for braces....

Hi Stary,

Yes, e assistance at Ubi is Janet, hehe... She very nice lady..

I am now 1 month on braces. So sad to say i will have to hold my ROM next year March as my flat is completing by then. But dont know how I will look like wen pics taken during my ROM... So "Fan"...

i intend to make braces too.. but i have 2 wisdom teeth. Do i need to extract them out first or i can make braces as well?

Janet,
if u ask ur orthodontist to remove the braces for a short peroid of time shld be no prob..

It depends on your teeth condition, i dont think the dentist will extract wisdom teeth, probably is the 'tiger' teeth.

yeah I dont think will extract the wisdom teeth..

they do not affect the straightening at at....think will most likely leave the wosdom teeth out..cos anyway they cant even be seen when u smile

Janet: if u remove ur braces..got extra costs
cos all the effort to put the brackets back again.. got to discuss with ur doc
I know of this person she took out for a few days..and put back..got to pay abt $500 i think..cant remember..some years ago

THen for anyone who is thinking of doing braces and getting married also...please go take ur wedding pics first lor..that's more impt than the actual day itself.

Anyone experienced at the Depacific Dental @ AMK central? hope to eat some info fr u gals.
Thinking of gg for braces? yet abit scared the pain

I went Lee and Ong dental. People say after braces face structure or something will changed, but for my case i think it's still the same. Nobody commented anything also. Haha. Furthermore i was on the rapid palatel expander thingy first.

Hi, luvz17
hw was ur braces? hw u feeling nw?
dont mind if can explain the process of putting on the braces? where do it get it done?

i saw fr another forum tat a dental clinic at rivervale plaza quote abt 2+K .. mayb tat person's condition is those mild type..
wonder here anyone been there before?

Hi SHeryl,

Just had my braces on yest, I got the metal ones. Now feeling very strange, like the teeth dun belong to u. Bt overall I dun feel pain, just that the teeth are tight. can't bite any solid food. I guess I have to be eating liquids and small cut food.

Before braces, I went for extraction (3 teeth at one go). No pain at all, just that ur gum will feel sore after that....for few days. But it is just mild sore, like baby experiencing teething problem. You will tend to play with ur gum alot.

Process of putting braces...basically just open ur mouth and the dentist will do magic..haha...i really dun feel anything till she start putting the wire and rubber. just feel tight. thatz all.

I get it done at kembangan plaza.

luvz, u are good sia..
when u had my 4 tooths extracted 2 yrs ago.. abt 1 week, i hate food.. cos i just hate biting, felt the pain.. :P for tat 1st mth, i lost weight :P putting on braces for me i a chance to lose some fats.. kekeke.. after like 6mth, can eat like normal liao

advise for all is to keep ur teeth/gum clean.. really need to floss.. ya, even though flossing is a mad chore with braces on...

Hi ttazz, i guess i m one of the lucky ones.
According to dentist, it varies, depending on the complexity of ur teeth.

After 1 day with braces, the metal continue to rub against the inner part of my mouth. so i use cotton wool to protect.

by the way, how to floss? like quite difficult.

why u dun use the wax? easiler than cotton wool

as for flossing, just have to go thru the metal to floss lor.. alot of work, but its for own good..

bt doc says try not to use wax, unless necessary. She did tell me, but I can't remember the reason le. Guess I have to spend sometime to do it. I realise the teeth kinda gone white, is it because of the pressure? just like if we pressure our fingernails, it will gone white pale. is this normal?

Thx luvz.. nw im still deciding between the dental clinic i shd go for.. i check that Orange dental at Yishun charge ard 3.5K for the braces.. the rest is separate charging n nt very exp..

yup, the part away from the gum..everyday i will look at my teeth, to see if there is any changes...haha...i can feel wire sticking out too at the last bracket. what does it mean? the teeth are shifting?

No prob, sheryl. My friend goes to embrace dental, somewhere at yishun i think.

so hw long is the interval when u first extract n putting on the metal? i tot before putting the bracket, they have to align ur upper n lower set of teeth first?

for my case, i actually had the metal stubs (brackets)glued to my teeth before i went for extraction of 4 tooths
after a week, then went back. my dentist then hook up the metal & rubber bands to hold the teeth.
Diff ppl have diff methods so cant really compare much..

Slowly, u will notice the shift in your teeth in no time.. esp after u visit the dentist every mth..

oh cos i scare tat at my age go n do may takes longer period. n i also feel phobia gg to extract the teeth.. 1 of the teeth tat need to be extract out, its roots seems deep lei..

Hi melody,
mine was about a week interval between extraction and putting metal. how to align without putting bracket? I am not too sure about it...

I am 26 this yr and so far so gd.. Have u consulted which teeth to be extracted? My doc said usually 4th teeth from the front.

yes.. he alr explained very detailed and even explain the logic of putting 'the ring' and the payment n advice within the period, better dun rush into wedding or etc. im 25 this yr.

btw when each time tat the dentist tightened the wire, do they help to do polishing / cleansing as well? cos i check with another clinic, they do provide but nt sure if they are jus doing some type of strategy. tats y im still dilemma which to go

oh...for my case, my wedding will be next yr so my doc will kind of expedite the process so that I can take out completely before that. Just that I have to really put on my retaines after that.
Are you planning to have your wedding anytime soon?

Not sure about it. I dun really check the cleaning part. Just do and as I have questions, I will just call her.

eh, no definite wedding plans yet due to bf nw in oversea. we plan til he come back for gd then proceed lor. tats y. have to see lor.. dentist advice tat dun rush lor or plan the wedding jus immediately after taking out exactly. must have grace period.
tats y he told me 2-2.5 yrs lor

i'm new here, Was checking on braces and found this forum, actually I’m still a student but looking for cheap place to do my braces. Can I have more detail on the clinic side so I can call and ask.

Finally decided to go for it.
I had my extraction this afternoon. so far so gd.. still can eat like normal wor.. kinda still numb numb feeling..
Im quite satisfied of the work done by the dentist.

Hi, thought of sharing my experience.

I had my braces with Ubi Dental Clinic. The charges are rather reasonable. It starts from $2300 and above, depends on which package you choose. But all the packages achieve the same effect.

I was recommended earlier by my gf...but I was little hesitant cuz cannot believe it's that cheap...then both my cousins went to the same clinic...Turned out that orthodontist was my aunt-in-law's fren's bro; and she has went for dental services since many donkey years ago...

Anywayz, with the 3 walking testimonials, I went and indeed, impressed with his workmanship, price and overall, result.

Just my 2 cents worth of opinion... ...

The cost of Damon 2 metal braces cost from $4000-$4680 now. The costs has increased since last year. My orthodontist is Dr Susan Boey from NTUC denticare in TPY. I'm getting my braces done soon.

icemaiden:
hi! i'm with Dr Boay too! Been on braces for over a year now oredi on rubberbands to close up my extractions gaps
When is your appt to fix up the brackets?

~Spoiltbabe~ What a coincidence! My next appointment is next Sat. Am very nervous but yet excited for some strange reason. I'm getting 4 pre-molars extracted. *pain* Could you talk on the same day you had your extractions? I remembered i had one wisdom teeth extracted 2yrs ago and i couldn't talk for about 2-3hrs due to the anaethetic. I felt i couldn't close my mouth properly like a spaso. Is the experience similar?

So far been on braces for 5+ mths. had 4 times tightening session.. things are going well.. nw i was being ask to participate in the process too.. was given rubberbands to pull on upper row to hook on lower row teeth for both side.
can feel the tightness.. hope it can helps to move faster.. heehee

Just a piece of advice for ppl doing braces:

Spend a few dollars and do it at a reputable ortho specialist, and make sure do at young age cos tt is the determinig factor in length of treatment, even if not enough $$ go and borrow.

I got a question, I want to do braces but coz getting end of next year, anybody knows if we can request to have a shorter treatment period? And if yes, will it cost much than normal?

Hi Joanne,
Mine is also shorter than expected. I din pay extra, but simply go more often and have double tightening. Usually you go back and tighten every 6 weeks, mine is every 4 weeks. Best if you check with your dentist. Hope my reply helps =)

Hi Joanne,

Quick tightening or not depends on each situation... ask ur ortho bah.. i read Chen weilian did double tightening also ... most impt is to do it young so the teeth move fast and the effects can last more effectively.

hey bigman : i assume u wore braces before..do u still wear your retainers? i just cant continue to wear them. they give me ulcers

I'm stil on braces...

Why can't u wear ur retainers? I tot as long u wear them consistently every night it'll be ok?

When will u take off your braces?

yeah..but somehow they give me/more prone to ulcers..actually only need to wear every alt night now..but cos of the ulcers i have shun them for the last 1-2 years.
Btw my retainers is the plastic kind for top and bottom

I may be wearing permanent retainers cos my case quite bad.. best lor so can keep it there long long..

I don't know how long i can take it off.. on it for 1.5 yrs liao.. my case is quite bad bah..