Braces(ORTHODONTIST)

henkitty

Halo,

Anyone here have done it b4???
have some questions pls help.. :o
1.After puting on the bruces anyone took MC frm the dentist??or go to work after the nxt day???
2.Hw long to recover to eat normal food?

Kitty: I wore braces when I was a kid. No need to take MC and you are suppose to be able to eat immediately but it takes some getting used to. During the first week, you'll likely feel the stain as the braces are pushed against your teeth. I don't think you'll want to eat much hard food. You'll get used to it, then the next appointment comes & the braces gets tighten again and the whole cycle continues.

If your problem isn't very serious and you're not a kid anymore, can consider cosmetics dentistry instead. Porceline caps to change the shape and arrangement of teeth instead. Its quicker but will cost much more. But only work if the problem is not too pronounce.

Hi junec,
some people say they take MC some dun..and some say can eat normal food imed n others say they have to eat soft food for 2 weeks - 1 month..
Mayb the results is depend on each person...(after doin so many research)

Anyway thanks for yr advice seems like i can't do cosmetics dentistry cos mine a bit serious...

Hi kitty,

I did my braces first and later extraction on my wisdom tooth(bottom)....No right or wrong whether you do it before or after...I remove my braces already but i just leave my upper wisdom alone as it dont affect the rest of my tooth...

But one thing for sure...U will haf the fear of extracting tooth in ur life..imagine if u were to start removing 2 wisdom then 4 tooth for bracing(depends on ur situation)...Phew! It unbelievable...i had my bracing done within 1.5 year. After effects, u wil not regret putting on braces.Time flies!!

Hi ling,

Do you feel pain when you are on braces??
You on liquid till when?? 1 - 2 weeks??

Thanks in advance for your answers..

Kitty,

hmm....was on liquid for a few daes...until i got use...no hard food like biscuit..u wil feel that ur teeth dun belong to u ....depend on individual...after 3 daes i am able to take semi hard food...i also exp uclers veri often...due to the braces....But hard work pay off...

During the week i go for teeth tightening...teeth dont belong to me again....a few daes to recover....of cos i lost the fun of biting on an apple, holding the drumstick and bite....cant use my front tooth to bite....need to cut apple into small bites to eat...oral hygenie is veri impt when u are on braces....remember to brush after food or rinse...

Pardon me...is ur teeth condition bad?

I will be on braces soon...U know what...I am very tan chi so before my braces i will eat as much as I can...

My teeth quite bad due to overcrowding... "Men Ya not straight lor"...

How abt your case? How old r u when u r on braces??

So gald there's someone to share Experience..Thanks

Hi Kitty!!

Dun Worri!! U will slowly be used to braces!!
Was on braces in yr03....did it when i was 23yrs old ..not long ago....

My case...My lower wisdom grew and affect my lower molar making them in bad shape...my MAN YA like "PAO YA"...heehee...when i think of it i quite daring....went wif my fren to see doc..and after he advise me on my condition...i never hesitate...straight away...give a nod...and extract my tooth...ahaha....my fren was shock then...think when my fren see me so daring...she joined me....

When will you be extracting ur teeth? how mani of them? Dun haf to worry!! most imptly nw is to eat alot now!!! cos when u on braces..tends to silm alittle....

Can i ask .....how old are you?

Thanks for yr courage..

I have aly extract my teeth 4 of them and nxt week gona put on braces..
So coincident I am now the same year as you r on braces last year. 23

Kitty,

Dun Mention!!

Heehee.....me too extract 4 teeth...So how u feeling? Heehee....Got ppl call u Bo kay....Last time when i extract....my sis all tease me...

OoOoO.....hi-5!! realli Coincident...u go for private dental or govt ?

hi kitty and ling

can check with both where did and are you going to do your braces? Me thinking of putting on and looking for better and cheaper sources too.......Can i ask approx how much is the whole process?....

Ling,

My mouth is quite small..so it is not very obvious
My Hubi says he didn't observe if i din mention...
Mine is a pirvate...

Sweetheart,

Now the market price is 3 - 5 K depending which type of braces...

Kitty

i went to private dental too....known as Scott Dental at shaw house. u did the steel type or those transparent ones....Wht i love abt braces is monthly u can chg to colourful bands!! make sure u got the rite colour...if not ur teeth wld look very dirty....

Sweetheart

My braces cost me 4k for those transparent type....for the first paym i pay 2k...then each time i visit my doc...i pay $50.00....so once i hit another 2k...i dun haf to pay anymore...some sort of installm plan....

Hi Ling
Who was your dentist? Is he/she gd?
how long will it take for the gaps fr the extracted tooth close?

Hi Racg,

My dentist is Dr Tan...He is good....if w/o his persistance...my braces wld take a longer period....he tried ways and means to fasten my process....but off cos i myself haf to play a part....need to endure e pain as much!!

He would ask me...wld u might if i tighten and focus on two areas(gaps)at one go...wow...of cos it hurts....i wld tear at times...but i endure...
saying goes "ai swee mai mia"....The gaps actually depend on the method the dentist uses....sometimes when u see e gaps had close and u thought everything is finished....dentist pt of view is diff....hmm....i took of 2 upper tooth and 2 lower ones...and i took 1.5 yrs to finish the whole process....do u consider 1.5 yrs fast? as for my frens...they took oni 1 yr ....all depends

hi ling

that was how long ago when u did ur braces? maybe the price have slightly increased

wow, u really can endure the pain, feel so pain now

Hi Sweetheart

End 2001 and finish in mid 2003....the prices might haf increase....i go ask my dentist when i see him for yearly chk up. Alot of ppl going for braces now and better facilities compare to the past.....so prices silghtly higher

heehee.....the pain will go off soon after a week when u go for tightening....try to eat food that u are comfortable wif....actualli sometime i bo chap endure the pain and eat those hard food
....Do u know after braces ur face structure change also....

hi gals, thanks for the info..

do you go for a consultation first or will they do the mould, extract tooth during 1st appointment?

Hi racg,

Basically when we will go for the consultation first..then the dentist will explain to you abt your teeth(hw many teeth u have to extract and etc..)and you can ask questions too..
If you decide to do it then she/he will do the mould for u and have to take X-ray for your teeth also..

sweetHeart,

Heehee....oni a little changes....pushing inwards for all the teeth...tends to shift ur jaw aliitle....cant be seen....but when u look at x-ray...u see the difference....maybe oni for my case...u ask ur dentist and see wht he say abt ur case....

i'm due for my 1st appt at Dr Tay & partners dental surgeon, raffles place branch. has any1 got experience on their orthodontists namely dr thiam or dr yee? pls enlighten me, thanks!

Ling,

u mention dat your dental charge $4k for the transparent type. is dat charge for both upper n lower teeth? n is it inclusive of extraction of 4 teeth??

hope to hear from u soon, thanks many many!!!

hi trazz,

i have seen it done before, i believe this process requires ur teeth to reshape eg. grinding away till slighter smaller. From the final impressions they make a mould, and the veneers are bonded on to your own teeth.

this means that after many years, the glue that stick the veneer will lose its "stickiness: and u have to do it again...it's actually very different from braces and i think it's very misleading to call it "instant braces".

imho i still think braces is the best solution if u can spare the time.

hi yasmine

Mine is S$ 2K for the upper jaw..ceremic ones. He or the assistances will always try to give me the appt on the same day i complained or have doubts despite given his tight schedule especially towards CNY.

Acutally my price does not include filling but surprised that he did for me free

He is located Hong Leong Garden Shopping Centre, 6 7770181 Ask for the Elder Brother (more experiences)

tks hazel,
i have booked an appt on Feb for a consultation then see how lor..

anyone can recommend a good dentist in the east or north? I only wan to do the lower jaw. Hopefully will be less than 2K

Hey, I know it's abit too late posting on this forum..but I'd like to know if anyone has any idea where I can get the cheapest and best orthodontist? I'm considering the govt hospital...does anyone know the price there?? Thanks!

Hi Alexandra,

I don't know what is your definition of cheapest.. but i think if you wanted to do braces 2 decades ago, then you are right in saying govt hospitals are cheaper.. but now i think it's better to go private cuz the rates are similar and you get shorter waiting time. Do consider that.

Hi Alexandra,

I'm on braces now... Taking out 30 Sept! I had my braces on in Early July last yr! The cost was $3500 and i did it at SengKang - Compass Point (Smiley Dentist). If you want to do at govt hospital, you need to go thru poly clinic first to get a referral letter, in order to enjoy the cheaper rate. It was $2800 when i last checked with national dental in April last yr. According to them, under the subsidized rate ($2800), need to queue for around 3 yrs before it is your turn. And in addition, they can't guarantee the price will remain at $2800 3 yrs later. Worse of all, appointments for tightening of braces is usually on weekdays during office hrs.

Hope the above info does help you...

finali plucked up my courage n went ahead wif tis biggest decision of my life, after reading all ur postings...juz had 4 teeth extracted tis mrng...n was a crybaby...cried in the dentist's chair...hee! abit traumatizing for me at 1st...bt nw getting used to the gaps le...for my case, i had on the braces 1st...then extraction later...for all those still considering, go for it! once u get past the extraction...i tink the rest is bearable liao....

gd luck to all!

I'm just wondering if anyone had their braces on during wedding.

I am thinking of doing ceremic ones but will need to wait till 1.5 years later before removing. Also, I have to undergo jaw surgery and wear braces another 6 months.

My AD is planned somewhere next year so I am unsure if I should go ahead with braces n the surgery.

Also, does putting on braces make your mouth look more swollen (protruding) ?

Hope to hear your kind advice

http://www.smiledesignstudio.info/dentist.htm

[DON'T EVER GO TO THIS CLINIC!!!!! Read my reasoning below.]

This post may come late but for the benefit of those who read it...

I would like to strongly discourage those who are going for porcelain veneers. This thingy was popularized by Extreme Makeover on TV. Very Hollywood style.

in short, VENEERS ARE FAKES!!!

You are just using porcelain to plaster your misaligned teeth so on the outside, yr teeth look nice. but underneath, your crooked teeth are still there!

Veneers are quick fixes to delude yourself u have nice teeth but u don't. And if ur teeth are misaligned upper and lower, usually the dentist will recommend only doing the top. Cos that's where they are most obvious when u smile. And doing top and bottom can set u back easily S$10,000. No kidding. AND... yes more "ands"... If u have veneers top and bottom, u can't bite hard stuffs like apples without cutting it up first.

Moreover, veneers require your present teeth to be shaved off. Once you're on veneers, it is very unlikely you will want to have them removed as your teeth are no longer like b4. Even doing braces then should be impossible. If I'm not wrong, this is because, your enamel (outer part of teeth) is worn down b4 the veneers can be fitted. In short, your original teeth are damaged irreversibly.

So who are veneers for?

If u are doing 1 or at most 2 bad conditioned teeth, maybe it's worth considering. But for those who require braces but want to "cheat" or take the easy way out, usually the dentist will recommend you to do 6-8 veneers.

Mind u, veneers are not cheap! They charge $600 or more PER TOOTH! Do the math.

And veneers don't last. They chip, and you got to be careful what you eat. Even if u take good care of them, they last 12 to 15 years max. So it's guaranteed within your lifetime (depending on how old u have it done) you should be back in the dentist's chair at least 2 or 3 or 4 times! and of cos, more $$$ down the drain.

Pleaae don't cheat yourself, go do braces. A little pain is evitable but really, it isn't that bad these days. I have my braces done, frankly it isn't as bad as some described. Only some bearable discomfort initially.

Ok, who are veneers for? If you are some super star, eg Hollywood, where your looks sell for literally milions of $$, or your annual pay per year is a 6-7 figure sum, and time is so important, then maybe the $ for veneers is a small price to pay. (FYI, even a star like Tom Cruise did braces!) Hmm, that said, even if I earned that much, I'd very likely still choose braces.

AND FINALLY, and most importantly, the dentist at DENTIST@ORCHARD is a glib talker. Don't even think about going there!

I have had a very bad experience with him. He sweet talked me and made me do stuffs which I realized later from my other dentists I didn't need! I paid quite a sum of $ b4 I came to my senses. I quit veneers and I quit seeing that guy.

I'm on braces now and it couldn't be better.

Go for braces. Don't cheat yourself with veneers.

Hi Merydith,
Braces does make yr mouth look more protruding. When i just had mine on, my upper and lower lips protrude out like a duck's mouth and hence, showing my metal braces. But after a week or so, it was less obvious cos i kept trying to cover my braces with my lips and my lips ain't protruing tt much anymore. I think it's all abt getting used to the braces.

I'm Jacq.I happened to find this forum n hope to get some advice frm u guys...I juz had my braces on last thurs at the ntuc tpy branch n since fri nite i startin having ulcers n till now i had 9 ulcers aready.Do you all experience serious ulcers prob while puttin on braces too?I m thinking on changing the OD...izit advisable to do dat?
PS: actually i posted the same msg at another topic but oni after dat then i realised dat discussion was closed.

Hi Jacq,

I'm currently wearing braces too, I had it for more than 2 years.
I suspect it must be the uncomfy space between the brackets brushing against the inner wall of your mouth.
Do try to apply wax (if they provide you), if not, please go back to ask from them. It is FOC.
It is good to put some wax on the brackets, as that can prevent the ulcers from growing bigger and it can prevent from brushing of the inner wall further.
I have experienced that before, and I do call the orthodontist for help whenever I encounter pain or snapped of wire (once). Hee.

Lynn

HI Jacq..
So funni to be calling myself..Hahaha
I just put on braces last dec.. I also have serious ulcers.. Its okie.. Just that ur mouth need to get used to it.. It may take a while.. Like what Lynn says, put wax on the brackets.. It will go away before u know it...
No worries...

ok thanx for dat...cos i was pretty worried the last few days...afraid dat its becos im allergy to nickel but i duno abt it :P cos i asked 1 of my colleague who aso had braces but she din haf dat kind of prob :P so thanx anyway

btw..sorrie...can i ask 1more qn..? :P
after how long did u all managed to bite some soft food?cos....i can hardly bite any food till now.... :P thanx~

Hi Jacq,
Actually, I can hardly bite anything solid after a week. As the braces are very tense, you can feel the difficulty of biting.
Try to eat some soupy stuff, that can help you.
Btw, I managed to lose weight during that time. Hee.
Take care,
Lynn

actually to b honest, I wouldnt recommend u there. Got bad encounter wif them but cant change the doc cos i heard dat its not advisable. Think u can consider Lynnette's advise
And aso the tpy branch dun open everyday. The dental doc will oni b there on tues,thurs n sat....so it will b kind of inconvenient mayb if u faced any prob on other days...