Bookclub - what are you reading?

Hello! had lunch?

Alhana mummy, we wouldn't dare to have a laugh at ur expense lah... ur hb very protective of u right? but if it is me, i will ask him why m i traveling ona bus in the first place? get a car and chauffer me! heehee..

Oh so i should get tradebacks? what is that ah?? hard to get it in s'pore??? got X Men webbies ah? i m quite pathetic!! heh..

Ya Serene, why dun we start looking for names for Alhana mummy?

Bear,

My hubby no license, so I can't use that on him...kekeke. He always wanted to learn, but I've always said that he'd be a road hazard..haha. Very worried that he will be very 'violent' on the roads. :P So I wld rather he not learn. Funny right?

Yah, you can get trade backs at places like Kino, Borders or comic book stores. I saw quite alot at Kino last time. There are alot of X-Men websites..maybe you search under 'X-Men Chronology' and see if you can find anything useful.

Alhana, I forgot to record Veronica Mars.. the timing is so bad that it will take extra effort to watch/record the show every Sunday. So my hubby's going to get the 1st season for me! Did you order yours from Amazon? How long does the delivery take? Do you think can get it from HMV?

Yah, I got mine from Amazon. Not sure if HMV has but since they're showing it in SG, maybe they'll bring it in. Or you can try Blue Max or Gramophone. Think it took like 10 days to get to SG under normal air mail from Amazon. I agree..the timing sucks big time, but that's what I've come to expect from Mediacrap.

So quiet at the bookclub.. all betting for World Cup and so cannot touch 书 is it? :P I won for the South Korea match though I still read before I sleep.. so ladies, keep reading ok? :P

Alhana, I managed to get VM and am at episode 8 already! I think Weevil is really cool! Been watching every night now.. right after the 9pm world cup matches. My hubby said VM is a teeny bopper kind of show but he watches with me too and said it's a good show.

Hey avid!

Wah..you managed to get it so quick! Yeah, I love Weevil too...he can be quite protective of Veronica. Although the show is based on high school kids, it doesn't have a teeny bopper feel, unlike shows like 90210. The themes can be quite serious (like Lily's murder, discrimination etc). My hubby loves VM alot. Big time fans include Stephen King (he wrote about it on his website), Joss Whedon (buffy creator) and Kevin Smith. Joss and Kevin actually had cameos in season 2..that's how much they love the show.

Sigh..I haven't been reading. Last thing I read was Hello! magazine :P Was one of the kay poh ones who bought it just to see pics of Brangelina's baby girl.

Haha Alhana mummy, how did Brangelina's baby gal look like? pretty? heehee i din see the pixs either... :P

Avid i took the 2 days MC i had to catch up on some reading but i slpt mostly.. cannot shake off my flu! i read this book called The Kill by Alison Brennan.. not too bad... a bit draggy.. i just realised that most crime/ mystery books are centered around serial killers... yet in reality, there isn't many of them around, well, not that i know of...

I m also watching World Cup but can't stay up to watch the late matches.. i dun bet though cos i always lose.. heh...

Hello Bear! I'm reading something rather light.. kinda like self help book - "Don't Sweat the Small Stuff". Been so busy at work and at home (watching world cup and DVDs).. very stressed leh.

Alhana, wow Stephen King likes VM too? I gotta tell my hubby.. he's like in denial.. I think he likes the show quite a lot too but always pretending that he's watching just because I'm watching. He also couldn't stop singing "a long time ago..... we used to be friends...." It seems quite hard to sing that in tune!

Bear, so you are fully recovered now? By the way.. I'm feeling a sore throat coming.. aiyah but don't want to fall sick with the weekends so near! Hopefully Monday then fall sick then can take MC and chill out at home :P

Hahaha Avid, I think i need to read the book u are reading! i m always sweating the small stuff.. every lil' thing also wanna handle and then get frustrated when it doesn't go my way. heh.. whose the author? may be i can borrow it aft u are done.. u know we shd have a bookworm meet up session!

I m not 100% recovered.. still got the cough.. already been coughing for 3 wks...some more PS next Sat.. ppl say i m starting to look haggard.

Bear, it's "Don't Sweat the Small Stuff--and it's all small stuff" by Richard Carlson. You may want to get your own copy? Can get it at http://www.fingerbooks.com for only S$7.50. It's 2nd hand book but I think it's a good buy. There's "Don't Sweat the Small Stuff for Women" too but I don't have that.

Setting up a bookworm meet up session? Haha sounds fun but don't even count on anyone turning up during World Cup season. :P Maybe a virtual bookworm meet up here? We can pick a certain book for ALL of us to read and then we review it here? Sounds workable?

Hope you recover soon.. must have plenty of rest ah. What is PS?

Avid

Yah, Stephen king is a fan. He was praising it on his website. I know some guys don't want to admit liking the show, since the protagonist is a teenage girl. My hubby was quite irritated when he recommended it to his good fren, and the fren just brushed it off saying it's just a teeny bopper show. This fren actually is a big stephen king fan, so my hubby went 'if it's good enough for Stephen king, it should be good enough for you!' Hah! But his other male friend loves it too..also a big Weevil fan :P The soundtrack for VM is really good. If you play The Sims 2, one of the college rock songs on the game was featured in season 2 of VM..and it's on the VM soundtrack.

Bear,

Poor girl..sick before your photo shoot! Seems the flu bug is really getting around. So many people I know are getting it..whole families even! My parents are also down with cough and cold...hope I don't get it. *fingers crossed* Must take more vit c and water. Hv you decided on where you wanna take your photos?

Brangelina's baby's pic:

http://dlisted.blogspot.com/2006_06_04_dlisted_archive.html

Gotta scroll down midway to see the photos. You guys should check out this blog..it is hilarious! Quite vulgar though...so if you're against vulgar language..err..don't read the text..just see the pics :P Anyway, Shiloh Jolie-Pitt has her mommy's lips!

Gd morning fellow worms.. oops i meant bookworms..

Avid, ya i guess as much.. i dun think i would wanna risk the wrath of footie fans by suggesting a mtg during this sensitive time. stayed up to watch the Eng vs Trinidad game last nite? heeehee... what book do u think we shd read an review.. can it be something not so tough to read? heehee...

Thanks for the webby! it looks wonderful! i m gonna start exploring.. i think i read abt this webby in the news before...

Alhana mummy, i have been sick since end of May.. can't seem to shrug the bug off... very sian lor.. i m feeling better liao.. hopefully i dun become sick again before my PS! heehee.. aiyoh u won't get sick lah.. u can't afford to get sick... esp with the baby... i haven't tot of where to do my PS.. as u can see i m quite a laidback bride..

wah that webby u gave me is taking forever to load.. must have lotsa photos in it...

Bear,

Sick since end May??? Wow, that's bad! Is it becoz of your work environment? Some offices are in 'sick' buildings...they breed germs and people keep falling sick. My office air-con is very cold..alot of people with flu now, and the cold air makes it worse. Trying to stay healthy myself..yah, can't afford to fall sick

Heh..I was also a very laid-back bride. We didn't even do an outdoor shoot, for which my hubby is eternally grateful (he very scared of the heat coz he will sweat alot!!). We just did shots in the studio, and that's it. The photos weren't a big deal to us.

Yah, the webby can take awhile if you don't have good download speed. Yup...alot of pics, mostly of celebrities. It's a blog based on celebs, and the blogger is damn funny. He hates Paris Hilton..calls her Parasite Hilton.

Gd aftn Alhana mummy, eaten yet?

Ya i was sick since end May... then got better (so i tot), went to BKK and got worse, got better again (so i tot), went to a BBQ, and got worse... now i m better, and keeping my fingers crossed... ya i get building sickness too! but not with this job as i spend a lot of time outdoors! heehee... stay healthy ya??

Wah u also laidback.. i know of brides that have their AD aft mine, done their PS, had their food tasting, printed their cards etc etc.. heh.. i have not even gone for my final fit.. bleah.. not too much a big deal to me, yet.

I think i m addicted to that webby!! it is seriously funny!! i can't decide whether its American or Brit cos if it was American, then i shdn't be seeing Posh Spice in it (she can't be that famous). Ya love the jokes he makes abt Chesteca, Parasite and Blohan... HAHAHA....

Hey Bear!

So envious..you went to BKK! I usually go to BKK once a year, but no chance this year *sob* Maybe will go after the kid is born..then go there and buy baby clothes :P I think I'm gonna be a laid-back mom too..still havent bought any baby things. People are already starting to nag at me

Hehe..glad you like Dlisted. It's my big guilty pleasure now! The blogger is a gay guy, and he's sooooo bitchy! Think he's american..his slangs don't seem British. You'll be surprised..the americans do know the Beckhams..i've seen them featured in US tabloids. Apparently they think David Beckham is hot stuff, although they don't watch soccer.

Have a good weekend! Get more rest so you'll recover soon.

Gd morning gals!

Alhana, ha, i din really enjoy BKK. cos to my hb, he wanted to explore the city but for me, all i wanted to do is to shop.. so both of us got a lil' sulky along the way.. heehee... anyway i only enjoyed the bra buying spree.. the fashion there dun suit me at all!

Ya u seem like a laidback lady! i really like Dlisted, cos its so funny! i m thinking that Michael K, the author is Brit though, cos he even knows abt Jordan and Harvey, even Dwight Yorke. But u could be right too... heehee.. u know i spent most of Fri reading it?

I m so laidback that i forgot i had a fitting yesterday... hahaha.. that's how laidback i m... :P

Hi Bear

Aww that's a shame. When hubby and I go to BKK, we only have 2 things in mind: Shop and Eat :P Hubby loves shopping in BKK..he'll buy all the wacky tees and cheapo sunglasses. I'll buy all the cheapo bags and tees, and yes, the bras! As for the fashion, I can't really wear their clothes there. Girls there are so skinny it's sickening!

Lol..I hope you were home reading Dlisted, and not reading it while at work :P Yup, it's really addictive. Did you watch the clip about the Mrs World pageant? Where they crowned the wrong lady? Man, that was hilarious. Michael K is one mean SOB, but some of his lines really crack me up..HARD.

Haha..that really is Laidback with a capital L! So how..did you rush down or postpone the fitting? :P

Watched The DVC over the weekend. Colleague loaned the DVD to me. OMG, it was soooo boring! I fell asleep 1/2 hr into the movie. Tom Hanks looked like he was sleep walking thru out the whole movie. The only bright spot was Ian Mckellan, but he always steals the spotlight. Now looking fwd to the Superman movie...early buzz seems very positive.

Alhana mummy,

ya i din enjoy myself.. told my hb if ever i have to go back to BKK it will be with my gfs!! the fashion din fit me cos i found it too fussy and complicated. but i did have a ball buying all the deco stuff. heh..

oops i have been reading it at work!! its def more entertaining than my work though... heehee.. i can't watch video though, cos my co din enable the prog.. :P

I rushed down for fitting lor.. heehee.. PS is this sat cannot pushed liao.. amazing right? completely slipped my mind...

Ya DVC was super duper boring to me.. i dun like it at all.. found it very preachy too, esp the last part.. looking forward to Superman too... heehee... any gd books to recommend? i m bored to death!

Bear Bear

Aiyoh...you're so naughty...reading Dlisted at work! I will prob laugh out loud when reading it, so too risky to read in the office :P Plus loading time will take far too long.

Hmm...books ah..have you read Robin Hobb's books before? Can't remember if it was you or someone else who have also read her books. If you haven't, can try her books out. Quite good fantasy series, and not as complicated as GRRM
I haven't been reading much lately. Just bought the expansion for Guild Wars (MMORPG), so my free time is pretty much spent either playing the game or watching TV.

Yeah, DVC the movie was even worse than the book..and the book already sucked eggs (to me anyway).

Hi Bear,
If u like real life thriller/detective stories,u may wanna try author Ann Rice. She writes her books based on real life happenings,in fact all her stories are on the murder cases she used to cover as a crime writer.
Have read 'kiss Me,Kill Me' & And never let her go"..quite disturbing tat there are such cruel people in this world!

Gd morning!

Alhana mummy, ya u recommended me Hobbs before.. i was thinking to finish GRRM's new book first.. haven't got the time to go down and grab it though. if i start reading that book, i will prob forget even more of my wedding stuff!!

Ya i read dlist in the office.. its so funny... kinda addicted to it now... wonder what Michael K does.. u need a lot of time to source for the photos and write though funny captions!

Agree abt DVC! i kept checking my watch through out the movie.. i was sooo bored! i dunno how Angels and Demons will turn out either!

Slgerman, thanks for the recommendation! Ann Rice? not Anne Rice, the Vampire Chronicles author right? i have not seen Ann Rice at the lib yet... is she a new writer? kinda freaky to read true life accounts cos it nv fails to sicken me that there are such perverted ppl in the world.

hello ladies

m taking a break wif all the reading kekeke but i've juz recvd a book from my ex boss..he finally published a short stories book on sci fi hehehe i'm so touched 2 haf it recvd it from Melb keke will b reading as soon as the WC is over :P

Hiya Bear

You're so funny! Read until you forget even more wedding stuff! So jialat meh?? :P

Yah, I was telling my hubby the other nite..so shiok if I can do what Michael K does for a living..so awesome right? Just troll websites all day long..post funny clips and pics and write hilarious comments. I also wonder what he does for a living. Think he also earns money from his blog coz there are so many banner ads on the site.

Hehe..I was soooo glad I didn't spend money to watch DVC. Some of the scenes looked like they were cut and paste jobs from National Geographic docus on the Knights Templar etc :P Now looking fwd to Superman and Pirates.

Slgerman

Does Ann rice write about famous murder cases? I have a morbid fascination with such things :P There's this website called Crime Library (not the local website) which covers famous crimes..was addicted to it at one point in time. They feature alot of famous killers, like Ted Bundy, John Wayne Gacy, the Zodiac killer..wah..some of the things they did..really damn sick!!

Serene

You ah...haven't touched Legends yet right....think the books will be rotten by the time you start reading them :P

alhana mummy lol dun like dat say me lehhh *paisay* but i not in the 'fantasy' feel now so u noe lah...the series kena 'da ru leng gong' lol its still wrapped nicely wif the plastic cover somemore so wun rot so easily hahahaha

Ok lah....don't suan you anymore..kekeke :P Hope you'll still remember what happened in the first trilogy by the time you finally start reading Legends :P

Now I'm researching on which breast pumps to buy...so boring leh. Checking out various motherhood forums..all have different opinions. Headache.

ok Bear, PS means photo shoot.. I'm really slow ah. Not enough sleep.. not that I've been up catching world cup.. only watch the 9 or 10pm matches. Just don't sleep well these couple of days. All those weird strange dreams about scoreline! :P The virtual book club has got to wait then.. but it will be hard choosing a particular book for all to read.

Oh we comparing who's more laidback? Try to beat this.. I didn't even choose the colour/flower for my hand bouquet OR march-in song. Hubby was in advertising then and his creative team handled everything and I just showed up at the wedding. I remember that I kept telling them "surprise me" whenever they asked for my opinion. Super bochup..

Alhana, I haven't been watching VM lately.. still stopped at episode 8. Been too busy with work and by the time I got home.. only in time to watch one match and then ZZz zZ z z.

Serene, any hot tips for WC? I predicted correctly the scoreline for 1 out of 4 matches last night.. should have bought more. Win small small no kick :P

Avid

So you're another laid-back bride..kekeke. So were you surprised in the end? I think I was only enthusiastic about choosing the gown (coz I've always harbored dreams of being a fashion designer..so the dress part was the most fun for me)..other than that, the rest was pretty boring for me. Think my cousins, who helped me with wedding favours and decor, were more enthusiastic than me..keke.

Talking abt zzz..feel like sleeping now *yawn* My pregnant colleague and I (she sits in the next cubicle) take turns yawning..keke. Wish I can go home n nap now.

Alhana, so do you like to watch Project Runway then? I love watching it! About my wedding, we're so grateful for all the help we got and everything was planned properly and tastefully. We surprised the team with gifts at the wedding. There were talks about setting up a wedding coordinating company after that but I guess till now everyone's still keeping their day job :P

I wish I can go home too.. I kept hoping to be less busy at work and now that I'm not THAT busy, it's actually more tiring! Time is like crawling................ arrghhhhh

Wah so many posts?

Serene, ya lor ur books will have mildew by the time u start man!! heehee... ur ex boss writes ah? must tell us if the book is any gd...

Alhana, i think i will really forget leh.. i already quite forgetful, esp aft the meningitis... if i got a riveting book then all the more i dun wanna stop mah... Ya i m looking forward the Pirates too!! i LOOOVE Johnny Depp. like super love him.. his character as Jack Sparrow is soooo gay! heehee... the guy playing Superman is kinda cute too... heehee.. but nobody can replace Christopher Reeves.

Aiyoh breast pumps ah? that one i cannot help u... heehee... that crime lib webby sounds great.. i also got this morbid fascination abt it leh... heehee.. u know the movie Wolf Creek? it was supposed to be based on a real crime so i went to research abt it.. so scary man!

Avid, u lagging i think.. heehee.. no enough slp... heh... i only watch the matches i like lor.. cannot watch every single match lah.. unless u got maternity leave! heehee.. or a football analyst! try to rest more. Alhana mummy, u also.. take a short nap at work lor. ur boss will understand right?

alhana hahaha i probably will skim thru the 1st series b4 touching the 2nd kekeke

avid reader hahaha i noe nuts abt soccer 1 leh..juz go wif the 'feel' haha laz nite matches i bingo all lah...eh...small wins no kicks so dun waste time buying sg pools :P 2nite's matches i haven decided..still looking at odds n my guess is it may b a 'draws' nite kekeke

Avid

Yah, go home early and watch VM..definitely more enjoyable way to spend the day :P

Funny thing is, I don't really watch Project Runway. Did watch the last few eps for season 1...that Wendy Pepper lady just irked me..hehe. How's season 2? Heidi Klum is a damn boring host...listen to her talk can fall asleep. I prefer to watch America's Next Top Model..more catty, bitchy and drama :P

Bear,

Aiyo..then next time when you preggers how..lagi more forgetful. Now when I forget things, can just blame it on pregnancy..keke. Pregnancy is really a good excuse for a lot of things. Heh.

Can't nap here leh..and my boss..understanding? Sigh..don't get me started on her. Heh..for more reading pleasure, go to http://www.crimelibrary.com Check out Jeffrey Dahmer..walao he damn sick. Actually tried necrophilia and cannibalism.

Alhana, I feel that season 2 is better. I didn't like that Wendy at the 1st season also! Such a scheming irritating person! Oh Heidi Klum was such a pretty preggy mummy when she was hosting season 2.

Bear, I was thinking of taking leave so as to catch some of the late matches.. but then I think I should keep my leave for holidays. I've not touched this year's leave yet and half a year's gone already!

Serene, I shall stick to my small bets... I only bet on scoreline. Maybe many small wins combine then become big big?? :P I'm hoping that the Ivory Coast vs Serb & Montenegro match is a 1-1 draw.

avid reader hahahaha ok gd luck!

alhana haha dats wad my sis said 2! saw her laz nite..she's 4mths preggie liao..n still praying hard it's a gal kekekekeke

Bear & Alhana,

Yeah u ur rite,it's ann rice..not the vampire writer..another lady..US lady who covers the murders in USA. Oh man..it was hard to put it down man..

Wah finally i found someone who likes these stuff..thot i was the only one..welcome!

ok...now gonna check out the crime library..

Serene

Your sis should be able to find out the sex soon. Think we found out at ard 15-16 weeks. Of coz it depends on whether the baby cooperates :P Mine was squirming ard alot so took awhile for the OB to confirm that it's a girl. Your sis expecting first child? I love girls too! Looking at all the baby girly clothes...so pretty!

Avid

Heidi Klum is preggers again! Lately, celebs hv been popping babies like nobody's business. I know who won season 2 of PR. It amazes me how fast they can put an outfit together. And even tho it looks kinda crappy during the creation process, it always looks so good on the runway!

Hello gals!

Alhana, i think when i m finally (if i ever am) preggies, i will be super forgetful.. i dunno why i m so forgetful leh... even taking my meds i also forget... i only rem to slp and read only.. work i also forget.. bleah. Thanks for the link.. i m gg to check it out now.. heh... doing it at work cos got broadband!

Avid, take a day off or something.. u still got so many days leave mah.. one day won't die.. heehee...

Slgerman, welcome to the club.. we are all perverse in one way or another.. i will rem the title and get it when i m at Sunny soon. wat other genres do u read?

alhana keke its her 2nd...she got a boy oreadi dats y she wans a gal so muchie kekeke tink she will noe if she hit the jackpot in her next chkup

bear bear LOLLL simi we r all perverse in 1 way or another?? i nv tot of myself dat way sia wahahahha

slgerman

Hmm..may check out this Ann Rice's books..but dunno if I shld be reading such sick morbid stuff while pregnant..hehehe. My mom actually scolds me when I watch horror movies..haha. How many books has she written?

Bear,

Aiyo you ah...better not recommend too many websites for you to surf..hehe...encouraging you to 'eat snake' at work!

Serene

Ahh...one girl and one boy..that's the most ideal lah. Hubby already planning when to start trying for the second one! We wld also like one boy and one girl..but as long as healthy and happy, the sex not important lah.

Hehe..don't you take perverse pleasure in retorting your MIL? *LOL*

Gd morning gals...

Serene, i m sure u have some guilty pleasure mah.. some perverse stuff that u like to do but cannot tell others lah.. i like poking at this senior of mine.. i have the perverse pleasure of seeing her squirm while i embarass her.. but this is not healthy for my promotion chances.

Alhana, i can't work at work lah.. i work better at home.. strange but true...

Good morning Bear.

Sigh..only 10am and I feel like sleeping...zzzz. Hehe.

What your senior do to you...y must make her squirm leh?

Good morning ladies! We're closer to the weekends!

Bear, I will take leave on 10 July so that I can sleep after watching the WC Final. Keeping my leave so that if I quit my job, I can offset with my leave :P

Alhana we watched VM last nite.. but only managed 1 episode. My hubby said AGAIN that it's a good show. The next series we wish to catch on DVD is Grey's Anatomy. Only watched episodes here & there on tv.. no head no tail. Oh I very curious so I went to find out who won Project Runway 2! I'm glad that person won!

Serene you were right! 2 draw matches last nite!

alhana n bear bear eh...those ga jiao tactics i do on ppl hor..e.g. tekan my MIL hor..i dun find it guilty leh LOL there's certainly pleasure..heaps! but guilty? NAH! wahahahha

avid reader haahhaha i only played 2 matches laz nite n won both kekeke i played the holland n portugal match heheheeh u? won anot?

Serene I won the portugal match too.. but I lost the argentina one so in the end only won a bit bit. But win can already lah. Just for the fun of it. :P

avid reader hahahhaa alot of ppl lose on the argentina 1 lah...as usual..dats y i tink the other way kekeke

waiting 4 odds 4 2nite now kekekeke

Aiyoh talking abt footie here? i did set up a thread on World Cup 2006 leh.. post there lah...

Wake up Alhana mummy.. didn't slp well last nite? or just tired from carrying the extra weight? Wat that senior did to me? nothing but getting on my nerves.. actually she is a huge bully.. nobody dares to stand up to her lor.. so ur truly not scared to die, will stand up to her bullying.. so she is a bit wary abt me and i m sure, complains to my big boss behind my back. She does it to every of our col, even wrote an email to the big boss scolding another col for having password protected Excel sheets!! so whenever she says something stupid, i will tu her back...

Serene u are right, i dun feel guilty.. she deserves wat she gets... a lot of ppl kena threatened by her with warning letters cos they din wanna help her do her work.. everybody must put down their work to finish hers first then can resume their own work or else she threatens to give warning letter for insubordination.. mean right?

Avid, heard the Grey's anatomy is gd leh.. even this tvphobic like me also know abt it.. heehee... there is another doc drama, this doc uses unusual methods to treat the patients.. can't rem the name.. but heard that it was gd too...

Serene ok good luck too! Win more money to go shopping!

Bear, I think Alhana might know what that other doc drama is.. Alhana, do you know?

Am thinking of how to go off from work early today. Perhaps "drop by" to visit CommunicAsia at sing expo before going home!

Not in working mood lately :P

bear bear u toking abt dat senior ah? tis type of niao niao person u shld 'treat' her some colours lol its juz a matter of time dat she kena big time! but rem juz dun get bullied

avid reader hahah thanx har..i oreadi spent a portion of yest winnings on some mango sale stuffs liao hahahah

btw ladies mango sale starts 2day