Bookclub - what are you reading?

Roseline? isn't that the line mentioned in DVC? heehee...

Lilacgal, me first 6 yrs of education in convent, next 4 yrs in mission sch.. so got the best (or the worst) of both types of education...

Agree that u can identify a convent gal from the way she talks, walks and moves... right?

Wahahaha.. same team!! kekeke..

Bear, yap.. more or less agree with u lor...
Convent gals are recognized from a yards length.

Hahah... i dun think I'm like the typical convent gal leh.. I'm not so hiao or playful...

Skylar I'm not in the "team" lah.. Me just member..hehe...not such a great player but I did train w the NUS team for a short period in uni.

Wah...so many convent girls??? I'm not one, but was in an anglican school during my secondary days. Sad to say, I think going there turned me off the religion :P My hubby is catholic, but he doesn't go to church anymore. Last time he went to church was during our wedding!! That was 6 yrs ago :P He's a history major, and he read alot on old european history, esp those involving the time when the roman catholic church was very powerful. Alot of the things the church did...haiz, not very good examples at all :P The religion is ok..it's actually the people that corrupt it. I guess that can be said for other religions. Sad but true. Power corrupts.

Avid,

Long time no see! I'm watching Supernatural on TV now. It's like X Files meets Buffy, with 2 hot guys as the leads :P I like supernatural and occult themes, so the show appeals to me. Also watching LasVegas, Alias, CSI and TAR. Also followed American Idol but stopped after Chris got kicked off...grrr. Remember me telling you abt this series called Veronica Mars? I hv the DVD of season 1 and it is a very VERY good series. The characters are well developed, the lines are sharp and witty, and the mystery well done. Best series on TV so far. Pity Singapore isn't showing it. CAn't wait for the DVD for season 2 to be out.

Bear,

Yah, I remember that you're not much of a TV fan. No wonder no DVD player :P I think the only movies I will be watching next are Superman, Pirates and X3. After that, prob will only watch the yr end stuff like Black Dahlia and Zodiac.

Goooogal,

Hee..your hubby and mine the same. Very efficient digestive tract. That's why we usually watch the first morning show. Then after that we'll go for lunch.

me finally went to watch DVC over the weekend... hmmm... must say it was not too bad... fast-paced most of the time. i was stil worried that my hubby won't understand the show coz he never read the book... but it turned out ok...

so levynn..
finally ah.. how u find it eh? kekee... Xmen is out this Wed!! whahaa...

Gooogal..
just remember that i was wacked by the damn stick once during game & landed in hospital.. nabz.. tat gu niang who hit me, blind in the eye ah!

Morning! Skylar, so serious ah... go to hospital after being whacked by the hockey stick?? I have been hit by the ball before but not serious. I think I rather be hit by a small ball than by big balls like basketball, volleyball.. hahaha...

DVC is passe liao... me anticipating X-men!!!

DVC!!! GOOD!!! i love that show! treat it as a fiction lor... no one said got to compare with the rules what....

i going to book tix for xmen tmr liao...

aiya..i got tennis on thurs..cant b the 1st batch 2 watch...argh...

skylar u cockanaden..u were the 1 who went offline 1st leh!! all my msgs 2 u bounced back

harlow, everyone!

Wah, I was gone for a week or so and so many posts! Glad to see this forum active...

My work-related book was so boring that i ended up watching So Many movies on the flight... Let's see - Nanny McPhee, Mrs Henderson Presents, Rumour has it (Jennifer Aniston one based on Mrs Robinson the song), All about Love (Korean), My wedding campaign (korean), Sunflower (Joan Chen china show), half of Match Point (got bored/sleepy), Hoodwinked (satrical cartoon), Touch (japanese show abt love triange btwn 3 teenagers and their love for baseball)... started watching 3 degress colder, some european film but also fell asleep. Not all on one flight lah, two long haul flights, there and back.

Hee, interesting that there are so many convent girls here. I'm quite scared of convent girls, think they are mostly quite fierce. :P I was from girls' school but non-mission school... but surprisingly I turned out Christian! To me, DVC is good fiction, but all the hoo-ha around it quite unnecessary. it doesn't deserve so much publicity and controversy. just a book mah.

Also managed to read one relationships book during this work trip - "His needs, Her needs" by William Haley that was quite interesting and gives a lot of practical marriage advice.

The frens I met up with overseas convinced me into buying this 'food' book by Michael Pollan called "the omnivore's dilemma" -- carry until I siao! so thick. but hopefully I can finish reading it at some point. always buy books and then never get down to reading...

Goooogal, yup, I've read GGMarquez. So so only lah, the friend that recommended it raved and raved. I think I read "love in the time of cholera' and the thousand years of solitude or thousand years of something... and got totally lost in all the spanish war stuff. kinda reminds me of captain corelli's mandolin, but that one was infinitely more readable.

Ok shall stop boring all of you with the long post....

Serene...
huh? izzit? me meh?? hhmm.... my msgs to u also all bounced back leh.. funny .. but later cheh meh come in.. i ask him got see u bor, he say u offline leh.. whahaa..

Goooogal..
ya man, dun see ball small small.. very power one leh.. whaha...

Xmen!! out on Wed!!

hv watched DVC last wkend too....find it quite fast paced lor....prefer the book more since it keeps the suspense going...

wanna watch xmen too!

Cecilia...
its not hit by ball, its hit by stick ah!!
whahaha... actually hor.. if u really kena a strong blow by the ball also no joke leh.. u think wat? very pain one ah.................

i'm a natural magnet field.. i attract all flting objects from young... they will fly to me... including soccer balls, beetles, bats, birds, flying bottles... i'm already trained...

haha!! no need so extreme... i always sit at a corner when my hb they all play soccer and stuff.. but no matter how i sure kena one... even i sit right behind the net.. the ball also finds me... even his friends also know and say i attract flying objects liao.. hehe!

er, wat happened to the thread? from books to getting hit by balls?!

din managed to catch DVC cos all the tixs were sold out.. may be this wkends lor.. back to back movies of X men and DVC..

Just finished another book.. kinda draggy this one... Don't say a word by Barbara Freethy.. seems like i m short of gd books to read. haizzzz...

bear... Barbara Freethy's book draggy?? i've read quite a number of her books, so far, they r quite all rite. but she tends to keep to the same story line... marriage problems, n definitely wif a kid somewhere.

skylar... hurry go read Angels n Demons... really very nice. in fact, i think it's much nicer than DVC.

Levynnn...

okok... have just bought the book online, will be sent out tonite.. so guess by tmr I will be getting it lor..

will go read ya!

Hi gals, I'm reading incessantly Nick Hornby's books. Bought two recently - How To Be Good and A Long Way Down. Thumbs up!

Watched X3 yesterday, and well, I didn't like it. I've read X-Men comic books and know the Dark Phoenix saga pretty well, and the movie totally changed the whole thing. Can't say that I blame them since it wld be near impossible to translate that epic storyline into a movie (wld probably take a few movies :P), but the whole thing turned out pretty anti-climatic. While we saw the shadow of the phoenix in the water at the end of X2, we never ever see the phoenix manifest itself in the movie. Jean was nothing more than a super angry mutant, rather than a cosmic being capable of devouring entire planets. Ian Mckellan was funny as Magneto, and there were shades of humour, esp w Multiple Man and Juggernaut (who seemed rather small in size to me). Most of the new mutants didn't really hv much to do except show brief flashes of their powers. Some pretty much only had cameo appearances. There's a reveal at the end of the credits..so stay to watch it if you can. All in all, I found it the least entertaining of the 3 movies. Actually found myself getting bored 1/2 way thru.

Anyway, reminiscing abt the Dark Phoenix saga makes me wanna pick up my old comics to read again

Avid,

You here? The show I was telling you abt, Veronica Mars, is showing on CH5 every Sun at 6pm. Just read abt it in 8 Days. Do watch it if you can and let me know if you like it. It's my favourite TV series right now

Alhana!

I watch X3 and i love love love it to death!!! heehee... ya have to agree that those new mutants introduced machiam very brief. i want to know the story behind every mutant! i nv read the comics before but now i feel like reading them.. where to get them ah? and where to start? is there this character called Mr Sinister? i rem him from the cartoon... he was involved in some plot to break Jean and Cyclops up... and isn't Colossus a baddie? i rem him as a baddie from the cartoons leh...

Alhana,

Yeah I remember you told me about Veronica Mars. Will try to catch it on tv but it's shown at a bad time slot leh.. sunday at 6pm. Why not a weekday nite instead? Sundays late afternoon-early evening slots are no good.. remember they used to show Gilmore Girls around that time too? THAT should be the kind of shows to show at that slots cos people are out for dinners on sundays? Hahaha.. I used to like Gilmore Girls but after a while it bores me to tears.

My fav tv series now is LasVegas.. :P

Hi Bear

Hehe..it seems that those who read the comics hated the movie, and those who don't know the comic lore loved it! If you want to read, you can buy trade backs in major bookstores like Kino, Borders, or shops specialising in comic books. They usually cover entire story arcs...good for catching up on major story plots. Yes, there's a Mr Sinister. And no, Colossus is not a baddie. He's with the X Men. His sister was also a mutant, but I think she was killed..can't really remember now. The stories can get so convoluted. Read from some forums that Psylocke was also in X3, but dunno which one was her.

hello ppl!

aiyo..i din like X-men AT ALL...guess i was really disappointed lah...i told others if wanna watch watch on weekdays..dun waste $$ on weekends..not worth it :P

Hi avid

Yah lor..I also say the time slot SUCKS. No wonder all these shows nvr get viewers. I nvr liked Gilmore Girls..think they just talk too much :P But I must say VM is really good..way better than Buffy, which was my favourite teen girl series last time. Maybe you can tape it? I enjoy LasVegas too..last Sunday's ep was so funny. My fave now is Supernatural. Next up is Grey's Anatomy, LasVegas and CSI.

Serene!

Hehe...guess I'm not the only X3 hater here. I oso told me gf not to waste her money, but I think her fiance really wants to watch it.

hey alhana hehe hows the baby growing? tummy getting bigger n bigger? hehe

i tink most ppl will watch X-men juz coz its X-men kekekekek

Hey Serene

Baby should be bigger now..my next appt is on Sat, so will give a full report then :P Tummy is bigger, but I'm at the stage where people can't tell if I'm fat or pregnant
It's not protruding so obviously yet, unless I wear figure hugging tops. Yesterday took bus oso no one give up seat, so I guess I don't look pregnant enough..haha.

Yah, most people will watch it simply coz it's X-Men. Think they're doing a Wolverine and/or Magneto spin-off. Ian McKellan was great as Magneto, although he looked kinda small compared to the comic book version (that Magneto was big and brawny..and looked younger despite the white hair :P)

i juz finished JD Robb's "Memory in Death". hmmm.. felt that it was not as good as previous ones. i felt like she was juz writing this becoz she needs to come up wif another "in death" story. i could guess the culprit at the moment the body was found. it was not as fast-paced n exciting. didn't made me wan to finish it at one go. maybe she has run out of ideas for the "in death" series?? hmmm...

Hello gals!

Alhana mummy, the thing is i dunno where to start... this comic series is sooo rich.. pick any one up and u will be in the midst of a story. Unless u read everything, there will be stories that depended on previous stories etc... One thing i m curious abt, did Jean ever had a baby with Cyclops? i can't rem where i heard/seen/read abt this...

Glad to hear that ur pregnancy is gg well! have u started shopping for baby stuff? exciting right?? let us know how the check up goes.. I m popping over to BKK over the wkend! YAY!

Serene, i really loved the movie.. my hb too... he even said it was better than LOTR! cos there were some parts that made u cry at the same time too.. heehee.. i hated DVC though! Hated hated it!! so draggy and soooo naggy!!! may be becos i felt that the book was already bad.... heh.

morning ladies!

hahaha bear bear like all things, movies/books etc r very subjective, every1's tastes' differs kekekekeke i felt the opposite of u 4 both the movies kekeke

alhana mummy! will u noe the baby's gender tis sat? i noe u r in dat 'awkward' period now whereby strangers oso not sure whether u r 'bumpy' or preggie kekeke there were times when i c some ladies like dat n m at a loss whether 2 giv the seat up..dun wanna make some1 embarrassed unneccessarily leh hahaha my sis shld b 3mths+ preggie now 2 hehe

alhana mummy...

i guess this is like another new chapter in your life, rite?? u have any preference for a girl or boy? or twins?? heh...

serene... me n my ah lao juz saw someone like that last nite. he was asking me if she was pregnant or juz wif a tummy... i also dunno leh...

Ya Serene, i understand that it is subjective... heehee.. at least we agree to disagree.. heehee....

There are times where i see, erm, ladies with big tummies too! then i dunno if i shd give my seats up or not.. wat will u do if u are not preggie and someone gives their seat to u cos they think u are? will u be offended? or will u take it? heehee... i would take it!!

Hrmmm Levynn i tot i rem Alhana saying she expecting a gal..

bear... alhana mentioned a gal?? must have missed it... me too KPO going ard all the threads, forgot where i read wat liao... keke. anyway, i will also take the seat if pple give up to me la... but then after that, cfm go home do sit-ups furiously... hahahaha...

Aiyoh...you all having a laugh at my expense huh :P My awkward phase..yah so true. My colleague that day asked in a very hesitant tone 'errr..r you...you know..expecting?' THen I said 'yes' and I think she was relieved. Said she didn't know whether i was preggers or just putting on weight. So sad..haha. Hubby said if he were on the bus with me he wld pull people off the seat so that I cld sit down...dunno real or not. Heh. But ok lah..i'm not at the clumsy stage yet, so no problem standing for now.

Yah, I'm having a girl. And I LOVE girls! So happy. But honestly, as long as the baby is healthy..that's good enough for us

Bear...you can buy the Dark Phoenix sage tradeback first..then you can see the diff between the movie and the comic lore. It's one of the fans' all-time favourite X-Men storyline. The rest of the story arcs are not so drama. It's very hard to start from those single issues, esp now, coz there's like no head or tail. We stopped reading quite a while back, and I think if we were to re-start, oso won't know what's happening. that's why tradebacks are the best way to go. You can go to X-Men websites to check on chronology, so you can read in the proper sequence