Bangkok

hi apple!
i'm going next wed (9,30am flight) to sun (coming back 7+ evening)...
i agree, there seems so much to do, shop, buy, eat.. etc...
just curious, how much do you all spend on your trips there and for how many days of shopping? i'm wondering how much money to change/bring...

aiyah...so sad..booked my package n they said asia hotel fully booked during the period...

Any idea how is Baiyoke Suite? I know it is a old bldg...other than that? Eg: location, accessibility, etc.

Pls advise. Tks!

oh ya... can anyone give me tips on shopping and bargaining? say when i'm at chatuchak, how much should i start with the bargaining? around 60-70% of quoted price? any other tips also greatly appreciated! thanks!

yanling & apple, fyi travel ins does cover things been stolen or if u fall sick (see doc or buy medicine).

yanling, wow u still v active here ya! thinking of going bkk again next mth but ve yet to book :p

at ctc, can start bargaining at ard 30% of the price... however, very hard to bargain liaoz... they at most give like 10-20baht off lor... not a lot lahz...

baiyoke suite is at pratunam area... so if u like going pratunam, tats gd for u? but really old building liaoz...

pratunam open everyday but closes by evening... be there early n u can head to platinum mall after the hot market out there...

after much consideration, we will be bringing our own luggage bag. but i use weighing machine to weigh its already 16 kg leh. so i can only buy stuff that is 14 kg to meet the 30kg limit.

can anyone advise what is the plug like in BKK? COs i may need to charge my HP. so if the plug is diff from SG mayb i will get one cos yesterday i go CHintown they selling it at $1.90 but the issue is the 2 point flat plug is straight one or slant one.

Change the currency yesterday, the best price they willing to give me is 23.86.

apple: Branded Lingerie is cheap in Bangkok. Not sure those cheap 1s. Famous brand people buy are usually wacoal.
I usually use the weighing machine in the hotel room to weigh my luggage and make sure they don't exceed, if they do, i take some stuff out and hand carry them. Everywhere sell luggage bag, chatuchak, MBK, Isetan... but i am not sure about the prices.
peachbloom: Pratunam market is open on weekdays as well, but there are more stalls on Sunday therefore some of the small lane are closed for cars. Chatuchak, nowadays most stores don't give discount as much as 50%.. Probably only 10 to 20% thats all. You can't bargain much for items tagged with price. They won't give so much discount as compared to last time because last time prices were raised very high for people to bargain, but now prices are reduced to their "almost" best price.

zenn: Hi zenn, yeah, i know insurance don't cover those stuff thats why it isn't worth buying since Bangkok is so safe except for some pickpockets. How many times have u been to Bangkok this year?

Stacy: If you want Pratunam area, then take Baiyoke Sky or Indra Regent. As Ling have said, Baiyoke Suite is an old building. Thats all i can say. My last trip at Baiyoke Sky, booked a junior suite and was upgrade to a Superior Suite. The room was almost the size of a 4room HDB flat, a door seperating bedroom and living room.

Hi Yanling

Thanks for your advise.

Hope everything turns out well.
another qn is, do we buy the unlimit time BTS ticket? Can the ticket be use in MRT?

apple: That depends on where your hotel is and how often you travel on BTS. There are places where BTS does not reach. I am not sure of BTS and MRT ticket cos I haven't take any of these transport yet. If i am not wrong, I don't think the unlimited BTS ticket is valid for MRT use.

Hi apple,
where do we get the unlimited BTS ticket? I asked the counter staff at the BTS station.. the lady told me no unlimited trips BTS ticket... It is based on a no of trips that you can make. I bought the one that allows me to make 30 trips on BTS.

Does anyone knows where is Plaza 29 or Bonaza (Dunno if i spelt correctly)? Heard that it is a linkbridge to MBK, but I have no impression there's a linkbridge. Isit link from Siam Discovery centre to MBK? Cos I wana do manicure & pedicure, some forum ppl recommend these places.

Hi Purple,

The link-bridge is from Bonaza Shopping Mall to MBK. Bonaza is located in Siam Square. Not too far from the huge Watsons and the Hard Rock Cafe.

Hi L.S

So can I say the link bridge is called plaza 29? a bit confused on this part, heard Plaza 29 is a place where can do manicures? Sorry if i sound silly... hee.. =P

Is it near to MBK watsons?

Bkk is nice lotsa good food.. anywhere. there's this abalone place open by thai chinese family. roughly abt SGD50 per pax on budget menu.. near Hardrock Bkk..

Purple Rain: haha.. i know what you mean. MBK Watson is the nearest to the bridge across. cos i remember got 1 time we wanted to go Siam Square and my friend say look for Watson then go out from the exit nearby. Anyway if its juz at the link bridge, there are lotsa mani & pedi ard there, as well as uniform sellers.

purple,
Well, now that you've mentioned it, there is indeed a Watsons near the link bridge inside MBK itself.
There is also a Watsons outlet in Siam Square not to far from Bonanza.

hi pple, just got back from my weekend trip. weathers very sunny, no rain. there a watsons at siam square, 2 storey. MBK also..right at the entrance of the link between MBK and plaza 29 mall.

actualli cant really bargain much at CTC market but i managed to get a juicy couture handbag at sampan market at 50% of the price MBK shops quoted me.

wow seems like it's true now we cannot bargain so much at CTC liao... thanks for all your tips. maybe i start at 70-80%, heheh. hope they won't give black face! i heard some of the stall owners can't be bothered with the bargaining, they just ignore and won't call you back. so my fren was saying, if i see something i like, i better buy first, else may not be able to find the same one.. or when i try to go back to the stall, cannot find it cause too big!

did anyone go on the kanchanaburi and death rail tour?

peachbloom: yeah they won't bother to ask you back even if you walk off. For example a 200THB item, at most you can only down to ard 190THB..

Dont think anyone would go to that death rail tour... Seems abit eerie probably.. esp Hungry ghost festival coming soon as well so i think its not recommended to go such places

icic... thanks!

Thou is my 2nd trip to BKK in 6 months, still very excited... This time round, must buy & eat, buy & eat... keke.

Anyone here went to the Wednesday Bridge? (dunno wat the thai name)

hi Yanling!
heheh.... hubby and i thinking of going on the tour cause it's actually a historical site and it'll be nice to take a trip down the river kwai. this 1 day is for my hubby (hee), and the other 4 days, it's for me... shop shop shop!!! :P

hey apple!
I changed my money at "little thailand" - golden mile complex. the rate we got was 2.39... should be around that range.

just 1 more day. it's so nice to be packing for a trip

Hi yanling,

Travel ins does cover but perhaps not all co covers. If gg next mth will b the 2nd time this yr. Wanted to go pray pray leh

Hi Zenn,

I also wanted to go pray at Erawan Shrine on my coming trip. So where do I buy joss sticks & flowers? How much? Simple one will do. I'm afraid I kena chop by the ppl there.

Purple Rain: Erawan Shrine itself has many stalls selling joss sticks n those flowers. Buy from inside the shrine, there are alot of roadside stalls selling also but i heard some sell quite ex. its damn crowded that time i went probably because its Chinese Lunar 1st month.

Joss stick are cheap, but flowers and candles aren't. You can either buy just joss stick alone or buy 1 package which include ring flower, joss stick, candle. Joss stick shud be lower than S$1, but the package i forgot already. Maybe 200THB or 240THB i think.

apple: Money Changer opposite Giordano, the other beside 2nd floor carrefour/ThisFashion. Opp Giordano rate is better.

Eh... Do Thai believe in Hungry Ghost Festival? Cos the period I'm going happen to be. I'm not "bang tang" but will still hv to lookout for any taboos in hotels or streets.

Hi purple rain,

I dun remember seeing outside selling. Anyway I usually buy from inside and there is only 1 stall selling. They ve few ranges - if I remember correctly starting fm 50baht, 100baht n etc The cheaper one just come wif joss stick n smaller flowers. More x come wif more flowers. You can ask them for the diff.

Oh I also interested to know cos I am consider end aug. When u gg?

Apple, ya started since 2 yrs back hee. Which hotel did u stay? I stayed in Arnoma in feb n its like 5 mins walk fm hotel.

Hi Zenn,

I'm going from 28 Jul - 31 Jul.

Hi Apple,

U staying at Samran Place? Please update me when u come back. I wanted to know exactly how far it is from hotel to BTS, how is the room, breakfast, etc...

Zenn: Prob that time u went didnt fall on Lunar Calendar 1st or 15th so only 1 stall selling. I went that time, inside there were 3 stalls, outside have even more stalls, they were on those push carts same as those in our Bugis Guan Im Temple. There were also some Thai dance performance beside the joss stick seller.
Hows Arnoma hotel?? Food nice? Rooms Big? Got Bath tub?

Just came back from Bangkok, Pattaya and Kanachanburi. Got a lot of tips from here so it's my turn to share.

Hi purple rain, i stayed at samran place for 3 night in bangkok. it's cheap, clean and rooms are quite clean. however the hotel is a little small, got the shock of my life when i reach there. bascially everything is quite ok. nothing fantastic. breakfast is 6 choices, quite nice. near to BTS, definately within walking distance. just round the corner from asia hotel.

Hi peachbloom, will recommend kanchanaburi, among all, enjoy this site the most cas the scenery is nice, weather is not as hot as bangkok. if possible, try to go to the tiger temple in kanchanaburi.