Bangkok

apple,

samran place does not have a safe deposit box in the room. BUT u can place ur things with the reception in their safe deposit box. Very safe. Nothing lost in my trip there.

Hi Yanling & Icebaby

Have draft out my itinery can help me see whether i got time to go this palace and is it worth while? thanks.

Day one: reach at abt evening time so tot of going to night markets. But since i am going to Chatucak & patunam market so I don't think i want to go patong or suan lum market. but do you think there is time to go china town?

Day 2: Shall spend the day at MBK,Siam paragon, soam centre. Allocate one day to it should be good enough right.

Day 3: got to Chatuchak market in the morning then go paktunam market. Is it along the way or its not convient to travel from Chatuchak to pratunam market.

Day 4: see need to buy thing from the 2 above market then go Grand palace & Dream world. Worth going?

Day 5: thinking of go buy bra leh but not sure where can get good bra and cheap. need to get corset as well. any good place to recommend to buy sarong kebaya?

Day 6: thinking of doing last min shopping then travel back to Sg.

mi just back from bkk... was raining heaving at chatuchak but it manage to clear off.. so far shopping not affected so no worry =)

when i leaving on sat evening.. luckily i reached the airport early.. was raining like cats n dogs.. phew.. overall nice trip.. no flood..

in fact those going to sum luan nitz bazzar.. dun haf to worry.. got a taxi that took mi back to hotel at 100 bahts.. exp but too tired to wait so juz leave =)

apple,

I don't put money with them. Only passports.

Not sure what time u reach.

Chinatown if u intend to buy things, go in the morning. Shops open till around 4pm/5pm. The very first time I went at 5pm (Aug'05), shops were close liao.

I didn't shop much at Siam Paragon. But ate at the food court. Prices of things there are expensive (i.e. like ngee ann city), so I dun bother to even walk. I went to MBK. I buy more things at MBK.

Pratunam market...u will need more time there. Cos there is so much to buy.

Advise:
Chinatown market - best to go is morning
Chinatown seafood - evening 6pm onwards
Pratunum - you will probably need more than a morning worth of time. I shopped from 8am - 12pm and still didn't have time to finish (cos i had my parents, hubby and son with me)
Siam Paragon - I didn't shop there. The feel of the place is very much like Ngee Ann City. So can't be bothered. But food court there is not bad. Very nice. Must eat the sausages!
CCK - also go in the morning as afternoon becomes too packed. I normally go at 9am when 50% of shops not open and no crowd.
Dreamworld - I went there in Aug'05. Hubby and I find the place okay. Nothing fantastic but cos it came with our package. Lunch there is NOTHING. But meals from the shop is not bad. Esp their roast pork! Yummy!!! crispy..shiok.
Grand palace - also went in Aug'05. Nice place to see. But nothing much.

That's abt it

ok it seems that it best to do shopping in the morning. that leave me having dinner and then sleep haha.

ok don't leave money with them that mean we need to bring all money so dangerours leh.

apple,

I brought sufficient and had a budget on my spending and brought abit of Sing dollars. So technically we didn't bring alot of cash.

For us, in Mar'06 when i went 4D3N. I went with my 3 yr old, my parents and hubby. So every afternoon I would have to go back to hotel so that my son can "sleep". So I wasn't given much time to shop much, hence went to places that was "reasonable" price.

In Aug'05 when I went was in a package of 6D5N + 1 ext night. So we had only abt 2.5 days in Bangkok. Dreamworld, the palace tours, zoos, coral island + pattaya and food was covered in the other days.

I didn't really go to world trade centre. I just felt that MBK suit us more.

May I know is WTC opened already? Cos understand that there was a renovation right?

If not, is naraya still opened? Or the whole of WTC is closed?

i heard that khao san place is more for bagpackers...but lots of cheap n nice food
am going to bkk this thurs...will check it out..

heee

Hi Apple,

I did not get any wedding favours, cos my flight back to Spore was on Sat noon, so abit rush at chatuchak. This time round, I must spend 1 whole day there.

U staying at Samran Place too? When are you going

Hi purple rain
me going at the end of the month.

The last time you go did u get any bras?
where can i get them? also u have idea where to get corset?

Hi icebaby, purple or yanling

what is the reasonable amount to change for 6 days 5 nights?

what is the rate now. the best i can find last week is 23.85.

Hi Juz_dimp

do update us when you are back.

Hi Apple,

I'm also going end of the month 28 - Jul.

I got my bras at chatuchak, alot of design, ranging from cutie to sexy lacy... haha... only from 59baht to 99baht.

Maybe you can change SGD500 first. If not enough, u can withdraw at the atm.

apple,

I think the amount to change depends solely on you. S$200 normally can last u a long way if u are not buying anything and spend on food court food and transport.

apple: i bought some branded bras at Isetan too (Wacoal & Sloggi). Its almost 50% cheaper than in Singapore. The shopping centres at MBK and Isetan WTC sell the bra at same price.
I would suggest going Chatuchak (Saturday) on the early morning prob 8am+ SG Time. Sunday for Pratunam market as weather is kinda hot in the noon to walk in the street. Then from there you can proceed to Platinum Mall if you interested in buying more clothings. Pratunam you can slowly walk and shop to WTC, Siam Discovery Centre. then to Siam Paragon. Bought some mangosteen at Pratunam and lychee at chatuchak, mangosteen is sweet n nice, good to eat in such a warm weather as i heard its cooling, but lychee is too sour.. thrown them away. Fruits are cheap everywhere.

I am not sure what you can get in the noon time at Chinatown. What do you wanna buy from there? I go there buy pork floss and eat seafood, bird nest only, therefore i went ard evening 6pm. Chinatown is damn hot, as warm as Chatuchak. If you are going for the same purpose as me, then prefer go ard 6pm or later.

Grand Palace is worth the visit, but not Dreamworld. If you are a non-christian, you can consider visit some temples or Choa Praya River along the way to Grand Palace.
If your first day is empty, then consider going Chinatown, Patpong or Suan Lum(dont buy anything from here). Chatuchak and Pratunam are quite far. The nearer 1 wud be Siam Paragon to Chatuchak but still some distance away. On my last trip, i spend abt $200 shopping in half a day.. zzz.. things are too cheap so i can't resist buying otherwise i would regret when i am back.

Anyway Siam Paragon Lvl 1 has alot of food.. pastries & stuff are nice, much better than food court

I would suggest you bring additional S$200 cash in case you overspend so you can change them at moneychanger instead of ATM, cos ATM charges ard $5 per withdrawal depending on bank. Yeah.. change abt $500. spending $100 per day is real fast esp when you go for good food and clothing, etc.

oh yes btw, Central World Plaza = WTC, still undergoing mass renovation. Isetan is still open there. Other than that, i think people go there for Coca restaurant if i am not wrong. Thats all. Kinda hard to get a cab there to Chinatown esp when there is a massive jam. Took us half hr to hail a cab which agreed to go Chinatown

purple rain... ctc there got bra shops mehz? ard which lane? hee... cos me dun seem to see any of those u mentioned!

mi just back from bkk.. got my bra at tokyu.. in the end when i reach isetan before the bts stop at suam lum night bazaar, i realised got 15% storewide.. wasted.. but anyway i did chk out the rate at siam paragon, like the same as at tokyu...

betta changed enuff baht.. i spent quite abit using credit cards and in the end the rate is like only 23.6... so mush lesser.. so betta to change more.. or as wat yanling mentioned, bring extra spare cash and changed at siam center.. the rate roughly the same as in sg

I bought lingerie at Chatuchak under the No's brand which has several stalls in Chatuchak. Thou is not kinda brand but still comfy. They have many designs ranging from sexy lacy to cutie

Hi Yanling,

You did mentioned abt the street hawkers in Chinatown, any idea what times do they fully open? Cos I wanna go Sampheng Lane, but it closed ard 5pm. If I reached there b4 5pm, I guessed I can finish walking quite fast cos is just a small lane, somemore nothing else to shop in Chinatown. I'm afraid I might spend silly time there just to wait for the street hawkers to open.

Any advise?

The street hawkers open at about 6.30pm SG time, Fully opened would be 7.30pm. Yeah Sampeng lane closes at 5pm BKK time. Small lane but on both side are shophouses kind.. some with double storey or even triple storey so it isn't really that small. Takes at least 1hr if u walk all of it. Remember to U-Turn back when u reach those places selling footwear cos u won't buy them as all of them sell in dozens ONLY (enough to last you a lifetime). Ya nothing else to shop in chinatown except buying pork floss and stuff. i bought from porky pig shop Lao Ji Lin Zheng Siang. Ask for discount, pester them for discount if they dont give, they will definitely give. my last trip they didnt give, but i pester them and say friend recommend 1, everytime i come here i would visit your shop and get discount, then he finally give discount. I still rem his face. he wear spec, average build, side parting. As i said its kinda hot there, no point going too early, unless u enjoy suntanning.

Lingz: yeah Tokyu bra prices same as Isetan actually, but since there is discount at Isetan, then go there. Brand & Design are same at both store. MBK also has some bra shops if i remember correctly.

Sampeng Lane closes early. Unless u want to buy those cutsy stuff, toys, earrings, etc...then I advise u to go. If not, dun think there is anything that u like. Best to go early morning instead of evening.

Thanks for your advise.

How can i travel to grand palace? cos i read some where that its near to pier , does that mean i need to take ferry? Each person cost 200 baht and also entitled to 2 free entrance to 2 place at dunsit. where is this place?

Also can take cab or train to pratunam cos i read somw where say to take boat taxi......pls advise.

Yanling

Me intend to go chinatown to eat bird nest and sharkfin also see got any thing to buy for wedding.

I also looking for cute stuff to buy. alot of things to buy. is it cheap to make sarong kebaya in bkk. thinking of making a set for my mum but my mum comin with me so i need to take her measurement first right.

pai sei ask so many question becos first time in Bkk.

Then shld not be a problem, if Sampheng closes at 5pm BKK time & street hawkers fully open at 7.30pm SG time. I will go chinatown on my first day, reach hotel shld be around 3pm, after settling down, should reach there at 4+ provided no jams & taxi willingly to take us.

Apple,

Maybe buying insurance, u will feel "an xin" or sense of security, no harm buying. My agent did told me is about $50 - $100 when I went to bkk previously, depending on the countries u travel to.

When is your trip?

apple: You wont missed the flight back to SG cos Bangkok time is -1hr from SG instead you will reach there early.. lol. the schedule on the return flight is BKK time. Not SG Time.
I don't really recommend you to go NamSing Chinatown for shark fins nor bird best. Prob you can go HaiWaiTian if you want, i am not sure abt the food. If you really wanna go NamSing eat, go MBK pls, there service better, bird nest more tasty.
I heard its kinda hard to get a cab from Grand Palace and the taxi wanted fixed fare. There is a dress code for Grand Palace. Covered Toes and no revealing dress. You have to take a river boat across the river cos taxi can't get past the river. Should cost abt 5 or 10 baht only if i am not wrong. Entrance Fee for grand palace is abt S$10.
Can get some cheap cute pirated soft toy from sampeng as well as accessories. Some are in bulk purchase. I don't think its neccessary to buy insurance. Bangkok is a safe place, dont worry, nothing will happen. Most flight are covered with insurance. I even walked on alone on a dark lane back to hotel at night when all shops closed.

schnauzie: There don't sell any branded products. Mostly are pirated stuff and i don't think there sell much of stainless steel stuff. More of ceramics/glass and decor.

Yan Ling

Me will reach BKK at abt 5pm. so where can i go at night for dinner and shopping?

2nd day is a friday so mayb i will drop by Pratunam and the shopping centre near it. Which are the shopping centre that is near pratuman and worth going.

3rd day is a sat so go Chatuchak and mayb shop till noon cos hope to buy the things i want in one day if not have to return again. then go chinatown walk walk.

4th day go to MBK and siam centre area etc.

5th day mayb go to grand palace before my flight at 4pm. You think enough time then go back hotel collect stuff then go airport.

apple,

U reach at 5pm.
Dinner u can have at Chinatown...then maybe take a cab to Suan Lum for some night shopping or some of the complexs.

If not, u can opt to go MBK itself. There got restuarants and shopping under 1 roof. So does Siam Paragon, etc

As for pratunam, there is a platium mall, but prices there are slightly more expensive than outside. Generally, u just walk around the area...there are alot of "roadside" stalls and shops to buy from. Clothes can start at 50b (I bought quite a few t-shirts last time...i like the quality and the cutting...nice)

apple: Go pratunam on the 4th day, sunday morning. Nothing much at pratunam on weekdays night moreover they close at ard 8pm+ BKK Time. You can go shop ard Siam Paragon, MBK, Siam Sq, etc on the 1st day evening. Both MBK and Siam Paragon, Siam Square has a wide variety of food for ya..
If you cant finish shopping those areas, you can probably consider going there again on your 2nd day when you can spare the time.
And dont forget to try mango sticky rice. Its 1 of the famous food/dessert there. Nice & cheap there. BKK Airport has 1 small cafe selling them too.. also quite nice.

hi everyone! i'm going bangkok next week and it's my first trip.. reading all your messages is quite "inspiring"!! quite excited now...

oh btw about the insurance, my hubby bought a 5-day coverage for both of us from NTUC income, only $25 per person. i think the travel agents charge quite a bit of commission so can consider getting direct form ntuc..

Hi Yan ling where is this stall? in MBK food court?

Abt buying lingrie so can buy at MBK? or must go Isetan. Wow seems a lot of place to go yet dunno how to go.

Go pratunam can take taxi right?

Pai seh ask so many question. How i hope to have Icebaby or Yan ling to be with me this trip haha.

Hi Peach which day u going?

apple: You mean mango sticky rice? There are quite a few places selling them. In my earlier post in this forum, there was a famous ambience restaurant selling fried soft shell crabs and mango sticky rice. Anyway i tried mango sticky rice @ airport, i ordered take away then ate them on my flight back.. hee.. BKK Airport 2nd floor.. prob its grand canyon cafe.. i forgotten the name. I guess there is only 1 cafe selling over there.
MBK, Siam Sq has lotsa food so you can easily grab a bite. If isetan has sales, then probably it would be cheaper (lingerie), otherwise its same price. I think all the branded lingeries are 50% cheaper than SG. Usually 1 that cost S$60, BKK only sell for S$30.

Yeah going Pratunam can take taxi, I would suggest you tell taxi driver you wanna go to Baiyoke Sky Hotel (Baiyoke 2). Start walking from Baiyoke Sky Hotel out to Platinum.. From Hotel entrance walk straight out (along your way are those pasar malam) about 400m would be main road, crossing over the overhead bridge would be Pantip Plaza. From there, its quite near to Isetan-WTC. There are several lanes at Pratunam, and you can only find alot of street hawker (pasar malam style/karting) at Sunday Morning. Saturday Night does not have as much stores as morning. Anyway if u see anything nice at Pratunam, you can buy it there, things there are cheap and good quality. And if you really gonna buy alot of things, get those recycled plastic bag with Winnie the Pooh, MickeyMouse picture on it. cost abt 80baht to 250baht, an average medium size with zip only cost 100baht. Very good for stuffing all your things inside as its easier to carry.
Yeah alot of places to shop, it all depends on your LEG POWER!!! haha, shop til you drop. We made several stops in restaurants for drinks or just sit at shopping centres benches for abt half hr or so..
Don't bother getting insurance. Save it for birdnest.
$25 can get me 1 bowl of 2nd grade Bird Nest.. Bangkok doesn't have any natural disaster, robbery stuff. Its very safe, trust me, just keep your wallet tight. Unless insurance company wanna cover pickpockets, which i don't think any will.

Nah.. won't be going there anymore this yr, been there a few times and bought and ate whatever that i have missed out. Sometimes just can't resist the temptation to buy whatever things that i like cos its too cheap.

Hi Yanling got another qn that have been forgetting to post is can i buy a luagge in BKK and where ? or bring one from SG.

I scared wait over buy exceed the limit.
I am keepinng a 1000 baht for leaving the airport

But i don't usually know the market rate for lingrie so it should be cheap still?

saw lugguage bags everywhere! MBK have it, CTC have it... and surely the hotel tat u stay those shops downstairs lobby will also sell them... just tat its very ex! for those tat have brands like polo lor... cos my unker bought 1 as his lugguage was full... haha...