Bangkok

Karyinn - the counter is inside the gate. Oh! Forgot to introduce myself..Im Karen aka Fat. Long time never come in this thread liao. Me juz ended my AD and HK trip.

So who is going BKK this month? Im going on the 24th this month.

There's another place for makan. Cheap & good! Its the japanese restn call "Zen". One at MBK and the other at Siam Ctr.

Hi Wen Wen - eh...pai sey hah...but you are asking me eite? kekeke....

Yap...me going BKK on the 24th June. Wat about you? I flying by Jetstar Asia morning flight too.

lol .. ya asking u,karen ... hehe .. my flight is on 24 jun - 8.55am, coming back on 27 jun by Valuair. which hotel u staying?? the food at jap resturant worth the price?

** anyone just went bbk ?? How's the weather there?? still hot??

What is the counter name?
I am flying on 1 july by Airasia. I would like to ask.. those budget airline is at Terminal 1 right?

I am back too!

I stayed in Chinatown near the Nam Shing Restaurant. But I never makan at Nam Shing.

The corner sze char stall at the road side which many HK and SG ppl patronises is better than Nam Shing and CHEAPER!

Tried lots of birdnest, and boughts lots of stuff! Esp the Hello Kitty accessories for my gal....

Shopping is great, and massage at HEATHLAND (recommended by someone here) is GREAT too!

But the HEATHLAND Spa and Massage is not near Singapore Embassy at all, its at least 30 mins walk... Its nearer to Myanmar Embassy in fact.

Hi tupper,

How much is the massage in Heathland? Is it in MBK?
and also, does Bangkok have this kindof skirt?
291676.jpg

As mentioned, Healthland is near the Embassies. Its at Sathorn Road. Its $14 for 2 hours thai massage, very shiok!

For your type of skirt, i did not really notice cos I am looking more of BYSI type of clothing.

For everyone, The best exchange rate is found in Junction 8 at 24.10 and the next good rate is found in Thai Airport and Suan Luam nite market at 24.06

Hi Karyinn

FYI, there are lotsa this sort of skirts in BKK. Saw quite a few shops at Chatuchak with this design..

Hi Tupper-mum

2 weeks ago, I changed @ Golden Mile at 24.18.. Wonder if it's still this gd.. While I was at BKK last weekend, MBK's rate was 24.08

You may want to try the money changers at the Arcade. Noticed that the exchange rate was $24.21 yesterday and $24.20 today.

Anyone going during the National day's weekend?
Had booked my airtickets but have not decide on the hotel. Any idea how many weeks in advance to book hotel is ideal?

tarea

Wen Wen - So chiao! We going on the same day. The jap restn is good! Especially after a long walk of shopping...coz the place you have to take off your shoes near your table, can relax your feet foe awhile..kekeke.....
Im staying at Pathuwan Princess. Wat about you? Btw, do you have any airport transfer when you reach their airport? For me, dun have coz this time we book the flight and hotel seperately. So me & my fren decide to take a cab from there.

Karyinn - yap! all the budget air is in terminal 1. Btw, the skirts, you can find it in Chatuchak or also can try Siam Sq. Sure alot wan.

Mehmeh - nice pair of shoe! Do they have other cols as well? And where exactly did you get this pair from? Is it at MBK it self?

i am staying at Bangkok City Inn ... I also have no airport transfer, my friends and I decided to take cab to our hotel also. Actually i just went BBK this Jan, but my sis wan to go, so i acc her along ... hehe ..

Hi Sputnik

The exchange rate u got is great!!!

Oh yes, it was scorching hot last wkend. Maybe it might be better in end Jul. Better to check before u leave anyway

Hi fat

Bought fr In Zeen on 3rd floor of MBK. Also comes in pink & black.. Very beautiful & quite comfy if u can take 3-3.5" shoes

Hi Mehmeh

Thanks for the info. Will go there this month.

Wenwen - BKK is shiok! So going there twice a year still not that bad lah...kekeke
Btw, you change $$ oredi?

Yeap, the exchange rate at Arcade today was also $24.25. Actually I'm not changing money, i just checkout the rate cos I pass by arcade almost everyday.

can i check if anyone knows of any cheap free and easy package to bangkok? i planning to go in july for 4 days 3 nights... Thanks!

Jellybean - you can try Jetstar Asia? Coz currently they have promo starting from 1st July. My galfren went to book online and shes travelling in July as well, for 2 person, return flight plus taxes, per person only $150++. But I cant remember is for how many days.

Anyone knows where got cheap and good and reliable tailor in BKK? My hubby did some suits before in MBK but it's not there anymore, got any good recommandation?

hi jellybean07,

you can try applying for tigerairways card and then get the special rate.
return flight before taxes per person + hotel stay, going from $128+ taxes.

hi fatcat

u can try Macways, located just besides Novotel Siam Square Hotel. They are good, fast and their workmanship is good!

My hubby tailored one suit there and he is very pleased with it.
kao_babydust.gif

I returned from my BKK trip on 14th. Was staying at Novotel Siam Sq. It was a nice stay. The room was clean, pleasant and comfortable. The flight on Jet* was all right too. Not much room for the legs but I had expected that. It was a short flight anyway.

We took a few taxi rides during those few days. Sad to say, we only had two good experiences. Most of the drivers we met were dishonest. Eg. we took a taxi from the taxi counter outside the airport. We are aware of the 50bht surcharge. We know the taxis there should charge by the meter. We also know we have to pay for toll. However, the driver we met was not good. He asked us for money to pay for toll charges. We asked him how much and he said "6". We had no small change and so gave him 100bht. He returned us 40bht. So was it 60bht for toll charges? We still do not know. That aside, when we reached our hotel, the meter showed 170bht. He told us 270bht. My hb was kind of put off by him by then. He told the driver 170 + 50 (surcharge) is 220bht. He then nodded. So we could see that he was out to "confuse" us and overcharge us? On other days, the drivers we had also took us round and round. We had a map and we knew the drivers were taking longer routes. We met 2 honest ones though and we tipped them by asking them to keep the change. On the last day, when we were about to leave the hotel, we decided to ask the bell boy for help to get a taxi and to instruct the driver to go by meter and not go round and round. Haha.. the bell boy said, "I try... I try...". Very soon, one of those taxis waiting outside the lobby drove up and he told the bell boy and us that he wanted 300bht flat, including toll charges. The bell boy was urging us (with his body lang) to just accept his request you know. We were aware that from airport to hotel cost between 200-300 so we agreed. Better than to insist and then let him take us round and round again right? So we boarded the taxi. Guess what? After 5 min, he received a call on his mobile. Then after that, he told us he is old, not fit, cannot drive fast, afraid cannot take us to the airport on time etc etc... he suggested helping us get another "fit fit young man" to take us to the airport. (???) We were puzzled and surprised. By then, we had had enough bad experience with the taxis there and were wondering what tricks he was up to. Then he really started horning for another taxi to stop. He got one, helped us transfer our luggage and told that man in thai where to take us to. We did reach the airport smoothly in the end but we were guessing why he did that! Maybe cos of that phone call he rec'd?

Shopping was nice. Hb and I like chatuchak a lot. Too bad we could not stay longer there cos it was getting hot and our kids were tired, thirsty and hungry. Food was much cheaper there too. We enjoyed the food at Fuji Jap Restaurant.

Would like to go back again but dread taking taxis.

Oh ya, we also had a man approaching us while we were walking to Pratunam mkt. He was a tuk tuk driver. He started off with friendly chit chat. Funny of him to WALK WITH US ya?! We did not stop walking. Then came the question - how many times have you been to bkk? My hb said "first time" (I know he should not have given that ans). Then he started telling us that day was the king's birthday and it was a public holiday...pratunam will only open at 1pm (it was 10+am then) blah blah... when I heard that I told my hb to ignore him and we continued walking. I have read about such encounters in this thread before (thanks!) so we knew better than to believe him.

OK, so much for this sharing. Hope it is useful.

Pink Tulip, Toll charge is 60.

I had taken numerous taxi there and one trick is to look stern when the driver talk to us.

I only kena fed-up by the one and only Tuk Tuk ride that I had cos at the temple no taxi available. That Tuk Tuk kept driving us to gems factory and in the end drop us halfway cos we did not buy any Gems.

Can anyone advise if I shld buy birdnest from Bangkok? I'm referring to those pre-cooked type. Is it cheaper there and how is the quality? Worried that it may be fake tho....

me interested in going to Bangkok.. so now doing some research.
My hb says tat if go Bangkok, must take tour package coz we dun understand their language. Gals, can advise whether package better or F&E better? (BTW: we have not been to bangkok before)
Also, if take F&E, is the cab really tat bad?...
Do they have land package for let's say 1-2 days, and the rest is F&E? We are intending to go there for abt 3-4 days.

Thanks very much in advanced for ur advise!

hoshi, the amount of international tourist in Bangkok well exceed Singapore in a year. The locals can understand simple english / mandarin to service us. for taxi, as long as you can pronouch the road name properly, they will be able to get you there, as tourist only visit few places like Siam Sq, Pratunam, Suan Luam, MBK, Chatuchak, Bo Bae, temples.

hi sputnik,

if you go this place callned nam sing to buy, there will be no fake one. all the hk artiste goes there. it is located at chinatown. if you are really keen, maybe i can advise you how to get there.

Hi hoshi

There's really no need to take a tour package, unless you're there mainly to sightsee. Get an F&E package that includes return airport transfer (am sure the travel agent can easily arrange that) and with a 1/2 day city tour. That's the basic F&E package offered for Bangkok by most local agents. Then spend the rest of your time there at your leisure. If shopping at popular places regularly frequented by tourists, you can be assured that the locals there can speak a smattering of english. I've not had much bad luck with taxis..I guess it's alot of luck. Better to ask your hotel's bell hop to get you one, and to instruct the driver on your destination choice. Or, just use the Skytrain and MRT. It's linked to most of the major shopping locations and is as easy to use as our MRT.

DOn't worry too much..Bangkok is easy to travel in. Even caucasians have no problems getting ard. If you're Teochew, you may find that you can converse with the Chinese Thais there..most of them are Teochew. Met some in MBK, and ended up getting my hubby to bargain with them in Teochew :P

Hi mandy,

Thanks! Would appreciate if you could advise how to get there. Have not been to Chinatown before. Is it cheaper there compared to Singapore? I remember that there is this shop at MBK with the big shark's fin on display, does that shop sell birdnest as well?

Hi Sputnik

Take a cab to Chinatown.. No BTS or MRT near enough... Rem to get the pork floss stuff there too!

MBK's shop with the big shark's fin display is prob Nam Sing, which can also be found in Chinatown. Yupz, they also sell birdsnest.. But not sure if it's the prepared or raw form.

Try their raw oysters.. Very cheap, 30B per piece! Looks fresh & very big.. I stupidly ordered hao jian, which wasn't close enough to how well we can find them in S'pore

Hi Alhana

Welcome back!

i also had raw oyster at chinatown when i went bbk in Jan. But i think i got cheaper, 24 baht per osyter ... real fresh and juicy ..

the shop is by the road side store, but do not know the name ... a lot of chinese like to go there ..

Hi mehmeh

Thanks! We didn't shop much this time ard (sad) coz everything seemed the same .. hehe..guess that's the bad thing about going there too often. Spent the time going to a spa, enjoying the hotel (Plaza Athenee is really nice!!), and eating! Know something funny..I'm actually addicted to Black Canyon Coffee's fusilli tom yum kung :P

Hi Jus Mi

What kinda info would you like?

To those who want to patronise roadside stall for raw oyster at Chinatown, it only opens at nite from 6.30pm onwards. Look for those that is really crowded with HK and SG ppl, they are good!

For Pork Floss, there are 2 LIN ZHEN SIANG, one is "LAO JI LIN ZHEN SIANG" one is "HE xxx LIN ZHEN SIANG". The "LAO JI" is the authentic one.

And if you happen to run out of $$$ in Bangkok, use your POSB ATM card with the CIRRUS to draw at their ATM. The rate quite good 24.06.

can anyone pls advise me if Pratunam Market, Suan Lum and Sampeng are day or night markets?

How do I get there? If by taxi would the taxi driver be able to understand where it is or do i have to give street name?

HI mehmeh,

Thanks for your info. Unfortunately me and hubby do not like oysters, so will not be trying them out :-) Can't wait to eat the BBQ sotong from Chatuchak tho... yum yum

Anyone know which website to do on-line booking for hotel in Thailand? I intend to stay either Pathumwan Pricess or Novatel. Can anyone comment which is better?

Hi Sputnik

Got BBQ sotong at Chatuchak meh? Hmmm, think we're opp, heehee, not a fan of sotong leh

Hi Apple: Generally asiarooms.com offers the best rates

Hi jelly

Pratunam is day, Suan Lum is nite. Cabbies should know these places since they are pretty popular with tourists.

Apple,

Yeah, asiarooms.com has good rates. And they're reliable too. Pathumwan n Novotel are both v popular w singaporeans. I say both are equally good. Pathumwan has the added advantage of being linked to MBK..so it's really convenient if u intend to shop there alot. THen again, Novotel is right smack in Siam Square, which has alot of shops. So i'll say, either one is fine, altho I believe Novotel is cheaper.

sampeng is not a market per se, but serveral small lanes consisting of many retail shops selling all sorts of wholesale goods like clothes watches, bags, shoes etc. It opens from morning till evening.