Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Diana,

I believe i still had notes of my own itinery when i went there, in Oct07. Right down to the very detailed like shuttle bus timing/frequency, metro last train and connecting train, the time taken .. hee

Proposed you go Alishan, it's the highlights of my trip

wow!! great! Lucky I mentioned in forum. it's really a good place to source for info

Thanks Ryan. Did u go via free&easy too? You find ur own tpt to go Alishan?

thanks ryan
have the taiwan tourism board brochures, covering attractions, shopping & importantly, their food (which night market, which stall, operating hrs...) btw seldom plan in details (except makan, haha) so as to leave some white space for surprises along the way

diana, can pass a set to u when u're going, cos have quite many of them

ryan, not going alishan, covered the north (Taipei, keelung, jiufen), east (hualien, taroko gorge) & south (kaohsiung, kenting) coasts in previous trips, now looking @ west coast (taichung) & sun moon lake

diana, if u wanna go alishan free & easy, suggest u book the alishan forestry railway earlier online, only 3 trips daily (a 4-5hr scenic ride), easily sold-out during peak seasons. u've to find ur way to chia yi to board this train, which isnt centrally managed by the taiwan railway, but by the alishan forestry railway. at least a night stay up there to catch the sunrise in the morning, most motel/hotel/hostel have transport arrangement to catch the sunrise.

and ryan, u were there in 07, still managed to catch the betel nut beauties (those bing lang xi shi)?

could easily find them on streets during my previous trips in '97, '03, '05, but heard that the govt has since then attempted to clamp down on such 'vices', hope still can see some during this trip, haha :p

Hey Kevin,

I saw it when i went there in 2003 i think. The taxi driver were nice to drive us around those road belts with them there. I didn't remembered seeing any in 2007. I didn't know the govt is clamping it down. We even manage to get one of them to take pictures with us, most of them didn't want to. HA HA We were like just having fun.

Diana,

Yes i went on F&E. I took the speedrail from Taoyuan to Chiayi and took the cab (about 15 mins) to the railway station. Ya, i agree with Kevin. You have to get the ticket before hand, but even if you didn't, there be people around the railway station touting to sell you tickets. Just pay a higher premium lor.

The train were interesting initially, but after a while it becomes bored. The train is slow and long. Hee

Don't even booked the trip from the hotel, it's damn expensive. I booked mine through a website who offers the package before i went there. I should still have the bookmark at home. Let me know if you want it. She will get your train ticket, accomodation etc.

In case you are going Alishan, must stay overnight! Some package is a day's tour and it defeats the whole purpose. They wake u up really early and bring you to gaze at stars (very bright and many shooting stars) and then bring you to see sunrise and "yin-he" I think it is called cloud-sea in english? HA HA

Kevin,

You cover so many places... must be a long trip huh.. hee.

I wanted to see Taroko Gouge in 07 but didn't had enough time to do so.

Neh, dun stay longer than a week for previous trips
Previous 3 trips, each covered 1 coast
So this time, it’s west coast
Normally, will touch down Taipei, eat eat then go to 1 coast for sightseeing (an extended wkend will suffice)
Tarako gorge’s a beauty but on the other side of the island, so out of way

When choosing to take the alishan train, need only take once, and let it be uphill so that ur scenic ride will become more and more attractive, and u can board a bus downhill the following day. The downhill train ride will be anti-climax.

Remember few yrs back when I wanted to catch the scenic Yangtze river ride before the completion of china’s three gorges dam (which caused water level to rise and drown many heritage sites), so backpacked there and took a 3D2N ferry ride, breath-taking ride initially with the amazing gorges and views, after 1 day, sianz liao, stone and rock again … and made it worse, ate 3days of fishy meals cos all they had on board were fishes caught in the Yangtze river

Spotted 3 police cars and one ambulance at Blk678D today at 3pm. Anybody have any idea what happened? I'm getting so auntie, kaypo abit. =P

saw this on one of the forum

SINGAPORE: The body of an infant has been found in an electrical riser. A technician on a routine work round discovered it on the 12th floor of Block 678D in Jurong West Street 64.

Police were called to the scene and paramedics pronounced the infant dead.

The infant is believed to be less than a year old and its gender is yet to be confirmed.

When found, the body was slightly decomposed.

Police are unable to confirm how the infant died and the time of death.

A 24-year-old woman has been arrested in connection with the case and is expected to be charged in court on Saturday. - CNA/vm

We've finally finished putting up the decos over the weekend. It's easier to stick it on the wall than on glass. I love the cosy corner piece the most. It is more cosy now.
But I find the house a bit too flowery. Haha...maybe cos I'm not used to it yet.

congrats meirong! ha ha, i also had the same feeling after putting up the decals... so many flowers... but after a while, it seems okay

Yeh! Way to go, Meirong! You've done it

So sweet of u & hubby kept the hands glued while walking to MRT for work. remind me of our pak-tor time... sigh, wif 2 monsters, how I wish I'm 4-arms (as in Ben-10) hahahaha...

Haha....i was so surprised to hear someone call my name so early in the morning! It's very nice of you to wind down the window and greet me.
Your 2 precious are so sweet too. Keep waving at us even when you drove off.

Ryan, u mean at Boon Lay MRT?
ho ho, u got to beat the Q wif many old folks leh. me used to see them queueing at the staircase near Citibank atm.

Hi Meirong, we were running late oredi. that's why took the left turn, hoping to beat the traffic. So nice to see u both

realise now west side only left the party world at taman jurong

i was looking at kbox website, there will be 1 at the new safra!

Can always car-pool if there is number
However oredi made plans for AMK melben butter crabs this wkend

Val, hk, being well-connected, is very tourist-friendly
Can easily find sites on recommended info
Imptly, what¡¦s ur agenda
1) shopping (u muz noe, besides the kowloon & central, where to find the factory-price outlets)
2) Disney (not to pick a peak period or else u¡¦ll find ursf surrounded by mainland visitors who may threaten to ruin ur day)
3) Authentic hk,Cantonese food (there are many, esp near the harbour where u can enjoy authentic hk dim sum breakfast while enjoying the harbour view)
4) How abt a hopover to its macau neighbour for some luck @ the gambling tables, otherwise its strong Portuguese origins can add a different flavour to the fast-moving hk
5) Or can venture into nearby Shenzhen (it’s like singapore’s JB, to continue ur shopping)

I may have some pamphlets on hk (taken from its airport), a freq visitor, heehee, let me check

wa kevin.. tks for the tips hehe. can tell me the factory outlet addresses?
ya go there i wan eat the dim sum though some frens say not as nice as they expected. yea i'll be gg to macau to look at the casino n most imptly the venetian designs *wink wink*. considering shenzhen too. ok u check ur pamphlets and let me know k.. tks hor

Haha, ryan & angie, hk is a popular shopping/food paradise mah, u’ll be amazed if I reveal touching down @ Cambodia over a dozen times le, in abt half a decade
Diana, no la, my footprints stay within asia-pacific

Val, when and how long ur intended trip, u’d need at least 3 days for hk, although macau is compact, I’d still commit 2 days to it, and not to include Shenzhen, if it’s on ur agenda. If u do make a trip over to SZ, then dun buy too much @ hk, cos things are really cheap across the mainland border …

Paiseh, dun have the factory outlet addresses le (my gal friends hold the list), but they are rather off the beaten track leh, have to venture quite a bit into the suburbs… found 1 pamphlet on hk attractions last nite, can it pass to u. If there’s time for only 1 dim sum trying, recommend this Chinese restaurant @ kowloon near the Victoria harbour, inside Hk museum of arts or cultural centre (up a flight of stairs from the harbourfront), delectable choices of dim sum

For macau, recommend u not only cover macau peninsula (macau consists of macau, taipa & cologne). Macau will give u the glamour of casinos and heritage backdrop, but at least cover taipa for its taipa village, like our Holland village, many authentic macau/portugese cuisine there – had my best ever egg tart & shark fin noodle there, @ unbelievable low price.. as for some Venetian-admiring, have to visit their newly open macau Venetian hotel, btw 1 tip – many of these major casino players (Venetian, sands, Lisbon) provide free shuttle bus service to public, so no nid to take cab/bus, can simply hop on to these shuttle buses and transit many places

Btw, don’t need to rush to get RMB for Shenzhen, if u’re going cos they accept HK$ too

kevin.. hmm i tink shd be 2 days for macau, 1 day shenzhen and maybe 3 days HK? not sure yet how much time i shd spend for each area. now starting on my research only haha. i tink i know why u had the best egg tart at macau cos they hv v strong portugese origins and portugese egg tarts are well known to be veri nice hehe. i'll definately go try when i'm there

i've saved ur info le haha. can refer when i plan my itinenary. tks so much for the info!

Portuguese egg tarts are well-known, but the ones I had were normal tarts (non-Portuguese) , straight from the oven, u could easily locate the shop @ taipa village cos queues formed @ the shop

Btw since u’ve intention to stay @ SZ, then u gotta visit at least 1 of their 3 theme parks (though crappy, but a gd way to spend an afternoon), I visited (1), luckily have their website in my bookmark, think (3) & (4) are together

1) windows of the world
http://www.szwwco.com/index.jsp

2) happy valley
http://www.happyvalley.com.cn/

3) splendid china
http://www.cn5000.com.cn/

4) China Folk Culture Villages

btw if u’re doing it free & easy, I’ve several backpacker’s ‘bibles’ – lonely planet series with one on china (u can use it for macau, hk & Shenzhen) for traveling info, esp the makan, accommodation, transit). Remember I saw one on USA @ angie’s place (another avid lonely planet-ier, haha)

Val
When u touch down @ airport, the pamphlets & maps available suffice, esp the hk map which clearly states where are the shopping belts in hk island & kowloon, the various markets ie woman street, temple street, and the nearby metro stations …

Btw, when’s ur trip cos coming few wkends, very likely that I’m not ard

yea kevin.. i know there got pamphlets but i wan plan my itinerary first so cant wait till then hehe. my trip shd be in aug ba.. no problem.. got chance then get frm u lor. where u gg recently?

>< wow u really cant wait to plan ah, thought u are looking @ the good fri long wkend or 2 holidays in may … haha
Used to have a stack of those pamphlets, but frens exhausted them, luckily still have 1 on attractions, pass it (with the bible) to u when u free
me? tw trip in apr, but coming wkends will be in malaysia, not this wkend though, have appt with the melben crabs, haha

kevin.. no la.. planning takes time ma..don wan last min rush to prepare hehe. speaking of the melben crabs.. i just had them last tues, still miss them now! :P