Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

some thoughts abt window grilles

in old days, we had the strong, obiang-looking grilles to protect our valuables at home.

in not-so-old days, as society progressed and home break-in were far and few between, grilles' main role seems to be safeguard our younger ones and babies from mishaps while misbehaving/playing.

nowadays, young (and some not-so-young) couples dreads been 'imprisioned' by grilles. hence do without it completely.

hmmm ... i, too, wanna to do without it. but staying at a rather low floor, i'd prefer grilles at the windows at kitchen and aircon window in mbr, simply becos these 2 areas are subjected to less public's attention (secluded) and easier accessibility - either from ur neighbour above and below, or some crooks. while the window can be closed shut. we should know window can be easily pried open.

so thought i could just have grilles at the 2 areas. but eventually installed grilles at every window, simply becos concern abt ignorant young ones getting into trouble with unsecured windows. however, the grilles are installed only at the movable main window panels. the bottom fixed panels in the LR, and the top-hung window panels have no grilles, optics-wise, there are less 'bars' on the windows, lesser an imprisioned ill effect. and of course, with less material used, u spent less on the grilles.

just collected the freebie (slow cooker) for buying enhanced fire insurance from AIG.

anyone bought too?

the one we paid abt $9 when collecting keys @ hdb insures only the structural elements of the flat (coverage less than 50k).

so bought extra coverage (up to 300k) with abt $300+ premium for 5yrs coverage. peace of mind since my wife is always wary of gas pipes running in our hse.

seems like our estate is anything but quiet during wkends. been staying here since feb. from joyous malay weddings at the pavilion to sombre wakes at the void decks.

angie, do u feel likewise, however, ur hse faces away, so might be spared? haha

I just collected my keys to my flat at 675A a couple of weeks ago due to some screw ups at HDB...

I realised that there's a white wire on top of the kitchen entrance... Can anyone please share what is it for? It doesnt seem to be for the lighting though...

Supposed to ask my contractor friend to help out with the simple renovation works as I will be renting out the place until my AD in 2009. Think I'd just get some Ikea kitchen cabinets and install the aircon.. Anything else will have to wait till my AD is over.. Too tight a budget liao..

SY Chen,

I don't think you need the brochures, i didn't have it and he charged me $99 too. I supposed he had distributed the flyers to this estate so he dont' ask for it. I've yet to confirm with him yet, will probably wait a week or 2 and see how's other responses.

Kevin,

I thought about the aircon window and the kitchen window, i supposed if i do it i will get it all done instead of doing partially. It may looks caging initially but i think we'll get used to it. How much does it cost to do the whole flat? I think under $1000 is not difficult eh?

Kevin,

The $300+ is for 1 year premium right? I did went to take a look at those things... the additional coverage covers the renovation, even the appliances and furniture in the house. But i think NTUC Income type is cheaper leh.

Btw, i agree with what you said. Today was at the house for quite long and can hear malay wedding or something downstair, i think sy chen can hear it most clearly
It not the only time. My neighbour opp my unit also every weekend mahjong and today additional event got KTV throughout the afternoon.. somemore so loud until at 1st floor i also can hear it. Then hwee hwee neighbour at the 6th floor started playing the piano again, that is tolerable since it's piano music ... quite happening lor.. hee

Kevin again,

I asked him to re-do part of the grouting at the living room. Some is darker brown and some is whiter white, i think previously when i ask them to come to do before my renovation, they mix the grout 2 different time so can see 2 type of color quite clearly.

Li,

My flooring is done. If you want to come and take a look, you can PM your number to me. I ring you up when i'm at home. I should be there later in the afternoon to do some cleaning. never seemed to finsh it...

I also like to see your house too, when is lisa installing your carpentry? Sorry i could not make it on Saturday, i was there but it was just wrong timing. Hope to see ya around.

Hi Kevin,

I can hear the malay wedding at the pavilion yesterday... I think this is at least the second one... makes it quite interesting and vibrant

Hey Val, good luck with your wedding! Stay calm and pretty

Hmm Ryan,

Should be 7th floor leh haha next time always got Jay Chou piano concert liao ... :p and my reno starting soon so more to come lor

Ryan,

manage to see your 9th floor left unit #09-339 for sale, the rest all taken up le gd for you.
for mine still got left 2 units too #07-337 & #07-339

Wa..didn't know it's so happening at our estate. I'm not there most of the time, so not aware of it. Hope it won't be too loud from my unit. Luckily my neighbour next door is a family of middle-aged to old-aged from en bloc, won't have "kill chicken" ktv sessions I believe.

So the shelvings won't have discount for bulk purchase...? In that case we'll settle the shelvings individually? What's the contact? I don't have the leaflet too. Hope he won't charge me more.

I only managed to meet up with Li last Sat. Maybe wait till my carpentry is up, prob in 1st half of June, then we'll meet again?

I've also received a letter regarding the fire insurance when I opened my letterbox last Sat. I wonder is it worth getting. It's one time payment of $325 (save $28.10) for 5-year plan. Subsequently will be $70.62 (inclu GST) annually. Or like Ryan said, should find cheaper plans, most prob from NTUC?

ryan
i do have one LR floor tile with extremely white grout. guess when they relaid the floor tile in past, they had used different mix/grout. but too sianz to ask them come redo it. comfortable living here liao, no more rectification.

yup annie
quite happening in our estate. believe the music would not reach u at such high audible volume. however can be quite a pain. was trying to do reports at home yesterday when the music was blasted at pavilion. to make it worse, there were friends/relatives or singer-wannable who karaoke at the pavilion, and most of time, 走音leh at high pitch and vol

muz form some ECA gps here
besides wkend mahjong, who into other leisure activities ah ...

looking for kakis for badminton, tennis, karaoke leh..

ryan (our elected grassroots leader) muz start wking loh, for bonding sessions for this estate liao

can hear the malay wedding loud and clear...singing KTV the whole day and my TV volume had to be on even louder. Haha, i was still suggesting to my bf might as well go there and ask can take some redang eat...hahahah

ryan, do grills for the whole house not very expensive. We did ours for ard $500+. Quoted by the ID.

Yeah, the past weekend was super happening!! Think I saw 2 Malay weddings in our area leh... Must be a good day for the Malays...

Was cleaning up and doing all the mopping etc and it's really LOUD! Even at the higher levels.

Guys,

Any recommendations for good lighting shops? Went to Lights & Lights and they quoted me $38 for the first light installed and subsequently $8 for each. Are the rates reasonable?

oh, we can have monthly pot luck session at each other's house.

apprye > can try chinese garden and balestiar.

csy,

Any recommendation for kitchen cabinets? Seems like Ikea isn't that cheap after all...

In a dilemma now, dunno if to use Ikea or just bite the bullet and get it properly installed as I will be renting out the place for 1.5 - 2 years before the AD...

Any recommendations for kitchen cabinets?

if u renting,
i think you might as well buy those cheap and no need to install type

after that when u decide to move in,than do reno.

btw, can rent meh? thought must stay at least 3 or 5 years than can rent.

csy,

Heheh.. The agent asked us to lock up one room and rent out the rest loh... Should be fine if we are to rent it to another family....

Too much outflow of $$ for the ROM and house at one time.... Hence bo bian, gotta rent out to collect some money for the AD and honeymoon etc...

Else i oso wun rent out loh... New house, let others stay.. so sayang...

apprye,

when is your AD in 2009? Doesn't sound like you can rent for too long, as you probably need a few months before your AD to start renovating your house. Most people would want to do it earlier, like me so that we can concentrate on AD and not have to do reno and AD at the same time.

Then you have to buy some cheap things to make it rentable, there would be some costs .. so in the end.. is it worth it?

Kevin,

I do have a leisure proposal for all, the Standard Chartered Marathon in December. We can participate in the short distance 10km run, that won't be hard for all.

We will have weekly 5am morning jog around jurong west (good air!) on Sat

Keke, anyone?

SY Chen,

maybe when i want to do the grilling, we can ask your ID if can do it for me ... hopefully at the same price.. hehe

Parents went up to my house this week and complain about the height to the window cos i have platform there .. .

Oh yay Kevin,

so subsequently, like what Meirong had said, is about $70 per year? You sounded like only $300+ one time payment for 5 years plan.

So anyone else signed up with those? I actually spoke with my aia agent a few months ago and she told me not many people will sign up for additional fire insurance so i didn't proceed with it. heh but for a peace of mind it seems not a very expensive plan to get.

Just ask her about this thing, and she had no idea about it.. ha ha

ryan
like all insurance policies, u pay less premium if more is paid upfront. for the aig enhance fire insurance, paid $325 one-lump sum for 5-yrs coverage. meirong pointed out earlier too that u can save $28.10 by choosing the lump-sum option.

if u prefer to pay the premium annually, the ~$70 premium will work out to more than $325.

the lady at HDB told us no point paying 5 years lump sum since savings only $28.10. We still enjoy the slow cooker even though we paid 1 year.

I think buy for 'an xin', if my bamboo drop down and hit people still can cover. hahaha

apprye, can try renting to students. Usually they are fine with a microwave or something. For families, i doubt they want a place for such short term only.

I'm not sure how many of you reads the newspaper today. There are 2 interesting article.

(1) Regarding TV License.

To make it short, it says all household who had a working tv set are obliqued to go and pay for their TV license. The newly set penalties are ...

- Reminder to pay , with $25 penalty
- 2nd Reminder to pay with the penalty
- 3rd Reminder will be a summon to court with fine up to $1000
- After that, you'll be sued and liable for up to $40,000 fine.

Apparently, 1 in 10 household did not pay their tv license.

That time Bus Fares cheats got fines, not Tv license escapee also kena big fines.. scary...

(2) Strait Times test the govt. agency hotlines.

They give 1 out of 3 stars for HDB. Apparently, the caller ask whenever a unit is available for sale, they say cannot sell to a chinese , why the discrimnation?

Strait Times says none give the expected reply that "this is ensure a balance mix of racial ..." 3 of the 4 operators just gave the answer "IT's the LAW". Ha ha ha.. only 1 suggest them to look at elsewhere. Can you see how poorly trained is the HDB officers.. heh

Ryan,
My wife and I will be taking part in the Standard Charted 10km run in December. My whole company will be taking part, plus any spouses willing to take part as well.

Kevin,
You can count me in for tennis.

just to inform you guys that i have done the bomb shellter shelving from Mr Lai. He charged me 198.00 and told him that we are the 7 people and he says someone in the 7 people have done it and so we have done it.

Kevin / Goatie,

AHM not a very good timing for me cos my AD in Sept, but i will definitely join Standard Chartered in Dec, participate in 21km last 4 years but thinking of downgrading it to 10km this year. My leg wouldn't carry me so far now, keep kena cramp in the last 2 years. Heh

HuiLing,

You did a L shape shelving? I'm only thinking of thinking the straight shelving for $99. I have not done it yet though, still have quite a few things in the bomb shelter yet to be moved out.

It's done one whole row across the bombshelter. It is a 3 tier shelving. basicaly i told him we could do it as he say he already have ready stock and could do it on that day. withing 10 mins, they came up and had the shelving done.

wow.... so many postings ;p

makan potluck session we are definitely on... eh.... marathon session... that's another thing ... ha ha... 5 am training? ha ha... definitely can count us out ;p

Goatie
Ur wife so on ah
I’ve to beg and drag before mine would even put on her jogging shoes, not to mention stanchart run