Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Huiling...why u managed to do it vertically to the ceiling when the ikea curtain holding rob bracket is design such a way that it is drill to the side of the wall rather to the top of the ceiling,the rod won;t fall off ?

winningelevan,

actually i thought most of ikea rob is drill on the ceiling rather than the side? i think i saw them all like that at ikea.

another question, what brand floor fan did you guys buys? think i saw quite similar fan during our house visits that time, what brand was that? must be a reason why that one is so common. hee

Hi Ryan, the brand is Gazz.. no particular reason why we got this brand, except that it was moderately priced... not too cheap and not too expensive ;p

ryan, i only remember having to pay $80
they came down once to install the pipes
2nd time to turn on the gas. The $ was charged to the electricity bill. Just nice there was a $70+ rebate last mth bill, so minus off most of the cost

standing fan we got from Giant. That was when we first got the keys and it only cost $19.90. haha

i haven't got any $70 rebates yet.. is it must activate gas then got the rebate? i only activate the electricity and water in April.

talking about giant, i have accumulated quite a tidy amt of choice voucher, trying to find out what is good to buy from giant ... but all the brands selling there are lousy, don't think i want to get it there although it's cheap. got an akira fan a few months and it breaks down in a month. pianzz

ryan
are u referring to standing or tower fan?
the former comes with big head (propeller inclusive), haha, it’s cheaper than tower fan too
the latter is the slim pretty one but not as strong
angie and I got the gazz, simple reason, cos cheapest around the estate, cash & carry from Harvey @ JP, furthermore, It comes with remote, haha

The 80bucks include extension of gas pipe from the mains to ur hob, including the installation of hob if required

Sy chen, yup, the $70 u-save rebate is timely to offset it

Rather a sweeping statement to condemn all brands @ giant loh
They have decent brands and quality
With the vouchers, if sceptical abt the appliances, can consider spending them on groceries

Ps. My parents’ akira oven and fan alive and kicking after all these yrs. Perhaps they are luckier

Hi winningeleven, if u went to ikea tampinese, you could see them using the black rod bracket hung onto the ceiling in ikea tampinese. I also had the same problem as u initially and was looking for a ceiling bracket. Checked with ikea and they do not sell any ceiling bracket. So we followed ikea way of hanging onto the ceiling.. so far it work well and no problem. just drill it onto the ceiling instead of the wall..

Hi Ryan,

I think Mistral is quite a famous brand for fans. My parents' house has been using it for many years, at least 10 years. I have one Mitsubitshi fan also. Many years liao still working fine.

I will have a lot of black glossy laminates..will have problem cleaning them due to the dust...

I also didn't receive the rebate. Like Ryan, I have activated elect and water back in Feb when I collected my keys but didn't activate gas. Is the rebate printed on the utilities bill? Which month was it reflected?

SY Chen,

After electricity tariff increased 12% this year so far, today's newspaper states that it will be increased further soon as oil prices hit new high. SIGH ! We need more rebates .. hee

hi huiling

using car one trip is enough for 2 pax's stuffs?

kevin

tks for the contact ar.. seems more ex than ur time. in the end i asked my ID to help hahahah. so tmr morn he will be dropping by my place with a lorry

ryan

haha he have van and lorry ma.. so can help then he help lor. no charge la.

huiling.. hehe ok. maybe we'll see each other when we see another couple moving boxes of stuffs too haha. our block is next to each other only

kevin ya i need ur help hehe. u free tmr? oh ya i wanna borrow vacuum cleaner if u have, need to place the mattress on the bed liao and the wooden planks are dusty.

ryan.. cannot la.. not all ppl are free. u free? haha

juz finished packing half of my room's stuffs. half dead.

valerie,

i was there at 9am plus but i couldn't help, hardly had time to step out of the house. The electrician came to install 2 of my hanging lights and install some stuffs, then the service centre person came up and see my shower head (found out the rubber is spoilt so water leaks), then my colleague came up to see the place cos of his selection on monday, then the parquet guy came to touch up the flooring, then a guy came to touch up the false ceiling cos not very flat. At the end, everyone left my place at 12pm +.

Then afternoon, the painter came up to my place to finish the job, and the cleaner came to clean up the place.

My ID like can't wait to handover to me although i never really rush her. Think she scare one day never handover, i will keep bothering her with new problems. Ha ha

ryan

i guess ur hse will be done soon. mine already done left a few more touchups in the next visit. glad but got mixed feelings also. ID brought along a worker to help move my stuffs so its not so hard. kevin lent us his vacuum for the bed. todae gg to move it up already. ya all ID wan to handover fast so u better check all ur defects to make suer all r done properly. mine was at my place doing all the last touchups whole day while i was unpacking.

Valerie,

She meeting me tomo at the new house to handover. If i find more defects later on, i will still ask her to come and fix it. I think they still have some responsibilities because no one can really spot all the defects until when they actually starts moving in.

She is doing Li's house right now, so it won't be so hard for her to arrange a trip up my block if required

Today went to the same place to bought the curtains. This guy lucas came and entertain me, but he is always away entertaining 2 or 3 guest at the same time so i was quite disturb when i wanted to ask him things. In the end, i paid about $856 for all my curtains and blind. I got

1. full height night curtain for the 3 tall window at living room
2. roller blind for bedroom 2 and 3 and the other living room window near the gate.
3. night curtain for both the window and aircon window at the master bedroom

Listen to your advice and decides to buy the day curtain from Ikea.

ryan

yup i was also attended to by lucas. ya he's always attending to 2-3 customers at the same time. quite irritating. urs comes with blinds so its considered cheaper than mine a bit. ya i will go get the ikea day curtains after my wedding. hehe. no rush for that.

valerie,

i have moved my stuff.. it is just 1 person stuff. I used 3 trips to moved the items. Packed and packed until 3 am on sat night, and still have not finish...

Hi Ryan & Valerie

You guy have got very good deal for your curtain leh. I've source for a few and they quoted my like $1k + for whole house.

hi huiling

wow u packed till 3am! pei fu u. i moved stuffs over at 1030, unpacked juz for the display cabinet n displayed the items till 5+ then cannot tahan le. went back and concussed on the sofa right after dinner. didn even know i fell asleep haha. so the 1 pax stuffs are urs or ur hb's?

mine still have another half of my room to move. will be doing gradually over this few weeks when we go over.

ryan

i tink i noe why urs more ex abt 100 cos u got extra 2 panels at the living. while i don't. my extra long panel doesn affect the cost much cos its juz a bit of extension on the same material, not another size altogether. then u also got the mbr aircon window curtains too. so overall i tink same price range. so when ur curtains are coming? 1 or 2 trips?

hi mr blur

where did u go source? hv u paid already? if not u can try jimmy textiles, their pricing is not bad. u doing night curtains only? or with day curtains, roman blinds, string curtains etc?

Valerie,

But your got rod, mine all threads. He says if want rod have to top up $90 for the mbr. He's coming two trips, but one time is for measurement (on this wed) and the second time for installation of threads and curtains. (next sat)

Mr. Blur,

actually cannot compare like that, maybe you use rod? (mine don't have) maybe you use better materials? Your curtains touch the ground or not? got day/night at bedrooms (mine don't have day)? got use roman blind? (more ex), got string curtains (mine don't), got do kitchen blind? (mine don't)

Hi Ryan & Valerie

I'll ask for track for the whole house, day & night for living room, night curtains for all rooms. Materials, i will say is those average type. Luckily, i've not paid any deposit so still can ask for few more quotation to compare. So you guys got your curtains from Jimmy?

jimmy textiles quoted me more than $1500 for whole house. haiz... and i still sign. really regret. those who haven put deposit got to ask carefully.

lin

Just now called SP Services.. apparently for utility that is activated after Jan will not
be given the $70 rebates since the rebates is given in Jan bill. Is this true? Anyone activate after Jan still got the rebates?

I find it ridiculous since the $70 rebates is for offsetting the expenses for the 1st half of 2008. And me activating in Feb still incur 5 of 6 months of 1st half. SIGH!

Lin,

I think you ask for special things lor... cos their quotations are quite fixed. I compare mine with valerie, it's the same pricing guide.

Do you know whether roman blinds can be washed? I'm interested in getting it but worried it's difficult to maintain.

ryan

ya i tink rods more ex. so now its the materials lor.. diff brands diff price. cant wait to see ur choice of curtains. curtains add teh finishing touch to a hse. when ur furnitures coming in?

huiling..

juz ur hb stuffs.. then wad abt urs? u don need ur stuffs can stay there already?

HuiLing,

It usually takes me about 40 mins to reach Orchard lor from my parents house, so not so bad hor. Think because still need to take bus out while at St.64 can walk to MRT, save some time.

Take bus 502 must pay the premiere charge isn't it? $3 ... hard to say if it's worth it or not.. if it stops directly outside your workplace, may be an option to take 502 and avoid the crazy MRT squeeze in the morning.